View Full Version : Crabbing the Maroochy

hookinin
13-04-2014, 12:12 PM
Been doing a fair bit of crabbing the last few weeks while we had plenty of fresh bait. If we stay and work the pots we get a nice catch over 3 or 4 hours. But if we leave them over night we only seem to get 3 or 4 out of a couple of pots and the rest have been raided. This can be anything from pots taken, bottom cut out or just crabs taken and pots left unclipped

Sheik
13-04-2014, 01:16 PM
geez, that's good going for the maroochy...well done.

astro66
13-04-2014, 03:56 PM
Heaps of sandies in there at the moment...was talking to a guy with three pots in on godfrys road side of the river and he had 12 ....no muddies...big schools of mullet were coming up the river Friday arvo we ended up with 30 or 40 all over 300mm ...
There is a guy in a small tinny that goes out most weekend nights ...has no lights not even a torch ...he checks every pot in the water from twin waters up to the Maroochy river bridge.....Friday night he checked 10 or so along the north shore bank ....they cant be all his ...

hookinin
13-04-2014, 08:33 PM
Yeah I think we'll stop leaving them overnight.

jimmyjohn
15-04-2014, 05:16 PM
did get a few big sandies the other day on yabbies no less in the depth near the bridge before the rain fell,measured over 15cms from 2nd tip to tip

Crossy93
15-04-2014, 06:11 PM
good feed mate, what bait were you using?

jimmyjohn
15-04-2014, 07:07 PM
good feed mate, what bait were you using?

yabbies lol on my whiting gear! got claw wrapped on 6pnd leader

hookinin
16-04-2014, 06:28 AM
Fresh reef fish frames.