View Full Version : Measuring fish QLD Gov Site
Bobpen
30-06-2013, 09:17 AM
Measuring finfish
Fin fish are measured from the tip of their snout to the end of their tail (see illustration). If you unintentionally take a fish (including fin fish or crustaceans) that is not the legal size or is unwanted, return it to the water immediately, taking as much care as possible to avoid causing injury to the fish.
Measuring crab
For guidelines on how to measure crabs see Crabs and lobsters (http://www.daff.qld.gov.au/28_3065.htm).
http://www.daff.qld.gov.au/images/Fisheries_RecreationalFishing/FishMeasuringBoard-lindr-500.gif Measuring device. Fisheries Queensland recommends using a sturdy ruler or coil tape measure to determine the length of catch. Adhesive or stick-on devices can shrink when exposed to weather and be unreliable
http://www.daff.qld.gov.au/28_3011.htm
30-06-2013, 04:31 PM
Thanks for the post Bob, I sure hope it is taken notice of by the ones that don't care about sizes yet.
Size does matter, ask any woman for an honest answer.
30-06-2013, 07:02 PM
Thanks Bob.
FQ do not recommend or accept fish fish measured on a sticker.
Best to keep up to date with regs via the FQ website.
cheers LP
30-06-2013, 08:17 PM
Thanks Phill, buts whats the reality, most if not all fishos use either stickers on an esky or a brag matt trying to do the right thing, my take anyway is if its to the mill then throw it back and for things like bream only keep over 27 etc, but i reckon shops shouldnt also sell them if they arent right or shrink if thats the case...
ozynorts
30-06-2013, 08:28 PM
I think it is because the stickers shrink with heat after a while while something like a brag mat doesn't.
30-06-2013, 09:34 PM
ozy, i think youll find brag matts arent the most accurate things either, nor are the DPI crab measurers, bit of a minefield
glassout
30-06-2013, 09:50 PM
I just compared a ruler to the fish measuring stickers on my boat and the stickers were exactly the same and the stickers have been on the boat for 3 years
01-07-2013, 07:30 PM
Yep, stickers and brag matts are ok to measure your catch.
But...... legally, they are required to be measured from a device as per regulations.
Wooden board with steel inlay. What this does is, if you are investigated by Fisheries, they will measure suspected undersize fish on THEIR measuring device and you have no recourse if the fish are undersize and you measured them on a sticker or brag matt.
As Mike has rightly pointed out though, if you have to resort to measuring a fish to see if it is legal, it will probably not be legal length, hence his and many others bide by the rule of a few centimeters over size before it goes in the esky.
Even a good size ( 55 - 56 - 57cms ) Red Emporer measured on a legal measuring device at time of capture, will fall below legal length after 8 hours in an esky. 55cms being legal minimal length for this species.
Just be aware that the bigger the fish the more it can shrink in an esky over an extended period of time.
cheers LP
Mike Delisser
01-07-2013, 11:18 PM
Brag mats DO shrink over time, I've a Shimano mat that's shrunk 1cm at the metre mark.
Aussie123
01-07-2013, 11:51 PM
Just about all Brag mats and stickers shrink over time.
Brag mats are the worst thing for measuring fish as they are more often than not rippled under the fish and give an incorrect measure.
Bigger fish can be up to 2cm out on a mat compared to a proper measuring device so something to be aware of when measuring a fish close to its limit.
gruntahunta
02-07-2013, 06:47 AM
Ok.....here is a scenario....A 25 cm bream has been caught and measured, legally placed in the ice slurry.....a few minutes later fisheries turn up and measure the bream, still 25cm, still legal size......2 hours later fisheries again turn up, measure same bream, now shrunk in eskie to 24cm.....how can one possibly be fined for that?......
Is it common knowledge that fish shrink in Eskies? Do the fisheries know this? If so it should be stated in the regulations or at least in the guide lines. No one will measure their fish multiple times to check for shrinkage. The idea of only keeping larger than legal fish to overcome this is should be an unnecessary habit. If this is the case, I will fillet my legal sized fish immediately, throw the frame back in the drink as I am permitted to do. No way will I cop a fine for a fish that was legal but shrunk.
Are the authorities saying that they don't shrink?
rayken1938
02-07-2013, 06:59 AM
And conversely you could wack the just oversized barra or flatty in the esky and hope it will shrink to size before fisheries turn up.
You cannot have it both ways,
"No way will I cop a fine for a fish that was legal but shrunk. "
Enjoy your day in court I think that a $90 fee now applies win or loose if you contest a fine.
Ray
timddo
02-07-2013, 07:02 AM
You can't fillet your fish on a boat, land base you can.
WalrusLike
02-07-2013, 07:03 AM
Any of these regulations have dicky little complexities.. lawyers live high on the hog off that fact.
So....
Does anyone here have personal experience of being done wrong by fisheries because of the shrinkage or measuring complexities?
I will keep a cm extra for comfort and not worry about it unless there's real world cases....
(Using Tapatalk on iPhone so can't easily 'thank' or 'like')
BLOOEY
02-07-2013, 07:48 AM
Is the fish measured to the tip of the tail as it lays naturally?(I would assume so) In the top pic if you squashed the tail together you would get another cm! Ben
marto78
02-07-2013, 08:17 AM
Is the fish measured to the tip of the tail as it lays naturally?(I would assume so) In the top pic if you squashed the tail together you would get another cm! Ben
And if you cut its throat and gave it a stretch you could easily get another 2cm out of it.
