View Full Version : another day, another bucket, ho hum...

netmaker
20-04-2013, 12:25 PM
hi all.

another morning in the southern bay. left weinam creek about 5am and back before 11am. didn't start casting until about 6.30. got a lot of peeling to do this arvo. having the day off tomorrow for the boaties market. will welcome the break;D

timddo
20-04-2013, 01:02 PM
What boat were you in netmaker, my son and I bagged out too.
The prawns are nice and thick.

bondy99
20-04-2013, 02:04 PM
Netmaker you did well,

Did you see the zodiac out there?

Bondy

netmaker
20-04-2013, 03:25 PM
What boat were you in netmaker, my son and I bagged out too.
The prawns are nice and thick.

i was in my boat tim but unless there were only 8 boats where you were, we were not at the same place. i noticed there were a lot of boats at the power lines but i didn't stay there. congrats on your buckets.

bondy i dont remember seeing a zodiac

netmaker
22-04-2013, 02:51 PM
only 7 litres today and had to work for them again. good size prawn tho.

phantomphisher
22-04-2013, 03:43 PM
My son and I got about 6kg, we started that powerlines crowd too :P

Cheers, Rob

netmaker
22-04-2013, 04:07 PM
My son and I got about 6kg, we started that powerlines crowd too :P

Cheers, Rob

always takes someone... well done.

Pero
22-04-2013, 04:08 PM
Your slipping, Netmaker.

netmaker
22-04-2013, 04:27 PM
Your slipping, Netmaker.

too true, but on the upside that's 3 litres less prawns to peel...

Ideas
22-04-2013, 04:44 PM
Nice catch dave few good feeds there mate

timddo
22-04-2013, 05:04 PM
This what I caught on Sunday. 91668

timddo
22-04-2013, 05:05 PM
That's 2 buckets for father and son combo.

netmaker
24-04-2013, 03:48 PM
just under a bucket today. was a late starter as i had to work:o

Silent
24-04-2013, 07:14 PM
Hey Dave I passd and waved you this morning and I managed 7 litres...
still learning new area, it was worth a long drive from nside especially on mid week! hate to think on p/holiday or weekend with crowds!

netmaker
26-04-2013, 04:19 PM
only a miserable 3 litres today. may have just been some bad decisions on when and where to go looking. I don't know unless someone else posts results...

jackson4300
26-04-2013, 06:04 PM
Where abouts did you head out? I tried this morning from about 6:30 to 10 and didn't end up with as much but still learning the ropes.

royslaven
26-04-2013, 06:33 PM
Hey dave, they weren,t there because I wasn,t , ha, roy

netmaker
27-04-2013, 02:21 PM
Where abouts did you head out? I tried this morning from about 6:30 to 10 and didn't end up with as much but still learning the ropes.

started at Macleay about 9.30 and worked my way down to the power lines. left at 1.30 with no show at the lines tho the crowd had just moved in. don't know if they fired or not. I had had enough by then.

netmaker
27-04-2013, 02:22 PM
Hey dave, they weren,t there because I wasn,t , ha, roy

I am sure that is the reason mate.

Pero
27-04-2013, 02:31 PM
You didn't find me. Thats your problem.

netmaker
27-04-2013, 02:41 PM
You didn't find me. Thats your problem.

hahaha. wasn't looking for you mate. was happy having a short day but my suspicions are that there were a few boats at lamb.

dayoo
27-04-2013, 05:20 PM
Piss poor day today 8 hours work for 1kg. Most of the 30 boats in attendance from the power lines to about 2ks north were only getting 1 or 2 per throw max after the tide turned at 1pm.

Will have to wait until Nudgee fires up.

Bazza

Pero
27-04-2013, 06:37 PM
Piss poor day today 8 hours work for 1kg. Most of the 30 boats in attendance from the power lines to about 2ks north were only getting 1 or 2 per throw max after the tide turned at 1pm.

Bazza

Give it 4 or 5 days, Mate. When the tides slow by Wed, Thursday. They will be everywhere, again. But yeah, Nudgee will be all go, soon.

B U Z Z I N
27-04-2013, 08:11 PM
i went 2 nudgee this morning before work 5.30 til 7.30 got 3/4 of a bucket good size............

buzzin

CruiserV8100
27-04-2013, 08:48 PM
I used to work at a fish food factory and knocked off the prawn feed for prawn farms, I just throw the food out and sit back and wait up to 15mins and throw me net. It was so easy to bring the prawns to me. Id throw where I chucked the food than work my way down current and back up current to where I started. Didnt take bugger all to get a feed doing it this way. Used to get pody mullet and herring in major numbers too doing it this way. Should try it fellas..

bondy99
28-04-2013, 12:07 AM
Bugger the herring Cruiser, dont want silver, I want GOLD.

Bondy

bondy99
28-04-2013, 12:10 AM
Bazza,

I thought you dont go out unless your trawler mate lets you know they are thick, that's what you said last year I believe.

Bondy

dayoo
28-04-2013, 07:29 AM
Bazza,

I thought you dont go out unless your trawler mate lets you know they are thick, that's what you said last year I believe.

Bondy

Bondy,

Don't know of any trawlers that trawl on the western side of Russell Island.:-?

I usually prawn at Nudgee and spoke to the trawler boys at Sandgate last Tuesday and they said that they were only getting greesys.

I am told that the banana prawns moved into the usual areas off Nudgee Beach on Friday.

