View Full Version : Mud Island Snapper shine again
Rufus
02-05-2013, 09:08 PM
Hit Mud Island at dawn yesterday, loaded with Dayoo's masterfully made jig heads looking for a feed of Snapper. Took a mate from down the coast, he had other big named brand jig heads. By seven o'clock I have 3 snapper in the esky, 70cm, 68cm and 65cm, all taken on Dayoo jig heads, mate has zero. As the next few hours pass I land another 3 good snapper and they go in the esky, 58cm, 56cm and 51cm. One frustrated mate! Finally he gives in and takes a Dayoo special. First cast, jackpot he is on, well done Bazza I say. So the trip comes to and end, tally: Skipper - 6 beautiful snapper all caught on Dayoo jig heads and a mix of ZMan and Fox SP's, the mate from the coast - a bit fat ZERO. I feel for him today.
Best day for a long while.
Regards, Mark
netmaker
03-05-2013, 04:52 AM
good stuff mark. reckon your mate is a bit slow on the uptake...
03-05-2013, 05:40 AM
Mate what's so good about the heads...is it the little eyes? Where do you source your hears from? Great session too.
BLOOEY
03-05-2013, 06:21 AM
Nice snaps. Really should fish mud one of these days it seems to keep producing day after day. Ben
thelump
03-05-2013, 06:34 AM
Thats awesome Rufus. Well done mate.
03-05-2013, 06:55 AM
Mate what's so good about the heads...is it the little eyes? Where do you source your hears from? Great session too.
The snapper zero in on what is obviously the head of their intended meal and often try to stun their prey before eating it. The fish often get hooked not only in the mouth but under the chin or on the side of the gill cover which supports this theory. It helps that the hooks used are the best quality and razor sharp so the fish only needs to make a pass at the eyes and they are hooked. I never understood why Barry made such a fuss about the eyes, but now I am convinced the eyes are a magnet to snapper that are attracted to it. Well done both to Rufus and to Bazza!
Mossy247
03-05-2013, 07:49 AM
Bloody hell Rufus, you might have to go around and help with production. Got a feeling I might have to just go over and make my own at bazza's place.
Well done on the snappz mate so good fish and would of been a red hot session on the light gear ripping line like crazy. Top stuff mate, lots of fish for the family!
tight lines - Mossy
Symetre
03-05-2013, 08:23 AM
Great stuff Rufus. You should give netmaker some tips. He has to make up stories now! :P
Rufus
03-05-2013, 08:40 AM
good stuff mark. reckon your mate is a bit slow on the uptake...
Hey Davo, yeh, but he is now converted to the coloured jig heads.
Rufus
03-05-2013, 08:46 AM
Hey Ozscott, As Scalem mentioned, the better results for snapper have been with the coloured jig heads with the eyes, I think he is correct with his feeding habits of snapper. As witnessed by the mate I took with me, he used about 4 different well known brands of jig heads for no fish, as soon as he changed to colour with eyes results were achieved.
Contact Dayoo, akak Bazz here on Ausfish for the jig heads.
Regards, Mark
Rufus
03-05-2013, 08:50 AM
Hey Scalem,
I agree with you here mate, and have been considering this theory for a while now. Matching the colour of the SP with a jig head and with the bright eyes has been the go for me. I also agree that the better quality hooks and with the light gear there are more hook ups and great battles. Pure adrenalin pumping stuff.
regards, Mark
Rufus
03-05-2013, 08:56 AM
Hey Mossy, Yeh, as if !!! "Master Craft Classes" with Bazz, sounds good. I wonder if a Tafe College will take him on to run courses, LOL.
Yes, the light gear is fantastic, screaming reels and seeing the backing on the reef makes for a fun time, thank god for the electric.
Don't work to hard mate and hope to see you on the water soon.
regards, Mark
Rufus
03-05-2013, 08:58 AM
Great stuff Rufus. You should give netmaker some tips. He has to make up stories now! :P
Nuh, he just needs a reliable camera. I have seen some of his spoils from the sea, all true.
regards, Mark
03-05-2013, 10:58 AM
I got onto Barry thanks Mark...you came to pilfer the rest of his stock while I was on the phone to him!
Many thanks
fisho8
03-05-2013, 12:05 PM
Well done mate would have been a great session catching that lot gotta love Baza's jigheads. Some very nice fish....Go the Baby Bass.
03-05-2013, 05:23 PM
Hey Scalem,
I agree with you here mate, and have been considering this theory for a while now. Matching the colour of the SP with a jig head and with the bright eyes has been the go for me. I also agree that the better quality hooks and with the light gear there are more hook ups and great battles. Pure adrenalin pumping stuff.
regards, Mark
When you consider that all the manufacturers of plastics go to great lengths to provide all kinds of colours, some natural, some unnatural, all in the attempt to trigger a fishes aggression or appetite, then the last part of the deception when plastics fishing is to stick an ugly piece of lead on the front..... Which could otherwise be a part of the whole act by using an attractive colour with eyes? As many have said in the past, think like a fish....
Zippidy
03-05-2013, 05:30 PM
I need all the help I can get.
Will be in touch for some Jig Heads shortly.
Seahorse
03-05-2013, 10:35 PM
I found those jig heads with the eyes at tackle world , sandgate today. They are the ones made by ur mate.
fisho8
03-05-2013, 11:52 PM
That would be them Greg in a clear packet with a blue label on top saying Dayoo's Jigheads Mark will be getting another lot in soon.
dayoo
04-05-2013, 12:17 PM
That would be them Greg in a clear packet with a blue label on top saying Dayoo's Jigheads Mark will be getting another lot in soon.
I will be restocking Tackleland, Sandgate as soon as I receive another shipment of Hooks from the US.
Probably the end of next week.
Barry
ddobson
04-05-2013, 02:30 PM
Good fish there Rufus. The jighead has made a difference with that trip no doubt mate. Good to see solid fish still coming out of mud as everywere else is slow as. Well done and good homework there for those jigs as I have a bunch of them and save for a hot session but I should use more as it would pick up my game. Cheers DD.....