View Full Version : yep plenty there

rosco1974
14-09-2013, 09:10 AM
pulled 26 keepers this morning out of the pots..lockie I have hit 30 so this arvo I should catch ya .you will be there to see it...
cheers rosco96340

robsue
14-09-2013, 09:47 AM
Crabking is back out there, nowhere safe for you crabs to hide now

snapperbasher
14-09-2013, 09:58 AM
Well done Rosco... Catcha this arvo.

rosco1974
15-09-2013, 09:25 AM
cheers for coming for a run yesterday lockie a bit blowie but we managed another 19 for the trip,we got another 22 sandies this morning a big rock crab and a cracker muddie about 7 inches and full as...so I guess I have caught your numbers in 2 days.lol..71 sandies and counting...put todays in the freezer for the youngbloke next weekend...

robsue
15-09-2013, 09:29 AM
WHAT...not confident of getting fresh crabs next weekend????

go out Friday, you will load up again, i'm sure

rosco1974
15-09-2013, 11:11 AM
yeah mate am confident but its always good to have a few in the freezer just in case,am sure the crabbin army will be in force next weekend as well as the sharefarmers...we al knows what happins when the sharefarmers get going will be ucky to get a dozen out of the pots..

snapperbasher
15-09-2013, 07:01 PM
No worries Rosco thanks for the trip.... Bit of a change crabbin out of your rig compared to mine!!:-)....
Even though I still got wet...haha... That wind was disgusting!!

I'll get back out next week an see if I can catch back up again... Come for a run in my boat if your keen.... Bring the wet weather gear!! Haha..

rosco1974
15-09-2013, 07:57 PM
no worries lockie might just do that come for a run,finnished the weekend with 94 sandies,1 muddie and a couple of rock crabs...better numbers in the 6.5 mtr mark down where we pulled my last pot yesterday..is all good sis is coming tomorrow to get her feed of 20 sandies for her and the kids and just put 20 in the freezer for a rainy day so to speak..then there all gone,my rellies deffinatly got a good feed...

BLOOEY
16-09-2013, 04:14 PM
Lovely haul rosco, got me champing at the bit (and salivating at the mouth) to get out there when this wind dies down a bit and get a few of my own. Do you freeze your sandys whole and green? Ben

rosco1974
16-09-2013, 04:52 PM
yeah ben that's he way I do it,when I defrost them b4 I cook them I do it in an ice slurry,thats the best way I have found to do it,there a little bit harder to peel but still very nice to eat...

BLOOEY
16-09-2013, 07:17 PM
Cool, thanks rosco. Hoping to nab a few shortly to take to my oldies who don't have the capacity to get their own but loooove seafood! I cryovac fillets of fish to give them but crustacea I wasn't sure about freezing! The old man in particular cranks through the seafood I give them and i'm sure will love it! ta again. Ben

rosco1974
16-09-2013, 08:25 PM
my oldies love seafood as well ben,they wil prob eat 8 crabs to my 1,i don't eat a lot of them but love catching the buggers... I give the 15 or so on Saturday and by sunday nite they had eatin the lot...

MrNanks
16-09-2013, 08:59 PM
my oldies love seafood as well ben,they wil prob eat 8 crabs to my 1,i don't eat a lot of them but love catching the buggers... I give the 15 or so on Saturday and by sunday nite they had eatin the lot...
Rosco, You are the sort of son my parents needed. Theirs can't catch fish or crabs.

BLOOEY
16-09-2013, 09:16 PM
Jesus there doin well. I can eat5-6 full sandys in a sitting if i'm hungry but that's about it! I don't doubt that my old man could eat half as much again to be honest but he's a large bloke. haha. Still better than him eating a fatty pork chop or something though.Ben