Got a phone call this morning from Frank the fishing machine who said that the trailer carpark at Nudgee is full and there was also another 30 trailers parked on the road outside. Yellow raincoats everywhere::)

Bazza

Pero
28-04-2013, 03:13 PM

Bazza
Bad mistake yesterday, Dayoo. If you hadn't said it was piss poor at the powerlines, then the yellow armada would have been swarming around me and the 5 other boats here at the powerlines. They have read your report and knew Nudgee was a good option. But just a kilometre from the powerlines was really good for a friend of mine. He got his bucket in 10 casts at approximately midday yesterday. I was out there today. And for any forward scouts for the yellow armada let it be known I never got my bucket today and this pic is just an apparition..

dayoo
28-04-2013, 05:01 PM
Pero,

It pays to know the area you are prawning. We tried all the deeper holes on the western side of Russell as well as the power lines.
but I guess we were there at the wrong time and tide.

Barry aka Bazza

Fish_gutz
28-04-2013, 05:27 PM
I counted about 40 boats of nudgee this morning.

bondy99
28-04-2013, 11:05 PM
Bazza,

Sorry mate, I realise it was not the western side of Russel, no trawler op that I know would. I think last time it was Brisbane River

Yeah those yellow raincoats are out in force, Notice one yakking away on mobile phone and travelling full speed and Whoompa... phutt, ;D ;D it ran aground and rooster tail everywhere ;D ;D , I think 20 of his mates almost done the same thing ;D ;D ;D

bondy99
28-04-2013, 11:07 PM
Pero, I see you managed to get some trinkets

Bondy

Pero
29-04-2013, 04:36 AM
Yeah It was easy, I just followed some bloke.Then I seagulled around him all day.

dayoo
29-04-2013, 11:57 AM
Went to Nudgee with Popgun19 and Frank the prawning machine. I drove the boat while the other two cast. Pretty slow only managed a bucket between us but they were decent size 18 to 25cm.
Two kilos of greeses for bait rest bananas. Got as many as the yellow raincoats.

Another week or two and it should be good.

Bazza

Pero
29-04-2013, 04:35 PM
aawesome, Dayoo. Thats what I call a prawn-. 25ceeeennnntttteerrrrmmeeetttrrreeeerrrrrrssss;)

timddo
29-04-2013, 05:39 PM

This is a feast

aus2045
29-04-2013, 06:28 PM
C c cc c c c c c c c c c c c c

bondy99
29-04-2013, 11:26 PM
Dayoo, looks like you and the prawn machine still did ok amongst the raincoat brigade or is lamp shades now?

Scalem, was you amongst them?

Bondy

Alexander The Weapon
01-05-2013, 09:32 AM
Frank the fishing machine cooked up a few of the prawns he caught with Bazza and a few fillets of the Red Emperor we caught the other week, for lunch :D

dayoo
01-05-2013, 09:42 AM
Just an appertiser for Frank bet he had a steak as the main course;D

Bazza

netmaker
10-05-2013, 05:34 PM
1/2 bucket Tuesday and just under full bucket yesterday. same places.

dayoo
10-05-2013, 05:47 PM
Nudgee was firing last weekend but has been quiet during the week as the trawlers have put the nets through the schools.

Barry

Pero
10-05-2013, 06:14 PM
Not sure if its the trawlers Dayoo. I reckon the prawns have moved. The schools have been smashed for the pat 3 weeks. Anhd with the new moon they usually take a hike. I wouldn't mind betting there are plenty up the Brisbane river reaches- Breacky creek and further up.

10-05-2013, 06:45 PM
Dayoo, looks like you and the prawn machine still did ok amongst the raincoat brigade or is lamp shades now?

Scalem, was you amongst them?

Bondy

Noop, I need to age the Yalta a lot longer before the missus will let me take it prawning, ( don't know why, I am the one that cleans it including shampooing the carpet with the VAX:-X)and the other two boats I can go out with have piked out this season. Brother is too busy with studies and ol mate Alan must have bought his boat for reasons other than fishing and prawning if only I knew what other uses he has for it::)

Got the cast nets out to teach the next door neighbor last week though. Must have caught the same leaf on the lawn 20 times over, perfect spread every time with both nets, one with top pocket and one without. He's still got it! Maybe next season:)

timddo
10-05-2013, 07:32 PM
At your rate Brian, it could be another 10 years.

10-05-2013, 07:52 PM
At your rate Brian, it could be another 10 years. Haha. Might be right mate, Also need to look at buying a new net, you can only repair the same one so many times before you notice too many prawns finding their way out somehow . Bondy knows my casting isn't sh!t though, no problemo there.. If you drive Timddo, will happily get your boat dirty instead. :-*::)

timddo
10-05-2013, 09:54 PM
Sounds like a plan, only problem is wind this week.
Just got my camper trailer today, so am in the process of weathering it.

bondy99
11-05-2013, 11:29 PM
Scalem,

I'm suprised, I thought you and your brother get together each season. I know you do cast good, I think your net needs upgrading as in new.

You are right, one can only repair a net so many times.

Cheers, Bondy

RAGINGBULL
13-05-2013, 07:10 PM
I am keen to a bit of Prawning with my son in law this weekend
I always meant to but never got around to it pursuing it.
Is there any Ausfisho out there that can assist, I can sponsor a ride on my boat if you will teach us a bit about
Where, How, what net style, when is the best time, depth, what they look like on a sounder
I have a basic idea and I can go through the learning process, but if some-one can help us out
Down the Redland bay Island Logan area
I have an old Hainsey 17R
YOU CAN DIRTY MY BOAT IF YOU WANT..

timddo
13-05-2013, 07:31 PM

Just find pero and seagull him around all day.
Prawns are in the same places every year, it's just a matter of being there at the right time.
I think redcliff is the next area to fire, then my spot x.
If you have a chartplotter, just look for the deep holes .

bondy99
19-05-2013, 05:46 PM
Pero and I went out today, I was decky for the day

They are still around. Here's the pic

Bondy