View Full Version : Talica or Torsa or Tiburon for bottom bashing?

09-04-2013, 08:05 AM
Just wondering pros and cons for bottom bashing with either of these two reels, reel is to go onto a 250 Wilson venom,

also wondering about is it worth getting the Talica 2 speeds ( do people really use the low gear?)

Will be running 60 or 80 lbs on it

The other option is getting a Tiburon, ive tried one of them recently and didnt mind it

mike

Carry
09-04-2013, 08:33 AM
G'day Tangles,

I have a torsa 20 with 80lb on it that I use for bottom. It's the best overhead reel I have used mate. Can't speak for the other reels but the torsa is a winner.

Carry

benno_r
09-04-2013, 12:08 PM
Talica 12 2 speed. Torsa's are great reels, but are heavy and expensive. I have one, loaded with 400m of Jerry Brown 60lb hollow. Caught many a bottom fish on it, and has never missed a beat. 2 speed is great - big fish on switch it to low and put a bit of hurt on the fish. Lost your bait and need to get up fast - put it in high gear.

tropicrows
09-04-2013, 01:08 PM
Mike, I have the Talica 12 2 speed, great reel. You wont regret the purchase.

09-04-2013, 01:16 PM
I've just brought a tyrnos 2 speed and they're worth looking at as well.

Really Tangles you need to buy a few mdl's of each one, you know you want to, and get a proper comparison test done by TOL.

09-04-2013, 02:19 PM
I plan to Jarra, but I am leaning towards the Talica 12 or 16 2 speed

Reason for new reel, basically a couple of weekends ago got over the Saltist LW50A, it took forever to wind up 16oz of lead in 80 metres, want a faster retrieve than 91 cms a bloody turn.

For TOL, here are some numbers

TALICA 16 2 Speed 750gm 18 5.7.1 3.1.1 104cm 65/485
TORSA 16 825gm Variable 5.8.1 109cm 50/484
TORSA 20 856gm Variable 5.8.1 109cm 65/320

burleygu
09-04-2013, 02:50 PM
I have a torsa 30 mike awesome reel nothing bad at all to say about it Im running 80lb on it Talica also great after seeing bruces and martys in action lovely reels also. Talica is probably a better option bit cheaper and much lighter..

09-04-2013, 03:18 PM
Think i will test both on the rod and decide, i reckon both have more than enough for 1770, only query with the Torsa is with the higher ratio how does it go with low down grunt?

Jakers 69
09-04-2013, 04:13 PM
Both are very good reels, you probably don't need the 2 speed. I use both a Talica 12 for smaller jigs and the Torsa 16 for the rest, can cast with them as well. Personally I love the feel of the new talica.

09-04-2013, 06:14 PM
Don't you think you have enough gear?

09-04-2013, 07:11 PM
Nope! looking to retire some reels

09-04-2013, 07:40 PM
I have both the talica 10 and 12 x 2 speeds... the 10 is much better suited to fishing all day.. plenty of drag for reds and the like I fish 50 samarai braid on the 10

grave41
09-04-2013, 09:19 PM
I use torsa 30 ,accurate 870-2speed and tiburon.Hard to pick between them all great reels .rarely use the 2nd speed on the accurate.You have no worries with the torsa it is actually my go to reel for bottom bashing next accurate then tiburon. [i love fishing toys]. I let people use the torsa or accurate and then they go and buy one or the other.
Imo Graham

Daintreeboy
09-04-2013, 10:10 PM
The Torsa is a tank with very strong gears and an awesome drag so you won't have any issues
with it. It's pretty heavy though.
My brother uses mine but he also has a Penn Torque 25N. It's a fantastic reel and will do the job well. Specs can be found below, it's got over 100 cm retrieve and weighs only around 580 grams, much more user friendly than the heavy Torsa.
I pump and wind bigger fish so a lower gear is kinda redundant. You will also find the lever drags are not as well balanced as a star drag reel.
For your high gear ratio requirement a single speed Talica or the Penn Torque 25N would both be great options.

http://www.pennreels.com/products/reels/conventional-reels/star-drag-reels/torque

09-04-2013, 10:54 PM
You can let them retire in my shed if you like Mike.

Willo
11-04-2013, 03:21 PM
I have had both reels.....

Willo
11-04-2013, 03:25 PM
I have had both reels.....Had a Torsa 30 and a Talica10 2 speed .....sold the Torsa to get another Talica
Talica is Smaller lighter reel thtat are designed for Braid so even though they look smaller in size will still hold all they braid ya need...but still have the Tiagra and torsa style drags The 2 speed also has a nice high gear that allows yo to keep up with a Big spanaird that is chargeing stait back at the boat at wrap speed...LOL
They just suit my style of fishing
Nothing wrong with a Torsa either.... great reel.... but just to heavy to be holding in ya hands fishing all day for Reds all day

11-04-2013, 08:28 PM
Well tried them both tonight on the Venom and liked how the Torsa felt on the rod, so walked out with a Torsa 20, saying that, almost walked out with a Talica 16 as well. Will spool it with either 60 or 80 braid and see how it goes.

burleygu
12-04-2013, 12:36 PM
Nice one mike bloody nice set up you will have there!

12-04-2013, 03:58 PM
Well tried them both tonight on the Venom and liked how the Torsa felt on the rod, so walked out with a Torsa 20, saying that, almost walked out with a Talica 16 as well. Will spool it with either 60 or 80 braid and see how it goes.

You must be getting older and slower Mike. Once upon a time you would have walked out with 2 of each.

Jigsrule
13-04-2013, 05:58 AM

Good choice Mike. I love my torsa 16. They're a brute of a reel with a fast retrieve but plenty of torque. You won't regret it mate