BLOOEY
02-07-2013, 11:10 AM
Yep, aware of that marto78 but not what I was asking. There is still a grey area here. Ben
Triple
02-07-2013, 12:35 PM
You can't fillet your fish on a boat, land base you can.
You can.. Just more regs but - http://www.daff.qld.gov.au/28_3054.htm
Old post on it with reply from fisheries on pg 2.
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?186017-When-can-one-fillet-fish
mangrove rat
02-07-2013, 01:25 PM
Why don't they measure to the inside of the fin on fish with tails like bream etc like they do with sandcrabs and fish with tails like whiting get measured to the end of tail, but like many have said who wants too keep 10 just legal "have to be measured to be sure" fish anyway, many on here wouldn't be the culprits anyway! But yeah some interesting scenarios tho!
fish'n'chippy
02-07-2013, 04:10 PM
This is one area that doesn't affect me, nor am I concerned about being 'inspected by fisheries'
You've got to be able to catch proper fish before these rules apply..
No-one gives a 5hit about the grinners I catch and throw back,
:D
TREVELLY
02-07-2013, 04:14 PM
This is one area that doesn't affect me, nor am I concerned about being 'inspected by fisheries'
You've got to be able to catch proper fish before these rules apply..
No-one gives a 5hit about the grinners I catch and throw back,
:D
Right on !! :thumbsup: 94314
02-07-2013, 05:42 PM
Guys,
It all comes down to interpretation and the individual FQ officer.
I don't know anyone personally that has been fined for 1 undersize fish, nor have I heard a story of a legal fish shrinking and then being measured by FQ an ending up in court etc.
The topic is purely about the way to measure a fish caught by a recreational angler in Qld, supported by the Law.
The thread starter was measuring his fish to the fork, which is not a bad idea and in most " scientific research " cases, fork length is the standard.
If one is that desperate to " stretch " a just under fish........ fine, you are not going to desimate the fishery, but you have to live with it.
The guidelines state that a fish needs to measured legally by a wooden frame and steel inlay. This is purely for the Patrol Officers, it has to be their standard. It is up to the individual angler to make sure their fish is of a legal length.... in possession.
I am certain FQ officers understand the shrinkage issue, as well as fish shrinkage..... ( yep, a lame joke, but I laughed :P :) )
All anglers have different experience and skill levels. Most stick very close to the rules and regs and have a good working knowledge of those. Some choose to ignore rules etc. Some just don't know. If you are happy in your way of measuring fish, that is fine.
I find the wooden frame version too bulky to keep on board the boat, hence I use an Alvey plastic ruler and a steel tape measure... but mostly, I use experience to look at the fish and make a call. If I have to drag the tape measure out........ it usually goes spot on or under. Save the trouble, throw it back, ReBait and dong a well-over legal size... to be sure.to be sure ! :) :) :)
IMO.
cheers LP
netmaker
02-07-2013, 06:10 PM
I am more worried about fish being over size rather than undersize:P. sunday last week is a prime example. fish landed measured 69 on the boat so I stuck around looking for a plus 70 to go with it. at home it measured 71 so I was lucky I didn't get another::). the fact that you can manipulate the tail (like dicktracey;)) is a little disconcerting. whilst I may measure a fish as it lays naturally, what is to stop a fisheries officer with a hitler psychosis stretching the tail back a bit and making it over size? I would prefer measuring to the fork rather than the tip to do away with this possibility.
fish'n'chippy
02-07-2013, 06:19 PM
I am more worried about fish being over size rather than undersize:P.
HaHaHa....that's gold mate
G
I am more worried about fish being over size rather than undersize:P. sunday last week is a prime example. fish landed measured 69 on the boat so I stuck around looking for a plus 70 to go with it. at home it measured 71 so I was lucky I didn't get another::). the fact that you can manipulate the tail (like dicktracey;)) is a little disconcerting. whilst I may measure a fish as it lays naturally, what is to stop a fisheries officer with a hitler psychosis stretching the tail back a bit and making it over size? I would prefer measuring to the fork rather than the tip to do away with this possibility.
lol, if only i had your worries!
The question Blooey poses is a good one. I have seen manipulation of the fishes caudal tail often on charter boats as standard practice for Total length. I can see the benefits of this as it will be a very specific way to measure fish with limited variation in the technique between measures. Measuring fish in their relaxed can result in variation in length from the one fish as there are differences in how the fish lies on the measuring device. This may be particularly evident between the angler and the fisheries measurements. agree fork length is better but some species are not suited. However, all is not an issue if you return the fish that are close to minimum size anyway as others have noted.
Damned67
03-07-2013, 10:58 AM
Interpretation... In my opinion, my first take on the text that says "taken at extreme tip of the tail", suggests that it implies measured in a 'stretched' state. "Extreme" adds definition. On my second take, 'extreme' merely is another way of saying 'furthest most' tip of tail.
No where does the text imply either 'natural' or 'stretched' state. Pretty grey, if yo ask me.
capt. mud
03-07-2013, 12:47 PM
If you have to think about measuring them ...... Throw em' back !