View Full Version : Soft plastics spin rod for jacks
matt56
20-02-2013, 06:07 PM
Hello everyone,
I want to start fishing with plastics for mangrove jacks. Ive got a symetre 4000 reel I was hoping might be a good start?
What rod can you guys recommend? Im looking at a $250 budget. also would like the setup to double up for using soft plastics for other species like jew snapper barra, or is this asking to much?
Matt.
20-02-2013, 06:30 PM
Plenty of rods that will match nicely with the Symetre in that price bracket.
4-8kg rod would suit nicely.
I use 2-4 for jacks or 3-6 if they are fiestier than normal.
The 4-8 would better suit the 4000 symetre.
One thing about jacks though, the harder you fight them the more they will bust you up.
I have boated lots more since dropping to 8lb braids and 14lb leaders than when I used 20lb braid and 40lb leaders.
Some of my best jacks in the mid to high 50's have come from 5lb braids whilst spinning for bream.
If you are going to be hitting the impoundments for your metre plus barra, the 4-8kg rods will work fine.
FishHunter
20-02-2013, 06:50 PM
Caught my Jacks on a Shimano Starlo Stix 4-8kg with a 4000 Sienna and 20lb braid.
matt56
23-02-2013, 04:33 PM
Thanks heaps for the recommendations guys ill look at something in the 3-6 or 4-8 kg.
MudRiverDan
23-02-2013, 05:29 PM
Check out the Gary Howard G-force range, might go over budget though you never know (around 280).
Personally I never caught much on mine (2-4 kg) but I don't target Jacks or Bass much.
8kg rod in that range is pretty serious, but really a boat yak rod, too short for land based.
Most are bait cast but I think there a few spin models.
matt56
25-02-2013, 03:52 PM
Thanks Dan ill check them out, was at the local tackle store the other day and Im liking the shimano t cuves in the 3-6 and the g loomis gl2 10-20lbs looked the goods and seemed very light too.
FishCQ
25-02-2013, 05:04 PM
check out the tairyo's I have 2 now.. love them.
MudRiverDan
25-02-2013, 07:55 PM
Thanks Dan ill check them out, was at the local tackle store the other day and Im liking the shimano t cuves in the 3-6 and the g loomis gl2 10-20lbs looked the goods and seemed very light too.
Yeah you have to watch the budget, things get exy too quick.
USA made Bass rods for pulling fish out of snags (mossyback) are usually pretty much killers, but hey I never fished for Jacks, all I know is they take the fun out of a 70cm flathead...
If you can get something with a reasonably fast taper and thicker butt end for s cheap price I would just go that way before brands.
Just give it a flogging till it breaks.
the gecko
26-02-2013, 07:30 PM
Tairyo nano speed 5-8kg for $220 , will also do fine for Jew and barra.
MudRiverDan
27-02-2013, 04:43 PM
Tairyo nano speed 5-8kg for $220 , will also do fine for Jew and barra.
Never heard of them but they look pretty good.
Basstones
27-02-2013, 05:02 PM
I haven't got the 5-8kg, but i've had the 2pc 2-4kg & 1 pc 1-3kg Tairyo Nanospeeds and would recommend them. I admit, the 2-4kg did break and I didn't think i'd get it replaced under warranty - was done without any question though. I admitted I had got a lot of use out of it, and was willing to take some blame but was offered a brand new one. Hence switching to the 1-3kg which has been flawless.
If I was after a heavier rod then they would definitely be included in my research.
glassout
27-02-2013, 10:23 PM
last trip out to the banks fishing in 40m of water using a sienna 4000 and 6-8kg rod with 20lb braid landed a 58cm snapper and a 51cm gt
brenno360
15-05-2013, 06:23 PM
Hey Dan, me and my brother just did some barra fishing up north, we bought 2 tairyo rods one was a 2-4kg 1pc the other was a 4-6kg 1pc paired up with ecooda chronic 3000 reels, running 20lb braid with 15lb leader, handled everything really well, even got a 64cm cobia on it (2-4kg) best part is rod was $140 and reels were also $139 great outfits would defs recommend to anyone... Oh and I do mostly plastic fishing... Hope this helps mate,
Brenden
warti
16-05-2013, 11:16 AM
The 5-8 tairyo is too stiff for throwing light plastics. 2-4kg range is sufficient. Even a shimano raider Mexican fire is ok and can be had for a bargain at certain stores. I used one for a while, 3-5kg. Even had a mate catch a 80ish barra on one. Also using the Abu veritas at the moment in a baitcaster for jacks. I think it lacks a little lower end grunt though. Not a bad rod for flicking light lures.
matt56
16-05-2013, 04:43 PM
I ended up getting a t curve t series 2-5 kg and matching it up with a sedona 2500 I had. Very happy with the rod so far, I left it a bit to late in the season for the jacks but I have caught some nice flathead and im hoping to test it on some jew soon. Will be upgrading the sedona with a 2500 sustain fg in the near future.
Thanks heaps guys for all your suggestions.