View Full Version : Snapper

Funchy
07-07-2013, 05:26 PM
Headed out off Mooloolabah at 5am with a couple of mates. Felt a bit under gunned as I brought along my 2-5 kg Daiwa rod coupled with a 2500 Symeter with 10lb braid on it and another light combo, while my mates had big arse rods and reels with 50lb - 80 lb line. I was flicking Zman 4 inch curls tails and they had pillies and flesh baits. Turns out the Zman out did the bait in the snapper dept but not the wobbygong dept (The one in the pic was huuuuuge. Anyway, ended up one of my mates couldnt take it any moreand grabbed hold of my spare combo after getting sick of me hooking up and started to join in the action!! ;;D Anyway, had a ball, lots of laffs, talking sh!t, got my PB snapper and took home a feed so pretty chuffed.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/misc/pencil.png

07-07-2013, 06:17 PM
Love to hear plastics triumph over bait - it does happen! Well done Funchy. Can't quite make out the jighead used on the redthroat but looks like a darter, what weight?

Funchy
07-07-2013, 06:25 PM
Yeah Scalem, was a 1/4oz darter mate. I was really surprised how well the plastic did over the bait. If old mate hadnt grabbed my other SP combo I would have been the only one on the board. They are both now convinced to always pack a SP combo for every trip now :D

netmaker
07-07-2013, 07:26 PM
way to go m8. it's a right treat showing those dyed in the wool bait fisho's how to catch a snap or 2;). shame you got beaten on the wobbys tho:P:LMAO:. personally, I've caught more vermin in the last week on bait than in 4 years of fishing plastics::). congrats on the pb too.

Agrav8_and_Lulu
07-07-2013, 07:46 PM
Top shelf snap there Funchy well done on the pb. The light gear triumphs.

Back In Black
07-07-2013, 08:41 PM
Great, now the flathead king is catching snapper as well!!

Careful Dave, you might have some competition if he catches snapper like he does flathead.

thelump
07-07-2013, 08:51 PM
Good stuff Finchy.

Funchy
08-07-2013, 05:30 AM
Thanks fellas, still got a grin from ear to ear! :thumbsup:

Chas & Clarry
09-07-2013, 09:43 PM
That is fantastic Funchy. Nice PB. We landed PB on the same day: a 6' 4" son in law !

Going to be up your way with the boat this week if you are up for a fish (we haven't fished for about 6 months !)

Chas & Clarry

Richo1
09-07-2013, 09:50 PM
Nice one, 2500 Symeter is a great reel have two now on my dedicated snapper rigs

Funchy
10-07-2013, 06:56 AM
Nice one, 2500 Symeter is a great reel have two now on my dedicated snapper rigs

Yeah Richo I find em pretty good. I have a fewe 2500 reels. The my Stradic too but is in for a service at the moment. :(

Alot of fun getting good fish on the light stuff.

Funchy
10-07-2013, 06:58 AM
That is fantastic Funchy. Nice PB. We landed PB on the same day: a 6' 4" son in law !

Going to be up your way with the boat this week if you are up for a fish (we haven't fished for about 6 months !)

Chas & Clarry

Congrats on the SIL guys!!! Lets hope he proves to be a PB :p

You have my mobile still? If so give me a tingle when you know when you are going to be up. Looks like Sunday is best day for me

Giffo65
10-07-2013, 07:35 AM
Well done Funchy,that Snapper is worth twice the fun in the size stakes getting it on light gear. What depth were fishing you to get a light jig down ? or were they mid water ?

Funchy
10-07-2013, 07:40 AM
I was using 1/4 oz in 15 mtrs and gave plenty of time to sink. Used about 5/8th Oz in 22 mtrs. Got em all close to bottom. Bluddy fun. Cant wait to try again if my mates will let me come again :D

Goodoo haven
10-07-2013, 10:36 AM
Good stuff Luke.

Skusto
10-07-2013, 01:05 PM
good work mate we don't use heavy gear off moreton any more catch a lot more fish using lighter gear not as light as u were using, all ways take both as the plastics generally always out do the bait but there have been a couple were the bait was working better.

Funchy
10-07-2013, 04:02 PM
good work mate we don't use heavy gear off moreton any more catch a lot more fish using lighter gear not as light as u were using, all ways take both as the plastics generally always out do the bait but there have been a couple were the bait was working better.

Yeah thats for sure. I am not a fanatic plastics fella, will use bait as well. I beleive you keep trying all your tricks util something works. I am sold on loghter the better though

Skusto
11-07-2013, 08:42 AM
Plastics go well the snapper cant resist them plus they just hit and run! yeah I use 20 pound braid and a 5 - 8 kg rod use it out at deep tempest a lot haven't been game to go down to 10 cause of the ambos that u get out wide. if I go any lighter I wouldn't be able to turn them at all have struggled a few times trying to turn them to come up. but 10 pound on the shallow reefs would be great fun

carnster
12-07-2013, 11:22 AM
Hate the wobbeys!

TREVELLY
14-07-2013, 06:35 AM
Well done Funchy,

If your mates won't take you out give me a buzz and I will take you out there and you can show me a trick or two on those plastics for snapper ;)

Assume you were drifting.

Suspect technique it is much the same as about mud - but you got some good results there.

I wonder how floaters and jigs would have gone down a burley trail of wheat and minced pillies :)

Carnster - I just have the biggest grin imagining you with one of those suckers on the ski :D There would only be one on the ski I reckon.

Well done Funchy - have to admit 20lb is my lower limit offshore and with braid it is fine enough thread.