View Full Version : Jewys on the chew!
Crossy93
07-06-2014, 09:20 PM
So knocked off work today and got the boat ready, waited for the missus(charlee) to finish work and headed out in chase. Got to my first spot and started fishing around 4 but it was really quiet and we were chasing bream at this stage, moved to my second spot and continued chasing bream and got a fair few around 25cm for abit of fun. The sun set and the big baits were out and it all went crazy from there, Me and charlee both fishing 2 rods each, one with 20lb braid baitrunner and a 6lb braid setup for bream while we wait for the jewys to come on. Almost instantly we were struggling with picking which rod to hold as both were getting hammered! Amongest all the chaos we managed to catch more bream around the 25 mark and then a decent jewy. For some reson it went quiet and all boats aound us left and we were about to head in when charlees 6lb line cut her finger and waz zzzzzzzzzzz for a solid run, this was no bream! I look over and her line is rapped around a part of my motor rubbing like crazy, i managed to get it off the motor before the line broke but also sacrificed my beer, was not happy! Next problem i look over because she stopped winding and her finger hurt from the first strike where the braid sliced her finger and shes just looking at her finger instead of winding! >:(At this stage there im almost yelling at her to wind! Took her a few minutes to get it up and sure enough a big jewy appeared. As i go for the net it decides to bolt off straight for the anchor rope... great i thought, after all dramas its gunna bust off anyway... well don't know how she did it but it stayed on the line and she got it back to the side so i could net it...She was so happy untill she remembered her finger was stinging... then she was grumpy, hungry, cold and sore so we headed in early around 7:30 for dinner and a nice warm shower...
i'll be heading out again tomorrow night! Everyone i know is getting jewys at the moment in the passage. All up we probably had 20+ runs on the big rods each and just didn't manage to hook them, will have to work on my timing on how long to wait to let it suck long enough for a decent hook up but ohhwell, all's good and fun when you get a couple!
nathank
07-06-2014, 11:14 PM
Fish a snelled 2hook rig and leave it in gear mate... I never give em any line and this works for me... sounds like a good night though nice one!
kizza1
08-06-2014, 02:16 AM
definately run a snelled 2 hook setup. but i have to disagree about not letting them run. i caught this one earlier this week after loosing 3 others by striking to early. you want almost no drag and let them take it untill you get a good 5 seconds of continuous run.
BLOOEY
08-06-2014, 10:17 AM
Nice session mate, the missus would have been stoked i bet. Horses for courses guys sometimes they hammer a bait other times not. Ben
wayno60
08-06-2014, 12:22 PM
Yer im with Kizza on this one, first run their just playing with it..mouthing it. when they go again then its time.
BLOOEY
08-06-2014, 02:26 PM
If they are running with it ,it is in their mouth and so is the hook ,they dont have hands.
wayno60
08-06-2014, 02:42 PM
each to his own....
astro66
08-06-2014, 04:22 PM
ive found every fish is different...last night they were mouthing the bait killing it and scaling it...they did two mullet and didn't even see the line move....the third one we watched him run against the current up past the anchor I struck and he spat the bait and didn't come back ...wound in a mullet 250mm long fully scaled crushed
two weeks ago every hit was like a freight train down the river......
ive found every fish is different...last night they were mouthing the bait killing it and scaling it...they did two mullet and didn't even see the line move....the third one we watched him run against the current up past the anchor I struck and he spat the bait and didn't come back ...wound in a mullet 250mm long fully scaled crushed
nice, sounds like fun any way you look at it. be good to see some of your reports astro.
ssab1
11-06-2014, 08:39 PM
250 mm mullet::) too much information
Crossy93
12-06-2014, 04:33 PM
Cheers for all the info boys, a few different opinions about the hooks and striking times! I think its just all luck with the hook rate :\ will defs be trying those snelled hooks though, they do seem promising!
fishychrissy
13-06-2014, 11:25 PM
Nice report Crossy,
I must be the only person in the Passage not getting onto any Jew probably.
Might have to try rustling some from up your end of the Passage lol
Crossy93
14-06-2014, 05:31 PM
Nice report Crossy,
I must be the only person in the Passage not getting onto any Jew probably.
Might have to try rustling some from up your end of the Passage lol
Hey chris, they seem to be everywhere up this end. i Went today for a flick and was getting them around 50cms on plastics in the daylight. Best session on plastics yet, For bait i use fresh mullet fillets from woolies cut into small strips or Pilchards cut in half or full, depending on hook sizes and what other fish are around, bream tend to take the pilys too fast for the jewys to get them.
Sound around and find a hole that is atleast 1m+ deeper then the bank, i find channels are even good. Make sure that there is bait moving through the hole on the sounder, even if its only small patches, the jewys are never far behind.
I always fish a strong tide, i find in still water they dont bite or arn't there, big tides around the full and no moon work well with plenty of water flow. Low and high tide doesn't seem to matter too much, but when the tide stops flowing in the change i find they go off for about 1-2hours then come back on once its flowing again.
fishychrissy
14-06-2014, 09:45 PM
Thanks Dylan,
Found a nice couple of holes at White Patch and on the way to Toorbul last time I was out, and they both looked like they had a bit of bait in the area so I'll give them a closer look next week. There are heaps of squid around too so hopefully I can snag a couple of them for a bit of fresh bait.
Thanks again for the info Mate, much appreciated.