View Full Version : Persistance Pays Pink

kingcray
02-06-2013, 02:58 PM
hey all
hit up mud island again yesterday for a berley and bait bash to see if we could manage a snap or 2. Headed out of Clontarf around 6ish through squally cold weather and almost thought bugger it but we persisted and eventually made it to my first spot on the NW side around 7. Fished a little deeper this time for nothing for the first hour so made a move. This spot was a little better with at least a few undersize squire , bream , a decent gummy shark and a few other mixed throwbacks.
Got to around 9 o clock and im thinkin screw this i want to come home with a fish so moved over the little knob ive been fishing there over the last 6 months which has been producing a few keepers. We eventually start to land a few squire most either just 35 or just under and also a nice little tusky, then mossy cruises past in some swish black rig , he mustve sprinkled a bit of his magic 'snap attractant' over the side as he went as pretty much instantly the better fish started to bite! At last shannon is onto a decent fish i called straight away for a snapper , after a good fight on light line she swims into the net and goes 61. A new PB for shannon, not long after i boat one at 53.
All in all turned out not a complete waste of time with a bit of persisting , landed a few , lost some good fish , left them on the bite , and my mate gets a PB.
That makes 6 consecutive successful trips to mud and still trying to crack the 80 mark with our best going 71 so far.932729327393274
cheers! :beer:

netmaker
02-06-2013, 03:34 PM
well done mate. i found it tough yesterday and bombed out with undersize fish all morning.

kingcray
02-06-2013, 03:38 PM
well done mate. i found it tough yesterday and bombed out with undersize fish all morning.
yea mate it can be like that. I reckon if i hadnt come across this little patch my last 6 trips wouldve been donuts, cant raise a decent scale anywhere other than there

Seahorse
02-06-2013, 03:41 PM
Nice stuff dean.i am going over there on friday. Hope you left me some. Lol

fisho8
02-06-2013, 03:48 PM
Well done Deano me and Mossy got nothing but undersize all day and managed 1 keeper I was out with him bloody nice boat we were in to....I so want a side console.

Cheers Mick.

kingcray
02-06-2013, 03:57 PM
Greg dont worry i left heaps for you mate, but they are all 30cm long.
Mick you guys shouldve poppd over, is that mossys new rig? i would love something like that ..

boat and hoe
02-06-2013, 04:07 PM
Well done i hope i can get some around that size at Redcliffe this year. The signs look good this year

robersl
02-06-2013, 05:24 PM
well done dean I was there for a while yesterday morning managed 1 from my close spot and a mate got 1 just under before heading back home

kingcray
02-06-2013, 05:33 PM
hey shane what area were yo fishing ? i guess you will be getting stuck into the tailor soon (when you can finally find some pike haha!)

fisho8
02-06-2013, 07:17 PM
Greg dont worry i left heaps for you mate, but they are all 30cm long.
Mick you guys shouldve poppd over, is that mossys new rig? i would love something like that ..

No mate it was a mate of his I am looking at getting one in the not to distant future it is a clark 435 Kakadu Pro with a 60hp Merc 4 stroke hooks hammers along with that engine on the back.

kingcray
03-06-2013, 06:03 AM
crikey 60hp would get her rattling along thats for sure. Do you still have the 2 boats mick ?

Mossy247
03-06-2013, 07:06 AM
crikey 60hp would get her rattling along thats for sure. Do you still have the 2 boats mick ?

Yes he does Deano good point :-p , that was us waving as we drove past in the bright blue pants! LoL We tried hard and managed plenty of undersizes, grinner, puffer, pike just missed a catty. I used all my luck later that day with a one at eagle farm, new zealand and the gold coast. I will be back in my little tinny next trip my misses isn't too keen I am taking up hay space in the shed. Next trip mate as long as netmaker isn't around good chance on that 80+. Lets hope your mate doesn't go in the water this season it was chilly on saturday. tight lines - Mossy

Peter4
03-06-2013, 09:51 AM
We tried Peel & Goat rather than Mud on Saturday morning and ended up with 7 legal fish between 38 and 50cm...

Goodoo haven
03-06-2013, 11:37 AM
Well done Dean.

kingcray
03-06-2013, 05:13 PM
Yes he does Deano good point :-p , that was us waving as we drove past in the bright blue pants! LoL We tried hard and managed plenty of undersizes, grinner, puffI , pike just missed a catty. I used all my luck later that day with a one at eagle farm, new zealand and the gold coast. I will be back in my little tinny next trip my misses isn't too keen I am taking up hay space in the shed. Next trip mate as long as netmaker isn't around good chance on that 80+. Lets hope your mate doesn't go in the water this season it was chilly on saturday. tight lines - Mossy
haha yeah i know what its like havin the missus on your back trust me. I didnt happen to notice the blue pants but they seem to be the new craze so will go out an get me some.
Yeah mate was around this time last year he went into the drink.. doesnt bother me if he wants to have another swim.
I hardly feel worthy posting snap reports with mr netmaker around showing how its done ... but i hear the fishing trips will be few and far between come next month for him so theres hope for us ;D

kingcray
03-06-2013, 05:14 PM
We tried Peel & Goat rather than Mud on Saturday morning and ended up with 7 legal fish between 38 and 50cm...
Hey Peter yes ive seen your reports you have been slaying them .. no need to rub it in mate :P

mhilton
03-06-2013, 08:30 PM
nice pinks there mate