View Full Version : billfish bliss at hervey bay m&g

netmaker
25-11-2012, 04:04 PM
well. what an absolute rip snorter of an m&g8-). perry mad mackrel and i left alex hills about 2pm thursday arv and arrived at urangan boat harbour a little after 6. we spent that night at the ramp and were joined just after midnight by brett humdinger, brett bull, graham cobiaman, neil horse, bruce tropicrows and bill 2ic. a few refreshing ales and feed of prawns and we hit the hay. brekky in the morn and we waited for dave tinshack and graham (2) to arrive before the 5 boats left for rooneys. 4 boats then left for the 13 mile at the northern end of the spit and luckily bill and bruce waited for us as we were chasing livies and almost missed the bus! on our way there reports were coming in thick and fast of billfish strikes and we were brimming with anticipation. our first action was a double hookup of large mack tuna that kept us busy for a while. after that things seemed to blur with a seemingly constant amount of marlin strikes. perry was first to land one and i am sure he will post up the footage. not long after, i suffered a bust off on the only marlin i hooked:'(. a few more strikes later and perry is on again. as i was quickly winding in i was smashed and straight away this fish flew out of the water and covered 50m in seconds. it went berserk. unfortunately we got no video of this as we were both busy! minutes later and perrys' fish was around the prop. he put the rod in the holder to help me with mine which was very much appreciated. minutes after hookup and my reel is down to what i guess was the last 25m:o. unfortunately with another fish around the prop there was no way we could give chase and i was almost filling my pants. i couldn't make myself tighten the drag but i did thumb it and the fish stopped. we then had a stalemate for what seemed like a life time but probably only lasted 20 seconds or so, neither losing nor gaining line. then the fish gave a little towards me and i managed to start getting line back. shortly after i was a bit more comfortable with my spool and a few more smaller runs and he was tired and boatside. a few pics and he was successfully released. in addition, perry still landed his prop-wrapped marlin as an added bonus.
a fantastic fish to lose my billfish virginity on and my deepest thanks go to perry for a memory i will take to the grave... or the psych ward - whichever comes first;).
thanks also to bill and bruce for waiting for us and to neil who lent us the gun lures.
i have never witnessed such a crazy fishing session and suffice to say there were birds working gigantic baitballs and bill fish hookups everywhere. i wont say anymore as the others can tell their own stories. cant wait for the next rooneys m&g!!!

86450 86455 86453

zorro1
25-11-2012, 04:11 PM
good report mate - catching them on sksirts netmaker?

Dicktracey
25-11-2012, 04:23 PM
I'd like to start with ARSEHOLE but that would be rude ;) So well done boys looks like you had as much fun as I did driving to Moura and back ;)
Dick
Dissapointed with shirt Davo 8-)

OODIES
25-11-2012, 04:34 PM
Awesome stuff Davo, I wasn't there mate, but after your call I feel like I was.
Dave there is nothing like hearing the excitement in a mates voice after an awesome trip.
Congratulations on a fish of a life time mate... Very Jealous.

BINGO

Todddo
25-11-2012, 04:53 PM
Holy hell I was expecting a nice size snapper or something lol! Bloody nice catch mate, Thats the one fish I'm really looking forward to catching one day :D

25-11-2012, 05:18 PM
Well another M&G has been put to bed and what a cracker this one was. A lot of Billfish virgins popped their chery in a Billy Bonanza outside the 13 mile crossing. The Blacks were thick around the boats and at one stage we had three attacking our lures at one time before we hooked up on one of them. It was all good fun but we decided to move on early in the afternoon and get a feed of reefies.
Dave (Tinshack) was giving us the guided tour (thanks Mate) and we ended up fishing a nice show. Bull boated a Cobia and Cobiaman (or is that now Marlinman) added a nice Spangly for the box. We were putting a nice feed in the box when my Fin Nor spin stick folded over and the Stradic started screaming in pain. The boys started joking about sharks and submarines and generally giving me heaps about wasting fishing time. The freight train eventually ran out of steam and I started making some ground on it. Grazza was able to give me live commentary as it kept showing on the sounder. Eventually it hit the surface and Grazz sank the gaff in and pulled 15kg of Green Jobfish into the boat:o;D
That sort fish is one that has on my bucket list for many years and to catch one on a M&G was the icing on the cake:2thumbsup::laola:.
That night we all met around Roonies and at one stage we had seven big boats hanging off Bulls anchor while everyone told war stories and did what we do best at a M&G8-)
The next mornig we had a late start and ran the 4 mile in poor conditions. We got a feed of mixed reefies before pulling the pin as we were low on fuel and ice. We decided it was best to make a run for home a bit early.
On the way we saw a few birds working and decided to give chase. We then spent a couple of hours chasing Spotties and Mac Tuna. We added four nice Spotties to the box before making the run for home.
This trip was one of the best ones I have ever had. Top location, perfect weather, plenty of fish and lots of mates to share it with made it one to remember
Special thanks goes to Chong for getting the idea floated, Phill for his local knowledge, Dave for guiding us around and Brett for putting up with me as a deckie
Lock it in for next year fellas