MrNanks
16-09-2013, 09:22 PM
Jesus there doin well. I can eat5-6 full sandys in a sitting if i'm hungry but that's about it! I don't doubt that my old man could eat half as much again to be honest but he's a large bloke. haha. Still better than him eating a fatty pork chop or something though.Ben
Thats cause they are full after eating all the jew fish you provide for them.
I need lessons on catching them too. My young fella rates the jew that I caught the nicest fish he ate.( I have only ever caught one )

rosco1974
17-09-2013, 05:27 PM
ben they peel them as soon as I get there for sambo's eat a normally make curried crab ...when you put crabmeat bout an inch thick on the sambo's they go quick.well the oldbloke puts 2 sandies worth of meat per sandwich so I guess luch for them would be around 6 or 7 at 1 hit...hell my youngbloke eats 5 of them in 1 go and he is 14 lol.. big kid though 5ft 10 and 74 kilo

18-09-2013, 10:10 AM
Great to hear the crabs are around in numbers Rosco, when i get back from Agnes M&G ive got a couple of weeks off so ill be out and about for the sandies, cant wait.

kingcray
18-09-2013, 05:20 PM
yep got couple days off next week to watch the young bloke while hes on holidays, cant wait to get him out and into the sandies.

rosco1974
18-09-2013, 06:03 PM
i got the week off mate,so looking forward to it,got plans of fishin off moreton,goldie as well as the sunny coast...maybe even give the crabs ago as well

kingcray
18-09-2013, 06:14 PM
maybe? of course you will
good luck, forecast looking alright at the moment for next week

wave dancer
19-09-2013, 09:19 AM
ben they peel them as soon as I get there for sambo's eat a normally make curried crab ...when you put crabmeat bout an inch thick on the sambo's they go quick.well the oldbloke puts 2 sandies worth of meat per sandwich so I guess luch for them would be around 6 or 7 at 1 hit...hell my youngbloke eats 5 of them in 1 go and he is 14 lol.. big kid though 5ft 10 and 74 kilo

My young lad is only 8 months old and over 40kgs but can easily scoff a dozen sometimes shell and all. LOL. :LMAO:

robsue
19-09-2013, 09:26 AM
My young lad is only 8 months old and over 40kgs but can easily scoff a dozen sometimes shell and all. LOL. :LMAO:

wow, hate to feed him when he is 8 years old, and at that rate 400kg.....LOL

BLOOEY
19-09-2013, 04:27 PM
Thanks again for the report roscoe. I put 4 pots in yesterday to soak overnight, surprisingly in the morning there was only one legal muddie and 1 legal sandie. There was a lot of berried up females and mini males. Let them soak for another hour after sunup and got 6 more sandys (2monsters) and another muddy! Eaten 5 sandies and will have the others on sangas tomorrow when out fishing for whiting. Tough life, haha. Ben

rosco1974
19-09-2013, 04:51 PM
nice feed ben ...was that over the river mate

BLOOEY
19-09-2013, 06:39 PM
Yeah rosco, Was going to head into the bay but the chop was harsh and the forecast didn't look good to pick them up this morn. Really early was nice but the mouth soon became very ordinary this morning. Muddys and sandys were full as a googy! Got a crab fix for a while now. Ben

rosco1974
19-09-2013, 09:10 PM
any fish mate..

wave dancer
19-09-2013, 09:28 PM
wow, hate to feed him when he is 8 years old, and at that rate 400kg.....LOL
Yeah mate forget 10 or 15 crabs it will be more like 10 or 15 kilo of pure crab meat. lol

robsue
20-09-2013, 10:02 AM
Yeah mate forget 10 or 15 crabs it will be more like 10 or 15 kilo of pure crab meat. lol

wont be a problem, Mick?, with Rosco as a mate he can supply you I'm sure

rosco1974
20-09-2013, 07:00 PM
hittin them again tomorrow...micks dog will have to wait the new pup loves it as well cannot eat 10-15 kilo yet but prob do a kilo I recon

robsue
21-09-2013, 09:10 AM
thinking about putting pots in today, definitely tomorrow, Monday and possibly tues as well

solemandownunder
21-09-2013, 04:42 PM
thinking about putting pots in today, definitely tomorrow, Monday and possibly tues as well

Kerri & I are putting in at Manly in the morn bout 6am...drop the pots, then fish around souwest Mud till round lunch, then back home :)