View Full Version : Land based Sandgate

cuzzamundi
27-05-2013, 09:20 PM
Thought I'd fish the back of the full with the highest peak last night. Good, consistent action both sides of the high. About ten legal bream, and a couple of lizards. Kept these for a feed, threw the others back for next time. All fish were noticeably fat and in great nick.

Just a quick side whinge - I had a look at a local pier and surrounds yesterday arvo. Firstly had to come to the rescue of a tiddler bream because some bloke who shouldn't be fishing walked it a mile up the bank, fart arsed around trying to de-hook it with ten different types of tool, then jumped and threw the bugger everytime it moved. I got the shits and had to take it off him and release it myself. I showed him where to grab them, so hopefully he knows now.
Second was trying to convince a bloke that his 'Whiting' was in fact a tailor, and a small 25cm one at that.
I'm no fun police, far from it (it's bloody great seeing people enjoy fishing), but it's a bit of a worry how few people know the rules/their species/how to properly handle fish. No 92954one's perfect (me especially), and we all have to learn, but I reckon having the basics covered should be a must. It's hard not to crack a darkie when you see this happening, though. Either way there were no bingles, and all were smiling after each encounter - especially the poor basta%d undersized fish!!!

Cuzza

Funchy
28-05-2013, 06:00 AM
Good stuff Cuzza both on the catch and helping out the fellow fisho's. :thumbsup:

jmwarner
28-05-2013, 08:28 AM
It gets really bad at Baxter's jetty with heaps of the tourists (a lot of Asians) catching well under size fish like brim that would struggle to reach 15cm and taking them. My mate owns the fish and chip shop opposite so we go there every now and then at night with a few beers only to find it is even worse. I have been at the point where i was telling some Asian guy either he threw the fish back or he was going in with it.

PixieAU
28-05-2013, 10:16 AM
my wife abandons me when I walk out on to piers to see what people are keeping.

Mossy247
28-05-2013, 12:50 PM
my wife abandons me when I walk out on to piers to see what people are keeping.

Hahahahah mine does the same. Along with many other occasions I choose to speak up for the little fishes. I am not alone! Well I am after she goes in the other direction.

MacDougall
28-05-2013, 08:32 PM
It's definitely worth doing but on the other side of the coin a while back at Scott's Head on the North Coast I was fishing near the boat ramp and caught a 22cm tarwhine that I'd mortally hooked in the main vein. 99/100 I would have thrown it back but considering it was bleeding out and was a legal fish I decided to toss it in a rock pool and keep it. A couple of blokes came up to me and gave me some lip about keeping undersize bream and wouldn't hear about it being a dying legal sized tarwhine. I threw it in the drink in front of them and let them watch as it floated away dead.

28-05-2013, 09:06 PM
Thought I'd fish the back of the full with the highest peak last night. Good, consistent action both sides of the high. About ten legal bream, and a couple of lizards. Kept these for a feed, threw the others back for next time. All fish were noticeably fat and in great nick.

Just a quick side whinge - I had a look at a local pier and surrounds yesterday arvo. Firstly had to come to the rescue of a tiddler bream because some bloke who shouldn't be fishing walked it a mile up the bank, fart arsed around trying to de-hook it with ten different types of tool, then jumped and threw the bugger everytime it moved. I got the shits and had to take it off him and release it myself. I showed him where to grab them, so hopefully he knows now.
Second was trying to convince a bloke that his 'Whiting' was in fact a tailor, and a small 25cm one at that.
I'm no fun police, far from it (it's bloody great seeing people enjoy fishing), but it's a bit of a worry how few people know the rules/their species/how to properly handle fish. No 92954one's perfect (me especially), and we all have to learn, but I reckon having the basics covered should be a must. It's hard not to crack a darkie when you see this happening, though. Either way there were no bingles, and all were smiling after each encounter - especially the poor basta%d undersized fish!!!

Cuzza

Good on you for helping out the other bloke. If they cant figure it out, then we should help to educate them. When it comes to species, I am no expert and love it when people give me advice.

Willdoe
29-05-2013, 01:30 PM
I visit family in Sandgate from time to time and was wondering where I could fish when there is nothing happening at home. During our walks I havn't seen anyone fishing along the concrete wall between the swinmming pool and the pier. Where do you recommend.
Willdoe

jmwarner
29-05-2013, 02:29 PM
There's a few reports of Taylor from cabbage tree creek to the Hornybrook. I've also heard of same nice Flathead and Jews being taken in the creek. I got a couple of just legal whiting and brim the other week but was very slow. Best thing to do would be head down to Tackleland at Sandgate and have a talk with them. They're always friendly and willing to give advice.

Fish_gutz
29-05-2013, 04:37 PM
anywhere behind the pool on high tide and if you go down the big jetty head north along the bike track to the stairs ( it`s about 300 meters along , there`s also some barricades along there where they must be repairing the wall. ) and you should find some action. there are rocks in close at this spot so wind quick for the last 5 meters. past that it`s all sand , been a few lizards around. small pillies on a little 3 gang should see you in with a chance.

nice catch cuzza. ;)

kingcray
29-05-2013, 05:05 PM
nice work cuzz i used to fish there a lot through my school days i see nothing has changed

as a kid my dad used to take me down to the wall behind eventide nursing home. He would use unweighted mullet fillets and pull bream 'as big as his creel' , and catch elbow slapper whiting on worms at will. Also the odd tailor , flathead , stingray , shovelly and baby hammerhead sharks ..

cuzzamundi
29-05-2013, 09:31 PM
Yeah, it can be anusing at times for people hanging out with you when you're in 'patrol' mode. Either way I hate seeing undersized fish being kept, and like I said, I always try and make it non-threatening etc, and people always respond well. I remember as I kid I used to go on sting ray patrol on the big pier, and throw them back after people would cut their lines and leave them flapping to their death. Not good.

Wildoe it's definitely worth a look. Low tide can see some great flattie action around the leads up from Baxter's jetty. Also where Fish_Gutz and KingCray mentioned are great spots at times. Lots of tiddlers during the day in the creek, but still worth a go in case the bigger schools are playing. Don't be afraid of having a look ariund the trawlers, either. Some surprises can come from in there.

Yeah Kingcray they were the days! Been fishing those grounds simce I was a tiddler myself. Great memories. Funnily enough, all those species you mentioned are still anbundant in that spot given the right phase of the moon.

Cuzza