netmaker
25-11-2012, 05:34 PM
zorro. yes mate, skirts were the go.

dt. thanks mate:P. wanted to release him so didn't have time for wardrobe change. besides which i wouldn't want all that slime on my good shirts;)

25-11-2012, 05:37 PM
zorro. yes mate, skirts were the go.

dt. thanks mate:P. wanted to release him so didn't have time for wardrobe change. besides which i wouldn't want all that slime on my good shirts;)

Yea skirts were the go Dave. We saw you on the island with Perry and that was definitely a skirt you were wearing. I think Zorro wanted to know what lures;D

By the way it appears Island Madness settles in early on some:o;D

cobiaman
25-11-2012, 05:47 PM
Well, all i can say is that was one of the best fishing weekends of my life. Not only did i catch a marlin, i caught 2! Also got to watch bull1 catch his first and got to see horse get a cracker job fish as well.

Thanks to horse for organising it and a special thanks to megabite, tinshacks and marvin for all the advice and lures we borrowed.

It was certainly a great bunch of blokes and i think we need to start organising next years m&g!

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/12/11/25/he2eqajy.jpghttp://img.tapatalk.com/d/12/11/25/7eha9y5e.jpghttp://img.tapatalk.com/d/12/11/25/tugugygy.jpg

netmaker
25-11-2012, 06:07 PM
Yea skirts were the go Dave. We saw you on the island with Perry and that was definitely a skirt you were wearing. I think Zorro wanted to know what lures;D

By the way it appears Island Madness settles in early on some:o;D

sorry to disappoint neil but that was humdinger. after the great performance he put on out there going solo, he could wear a tutu if he wanted...

Goodoo haven
25-11-2012, 06:20 PM
Well done guys. you's caught some awesome fish there.

shy guys
25-11-2012, 06:59 PM
Looks like I missed out on a cracker trip only reason I disliked your post looks like me and Craig (ideas) will have to head up next weekend any ways happy for all that cleaned up looks like you all had a great trip spewing I missed it won't miss another

25-11-2012, 07:17 PM
From all accounts, the Ausfish Family went well.

That is a Horse / Horse Jobbie................( Neil )...... a $2,000 fish at the Toyota Expo any day of the week and one of my favourite species to catch and eat.

I look forward to more pics. I cauvght up with a few ferrets at the ramp on my return late Saturday arvo.

ME.... I took my cousin and her housemate out for a day inside the bay.

Jigged livies, put some nice fish in the esky. Mainly reef species and couldn't find the Spotties, only Mack Tuna. My best for the day....3.55kg Grunter on 6lb Fireline..... love the light gear. :)

Only talked to Robtar on channel 22, as apparently... the " chat channel " was changed......

Well done to all.........

Only one pic to show.... at rest.....

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/SANY0030640x480-3.jpg

cheers.

ps./... Graeme, chong has ya pillies !

Mossy247
25-11-2012, 07:30 PM
Awesome .... Well done Davo cracker of a fish.

