View Full Version : Early morning at Mud
Freeeedom
21-01-2013, 01:58 PM
Arrived at Mud about 4.45 a.m. looking for some squire. It took until 7.30 and 21 squire later before I had four keepers, and they weren't anything to get excited about, ranging from 35 - 40 cm. I've never caught so many between 33 and 35 cm before. Lost the only good fish of the day when the middle hook of a set of ganged 5/0's gave way. I thought I might as well get a few gar while I was there so I moved in close and berleyed some up. Kept about two dozen of mixed sizes. Pretty good conditions out there today. Quit about 9.30.
Cheers Freeeedom
fisho8
21-01-2013, 02:17 PM
Well done mate still got a feed and got out on the water that is the main thing good stuff.:thumbsup:
kingcray
21-01-2013, 04:27 PM
nice freeeedom! good eating size snaps, and some oven baked "gar"lic cakes for dinner ?
AFE666
21-01-2013, 07:47 PM
I was out early today too.. We caught a heap of just unders too. Had a great morning though and am heading back out again in the morning!!
You caught more squire than us too haha
Well done mate.
Buddha57
21-01-2013, 11:14 PM
We went out his arvo, couple of bust offs, one snap at 38cm a couple of grassies and a Morwong, but heaps of Moses perch.
One day we will convert to softies, but today, all the fish were on squid.
moondancer
22-01-2013, 09:44 AM
Great little bag for the day! Gotta love those gars.....I reckon one of the better eating bread & butter species we have, so underated by lots of folk. How close did you find the gars, and what side of mud? Use to catch truckloads of them when we lived down south, but tend to not target them much here (but that can change! ) I have a great little light rod, Okuma 1500 with 1lb line on it just for gars! Makes them feel like a 1kg fish!!
Lawry