View Full Version : Whiting at the Rouse

bondy99
02-11-2013, 11:23 PM
Hello Fellow Anglers,

Finallly met up with solemandownunder, good bloke and highly organised person :) for a good day of fishing around the Rouse. Sea was like a mirror early morning, great conditions and great company.

Decided to drop some pots for blue swimmer aka sandies on the way out and collect on the way back, Managed to get a few keepers as well as a few throwbacks, mostly jennies and undersize bucks.

Those mongrel sharefarmers are very brazen during daylight with much vessel actvity in the area, our pots where not in their original resting place, Some pots appeared as if they have been raided.

By the way TIMDDO,

Here is a pic of what whiting look like, Between solemandownunder and I, we managed a feed of whiting, and few small grass sweetlip that stole our bait went back swimming with couple of grinners that looked like winners ;D

Enjoy,

Bondy99

cobiaman
02-11-2013, 11:47 PM
Well done guys but im fairly sure timddo knows what whiting look like.....

solemandownunder
03-11-2013, 03:29 AM
Well done guys but im fairly sure timddo knows what whiting look like.....

Thanks cm, we just want to be sure he still remembers what they look like....in piccie form ;D

as an aside, thanks Timdo for sharing all your techniques, we tried them and they worked. Although it took us 4 hrs to get about 75, we were still happy...thank you.

Cheers, Ray.

Shark Poker
03-11-2013, 05:39 AM
Nice to meet you yesterday arvo, Bondy.
Those were nice whiting.

Pauly

Scott Ashe
03-11-2013, 08:03 AM
Well done Boys, looks like you had a good trip.

Nice to hear that you got out for a trip Peter.

bazza65
03-11-2013, 09:17 AM
Nice haul there Bondy, you will not stop the share farmers day or night. What bait were you using on whiting.
bazza

bondy99
03-11-2013, 01:26 PM
G'day Fatbuoy (Pauly),

Nice to meet you too. Those whiting are nice. I liked the technique of rapid descale..cool .

Sorry I could not stay longer , sleep was catching up.

Scott Ashe,
Thanks mate, did take a while to get out , still have not tested out the wiring on my tow connector. I use the rectangular plug. Just need to chek and see if it works...tested with a multimeter..appears to have voltage on wires tested but can't guarantee if it works until I get a trailer with a rectangular connection. Have you managed to get out lately?

bondy99
03-11-2013, 01:36 PM
Bazza65,

Yeah, there is one legal way to stop those sharefarmers from stealing pots , catch or both and that's to invest in remote controlled submersible bouys / floats, would cost a fortune. It will only activate and surface when certain signal is received....GPS would be needed in conjuction. Someone from the Inventors has developed them.

Bait, whatever works on the day...anything and everything or could be only one thing..e.g. prawn, squid, yabby, sandworm, My advice, is experiment.

Cheers, Bondy

Shark Poker
03-11-2013, 01:41 PM
Why didn't you put the pots somewhere near you over at the Rous?

Scott Ashe
03-11-2013, 01:57 PM
Hi Peter,

Last Wednesday I had my boat out for the first time since the end of May. We Crabbed the Logan River and ended up with 4 under size bucks so they were returned to the water. Some of the Crab were definately too small, but one had to have a measure and he was just a touch under. Should be a good season around Christmas or just after.

Let me know if you want to organise something down the track.

solemandownunder
03-11-2013, 02:31 PM
Let me please say this....ANYTHING I have helped Bondy99 with in regards to Whiting has come from TWO sources...I knew NOTHING about all this when I started....

1st & foremost Robsue for putting myself into the general area and what to look for....after meeting up accidently at the Manly ramp, he offered to take me out on his boat the next day...BEST decision I EVER made to learn where to fish for the Tings.

2nd & happy that Timdoo took the time to show us ALL some variances in bait & tactics.

BUT, without Robsue from the beginning...and with his FIRST kind offer to climb aboard his Savage....I would have not been able to pass the GREAT things I have learned to anyone else....and ever since, we have Whiting on tap :)

So, My hat goes off to ROBSUE for taking me under his wing and get me started on these crazy things called "Tings".

Thanks Ray.

solemandownunder
03-11-2013, 02:36 PM
Why didn't you put the pots somewhere near you over at the Rous?