Humdinger
25-11-2012, 07:36 PM
what more can i add to all that . the best trip i've ever had
left brissy about 7 pm with 2ic and tropicows waiting up the gateway for me . we pull into caboolture bp to have a coffee and wait for the (ausfish mitsubishi add )to catch up with us . (will surely be explained in a post very soon )
bull pulls in with the usual ritual of pulling a wheel off the trailer . quick repair and off we go . next stop hervey bay .
meet up with the boys at the ramp for a feed of prawns and a few coldies . up early for a quick brekky and load up with ice . meet up with tinshack for one of his guided cup of tea tours (thanks dave )

we pull up at roonies and the plan gets made to go out the 13 mile off we go .

get outside the 13 mile dropped a couple of skirts in about 5 minutes later the reel is screeming about 2 seconds to realize it's on the "normal reel" bugger i have to wind . start reeling and this fish just launches itself out of the water nice marlin;D;D
couple more jumps and spits the hook:'(
oh well set off again and almost immediately fish on . you beuty on the electric this time .;D;D push the button and watch it start to come in but no this thing has some fight to it and i have to use the handle to help it (bugger just lit that smoke )about 5 minutes later it's alongside . yeehaa dolphin fish my first ;D;D
the fight doesn't stop there this bastard is fighting all the way but i wrestled him into the boat . 1300 long beast .
set up and off again let everyone else know what i got . then bang the electric is peeling out again . another marlin yeehar here we go again good fight and he's at the boat another first ;D i do remember a remark about (you wouldn't be able to catch a marlin on a electric reel ) well there you go done .
got 2 marlin into the boat and another 4 to the leader .
for friday 6 marlin 1 mahi mahi 1 spaniard . best day i've had out in a long time . my deckie was awsome company and kept me entertained for the whole trip ;D

only got a mack tuna for saturday but didn't mind after a day like friday
the best lure i have ever had on a boat was a bit expensive but well above speaks for it i think . totally wrapped with the yammy yeehar too . it lured the fish up to my $2.50 ebay skirts
lets go again;864818647986480

Jigsrule
25-11-2012, 07:49 PM
Well done boys. A very memorable trip indeed

Humdinger
25-11-2012, 07:52 PM
forgot what more would you want for a great birthday

Reefmaster
25-11-2012, 08:04 PM
With the predicted weather forecast I decided to head up Wed night and slip out Thursday morning. The sea had glassed out by lunchtime and we were picking up some good fish but the sharks were flogging the hell out of us on just about every spot. We still managed some good fish including some nice reds and good mixed bag of reefies.
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/059cropped.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/AA123401MXFStill001.png

I dropped the underwater camera down on a spot where sharks were giving us grief and captured some great footage. Some big sharks cruised past the camera while red emperor, morwong, amberjack, green jobfish and hussar were in plain view.

http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/17kgredspotawesomeMOVStill001.png
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/17kgredspotawesomeMOVStill005.png
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/17kgredspotawesomeMOVStill007.png
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/17kgredspot3hussarMOVStill001.png

I came back to that spot just on dark hoping the sharks may have moved on. Trent pulled this awesome red just under 17kg on the first drop so to say we were happy was an understatement.
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/071cropped.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/141cropped.jpg

Reefmaster
25-11-2012, 08:05 PM
The next day was pretty quiet so we decided to have troll for some Billies and the rest of the Ausfish gang were already getting among them closer in. As the other guys have stated the action was insane with loads black marlin being caught left right and centre. We had 3 or more fighting over the lures and double hooks were a common sight. We trolled for just over 2 hours and ended up going 31-18-8 which was just crazy. I ended up with 4, Trent 3 and the Oldman 1. We trolled Pakula cockroaches in Lumo and purple (frigate) and micro sprockets in lumo all on 8kg line. We broke one gamagatsu SL12's hook and bent the tips on a couple dojo hooks as well which didn't help our conversion rate as I'm not sure how long the hooks were damaged for.

A lot of the below pics are screen shots off my video camera.
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/100sdggse.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/109cropped.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/123cropped.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/AA125301MXFStill004cropped.png
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/AA125301MXFStill003cropped.png
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/131cropped.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/AA124701MXFStill004cropped.png
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/089cropped.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/AA125701MXFStill002.png
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/AA127701MXFStill001.png
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/AA126501MXFStill007cropped.png
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/AA126501MXFStill001cropped2.png
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/AA124701MXFStill003cropped.png

netmaker
25-11-2012, 08:16 PM
thats a monster red and some top pics mate.

Humdinger
25-11-2012, 08:21 PM
wasn't that bait ball huge

fishfeeder
25-11-2012, 08:34 PM
Was a great weekend and when was the next one ??

