View Full Version : Early prawnies
nezevic99
18-01-2013, 07:57 AM
Pic and title say it all really. A bit of spotlighting in the Redlands and look what shows up. Not bad for an hour's work. All taken in about a foot of water. Average size about 120mm
bondy99
18-01-2013, 10:49 PM
G'day nezevic99,
I see you got some black tigers,:)) that would be right for this time of year, usually happens before the bananas show up.
Maybe if we get more rain events and a rogue cyclone this year it might get the banana prawns to start .
Bondy
may have a bit to do with the nearby prawn farms, Bondy. Are they harvesting their ponds already? Its usually around start of February. I'll be be back in town midweek. Time to Rattle up the tinny.
BLOOEY
19-01-2013, 10:27 AM
I got a few of those waaaaaay up the logan the other day, nothing like that haul though. I wondered what sort they were. Ben
royslaven
19-01-2013, 05:16 PM
may have a bit to do with the nearby prawn farms, Bondy. Are they harvesting their ponds already? Its usually around start of February. I'll be be back in town midweek. Time to Rattle up the tinny.
Be good to see you back in town stan, and bondy, I have got my thermonuclear fluorescent gloves ready to go, cheers, roy.
pickers
19-01-2013, 07:54 PM
G'day nezevic99,
I see you got some black tigers,:)) that would be right for this time of year, usually happens before the bananas show up.
Maybe if we get more rain events and a rogue cyclone this year it might get the banana prawns to start .
Bondy
bondy...they are not black tigers...they are brown tigers...run of the mill tigers and nothing to do with farm prawns...have a close look..no blue markings on the legs of black tigers
pickers
bondy99
19-01-2013, 11:11 PM
pickers,
Good onya mate for picking that up, the image was too blurry for me to see, I meant to say normal standard tiger prawns, not the Japonicus farmed ones. No Mr Magoo here
Bondy
bondy99
19-01-2013, 11:13 PM
Pero,
Nah, there not farm prawns, different breed. Yeah, that prawn farm has swung into fresh production as of 21st January, earlier than expected.
Bondy
bondy99
19-01-2013, 11:17 PM
Royslaven
How are you champ? Those radioactive gloves work a treat. Gomer would be pleased ;;D ;;D ;;D
Bondy
BLOOEY
20-01-2013, 03:17 PM
So brown tigers are the ones with blue on the legs? Thats the ones i was getting. Ben
BayDog
20-01-2013, 04:31 PM
thats not like you bondy to mistake a prawn, especially since you worked on trawlers, farms etc..
nezevic99
20-01-2013, 05:03 PM
They were tigers and tasted delicious. Doesn't matter to me what sort!
pickers
20-01-2013, 06:05 PM
so brown tigers are the ones with blue on the legs? Thats the ones i was getting. Ben
black tigers have the blue on the legs
netmaker
20-01-2013, 06:07 PM
if you are getting that many in an hour with spottie and scoop net, just imagine how the bucket would look if you were pulling around a 50' drag net...
kingcray
20-01-2013, 06:15 PM
plenty of prawns up hayes inlet yesterday right up on the sandbars. Bananas and good size too.
Never seen them so thick up there.... were a few out off clontarf also.
bondy99
20-01-2013, 07:17 PM
Baydog,
Everyone can make mistakes.
Oie, Kingcray.
You getting any?
kingcray
20-01-2013, 07:28 PM
not yet bondy. I didnt have the net in the boat yesterday bugger woudve been nice. I have just never seen them shoaling up and skipping like mad like that up that way before. Another couple weeks they should be down the bend
bondy99
20-01-2013, 10:24 PM
Kingray,
Bit of bummer mate.
I reckon one should always carry a net closed in its bucket. It always comes in handy when one least expects it.
Bondy
bondy...they are not black tigers...they are brown tigers...run of the mill tigers and nothing to do with farm prawns...have a close look..no blue markings on the legs of black tigers
pickers
What can I you say? Your spot on! pickers.
:)Greeets, Baydog. Hows that son of yours? Have you taught him to Throw a net yet?
bondy99
22-01-2013, 02:50 PM
Looks like Pero's back on deck
BayDog
23-01-2013, 07:55 AM
:)Greeets, Baydog. Hows that son of yours? Have you taught him to Throw a net yet?
Son's, plural i was silly enough to add another one to the mix. don't even have time to mend a net now let alone make one, next year the young fella will have a little net for himself :) and i will have one more bucket lol
you i know i'm just stirring you bondy
bondy99
23-01-2013, 11:08 AM
BayDog,
It's alright, the message was suppose to be for pickers
Have a good one, I'm sure you will do well, regards to your family.
Bondy
bondy99
24-01-2013, 11:29 PM
I heard there were a few boats working Karragarra, Russel and near the power lines.
25-01-2013, 02:46 PM
Ok guys, get down to Dohles Rocks area tomorrow morning because they are opening NPD to drop 8 gigs out in preparation for the rain this weekend. I think the gates open on the dam at 4pm this arvo. By early morning there should be a good schooling at multiple places down that way.
BigAl1071
28-01-2013, 06:54 AM
Bondy[/QUOTE]
Hey Bondy - you gotta be careful what you wish for sometimes !!!!
bondy99
31-01-2013, 11:42 AM
Looks like I was on the money this time. ;D