View Full Version : 24 hours on Moreton bay

craigie
26-04-2013, 11:57 AM
With great weather about it was too nice for just the usual day trip, so got my Deckie Timmy D organised for a 24 hour Moreton Bay mission.

Headed out late arvo, poked around the Western bay islands, sifting over the shallow reefs for a Snapper. Very quiet overnight, one 43 cm in the ice slurry. The vermin drove us mad, rays and sharks, saw more shovels than a council ute, must have thrown back 20 or more!

Got one more snapper on daybreak at 37cm, then added a couple more at high tide with a few just under size keeping us occupied. One nice Flathead at 60cm and a couple of reasonable Bream were also caught in amongst the pan size Snapper.

The afternoon run out tide we moved back to the sandy shallows of the mainland to add a nice catch of Sand whiting and a couple more Bream.

Pulled the boat out just before dark. The body has siezed up but the mind is still willing to go again . Maybe in a day or two ?

Best baits were fresh squid and mullet for the Snapper and good old worms for the Whiting.

Craigie

26-04-2013, 12:59 PM
Top stuff Craigie,

was on the bay yesterday, found the whiting a bit scarce, but got a feed of sandies, will be dropping the pots out on Saturday collecting Sunday

MICHAELG
26-04-2013, 01:46 PM
Nice little haul there Craig-

michael

Boab Bribie
26-04-2013, 07:11 PM
Good work Craig but I had to turn my computer sreen upside down to look at some of the pic's lol
Boab Bribie

Scott Ashe
27-04-2013, 02:22 PM
Well done mate, you have yourself a nice feed there