View Full Version : Time for spotties to show their spots??
moondancer
21-01-2013, 05:50 PM
Haven't heard much in the way of reports of spotties or schoolies in the bay yet, so thought we'd head out to Moreton for a look today.
5 - 10knNE to SE, but a bit lumpy on the way out this morning. Flicked baits and lures around the 4 beacon area for hours to no avail. Drifted around the paddock surrounding them also to no avail...just some small pickers closer to the beacons. No other boats seemed to be doing any good either....no bird activity, no surface activity, no visible baitfish, etc. Headed behind the wrecks for lunch, and didnt even see the usual mass of baitfish around there! Barren!
So what do you reckon? Just a bad day, or are we a little early for the spots? Maybe its the wind direction?
Either way, good to actually get the boat wet for a change, and great company with son no. 1! Hopefully to be repeated soon, and with some reel screeming !! Cheers, Lawry;D
fish'n'chippy
21-01-2013, 06:11 PM
2 weeks ago there was a heap of bait (and birds) off comboyuro pt in the Yule roads to the north east channel. It went for close to a mile, but they were mostly feeding. I did see 1 school of spotties working it, but they were not interested in us
Last Friday afternoon coming back into mooloolaba there were a couple of schools of macks working in close off caloundra.
Hope that helps you
G
PixieAU
21-01-2013, 07:05 PM
same results for me yesterday, although managed to get some baitfish later in the morning
scoota
21-01-2013, 08:32 PM
Trolled livies from the fairway Marker to Hamilton Patches yesterday for four hours for 2-0-0.
Not much bait around and virtually on my own probably says it all... not here yet but soon I hope!
Scoota...
21-01-2013, 09:06 PM
They were thick up north of Hervey Bay, or so I'm told. They might be on their way fellas
madmackrel
21-01-2013, 09:25 PM
Lawry my old mate how are you? say hello to your young fella for me , although he wouldnt be that young now. Mate they are normally here by now , hopefully the ringnetters havent wiped them out.
Cheers Perry
moondancer
22-01-2013, 09:38 AM
Cheers guys. Good to know that it wasnt just me..not good to know they havent arrived yet!! Perry,great to hear from you mate...yell out when you want to meet up om the water. the young fella is now almost 23! Attitude to match! ALso, I thought ringnetting macs was stopped a number of years back? Must say though, that on heading towards the becons yesterday, there was a pro boat with nets out..I just wasnt sure what they were chasing.
Moonlighter
22-01-2013, 02:25 PM
Ring netting spotties IS a thing of the past. Stopped a long time ago.
I think there have just been too many northerlies around and the water in he bay is too murky stll for them to come inside. But hopefully it will clear up and hey will come in soon.
22-01-2013, 04:06 PM
They can still ringnet other species and take a 'bycatch' of spotties I believe
Giffo65
22-01-2013, 04:45 PM
I got 2 Spotties of about the meter size at Palmy on Sunday at 10.30 am,I was spinning with a TSS4 and Laser lure.The 2 livies swam for hours without getting munched,I did not see much get caught at all by other boats.2 Speros I spoke to at the ramp said not much about.
madmackrel
22-01-2013, 07:24 PM
They can still ringnet other species and take a 'bycatch' of spotties I believeI believe so to mate.
shane69
22-01-2013, 08:25 PM
They are around mate. Just have too look for them.
I got 7 other day.
They should be running soon.
snapperbasher
22-01-2013, 08:32 PM
Hey guys I got a handful of schoolies on Sunday off tangas Not alot of size to them though..just on the bottom of the tide it was a fish a drop on 40gram knights but most were only just legal....
Cheers lochie
moondancer
23-01-2013, 09:23 AM
They are around mate. Just have too look for them.
I got 7 other day.
They should be running soon.
We'll al be following you!!!! ;)
moondancer
23-01-2013, 09:24 AM
Hey guys I got a handful of schoolies on Sunday off tangas Not alot of size to them though..just on the bottom of the tide it was a fish a drop on 40gram knights but most were only just legal....
Cheers lochie
We'll also bre follwing you Lochie!! ;)
SALTY"D"
24-01-2013, 04:43 PM
They were outside south passage bar on early monday arvo in fairly good numbers from report
did see photo's looked about 3 kg range, mate got 5 take home's and then caught and released some more for fun.
cheers Salty
moondancer
24-01-2013, 05:46 PM
Salty, good sign if they're just outside...just need to make sure they pop into the bay!!