M8, Had no SOLID reports one way or another about those areas for sandies...I do see plenty of pro pots between Harries & the Rous and even up the Rous passage towards the bar.....BUT, nothing of substance yet on here :-?

The best I can report is the amount of starfish in the pots over at the Sandhills are a pain in the proverbial....NOTHING to report in & around the Rous....any takers :-?

Shark Poker
03-11-2013, 02:55 PM
DID YOU KNOW that you can eat some starfish??
And did you know that the main predator of starfish are Rays?
Rays!

solemandownunder
03-11-2013, 03:09 PM
DID YOU KNOW that you can eat some starfish??
And did you know that the main predator of starfish are Rays?
Rays!

Well that is ALL very well and good M8, but not the kind of flaps I like to eat, you know, stingray flaps do nuthin for me at all. :-?

So I guess the rays can have their starfish.....and I'll just stop here, RIGHT now ;D

Shark Poker
03-11-2013, 03:28 PM
No you will not, you know.
Starfish....Ray its going to happen. Real soon.

rosco1974
03-11-2013, 03:56 PM
ray maybe take your pots over there and give it a go for crabs and let others know how you go instead of waiting for others to do the ground work for you...as for your pots at green..the crabs have dropped off there in recient weeks as they do every year..with the tidal run through there this weekend those cheap bcf pots u use would be moving in the current..my heavy duty pots 1250mm round with 10 mm rings where moving today on the run in tide...once a pot starts moving it spooks the crabs and they wont pot..good feed on the tings by the way..
cheers rosco

bondy99
03-11-2013, 10:42 PM
Rosco1974 and solemandowunder,

This is my opinion and observation. I would agree that strong tides will do that especially when it was coming up the strongest and highest tides for the weekend.

The suggestion I would say is test the theory I have by placing the pots in the slower run tides (lowest of the high tides).

I too have heavy duty but wont be dropping those in unless I run shotgun over em.

Maybe these can be tried where the tings were encountered, if there is any seagrass in the location then cant see any reason why blue swimmer aka sandies wont be there.

Robsue, thanks for sharing the intel with solemandownunder.

Cheers, Bondy

bondy99
03-11-2013, 10:51 PM
Scott Ashe,

Good to hear you managed to get out. I know a few spots where you will be guaranteed of getting nice muddies, but you will need to sink the pots for at least 1 hour and have a fish.

If there are no crabs in the pot by that time, then transfer to an area not far from the original spot and leave them for another hour.

All up you will need to be on the water for a good 4 to 5 hours. Water depth will vary. One could anchor up or drift around for flathead or use a lure and see what's around.

All the big muddies will be in deeper holes, channels, as the water temp increases they will make their way up to the shallow areas.

Bondy

solemandownunder
04-11-2013, 04:55 AM
ray maybe take your pots over there and give it a go for crabs and let others know how you go instead of waiting for others to do the ground work for you...as for your pots at green..the crabs have dropped off there in recient weeks as they do every year..with the tidal run through there this weekend those cheap bcf pots u use would be moving in the current..my heavy duty pots 1250mm round with 10 mm rings where moving today on the run in tide...once a pot starts moving it spooks the crabs and they wont pot..good feed on the tings by the way..
cheers rosco

VERY valid point there M8, believe it or not I am thumping my head on the puter table, berating myself for not having the nous to work it out for meself...feel a bit stupid atm :-?

I mean...I am out there for the tings...so of COURSE it would be the way to go....btw, thanks for the tidal movement explanation.

If you beat me a bit more often I might just get the message :P;D

Thanks again, Ray.

Still_Dreamin
04-11-2013, 06:27 AM
Last weekend we stayed over at tangas so I dropped four pots about 100m south of the jetty. Got your keepers but lots of jennies and 1 wobbegong. Can't see why you wouldn't get sandies again further south. Got the most jennies in the 3-5 m pots and the keeper bucks were in the deepest pot 9m

bondy99
04-11-2013, 11:54 AM
Last weekend we stayed over at tangas so I dropped four pots about 100m south of the jetty. Got your keepers but lots of jennies and 1 wobbegong. Can't see why you wouldn't get sandies again further south. Got the most jennies in the 3-5 m pots and the keeper bucks were in the deepest pot 9m

Nice one,

Western side of Tangas is very shallow , was you heading towards Welshpool?