View Full Version : A few prawns Good Friday
Schuey
30-03-2013, 09:58 AM
Gday All,
Drove to the southside Good Friday to have a cast with Pero as he promised me a big flatty. The prawns weren't that thick with 1's and 2's and sometimes a couple more. Again i was outdone by about 1 for every 3 or 4 Pero landed. Ended up getting about 2.5 kilos of good sized bananas and a great day out. Anyone had any action off Nudgee yet ? Trawlers working ?
Cheers Schuey
kingcray
30-03-2013, 10:15 AM
nice feed schuey. Havent seen or heard anything yet from nudgee but i was up jacksons a few weeks ago and there were a heap of greasies up there. Not a lot of reports coming from the pine either
Shawn 66
30-03-2013, 03:44 PM
nice feed schuey. Havent seen or heard anything yet from nudgee but i was up jacksons a few weeks ago and there were a heap of greasies up there. Not a lot of reports coming from the pine either
They are there mate.
Shawn
royslaven
30-03-2013, 04:25 PM
Nice work schuey, you did a lot better than me, enjoy, roy
kingcray
30-03-2013, 04:57 PM
thanks Shawn would love to get into them this wkend just gotta bring myself to use that ramp at dwb.
B U Z Z I N
30-03-2013, 06:40 PM
i tried the pine about a week ago... got about 1/2kg of bait size.. i heard there was a few around in bald hills creek a few weeks ago,
i'm thinking of going 4a look sun/mon.. i did get 1.5kg from glassy last weekend. was thinking of trying nudgee/shorncliffe area,but
might b a bit early yet ...
Shawn 66
31-03-2013, 05:57 PM
thanks Shawn would love to get into them this wkend just gotta bring myself to use that ramp at dwb.
I know what you mean mate , she can be a bast$$d at times . Just watch the blubber , they are pretty thick at the moment . If you do get down there , give me a shout , always up for a mag .
Shawn
kingcray
03-04-2013, 06:07 AM
shawn will do mate, tides looking ok for this sunday arvo, ramp will prob be very busy though.
Gotta go have a look sooner or later
Dean
PixieAU
03-04-2013, 07:09 AM
Last weekend at DWB they were working the pontoon and cleaning up!
Shawn 66
04-04-2013, 05:54 AM
Last weekend at DWB they were working the pontoon and cleaning up!
Have been everyday this week mate .
Good size bananas .
Not unusual to get 10 or so in one cast . Works out well for me as I only need a couple of dozen as I use them for live bait . The flatties and bream have been on the chew as well .
Shawn
Schuey
04-04-2013, 11:24 AM
Found this snodger moping around the other day.
Schuey
netmaker
04-04-2013, 12:19 PM
royslaven and i stopped for a look at dwb yesterday on our way back from crab'n'gear at clontarf. had a chat to old mate on the pontoon who had bagged a couple of kilos of medium size bananas for his hours work. in that time he saw 3 blokes total their nets on the snag at the western end of the pontoon.
royslaven
04-04-2013, 02:52 PM
royslaven and i stopped for a look at dwb yesterday on our way back from crab'n'gear at clontarf. had a chat to old mate on the pontoon who had bagged a couple of kilos of medium size bananas for his hours work. in that time he saw 3 blokes total their nets on the snag at the western end of the pontoon.
Went over today, got about 3 1/2 ltrs in 2hrs, maybe got there a little late. No net damage, stayed away from the pontoon, roy
ben_460
04-04-2013, 03:01 PM
Found this snodger moping around the other day.
Schuey
thats a cracker!
royslaven
04-04-2013, 03:34 PM
Went over today, got about 3 1/2 ltrs in 2hrs, maybe got there a little late. No net damage, stayed away from the pontoon, roy
Forgot to mention, went out front of nudgee at daylight, 2 other boats there, got about 12 big bananas, went up kedron brook, got about another 12 or so, then went to dwb, roy
Shawn 66
04-04-2013, 04:30 PM
I will put my hand up , one of those blokes would probably have been me . It was the old " One more cast will do me ".
Oh well .
Shawn
PixieAU
04-04-2013, 04:36 PM
from what I've observed in the last two weeks there is three snags under the pontoon.
kingcray
04-04-2013, 04:45 PM
from what I've observed in the last two weeks there is three snags under the pontoon.
i have been casting that pontoon for around about 15 years. I have lost easy 5 or 6 nets down there and know of a hell of a lot more. There aint many things i havent pulled out of there with the net... there are snags right the way around it
I would normally take down 2 nets. a decent 12ft prawn net and a 10ft general cheapie cast net. Since i had the tinny ive found the best catches of prawns to be just outside the rocks along the rock wall. This is where i use the cheaper net
I hope there is still a few around come the weekend.
netmaker
04-04-2013, 05:08 PM
I will put my hand up , one of those blokes would probably have been me . It was the old " One more cast will do me ".
