View Full Version : 3 pots X 24 hours = 28 crabs

netmaker
19-03-2013, 07:45 AM
hi all. well, not as good as tangles 35 crabs but i only pulled 3 pots... i set 4, but 1 was not where i left it and not within 50m either.

Rufus
19-03-2013, 07:52 AM
Hey Davo,

So where were these beauties hiding ?

kingcray
19-03-2013, 08:08 AM
nice one dave love these sandy reports cant wait to get stuck into em again

netmaker
19-03-2013, 08:58 AM
Hey Davo,

So where were these beauties hiding ?

without being precise, i put in at wello pt and i estimate fuel usage for the 2 trips at about $3. i could be exaggerating tho...

royslaven
19-03-2013, 09:04 AM
Hey Dave, nice work mate, good effort for 3 pots, whaddya reckon happened to your other one? how was the wind this morning? , what time is lunch?, ha ha roy

netmaker
19-03-2013, 09:39 AM
Hey Dave, nice work mate, good effort for 3 pots, whaddya reckon happened to your other one? how was the wind this morning? , what time is lunch?, ha ha roy

so many questions mate...
1. my guess is either a turtle or a turd;).
2. same as yesterday but the swell was bigger this morn. wind dropped out for a bit at 6.30 (just after i got back::))
3. pots on the burner now. you can come do lunch if you like but they will be better after a few hours in the slurry.

tropicrows
19-03-2013, 09:49 AM
Dave you know where I live.

Scott Ashe
19-03-2013, 10:17 AM
Well done again mate, at least I should get a few if I can manage to get out. If not I may possibly join Tangles for the crab meet and greet, whenever that may be.

royslaven
19-03-2013, 10:21 AM
Thanks anyway mate, will probably settle for a vegemite sandwich, you enjoy the fruits of your labour, will try and get my pots out tomorrow, cheers, roy

netmaker
19-03-2013, 10:29 AM
Dave you know where I live.

you may have a statement or 2 to retract first;);D but you can stop in on your way home if you want a few.

19-03-2013, 10:32 AM
great stuff Dave, thats great crabbing, 3 pots that many keepers is outstanding, reckon this crabbing M&G should be after Easter! i love this time of year

aus2045
19-03-2013, 11:02 AM
Thats an awesome effort. If there is one thing I miss most about fishing about SEQ its the abundance of Sand Crabs. Best feed you can get out of the sea I think.

cobiaman
19-03-2013, 12:06 PM
Chillie sand crabs it is...

netmaker
19-03-2013, 12:33 PM
great stuff Dave, thats great crabbing, 3 pots that many keepers is outstanding, reckon this crabbing M&G should be after Easter! i love this time of year

mike. 3 seasons back i got 40 to 50 a morning about 6 times over 3 weeks in the same spots. best was 50 in 6 hours with 4 pots and home by lunch.
was interesting to note there were zero female or undersize today and a few very large crab.

19-03-2013, 01:32 PM
SOunds like a cracker of a spot there Dave, it seems they are really starting to run. Today arrived the SS crab cooker i ordered from the states, hoping to give it a workout this weekend.

thelump
19-03-2013, 02:10 PM
Chillie sand crabs it is...

Yeah I thought it sounded like an awful lot of runny noses!

jackson4300
19-03-2013, 02:40 PM
Awesome haul, what sort of area do you look for when targetting sandies? Like drop offs, holes, close to reefs?
Would love to get even a fraction of that amount!

netmaker
19-03-2013, 02:55 PM
Awesome haul, what sort of area do you look for when targetting sandies? Like drop offs, holes, close to reefs?
Would love to get even a fraction of that amount!

all of the above and sand banks too. just need to keep trying different spots till you find them and then move all your pots there.

cobiaman
19-03-2013, 03:10 PM
Yeah I thought it sounded like an awful lot of runny noses!

Yep, thank god he didnt catch that many last week

tropicrows
19-03-2013, 03:39 PM
Dave I have to admit when I'm wrong, your just as good if not better than Tangles as a crabber and your crab cleaning skill has to be seen to be believed. ;D ;D ;D

netmaker
19-03-2013, 03:56 PM
thank you bruce. your crabs will be available for pick up anytime after 8.30 am in the morn;);D

Boat Hog
19-03-2013, 05:19 PM
Take it easy on the chilli oil Dave, unless you've got one of these beauties and can wash the chilli off in case of emergency - before you handle anything delicate!

Good work on the crabbing too!

thelump
19-03-2013, 07:07 PM
Gee that urinal looks a little tall for some!

feral cat
19-03-2013, 07:58 PM
Gees netmaker that is an outstanding effort.Only if the sandies ran like that in shit can bay with only 3 pots.
cheers.

justin.

Axl
20-03-2013, 09:27 PM
hi all. well, not as good as tangles 35 crabs but i only pulled 3 pots... i set 4, but 1 was not where i left it and not within 50m either.

Well done netmaker another nice feed there mate, I hope to get out next week might have to come down south a bit from my normal, thanks for the report.

Pero
21-03-2013, 04:41 AM
I'm impressed again Dave, It's a pity the the other pot went to the share farmers, you could come in with 30+. I had some pots out yesterday for 5 jennies, no bucks. One of my pots was empty and 300 metres down stream. Whoever did it left a stubby in my pot.
Very thoughtful of them. Problem was the stubby was empty!!!!!!!!!!

royslaven
21-03-2013, 09:52 AM
I'm impressed again Dave, It's a pity the the other pot went to the share farmers, you could come in with 30+. I had some pots out yesterday for 5 jennies, no bucks. One of my pots was empty and 300 metres down stream. Whoever did it left a stubby in my pot.
Very thoughtful of them. Problem was the stubby was empty!!!!!!!!!!
Hey stan, I checked my pots this morning, 3 empty with no bait?????? whaddyareckon and 1 with about 12 crabs for 5 keepers (sandies)
cheers, roy

netmaker
21-03-2013, 09:56 AM
Hey stan, I checked my pots this morning, 3 empty with no bait?????? whaddyareckon and 1 with about 12 crabs for 5 keepers (sandies)
cheers, roy

when they are thick the thieves find the risk a bit more worthwhile...

leaving a stubbie used to be almost acceptable 20 years ago. now with a muddie worth a whole carton it doesn't come close - especially if its empty - rotten bastards...

aus2045
21-03-2013, 03:39 PM
I just thought and had a laugh to myself, if this was my post it would be called;

8 pots x 10 years = 0 crabs

LOL

fisho8
21-03-2013, 04:41 PM
Well done Davo gotta be happy with that lot gotta get into the crabbing again used to do heaps with my old man sandies are a great feed.:thumbsup:

Pero
21-03-2013, 05:59 PM
cheers, roy

I reckon thats good Roy. I checked my bucket this arvo and there was 6 litres of prawn in there. All keepers.

royslaven
21-03-2013, 06:06 PM
I reckon thats good Roy. I checked my bucket this arvo and there was 6 litres of prawn in there. All keepers.
picked up another 6 big sandies today, will see if i can fill my bucket up tomorrow stan, cheers, roy

daveo17
22-03-2013, 01:48 PM
4 this morning left pots in to soak with 3 mullet heads in each pot

22-03-2013, 09:20 PM
Dave dropped through work earlier today and shared his spoils. About 250gms of pure Crab meat all packaged up. Dinner was easy tonight.

Thanks Mate