View Full Version : Another first Marlin story

paullee
19-01-2013, 08:30 PM
Finally got my first Black this arvo off the Tweed...long story short i have been involved with probably 6 Marlin catch/releases over the last few years off Sydney and port Stephens and never been on strike at the time as well as im usually driving the boat and have let others catch the fish to ensure all goes well.....new motor now has 99.9 hours on it and i would say that about 75 of those have spent chasing the Marlin off the Goldy over the last 2 months.....was a strange arvo offshore weather wise with smoke haze? and confused sea conditions with the southerly hitting....anyway went to 9 mile then 36ers with very little life anywhere....had 26.3 degree water out wider and 25ish in closer....had something (wahoo or marlin im guessing) come sideways in to the spread and after taking drag off the long corner hit the short corner for a few seconds then gone....cut off above the double bye bye my fave pakula.....re tie sampo and continue on out wide then back around same depth saw a free jumping black and some flying fish and then bang we are on....short corner again purple and white hot head and a small black dancing round the back of the boat....5 mins later and its released with a kick in its tail and all good....happy days gunna do it all again tomorrow...
So in short:
Fish...30kg Black Marlin
Lure...Pakula Hot Head purple and white
Water Temp...25.3 c
Time...415 pm (2.5 hrs after hi tide)
Conditions...Trolling with less than 1 m swell and 10 knot southerly.
Apart from flying fish saw no bait all day

FisHard
19-01-2013, 08:44 PM
75 hrs of trolling?! Yowza! Congrats on the Marlin. I reckon you well and truly desrve it!

paullee
19-01-2013, 09:01 PM
75 hrs of trolling?! Yowza! Congrats on the Marlin. I reckon you well and truly desrve it!

Cheers mate 75 hrs is no exaggeration....doesnt take long to add up when you go every weekend... after all that the missus said she had it all on film with a few pics thrown in.....needless to say im a bit pissed we only have a photo of the mid section of the fish and a short vid of the fight....she did well clearing the deck but do ya think she can take a decent photo? The answer is a big fat no!

madmackrel
19-01-2013, 09:08 PM
Welcome to the club.oh well im sure the image of your marlin will be in your head forever