View Full Version : Which Small/Medium SUV

Lazybugger
25-08-2014, 12:30 PM

The lease on my Grand Cherokee is finishing next year. The need for a large car has gone as the teenagers now have their own car so I am looking to downsize. The car will predominantly be used around town but I want the ability to hit the beach (fraser and teewah) half a dozen times a year without having to rely on another vehicle to be towing me out. I am in a position where novated lease works for me so I am looking at new vehicles only. Budget is probably around the 40k mark.

Just to make things difficult there are a couple of things that are going to be ruled out:

Subaru Forester - the missus hated it in 2011 when we last looked. I doubt much has changed.
Any Ute: Prior to the Jeep - we had a Navara previously and can't see us going back down this track
FJ Cruiser - While the look and ability of this attracts me - the missus said I will be sleeping in it permanently if i get one.
7 seaters - don't have a need for anything that big and prefer cargo area for fishing/kayaking gear.

What I need to know has anyone taken any of the current model AWD's on the beach and how did you go?

Looking at RAV4, the new cherokee (non trailhawk - too exy), kuga?, Xtrail, maybe sportage. I guess the grand vitara should be in the mix also but last time I looked their finish & features were way behind the competition.

The challenger looks to be about the same size as a grand cherokee, so while capable I'd be happy enough with another jeep GC at that size.

Thanks for your help.

26-08-2014, 04:17 PM
Sube outback or TriBeCa (same platform). Don't need 7 seats take the outback. At least the subes have a proper awd system that won't stop when it heats up or switches off every time you hit 40 kmh. The autos have torque sensing diffs which will send drive to a single wheel with traction. Only used our TriBeCa in marginal conditions once and it was sensational. Clearance is always going to be an issue on any beach at times in any SUV styled vehicle. The Santa Fe is another I'd have a squizz at.

26-08-2014, 06:36 PM
Hyundai Santa Fe

26-08-2014, 07:04 PM
Daughters Santa Fe just smashed its transmission at 55k driving home from woolworths......gonna be very exy by the sounds.

chisel
26-08-2014, 07:24 PM
Sorento perhaps.

The Challenger would be the best of the lot in terms of handling the beach, and heaps cheaper than a new Grand Cherokee (also a bit smaller I thought), but would be the worst of the lot around town.
I can't see any of the alternatives being great on the beach but the rav, xtrail, sorento should get you through ok. Not sure about the kuga (tiny), sportage or cherokee. They'd be in my 2nd tier but that's just personal opinion. Forester would definitely be in the mix if it wasn't ruled out.

scottar
26-08-2014, 07:38 PM
Anything without a genuine low range will be left wanting at some point in time. Have seen/assisted a few over the years in the soft stuff - usually manuals that have somewhat warmed up their clutches. The other issue with the small to mediums as already raised is clearance or rather the lack of it. If you choose to go to the beach the same weekend as the big boys - take a shovel. If you do go down the path of something like a Rav or similar, i would never fall into the trap of trying to snatch another vehicle out. Really good way to do nasty things to the lighter vehicles. Me personally - I would be thinking closer to mid size than small with a low range as a starting point - Cherokee, Wagon version of the Colorado(Whatever that is called), Challenger. Either that or get the cheese & kisses a nice car and buy an old banger for the beach.

kingcray
26-08-2014, 07:51 PM
my missus has an auto xtrail. ive taken it up Bribie and Inskip / Rainbow many times without any issues at all other than a little overheating. Never been bogged, just gotta be wary of bottoming out

Floating Rib
26-08-2014, 08:16 PM
bang for buck and genuine capable 4x4 Mitsu Challenger.

Crocodile
26-08-2014, 08:38 PM
Hello Lazybugger,

Buy a Mazda MX5 sportscar for the missus, she will love you forever.
Then buy a $10000 Pajero for the beach.
Win win.

Moonlighter
26-08-2014, 10:11 PM
Mazda CX5 diesel. Doesn't have the 4WD but is AWD and is just a miles better car than the koreans.

Not had mine off-road, but it drives like a car on the road and easily gets around 7l/100ks city driving. I am 6ft6 in the old money and find it a comfortable, roomy car to drive.

Tows the 1.2 tonne Surtees easily with its 420nm torque., and best of all, the fuel economy is still under 12/100ks. Pulls the boat out of dodgy ramps such as Carbrook at low tide without blinking. Very pleased with mine.

pipifin
27-08-2014, 07:34 AM
+1 for the xtrail. Best value for money, has the low range, never been stuck, better clearance than most small SUVs. Shipload of room, six pack fits in the chilled glovebox.
We've had one for 2 1/2 years and still yet to find anything I don't like about it.

chisel
27-08-2014, 08:19 AM
+1 for the xtrail. Best value for money, has the low range, never been stuck, better clearance than most small SUVs. Shipload of room, six pack fits in the chilled glovebox.
We've had one for 2 1/2 years and still yet to find anything I don't like about it.
Since when has an x-trail had low range? Does it really?