Some awesome photos and fish there and I can't wait for cobiaman's book on all you need to know about catching Marlin hits the shelf in a week or two...

I think Tangles is going to do up a report of our efforts, which i think was good for our first trip to that area...

Thanks again to all for a fantastic weekend on the water..

Humdinger
25-11-2012, 08:42 PM
ok i'll bite . why is muddy not liking our posts ? is it because he's at work:hammer::wut::furious2:
sorry anthony we'll try to wait for you next time;D

marvin
25-11-2012, 10:52 PM
86519865188651786516865158651486513865128651186510 86509865088650786506865058650486503865028650186500 86499
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/misc/pencil.png
I had a bit of trouble believe it or not on getting one person to come out with me and my young bloke Brodie for an overnight trip up to Rooneys Point and the Break Sea Spit area. As soon as school finished Friday at 3pm I picked up Brodie and the first words he said was " Are we going Dad are we?" Yes mate, we are, you should have seen his slow dragged out steps change into something lick an olympic sprinter... He was yelling at his mates as he left the school grounds, " See ya Monday Tyson, I'm going Marlin fishing with my Dad" Brought a wonderful smile to my face to see the excitment and anticipation he displayed. We shot off home, got out of the school clothes, put on our Ausfish shirts, hooked on the boat and were departing Bundy by 4pm with Dwane as our third crew member. Who had to give up his cricket match on Sunday if he went fishing... Decisions decisions... We arrived at Urangan harbour just before 6pm, so with no mucking around we launched White Horse 2 in the wet stuff and headed off to Moon Point and then began our run up the inside the island to Rooneys point. We hugged the island and travelled up doing 30 knots in glassy calm seas. We arrived before 8pm and met up with the boys on the northern side of the point, it was a mini Ausfish boat city, so after we asked permission to join up onto Bulls anchoring system, a cold beverage was shared by all. The barby que was kicked into gear with rump steak burgers and snags with tomato sauce on bread filling the gap between the beverages. The boys that had fished that day were soo excited about the days results, I did not hear one sulking story from anyone, maybe except for Muddytoes.... sorry mate... There were smiling faces everywhere... We hit the sack by 10pm and had a great sleep in the calm sheltered waters about 30 meters from the beach. By 4am we were on our way towards the 13 mile crossing, the run out was a bit choppy, but we pressed on steadily. When we hit the outside of the spit, the lures were put in and our trolling was began with Brodie on first strike, it didn't take too long before we had billfish attacking the skirts, we had two or three spikes sticking out of the water as they checked out each lure before one decided to smash the long corner. A 6" tropic angler dark blue skirt, the teasers were pulled in, then the other lines were cleared as Brodie picked up the rod as the Black marlin was leaping off in the distance. He was telling me to chase it after it took a 100 meters or so of line off before we slowed the boat down whilst clearing the deck. He played it to perfection and the 1.7meter little black was brought boat side, usually we would tag the fish and disconnect it in the water, but I just wanted to get it in for a couple quick pictures so he could show Mum what he had caught... The little guy was trembling like an Etec with a busted injector...LOL... He held it up for the photo's and then we tagged it and swam it boat side until Brodie said "OK Dad he's good to go" He gave the fish a loving pat as he let the bill go and the fish swam back into the depths. High fives all round. One of my proudest moments, watching my son release a marlin at the age of 12 years.
Well next fish hooked up was a wahoo on the rob gaden bluewater qantas colour diver that we run short in the prop wash, Dwane was tickled pink as he had not caught one of these speedsters before. My turn on strike came and went with only a stirke but no hookup, Brodie was back into it with the screaming of the short rigger, a nice Mahi Mahi was leaping out of the water with the skirt lure hanging out of its mouth. Margie loves the taste of these fish since our hooney moon game fishing trip in Fiji 14 years ago, she had asked Brodie to catch her one before we left, and happy days he did... This one came into the boat and went onto the ice immediately.
We trolled out to some reef structure and decided a bottom fish for a couple hours would be worth a try, we dropped the lines down in 55 meters and landed a mixed catch of Nannygai, snapper, wrasse, hussar, mouri cod, thumbies that gave us about 10kg of fillets after the clean up back at home.
We trolled over the spit bommie area after lunch for an hour but only managed a few follows from trevally. We called it a day around 330pm to allow enough time to make the 51 nautical mile run back to the harbour... We made the offer to off load my 100 litres of extra fuel that I had put in as reserve, and the boat Anger Management was happy to take it on board as they were becoming low and were then able to fish the next morning for a few more hours to hopefully increase their catch to over 20 tagged billies for the weekend.
The run back to the ramp was very pleasant again at 30 knots running down the western side of Fraser to avoid the short chop that the bay is renound for. We pulled up to the ramp just after dark, to catch up with Phill and a few of the other boys and girls who were kicking back after a great couple days on the water.
I used 310 liters of fuel to cover 160 nautical miles by the GPS trip log, averaging 1lt per km... Brodie was still jumping out of his skin with his excitment of the days achievments. As we drove away from the harbour car park, he said "Thanks again Dad for taking me out to catch my first Marlin, I hope we can do it again one day".... With in 5 minutes of driving he was snoring totally buggered from our 24 hours on the water, but I bet he was having sweet dreams of the Marlin, the mahi mahi, the snapper, the wahoo, the yellow kings, the barby with the other boats, the hand shakes from total strangers back at the ramp congratulating him on his efforts and the life long memories we made together as part of the Inaugral 2012 Roonies Point/Hervey Bay/Break Sea Spit Ausfish Meet and Greet.
Thanks to everyone who attended and I am so happy for each and every one of you regardless of the fish you caught or lost, Trips like these are where your dreams become transformed into your memories. Best wishes, Kev and Brodie. :)