Oh well .
Shawn
i hope u weren't the one who left their net hanging on the copper logs (minus rope and lead line)...
Shawn 66
05-04-2013, 05:48 PM
i hope u weren't the one who left their net hanging on the copper logs (minus rope and lead line)...
No mate , I was the dopey bugger that tied my rope to my bowsprit and spent 10 minutes of forwards and backwards to make sure that I received the bugger . Then she went into the bin . There are enough grubby lazy bastards down there without me adding to the mess.
Shawn
royslaven
05-04-2013, 06:04 PM
Got about 5ltrs today, with a bit of help from my mate burky who was working , but stopped by for a few throws. BTW this was at DWB in the pine. Ran into fellow ausfisher " short fuse" who I met yesterday. Was a bit quieter today, but got the occasional 12 to 14 in a throw to get the numbers up. Also have some net damage now, got a bit close to a couple of the snags, cheers, roy
kingcray
05-04-2013, 06:11 PM
thanks for the update roy. Im hitting up DWB tomoro arv into the night, looking forward to finally getting into them
Dean
Hey Blokes, Has anyone thought of sounding out DWB? Side imaging capable sounders ie- Humminbird 798 can reveal whats under that pontoon area.
timddo
05-04-2013, 07:13 PM
Roy. What time were you at the pine.
Short Fuse
05-04-2013, 10:42 PM
Roy. Good to catch up with you yesterday and again today. I ended up with just over 2kgs for my effort today. A bit more practice on the side lawn will get the new casting method working better - and keep the neighbours cat on their side of the fence.
Jeff
royslaven
06-04-2013, 09:22 AM
Roy. What time were you at the pine.
Hey Timddo, 9am till 12.....last of the run out, soon as the tide runs in , no prawns, roy
royslaven
06-04-2013, 09:31 AM
Hey Blokes, Has anyone thought of sounding out DWB? Side imaging capable sounders ie- Humminbird 798 can reveal whats under that pontoon area. Stan
Don,t know if anyone has done that, but reckon it would look like the back of your shed, with all the bits of destroyed nets there, saw a bloke yesterday rip the lead right off his net casting from the pontoon, maybe you should go over and set up a stand selling your nets....you know expand the business, plenty of demand over that side , cheers , roy
kingcray
06-04-2013, 10:48 AM
roy theres a bloke called kevin used to set up down there where the bbq shelter is. He would sell nets all day and make thousands.
Not sure if he still does it or not
BARRAkid
06-04-2013, 01:59 PM
sounds stupid but Just recently moved to brizzy and what and where is DWB ?
cheers scott
kingcray
06-04-2013, 02:22 PM
scott, DWB - deep water bend aka tinchi tamba wetlands - Wyampa road Pine river. I will be there within 2 hours looking for prawns and crabs.
Dean
ben_460
06-04-2013, 08:40 PM
Got a couple of kgs of bannanas plus one tiger today
B U Z Z I N
07-04-2013, 08:05 AM
you done well ben 460, i tried from 5-20am to about 7-30
tried around the highway bridge, up south pine and around dwb.
was a incoming tide,so like roy said last of run out ..
might try again this morning on run out .....
kingcray
07-04-2013, 09:21 AM
i gave them a crack last night knowing the tides were shit for it so took the pots also. 2 of us throwing the nets from about 4 - 8.30pm not 1 prawn. Tried all around DWB to past the bridges in all the usual haunts.
Lots of herring around and the odd poddy mullet. Plenty of muddies around too, mostly unders and jennies. Thinking about heading down after lunch when the tide is low
Dean
mangrove rat
07-04-2013, 10:54 AM
Got few down there this morning getting one and twos most casts, hard to smash prawns and throw nets as skiers and jet skis flying past! You'd be dirty also if u want a park for car and trailer at dohles as a semi trailer parked across 8 parks and was there all day from 6am, stupid spot to park on a weekend...
B U Z Z I N
07-04-2013, 08:14 PM
i managed about a kg just before low tide... was gettin 5/10 a throw then 1's and 2's for the next hour or so
just finished having a few garlic n chill skewers on the bbq.....
try again next week i suppose ....
07-04-2013, 08:23 PM
I noticed quite a few schools of prawns showing on the sounder this morning in the pine......biggest school was just downstream of the freeway bridges on the northern side in 4m of water. School was about 2m deep on the sounder and there were a few flicking on the surface.
