View Full Version : Tough day in the office when you got the likes of netmaker on the prowl...

Mossy247
22-05-2013, 06:55 AM
So had organised a tuesday off and the weather had aligned so I g'd up a fish with an ol mate I hadn't seen in about 10 years, he recently has got a boat and back into fishing. We used to fish the tweed river alot as kids but spent most of our time riding our esky lids at snapper rocks or D-Bah if we were lucky enough not to get bashed by some of the locals. Anyway enough of the ol times so we met at pinkenba ramp around 6am. I had my mates boat with me black betty the 435 Clark - Kakadu pro with a nice 60 merc 4banger. So threw his stuff in the boat and advised him to cut his 20lb leaders off and replace with 10lb. It wasn't as wind free as they promised but i take best judgement over the weather reports of late, scooted over to the usual island and started having a flick. Not much around was abit windy and the drift was flying. So went over to see Dave as he just called and reported some 60's. Had a drift near dave, gave a wave and we started heading back over the northern area so I stopped at some different spots and drifted out of the raging wind. Couple little squire on board and back in the drink, showed my mate a few of the in's & out's of mud and my theories of the fish and techniques.
Started on the drift with the change of the tide and managed a few small grinners, a monster grinner and a few laughs. I was explaining to my mate "deadstick fever" it can often effect the newbies where they will watch the deadstick every touch, tap oohhhhh ahhhh you are getting a bite. I said mate just wait and she buckles, zzzzzzz's then you grab it. Not long after zzzzzzz yeah , so grabbed the deadstick and on the little SOL I got myself a squire 39cm. A few more drifts and ol mates deadstick goes over and he gets himself a nice squire, took a little line then he tussles up a squire at 51 ish.Few more drifts and abit wider on the drift and we got 4 rods in the water, I got smashed on my flick stick and she took some drag, twisted up the drag and ol mates' deadstick buckles and so does my other deadstick... sheeeit, triple threat... ol mate twist up his drag, nothing.... zzzzzzz again... no real slowing of this beast.... LoL At the same time I am wrestling on fish and manage to talk some smack with netmaker telling him I still got it.. lol. Got it into the boat and she's just under 60.
Nek minnutt : Ol mates fish manages to free itself from a poorly tied knot not. Arrgghhhh he was pissed, busted off he says, I look up and disagree and say see those piggy tails... that my friend if a poorly tied knot. So far 3 in the box and some good times, ol netmaker comes over and we have a laugh and I see his bloody esky filled will snapper and tails hanging out, he bid farewell then on off towards home he headed. I said to my mate if you see ol netmaker at wello then follow him the guy knows his fishing, that was natmaker? As in the ramp guy? Yep, that is him, he is a local celeb now. I said he also does a good job on the tax returns so tell everyone you know to be making appointments to see him. I can't tell enough people NETMAKER is the king of tax returns, HELP SAVE THE SNAPPER, get your tax done with DAVE!
So headed home and I think I won't be able to tell my wife there is another woman, I am falling in love... with a mates boat. I know right, we shalt not covert another mans boat.....:-? p.s It's a pretty sweet boat though. :P
tight lines - MosSy ;D

netmaker
22-05-2013, 07:51 AM
hahahahaha. crack me up mate. my wife prefers "boat ramp nut" and yes, come see me for your tax people. i think i have lost a few wello pt clients in the last year::) and would much rather replace them with fisho clients. besides, where else can you get your tax done for $70 by someone with more than 20 years experience? you will need to advise you are either an ausfisher or fellow "boat ramp nut" for this price;). thanks for the plug mossy and good to catch up again. been a while;D.

dayoo
22-05-2013, 03:16 PM
Nice report Mossy. Was pulling in a snapper when you posted your report.

Bazza

Alexander The Weapon
22-05-2013, 06:39 PM
Nice one Mossy, yeah they never get the weather reports right these days.

Rufus
23-05-2013, 04:06 PM
Hey Mossy, Well done mate, between you, Davo and now the Master Jig Maker, Dayoo the snapper stocks will take a thumping in the bay. I will have to take advantage of every good day for the next few months in an effort to get a feed, well until July as that will take Davo out of the picture. Might start ringing him and making heaps of appointments to keep him home. LOL

Well done to you all. Regards, Mark

Mossy247
23-05-2013, 04:34 PM
You know it mate. Its up to us northsiders to keep the northern bay islands under control. Damn mexican southsiders moving north lol :-p

kingcray
23-05-2013, 04:41 PM
good stuff mossy , cant wait to get back out there

netmaker
23-05-2013, 04:48 PM
You know it mate. Its up to us northsiders to keep the northern bay islands under control. Damn mexican southsiders moving north lol :-p

luv it mate. I get an extra kick catching em from your end and even better when you are spectating lol;D

ddobson
25-05-2013, 11:49 AM
Ha funny as post. Ol snapper rocks was my old haunt for years before fishing came into my life. You love the 4 stroke on your mates boat hey. I blew mine up and am looking at getting a 4 yo 80 horse 4 stroke yammy if bank lets me ha. You wont hear me until im right onto yah ha. Good fish and it pays to fish mid week hey.. Cheers DD.....

Mossy247
25-05-2013, 03:17 PM
Ha funny as post. Ol snapper rocks was my old haunt for years before fishing came into my life. You love the 4 stroke on your mates boat hey. I blew mine up and am looking at getting a 4 yo 80 horse 4 stroke yammy if bank lets me ha. You wont hear me until im right onto yah ha. Good fish and it pays to fish mid week hey.. Cheers DD.....
I might not hear the engine but I am sure I will hear you ol DD, I will take you out for a run once this bloody weather eases off mate, see if we can snaffle a few of netmakers snappers! Hope your keeping well mate :-) - cheers Mossy

lucee81
25-05-2013, 03:27 PM

isn't mud south of the river mouth?

Mossy247
25-05-2013, 05:33 PM
isn't mud south of the river mouth?

My most northern of the bay islands lucas don't see me around peel pinching pinkies :-p At least I can sleep at night knowing you are on the water keeping the snapper well fed and safe from fisherman. LoL

lucee81
25-05-2013, 06:02 PM
My most northern of the bay islands lucas don't see me around peel pinching pinkies :-p At least I can sleep at night knowing you are on the water keeping the snapper well fed and safe from fisherman. LoL

You are so wrong there. I haven't been out in about 2 months due to crap weather when I'm home. Oh look at that I get home Tuesday and no go on te weather front.

popgun19
27-05-2013, 11:19 PM
Nice one Mossy, Your due for a couple of big ones soon. Caught a Schoolie on the 2.5 inch purple grub.

Brian