View Full Version : Shimano Torsa v TLD

griz066
26-02-2013, 01:39 PM
G'Day all, I am considering a Torsa to take to swains this year instead of my trusty old TLD 30 2 speed. We dont fish from dories on this particular charter it is all medium to deep bottom bashing. The thinking is the torsa is aprox 200 grams lighter and not as wide so it will be easer to hold all day and night for the 7 day trip. You also recover more line at 109cm per crank.
Any thoughts appreciated ::D

honda900
26-02-2013, 02:23 PM
Griz,

Torsa will be fine for swains, we caught very few fish over 10kg bottom bashing, maybe one or 2.

Honda.

griz066
26-02-2013, 04:29 PM
So will the Torsa at 5.8-1 struggle to crank 10kg plus fish up? vs 4.0-1 high 1.7-1 low for the TLD. I would have thought not the way it is designed but I have never used one hence the questions.

Schulzy
26-02-2013, 04:50 PM
Yeah big gears are not the best for big reef fish but they catch uuuuge kingys ambos and the like on them. But if you can't get a crank on the torsa but three on the tld you are better of with the tld take both and decide for your self I use a 4500 saltist but I'm going to buy a big bait runner and an 8000 stradic I use tyrnos 16 and tld 15s

Si
26-02-2013, 07:25 PM
G'Day all, I am considering a Torsa to take to swains this year instead of my trusty old TLD 30 2 speed. We dont fish from dories on this particular charter it is all medium to deep bottom bashing. The thinking is the torsa is aprox 200 grams lighter and not as wide so it will be easer to hold all day and night for the 7 day trip. You also recover more line at 109cm per crank.
Any thoughts appreciated ::D

anything that is lighter, smaller profile and 109cm per crank compared to what you are used to has got to be a good thing really especially as you will be holding it all day as you say. It will be fine as will a heap of other cheaper reels too. what size btw?

griz066
26-02-2013, 08:38 PM
anything that is lighter, smaller profile and 109cm per crank compared to what you are used to has got to be a good thing really especially as you will be holding it all day as you say. It will be fine as will a heap of other cheaper reels too. what size btw?
Was looking at the 20

Jigsrule
27-02-2013, 08:18 AM
mate there is no comparison imo. the torsa is in a league of its own. it has plenty of torque despite its high gear ratio. it will serve you well at the swains bottom bashing and more. the torsa 20 is probably the most versatile size in the range. i have a torsa 20 and use for jigging up to 400g jigs in 100m of water. i also use it to bottom bash, livebait and troll. only thing i cant do with it is cast slugs at pelagics. easy enough to hold in the hand all day too. good luck with your decision

reggy
27-02-2013, 11:44 AM
With the depths and the size of the fish you will be catching on the bottom out there, 5.8 gear ratio on the Torsa will be fine.
I have used a Torium 20(6.2:1) a few times out there and it does it easy.
Not until the fish start getting over 40lb will you be looking for a low gear ratio.

diabolical
27-02-2013, 03:00 PM
Was looking at the 20

The 20 is a good size if you intend to run heavy braid(65lb+) or mono. The 16 is a better size for 50lb braid(480m) but will still fit 300m of 65lb. The difference in weight is next to nothing but a slightly narrower reel is always nicer to hold for long periods.

Pazz01
27-02-2013, 03:35 PM
I'm looking at a talica at the moment when the old's go over to the states. They seem to be pretty good from reports and not quite as dear as a torsa.

Pazz

Si
27-02-2013, 09:12 PM
The 20 is a good size if you intend to run heavy braid(65lb+) or mono. The 16 is a better size for 50lb braid(480m) but will still fit 300m of 65lb. The difference in weight is next to nothing but a slightly narrower reel is always nicer to hold for long periods.

tend to agree. a 20 is a bit big for swains bottom bashing i think. I have a talica 16 and it performed beautifully up at Swains. I even think you could go a 12 for catching trout and red throats up the Swains. How deep do you epxect to fish Griz? I recall fishing mostly between 20 - 50 metres, sometimes shallower.

griz066
28-02-2013, 06:28 AM
tend to agree. a 20 is a bit big for swains bottom bashing i think. I have a talica 16 and it performed beautifully up at Swains. I even think you could go a 12 for catching trout and red throats up the Swains. How deep do you epxect to fish Griz? I recall fishing mostly between 20 - 50 metres, sometimes shallower.
This particular charter tends to fish 30+ as they dont use dories. I love fishing shallows in the dories, nothing like trying to stop redthroat in 6m of water, I have a stella for this. We dont get a lot of redthroat on this boat, more red emperor nanigai and trout.

griz066
28-02-2013, 06:29 AM
I'm looking at a talica at the moment when the old's go over to the states. They seem to be pretty good from reports and not quite as dear as a torsa.

Pazz
Have just added the Talica to the mix as well.

burleygu
28-02-2013, 06:48 PM
I have a torsa 30 and I don't understand by what you guys mean as a 20 is to big for the swains? I use my torsa every year at the 1770 meet and greet and it catchs reefies all day without a issue and when you hook up to something big weather it be a big aj or 2.5mtr plus sharks you just lock it up and hold on. Beautiful reels the only comparison is weight. they are a little heavier then others

Si
28-02-2013, 07:57 PM
Have just added the Talica to the mix as well.

while the torsa is a fantastic reel, you won't be disappointed with the Talica either. a lot lighter than the torsa which means alot when hanging on to it for seven days straight, much smaller profile and can easily handle your target species and you can actually cast or fling out a livie on these with ease.