View Full Version : Dolphin aerial show at Mud Island
SummerTrance
25-05-2014, 01:00 PM
Fished Mud Island yesterday. Got out there just after 6am to find my preferred area was already a carpark. Started a drift a bit wider than everyone else. We noticed straight away there were a few dolphins around.
Not long later we noticed that a bloke on a nearby boat had hooked up. Twenty seconds later a dolphin started vertically breaching very close to their boat. The first breach must have been at least a dolphin length into the air, and it continued diving and breaching about five times. It was like a seaworld show, very spectacular. Never seen that in the wild before. The bloke lost the fish, and I wonder if the dolphin was chasing the fish or not.
A bit later I noticed it happening again, but was too far away to see if someone was hooked up. Was anyone else from here out there and see it ?
Only stayed there for an hour before I got the shits with the boat traffic and morons motoring past way too close. Moved to a quiet spot on the other side of the island and first cast got a nice snapper just under 70cm. My mate got his first ever snapper at 47 cm, and I got another one just over legal size. Those were the only three fish we caught all day and we bailed about midday. The last two trips now I havent caught any undersize fish which is unusual, as my catch rate is usually a few unders for every keeper.
Nslfishing
25-05-2014, 03:45 PM
Didn't see the ones at mud but just north of dunwich the young fella and I had about a dozen hanging around the boat. It was a real challenge getting the undersized Moses perch past them. The young fella hooked something nice that started to make the drag click then bam line started screaming off. Bloody dolphin stole his catch. He reckons I out fished him on the fish but he won on mammals haha. I pointed out that he had said an earlier tailor I caught but lost at the boat didn't count cause it wasn't landed. Sorry young fella... Doesn't count unless you land it 😃
cheers nic
DNO 346
26-05-2014, 05:16 PM
Mate that was me on that fish with flipper doing more tricks than a Seaworld pet dolphin! Flipper hit the line and it took off like a train and goneski. They did chase another squire to the boat but I beat the bugger that time.
He jumped I reckon close to 10ft and about 5 meters from the boat. We couldn't stop talking about it all morning!!!
We we bailed out of there as the bite immediately shut down - we were saying that to another boat and they laughed.
SummerTrance
26-05-2014, 07:05 PM
Yeh that was us in the small runabout you yelled out too. It sure was spectacular, and those first few jumps were huge.
DNO 346
26-05-2014, 07:22 PM
The dolphins certainly knew what they were doing. It stared us right in the eye! Our missus'es certainly missed out on the performance - they would have loved it.
We were "Flippin" out that's for sure. Hahaha.
You get any snaps?
SummerTrance
26-05-2014, 08:13 PM
By the time I grabbed my phone/camera the show was almost over. Got the last jump which was small compared to the first few. Ive got a 20 second vid. If you PM me your mobile number or email address I can send it too ya if you want
DNO 346
26-05-2014, 08:24 PM
PM sent mate
Wish we had a Go Pro - once in a lifetime I reckon
shappy
27-05-2014, 05:46 PM
hey guys, i was out on sunday morning around Macleay island and the dolphins were into everything down there too!! couple where hanging off the back of a boat following fish up.
Triple
27-05-2014, 07:52 PM
A couple of them were putting on an aerial display this morning at harries.. Had one launch and belly flop 10ft from the back of boat and had me wondering how much damage it would do if it landed on us.. and have heard a number of stories of that happening with serious injuries and I'm sure a lady in NZ was killed from one doing it.
bermo82
27-05-2014, 08:16 PM
There were 5 dolphin Friday morning smashing mullet in the cove at Manly in about 1m water.
hweebe
02-09-2014, 08:49 PM
So in everyone's experience do the fish go off the bite when dolphins are around? Or is there no impact, I've encountered dolphins loitering at Harry's but have always wondered if their presence is good or bad for fishing?
cuzzamundi
02-09-2014, 10:05 PM
Hweebe,
Certainly in the shallower grounds, I've found dolphins to shut the fishing the hell down!!! Not as much out wide.
Cuzza
wayno60
02-09-2014, 10:43 PM
I was told many years ago if the dolphins are around so are the jews........go figure!
hweebe
05-09-2014, 06:13 AM
Thanks Cuzza. I suppose when it comes down to it if I'm anchored up and dolphins show up its probably not a good enough reason to move on.
Hopefully your right wayno60
Floating Rib
05-09-2014, 09:17 AM
Maybe not the right thing to do but i hand fed one at the Brissie river mouth a couple of live mullet, he did a full flip after he took each fish, dont think anyone believes me but it was pretty cool. Have also had them hang around offshore the Pin snavelling undersize trag as they go back in the water, beats chasing their own i guess.