View Full Version : Shimano Symetre

lbger
06-02-2014, 01:06 PM
I recently (4 months ago) bought a 3rd symetre i have a 4000 and previously had a 1000 and bought a 3000.. its basically a 1000 but has better line capacity. I have used it to catch some pretty good fish over the time including a few biggish Jacks and a number of giant herring.. Two nights ago i managed to land my biggest Giant herring to date at 107cms and was stoked to say the least.. After all the excitement i re-rig and through another bait out. I fish the reel in strike gear in a holder and the drag alerts me when a fish has hit.. I was busy doing something and i look up to see the rod bent over but no noise. The drag clicker has just stopped working..
I am bordering on ocd when it comes to wash downs and keeping my gear in good order and have never had this happen on one before.. Just wondering if anyone else has had the same dramas and how did you fix it??

Cheers Nathan.

scorpo92
06-02-2014, 02:36 PM
I recently (4 months ago) bought a 3rd symetre i have a 4000 and previously had a 1000 and bought a 3000.. its basically a 1000 but has better line capacity. I have used it to catch some pretty good fish over the time including a few biggish Jacks and a number of giant herring.. Two nights ago i managed to land my biggest Giant herring to date at 107cms and was stoked to say the least.. After all the excitement i re-rig and through another bait out. I fish the reel in strike gear in a holder and the drag alerts me when a fish has hit.. I was busy doing something and i look up to see the rod bent over but no noise. The drag clicker has just stopped working..
I am bordering on ocd when it comes to wash downs and keeping my gear in good order and have never had this happen on one before.. Just wondering if anyone else has had the same dramas and how did you fix it??

Cheers Nathan.

Had it happen on a sienna. Just crap drag clicker. Take it back to tackleshop.

lbger
06-02-2014, 04:12 PM
So it can't be fixed? I was going to pull it apart this arvo when i get home :(

bennykenny
06-02-2014, 05:03 PM
Yeah its the drag clicker which has probably broken which is under side of the spool. Being a few months old should be covered by warranty. If not you could order the part directly from www.shimanofish.com.au they have all the reel schematics online.
You say that the 1000 is the same size as the 3000. I think you mean the 2500 and the 3000 are the same reel with different spools. The 1000 is a lot smaller.

06-02-2014, 06:20 PM
Contact Shimano and you should get a replacement in the post. They come with a 10 yr warranty.

Usually the damage to this clicker is when the spool is mounted without turning the spool as it is put in place....the clicker does not orde over the gear and gets bent sideways......

Si
06-02-2014, 07:59 PM
Pb 107 giant herring! Nice one mate. I would have like to see that. No report?

BeastMaster
06-02-2014, 09:24 PM
Well done on the 107 cm Giant Herring, I broke the drag clicker on my 3500 bait runner a little while back on a 97 cm GH. Small reels and those fish dont go well together.the word smok'n comes to mind!
BeastMaster

spears
06-02-2014, 10:56 PM
Unfortunately the new symetre FL is not made as good as the previous FJ.
I went down to the local tackle store to purchase one and they had both models on show.
The FL had shocking bearing slop on the handle and rotor,so i passed on buying anything as the FJ was the last one and wrong size for what i wanted.

Can't see anyone raving about the symetre anymore,you'd buy better reel in Okuma reels

nathank
07-02-2014, 07:15 AM
Pb 107 giant herring! Nice one mate. I would have like to see that. No report?

Caught at a secret spot.. excuse the lack of details.. ppl that fish for these guys will understand why.
LBGER (aka nathank) Logged on the work computer as lbger.

nathank
07-02-2014, 07:30 AM
Yeah its the drag clicker which has probably broken which is under side of the spool. Being a few months old should be covered by warranty. If not you could order the part directly from www.shimanofish.com.au (http://www.shimanofish.com.au) they have all the reel schematics online.
You say that the 1000 is the same size as the 3000. I think you mean the 2500 and the 3000 are the same reel with different spools. The 1000 is a lot smaller.

Yeah your right benny, although there isn't a huge difference between them.. the 4000 though is heaps bigger than the 3000.

bennykenny
07-02-2014, 07:50 AM
So did you look at the clicker? Is it broken or just bent??

nathank
07-02-2014, 08:21 AM
the clicker is really solid.. the drama was the little wire spring thingy is really flimsy and was bent out of shape will fix it this arvo...

nathank
07-02-2014, 09:42 PM
fixed it but i cant see it lasting a long time... the drag washers are rubbish in it as well they are made of some kind of felt type material are are starting to degrade.. 130 bucks doesn't get ya much these days, but i can always buy 8 of them vs a stella :)

scorpo92
08-02-2014, 06:20 AM
Pay the bit extra and go the good old stradic

bennykenny
08-02-2014, 07:13 AM
No wonder the drag washes are degrading with the way you punish them with jacks and giant herring.
Just get an upgrade of your drag washes and should be sweet.

lbger
10-02-2014, 12:47 PM
lost the biggest fish to date on it on sat night.. got spooled in the end but the drag clicker held up.. the 4000 is coming out from now on..