View Full Version : Bris River Flatty

kingcray
15-04-2013, 06:20 AM
I picked up some new plastics and jigheads so was pretty keen to go and chase a flatty.
Went with a mate land based up near the bris river mouth, casted for an hour or so for not much then pretty much bang on low tide got smoked by this beauty. Next cast for same result felt even bigger but lost her through the rock wall. Pretty quiet other than that but a great way to spend a sunday arvo.
Safe to say i have a new fav placcy. http://www.nuggetoutdoors.com.au/smf/Smileys/default/grin.gif
Cheers ;D

Richo1
15-04-2013, 07:36 AM
Great fish, nice and big! We got one about 27cm in a cast net in Oxley creek last week-despite the rain they are well up river.

kingcray
15-04-2013, 06:05 PM
thanks richo, gee mate that sure is a long way upstream. I often pick up small ones in the castnet after heaps of rain

BLOOEY
15-04-2013, 06:21 PM
Nice flatty kingcray, there is certainly a few big ones cruising around the river. How did it fight off the bank? All the Big ones i've hooked in the Brissy from the boat have felt like a rock.That is untill they feel the net, then they go ballistic. Ben

kingcray
15-04-2013, 07:01 PM
fought much more than expected Ben. A lot of runs back out to the wall as it got in close. Was using light line and very snaggy around there so had to be pretty careful.

Goodoo haven
16-04-2013, 10:08 AM
Good on ya Dean. Nice looking flatties there mate.

Well done.

manta man
16-04-2013, 12:41 PM
Nice catch there mate. Well Done

brock13
17-04-2013, 04:58 PM
Nice fish mate. Nice flatty landbased and on placcys. Great effort

kingcray
17-04-2013, 05:35 PM
hey brock hows things mate, you getting that tinny out much?

Mossy247
17-04-2013, 06:32 PM
Good catch that one mate, bummer about getting dusted at the rock wall. Some nice fish frequent that area.
Tight lines - Mossy