Chamelion
26-11-2012, 12:25 AM
RE: Anger management... I went down to the sunshine coast very early friday morning and saw it heading north (very eye catching rig). Would you believe it, saw not too far from the first sighting today (sunday evening) on the way home! I hope nothing was amiss, they were on the side of the road rather stationary.

Funchy
26-11-2012, 01:08 AM
To all that posted of their exploits on this thread... thanks! Great report with memories to last a lifetime.

Marvin, how good is it when our young blokes say thanks for a memorable day on the water?? It just not get any better than that!!!

burleygu
26-11-2012, 06:46 AM
To put it nicely you are all a bunch of ba$tard$!!!!!

Bloody great fishing guys.

MEG-A-BITE
26-11-2012, 07:02 AM
Well done guys,looks like a fishing mecca ATM.

tropicrows
26-11-2012, 09:25 AM
Well what a trip, another epic. Great times great fishing all with a great bunch of blokes, thanks Bill. :) :)

The trip up HB was a bit slow, first up Bull1 had brake issues on the trailer, something about a brake falling off, then with the weight of the new yammie on humdingers boat slowing down the convoy. In the end we got there where we were greeted with a feed of prawns from Dave (netmaker).

Up early next day and off the Roonies, let the fishing commence. Bill & I stated trolling like the rest of the boats, out from the 13 mile crossing and after a few hours of no fishing in the boat we thought the others had hidden those bent yellow things somewhere below deck. After a quick search we came up empty, a change of plan was needed so we trolled away from the other boats but that didn’t work either. So we went back and finally had some success, what fun we had smiles all round my first black marlin. :) :)

Next it was off the hit the reefies where we caught a good mixed bag, along with getting smoked a few times and losing more lead than Broken Hill. We all meet up a Roonies that night had some beers and burnt snags while on another boat were having wagu steak, salad and red wine (Tim)
Up early next day (for me anyway) a quick coffee and Fishfeeder & Tangles followed us out thru the 4 mile “that was fun” not dangerous by any means just pretty sloppy. We spent the day chasing reefies for another good mixed bag. In the afternoon met up with Murf & Tim and we all travelled back to Roonies together. We arrived at 5.30 pm to find no one home ???. So it was just the three boat for the night, more beer and food, plenty of chitt chatt then off to bed. Sunday morning it was up early and time to head for home. Bill can fill in the gaps and fuel, km covered etc etc.

