View Full Version : Threadfin in the passage!?

bigmac87
08-04-2013, 01:31 PM
G'day guys. On Saturday arvo a mate n I decided to go for a fish in the pelican waters canal as we had herd of a few fish being caught in there. We got snapped off a few times and also got a couple of nice bream and then things went quiet. Next thing I knew my reel started screaming. I had I slight feeling it mighta been a Jew but wasn't really sure. After about 10 mins we got it near the boat and got a look at it. My mate was the first to see it and he had no idea what it was. Then when I got over and had a look I went noooo a thready. I have never heard of a threadfin being caught in the passage let alone the canal. When we were at the boat ramp a couple of old blokes come over and said they know of a few blokes that have caught em. Anyways here's a photo

B U Z Z I N
08-04-2013, 05:42 PM
nice 1 bigmac ...they go hard and i've heard they taste good .

Boab Bribie
08-04-2013, 06:48 PM
Hi BigMac,
Funny that i was out in the passage Bribie end last week with the family. We was drift fishing for flatties and we also landed a Threadie not as big thou but it was my 1st also for the passage.

Boab Bribie

elprez
08-04-2013, 08:38 PM
Onya bigmac I caught a little one years ago but thats a cracka. My sons got some big queenies in those canals too.

bigmac87
08-04-2013, 11:20 PM
Yeah it was good fun on my light gear that's for sure. That pic was actually taken just before we hit the boat ramp. We had decided to let the bream go and keep the thready. It was bloody good on the chew as well. Just dusted with a bit of flower salt n pepper and butter in the pan mmm yummo haha

09-04-2013, 07:37 AM
Going back 15-20 years there used to be occasional reports of big threadies in the passage. Good to see they are coming back. What did you get that one on?

Richo1
09-04-2013, 07:40 AM
Nice fish, great to hear they up there as well.

bigmac87
09-04-2013, 08:31 AM
Going back 15-20 years there used to be occasional reports of big threadies in the passage. Good to see they are coming back. What did you get that one on?

Got it on live herring mate.

ubdkdd
09-04-2013, 10:42 AM
I catch juveniles off my pontoon at pacific harbour rather regularly now, and without fail when the water is a bit turbid after heavy rain.

Nice fish....

logga77
09-04-2013, 03:17 PM
Hey Bigmac nice Fish, how and where do you get your live bait from? i also fish the passage.

bigmac87
09-04-2013, 07:18 PM
Hey Bigmac nice Fish, how and where do you get your live bait from? i also fish the passage.

Thanks dean'o. We cast netted them near the bridge pylons at the mouth of the pelican waters canal. We only got 5 after about 20 casts hahaha

aus2045
09-04-2013, 11:40 PM
I saw a huge Threadfin caught in Elimbah Creek back in the 90's, about 8-10kg. Well up past Meldale, it took a small Bennett McGrath hard body near the pig farm, if you know where that is. Was an ANSA record for many years on 3kg mono-f.