Schuey
08-04-2013, 10:09 AM
Thanks for sharing the info Jack. I went to nudgee this morning also but it was a non-event. probably caught about 12 and then the wind picked up a bit and i had to go to work, but it was very quiet.
ben_460
08-04-2013, 11:15 AM
http://i1263.photobucket.com/albums/ii625/ben_460/IMG_0721.jpg
royslaven
08-04-2013, 02:09 PM
Here,s one I prepared earlier, roy
royslaven
08-04-2013, 02:34 PM
Sorry, couldn,t help myself...... anyway, got about 2/1/2 ltrs in about an hour today, southern bay, cheers, roy9057390573
Short Fuse
08-04-2013, 03:06 PM
Was over near the Pine this morning. Called in at DWB on the way home. There were 3 boats there with occupants throwing nets, but did not see them get any prawns at all in the 15 minutes or so I was watching. Did see another dead net lying on the pontoon. The way that snag is claiming lead lines, it will be worthwhile for some enterprising net manufacturer to head over with some heavy duty retrieval gear. They could get enough sinkers back to keep them going for the remainder of the season.
Jeff
Im gonna have to park myself at DWB soon. You guys are great at wrecking nets.
I was southside today and wrecked my net.- Got a turtle. Col Limparse needn't worry, theres plenty of turtles down our way.
The bloody thing had to flap its flippers before I could free it, didn't it?
But the good news is I got a bucket. Not a soul around to annoy me. Will post a pic after I mend my net.
royslaven
08-04-2013, 07:01 PM
Im gonna have to park myself at DWB soon. You guys are great at wrecking nets.
I was southside today and wrecked my net.- Got a turtle. Col Limparse needn't worry, theres plenty of turtles down our way.
The bloody thing had to flap its flippers before I could free it, didn't it?
But the good news is I got a bucket. Not a soul around to annoy me. Will post a pic after I mend my net.
You weren,t where I was today... obviously...my bucket wasn,t full....roy
My guts are bursting. Fixed the net. Missus did a cookup and I'm washing down the prawns with beer. Lookey , Roy.-
Hey, Nice Tiger prawns there , too.Well Done Roy and Ben.
royslaven
08-04-2013, 08:58 PM
My guts are bursting. Fixed the net. Missus did a cookup and I'm washing down the prawns with beer. Lookey , Roy.-
Yeah I hear ya stan, once again you,ve killed em, and your killin me,....argghhh! ha,ha....nah, good effort mate,you put in the time , you deserve the rewards, cheers, roy
kingcray
09-04-2013, 04:17 PM
just got back from dwb. Last 2 hours of run out. Knew it was not looking good straight away when i bumped into old Dave and he tells me theres no prawns. Tried up river behind castle hill , couple spots near the bridges, about 50 throws around the bend and pontoon. 0 prawns.
Waste of friggin time! At least the new net got to taste the salt, and was good to take my son bails for a run up the creek. I really thought i would get a few. Good tide, good conditions for nada
Dean
Jason89
09-04-2013, 05:10 PM
I am going to have a hunt for them tomorrow afternoon in the southern bay area and hopefully get my first bucket of the season.. Anyone else going to be out tomorrow? I'll be in a little 3.5m tinny with silverado sticker towards the front.. If anyone sees me come say hi, or just point me in the right direction :-)
ben_460
09-04-2013, 05:36 PM
Does the moon phase affect them?
bondy99
10-04-2013, 12:15 AM
I'm not suprised lads, they are thick in some spots and thin in others.
Bondy
I am going to have a hunt for them tomorrow afternoon in the southern bay area and hopefully get my first bucket of the season.. Anyone else going to be out tomorrow? I'll be in a little 3.5m tinny with silverado sticker towards the front.. If anyone sees me come say hi, or just point me in the right direction :-)
I hear the powerlines went off yesterday arvo, between 4 and 6pm.That must have been around the time the tide startred coming in.
bondy99
10-04-2013, 10:32 PM
Everyone should be getting their bucket by now, if not, something is wrong. Old china reckons they were scattering as they drove past, big ones at that. Bucket caught this evening between 8 and 9pm.
Bondy
Jason89
11-04-2013, 08:01 PM
I was out yesterday, from about 3-6pm and only got about 1/3 of a bucket from the powerlines area. Maybe I should have waited a little longer!! Seen a few people hanging around not even throwing cast net, some for just about the whole time I was there, and then they just left. Don't know why if they were waiting around they wouldn't atleast have a throw.
bondy99
12-04-2013, 10:48 PM
Thats normal, like bees to honey when prawns are caught.
Next week would be better. If no one gets a bucket next week then your not in the right spot. The prawns will be schooled up in blocks, just keep checking your fishfinder. Sooner or later you get the bonanza.
Bondy
timddo
12-04-2013, 10:55 PM
Come on bondy. Where are the pics
Hes put the pressure on you now Bondy.!Piccies please.
Jason89
13-04-2013, 10:19 AM
Do you guys think all this rain will have a negative effect on the prawns for next week??
bondy99
14-04-2013, 12:21 AM
No wind blowing up me lads. Check your sounder, next week is not this week boys
bondy99
14-04-2013, 12:23 AM
Do you guys think all this rain will have a negative effect on the prawns for next week??