27-08-2014, 06:55 PM
Isuzu MUX?

BrisManny
27-08-2014, 08:24 PM
Since when has an x-trail had low range? Does it really?

I have an older Xtrail (2007) - I don't believe any Xtrail has low range, they have "lock" mode but it only works under set speed and for a short period. eg: Set to "Lock" to tow up a boat ramp, get on/off the beach, in/out of a bog. After that - set to auto AWD and go... The Xtrail is surprisingly capable and has a good following with parts and info easily obtainable. Many take them to the beach with no problems except clearance on heavily rutted tracks.

The suzuki has a proper low range and my in-laws recently sold their '90s vitara for a new one and love them - very capable in a small package - with solid reputation... don't hear many disappointed suzuki owners.

Test drive them all and see what you like :)

Shane

Lazybugger
27-08-2014, 08:54 PM
Thanks for the tips guys. Xtrail is definitely on the test drive list. I like the look of Mux but not sure i can justify a 7 seater. I feel like i am paying for a row that would never be used. I will probably give the challenger a test drive too.

We are only a one car family as the missus doesn't drive. Over half my km's are spent driving to either coast with the yak on the roof so i'd rather get something comfy then a beach only clunker. Call me old. One thing i admit to loving on the GC is the heated seats on the drive home after 4-5 hours paddling the kayak.

scottar
27-08-2014, 09:11 PM
Thanks for the tips guys. Xtrail is definitely on the test drive list. I like the look of Mux but not sure i can justify a 7 seater. I feel like i am paying for a row that would never be used. I will probably give the challenger a test drive too.

We are only a one car family as the missus doesn't drive. Over half my km's are spent driving to either coast with the yak on the roof so i'd rather get something comfy then a beach only clunker. Call me old. One thing i admit to loving on the GC is the heated seats on the drive home after 4-5 hours paddling the kayak.

If you had to "justify" everything you would be buying your fish from a shop. Sometimes you've got to do things simply because you want too. Life's too short - spoil yourself

hainsofast
27-08-2014, 10:27 PM
take the third row out, old boy has a MUX and loves it, bloody great on fuel too, just get what feels right mate, good luck with the purchase

SUPERDAFF
27-08-2014, 11:36 PM
Have owned Challenger (not a bad package but odd sized tyres and suspect 4WD selection mechanism at times); Kluger (Toyota refused to listen to my issues about brake fails, then a year later did a factory recall on exactly the same condition I had been telling them about - will never go there again); three Grand Vitara V6s in succession which have been absolutely outstanding - still own one which The Gorgeous One drives and also own a 3 litre V6 Touareg turbo diesel - the daily drive. All vehicles purchased brand new. Best for comfort and toys - obviously the Touareg as it should be at twice the price of the Grand Vitara Prestige. Best off-road performance, reliability, low ownership cost and high re-sale value- Grand Vitara without a doubt every time. Used to tow a 5 metre CruiseCraft Explorer with the Grand Vitaras - road stability better than Challenger or Kluger. Even current models with the semi-bonded ladder frame are pretty rigid. Needed the Treg for the mass of the Outsider 625 now owned. Experience includes heaps of pretty serious off-road work (including three Wynn's Safaris) etc etc. Overall, Grand Vitara is the way to go - albeit a few more toys would be nice. There's a new SWB 'back to the original concept' version headed our way next year.

28-08-2014, 05:55 AM
The TriBeCa has heated seats and I agree, once you've had them they are very noice... And the third row seats disappear into the floor like they were never there.....downside - my cross racks whistle with the kayak on and the sunroof open. Close sunroof and problem goes away. Depends on how much you want to spend, there's touregs, q5's, evoques, my favourite is the diesel Volvo s60 d5r at the moment. My engineer has one and it goes pretty hard. Better start weighing up the driving experience vs the budget vs the ego and divide by the wifeage factor.

28-08-2014, 06:10 AM
That's an easy one. Freelander 2. They might start a little higher though.

28-08-2014, 06:14 AM
I have pulled most brands of AWD out of soft sand at some point or other. Hard sand of course no probs but you have to get to and from the hard. Forester used to come with a transfer case in manual guise originally but I think they canned it.

LonxBW
28-08-2014, 07:28 AM
I've a manual 2010 diesel xtrail. Rated to tow up to 2t, does around 7.2L/100km on freeway runs and add around 1.5 when towing a 1.5t load. One word of warning would be clearance on the latest models, they lowered them slightly... Idiots.