View Full Version : Any reports from Yamba/Iluka - River condition and catches

Tailorfisho78
25-03-2013, 10:47 AM

I am heading down to Yamba this Friday for 9 days of RNR and a load of fishing as I haven't had a really good chance to chase much since September last year due to either windy conditions, floods, or work. Got the little 3m tinnie sorted with a new 15HP so will try the normal haunts around the sucken wall, oysters channel as well as give the break walls a go for some Jewies. I have heard recent reports of some big greenback Tailor being taken out on the beaches down that way as well as some decent sized Flatties. Has anyone fished the Clarence of late and if so how is it looking? I would think it will be fishing really well by now after the major flood in January. The last decent rain event was back on 23rd Feb with 4 inches of rain followed by 40 odd millimeters at the start of March. Since then Mother Natural seems to of settled enough to give the river system a chance to recover nicely just in time for me to spend a good amount of time chasing the prized clarence river jewies. Does anyone also know the best beach to go and pull some sand worms?
Cheers and happy Easter to all and hope your lines will be as tight as mine

Keithy

alleycat
25-03-2013, 12:06 PM
Gday keithy, i always find worms around 400 metres north of the breakwall at iluka.

axelsnappa
25-03-2013, 12:27 PM
Mate,
As at the 5th of March the river was still running fresh. The beaches were covered in debris and foam. Water was chocolate brown.
Lots of guys chasing jewies along the wall.

JGM

MacDougall
26-03-2013, 09:16 PM
My uncle from down that way who usually spends every waking moment fishing hasn't even bothered lately. The smaller rivers around there like the Sandon and Wooli are probably the best bet as they'll clear up quicker.

scroman
27-03-2013, 06:22 AM
G'day Tailorfisho - I live in Maclean and fish three+ times a week and it has been fantastic over the past week to two weeks particularly on the beaches. Plenty of tailor from small choppers to greenies on spinners, poppers, stickbaits and flesh. The mullet have thinned a little since the water has cleared a fair bit but still plenty around on the low to making tide - the tailor are sitting right behind them in the shallows. Bream and Tarwine have been in good numbers and throwing back 30cm fish is common. Weekend looking good, bugger all swell and breeze with good tides for jew on the beach. Fresh green prawns have been taking most of the bream on the beach, plenty of pippies as well.
PM me if you want more detail. I will be going this afternoon, tomorrow arvo and probably early sessions over Easter - hate fishing in crowds.
Hope you have a safe trip and enjoy your time off.
Troy

Tailorfisho78
30-03-2013, 09:38 AM
Arrived in yamba yesterday to be greeted by showers and 15 knot sse winds. Got set up in the caravan park then out to the end of the south wall for 1 big fat breambo on a 9/0 baited up with a fresh slab of mullet intended for a jewie. Pretty hard going again this morning as the mullet slabs are getting picked at and not lasting more than 10 minutes. A few small tailor this morning that went out for live bait with no hits. Going the round up some beach worms later this afternoon than back into tonight. Did see the old local guy who's name is cooky, (I think). Stay tuned. I'm not leaving yamba until I have that jewie in my bag.