Pero, Roy slaven, Muddy Toes, netmaker, phantomiser, outsiderskip.timddo
I'm sure you can answer this one
bondy99
14-04-2013, 12:41 AM
Here it is
14-04-2013, 06:10 AM
I think a big rain during the time the prawns are supposed to be running, which is now, will affect them. Don't think the few inches we had yesterday is enough to make them bug out though. If they don't come on soon in big numbers I will be surprised.
bondy99
14-04-2013, 08:12 AM
Scalem,
You might be on the money there. I'd be very suprised if they have bugged out, if anything, the rain would have flushed them down from the upper reaches to the more salty areas.
Bondy
timddo
14-04-2013, 06:05 PM
Come on bondy. Show a pic with some evidence.
A picture with a newspaper.
I heard stan got his bucket in a few cast.
Aussie123
14-04-2013, 06:23 PM
A small push of fresh water only runs on the surface and will not have any effect on the prawns.
If there is enough fresh to hit the bottom,then they will get up and move very quickly to saltier waters.
The rain we just had won't move them at all in the rivers but if any are laying up in small creeks,it may have been enough to push them out into the deeper holes in the rivers.
bondy99
14-04-2013, 10:10 PM
Come on bondy. Show a pic with some evidence.
A picture with a newspaper.
I heard stan got his bucket in a few cast.
You need to blow harder than that timddo. No "Dr Who" here.
bondy99
14-04-2013, 10:14 PM
A small push of fresh water only runs on the surface and will not have any effect on the prawns.
If there is enough fresh to hit the bottom,then they will get up and move very quickly to saltier waters.
The rain we just had won't move them at all in the rivers but if any are laying up in small creeks,it may have been enough to push them out into the deeper holes in the rivers.
You're spot on with that Aussie123.
Bondy
Bondy, You've hijacked Schueys thread.!
bondy99
15-04-2013, 11:08 PM
Pero,
Other blokes kept me going. I'll throw a crab Schuey's way some time.
Bondy
kingcray
23-04-2013, 06:05 PM
anything to report from DWB ?? tossing up between there and nudgee tomoro after lunch.
royslaven
23-04-2013, 07:54 PM
anything to report from DWB ?? tossing up between there and nudgee tomoro after lunch.
Sorry , but if you want a feed, drive to the darkside, from macleay south, just about anywhere to rudi,s, roy
kingcray
23-04-2013, 08:12 PM
i know they are on down there roy. thanks but a bit far for me from scarborough.
dayoo
23-04-2013, 09:27 PM
Nudgee is quiet at the moment. 20 boats out there yesterday for zilch.
Barry
kingcray
24-04-2013, 06:26 AM
thanks Barry but thats not the news i want to hear!!, was that out the front or in the creek?
was there saturday working up and down from the ramp to the bridge for about 60 prawns 90% bait size with just a handful of goodns
liltuffy
24-04-2013, 07:10 AM
Sorry , but if you want a feed, drive to the darkside, from macleay south, just about anywhere to rudi,s, roy
Hi Roy, was that you in the tinny with the Ausfish.com.au sticker down the side?? I was in the Tournament on my own - managed about 4-5 kg.
royslaven
24-04-2013, 07:17 AM
Hi Roy, was that you in the tinny with the Ausfish.com.au sticker down the side?? I was in the Tournament on my own - managed about 4-5 kg.
Hi craig, yeah that was me, finished up with a bucket, goin again today,cheers, roy
dayoo
24-04-2013, 07:25 AM
thanks Barry but thats not the news i want to hear!!, was that out the front or in the creek?
was there saturday working up and down from the ramp to the bridge for about 60 prawns 90% bait size with just a handful of goodns
Got 1 outside in front of the airport and 3 in the creek. Too early for Nudgee.
Barry
timddo
24-04-2013, 08:18 AM
Got 1 outside in front of the airport and 3 in the creek. Too early for Nudgee.
Barry
Barry
You did well then,
kingcray
25-04-2013, 07:16 PM
hit up nudgee today despite the poor or lack of reports. Picked up a couple kgs.
Size improving heaps compared to last trip week or so ago. Actually had quite a few to cook up this time
Bugger all prawns near ramp, but plenty upstream. Didnt see if anyone was out the front.
I did see another ausfisher down there, not sure who it was. Green stickers on white tinny.
dayoo
26-04-2013, 05:05 PM
Popgun, Frank the fishing machine and I are launching from Redland Bay tomorrow morning at 6am. Objective a good feed of banana prawns.
Bazza
kingcray
26-04-2013, 05:13 PM
Popgun, Frank the fishing machine and I are launching from Redland Bay tomorrow morning at 6am. Objective a good feed of banana prawns.
Bazza
good luck not that i think you will need it down there.