View Full Version : Struggled to find a feed Friday

Show me the fish
24-03-2013, 01:00 PM
Well the boat hadn't been on the water since just after Christmas. Finally got out for a fish on Friday. Took my Dad and daughter out to hopefully catch some whiting, snapper & sand crabs.

Only managed 14 whiting from the rous - they were very patchy and everyone else seemed to be struggling too. Moved back to Cleveland pt to try to get a few snapper, no luck there although my daughter managed a 54cm mowong on her pink kids rod which was a bit of fun and the handle fell off her reel not long afterwards!

Came in about 1.30, picked up the pots for only 2 crabs. Whiting and crabs for dinner so can't complain. Hopefully have another crack tomorrow!

Dylan_Rylatt
24-03-2013, 02:31 PM
that first pic is priceless made me smile... cant wait to take my daughter fishing real soo :)

sandbankmagnet
24-03-2013, 09:49 PM
they go hard, that would have given her a good workout! Great stuff.

Scott Ashe
25-03-2013, 07:50 AM
Well done mate, like you I have only had my boat out twice this year and I was keen for some whiting and some of these Sand Crabs that everyone is raving about.
Put my boat in at Victoria Point yesterday at and headed to the Rous, dropping the pots of a sand bank on the way up.

Caught half a dozen nice Whiting up there and checked the pots on the way home for nil, which disapointed me. It didn't even look like the bait had been touched.

Still and good morning on the water my Yammy had a good run, and my friend's children had fresh whiting and chips for tea.

MEG-A-BITE
25-03-2013, 08:05 AM
Got to love taking the little ones out fishing.

Show me the fish
26-03-2013, 08:48 AM
Well done mate, like you I have only had my boat out twice this year and I was keen for some whiting and some of these Sand Crabs that everyone is raving about.
Put my boat in at Victoria Point yesterday at and headed to the Rous, dropping the pots of a sand bank on the way up.

Caught half a dozen nice Whiting up there and checked the pots on the way home for nil, which disapointed me. It didn't even look like the bait had been touched.

Still and good morning on the water my Yammy had a good run, and my friend's children had fresh whiting and chips for tea.

G'day Scott,

I spoke to quite a few people back at the ramp on Friday & again yesterday and sounds like the rous is pretty quiet at the moment. As for the crabs we have been dropping 3 pots at cleveland pt each time we go and have being picking up a few. Got 3 keeper sandies yesterday, not heaps but the pots are only in the water for a few hours. Its a good way to use up the old whiting frames and the kids enjoy seeing what comes up.

Took my eldest 2 kids & dad out yesterday to our spot near cleveland pt. Hopes were high for a few squire, many caught but only 1 keeper. Caught lots of catties including 1 rather large one. Lots of bait fish around so i thought the bigger squire may have been there also?? Oh well... next time. My son was happy as he caught a fish with 2 eyes on one side of its head (flounder/sole).