Thanks again to everyone who attended and put the M&G together.

madmackrel
26-11-2012, 10:16 AM
Hey Bill and Bruce nice shirts fellas,i know where you blokes get these now saw some guys at roonies market real characters86538

tropicrows
26-11-2012, 10:22 AM
That's a classic shot Perry.

cobiaman
26-11-2012, 10:24 AM
What was actually for sale in that photo???

madmackrel
26-11-2012, 10:35 AM
I think they were trying to sell thier coconuts

netmaker
26-11-2012, 01:16 PM
i dont remember selling team beeracuda any of my fashion items...

matt fraser
26-11-2012, 01:38 PM
Unbelievable threat guys! Well done to all on this trip. There is some awesome reading and pics there! Some fantastic reefies not to mention the sensational billfish action.

I've got to get a bigger boat!

shy guys
26-11-2012, 02:12 PM
Hey Bill and Bruce nice shirts fellas,i know where you blokes get these now saw some guys at roonies market real characters86538
That is gold

The Woo
26-11-2012, 02:19 PM
Awesome read guys! Some great fish there, looks and sounds like a ball!

netmaker
26-11-2012, 04:14 PM
some more pics

86557865568655486553865528655186550865498654886547 86546

Tinshack
26-11-2012, 04:29 PM

We found this guy (Neil - Horse) 86558 lost on the beach looking for some pants at the local roonies markets, all he had to trade was a shirt, pair of jocks & a roll of dunny paper :-[

netmaker
26-11-2012, 04:33 PM
We found this guy (Neil - Horse) 86558 lost on the beach looking for some pants at the local roonies markets, all he had to trade was a shirt, pair of jocks & a roll of dunny paper :-[

and he wasn't getting any of my good shirts for that lot:LMAO:

Boat Hog
26-11-2012, 04:52 PM

There'll be a tropical paradise at that spot next time we go there ..... all that Horse manure will get things blooming!

Tinshack
26-11-2012, 04:59 PM
Like everyone has said, awesome trip, certainly one to remember. Great location, great weather, great bunch of blokes & insane fishing. ;D

Neil, you are the weather god, well done mate, perfect conditions. To get awesome weather for a weekend that was booked mounths out was brilliant! :o

Attached are a few pics of our catch.

Arrived at Urangan harbour 6:00am with all the guys waiting with anticipation, thanks guys. Most of us headed straight for Roonies & accross the spit out through 13 mile crossing, we trolled for a few hours, plenty of hook-ups with only one marlin boated on the Pukala Dojo (Dildo Rubber). We then bottom fished east of 13 mile crossing on Friday where we got a nice 10kg red previously but sharks just blew us away on any decent fish. We pulled up at least 10-15 mouri heads, lost endlesss $ of terminal tackle, we just had to keep moving. We end up with 8 solid mouri's, gold spot wrasse, red throat & hussar. Friday night we moured up to the mother ship (Bull1 - Gina Maree) for a few quiet cordials & rice crackers, some great laughs guys, very entertaining. :)

Saturday saw us head through the 4 mile crossing, bit sloppy. Trolled to a few marks 6km further to the east, good shows, few bust offs, but no luck. We were stuffed from the previous days fishing, so started to head back via Wathumba for a swim & some fresh maouri for lunch & to recharge the bodily batteries.

Thanks to Neil for ordering the weather and all the Ausfish blokes (new guys I had the pleasure of meeting & to catch up with some old ones) for awesome company & heaps of laughs & great memories, cheers, Dave.

I think I will be their again very soon before next years Roonies M&G.

SF565 Southwind, 385km's travelled, 220 litres used, 14hr's put on the F115 yammy marlin teaser!!!

fisho8
26-11-2012, 05:00 PM
The next day was pretty quiet so we decided to have troll for some Billies and the rest of the Ausfish gang were already getting among them closer in. As the other guys have stated the action was insane with loads black marlin being caught left right and centre. We had 3 or more fighting over the lures and double hooks were a common sight. We trolled for just over 2 hours and ended up going 31-18-8 which was just crazy. I ended up with 4, Trent 3 and the Oldman 1. We trolled Pakula cockroaches in Lumo and purple (frigate) and micro sprockets in lumo all on 8kg line. We broke one gamagatsu SL12's hook and bent the tips on a couple dojo hooks as well which didn't help our conversion rate as I'm not sure how long the hooks were damaged for.

A lot of the below pics are screen shots off my video camera.
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/100sdggse.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/109cropped.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/123cropped.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/AA125301MXFStill004cropped.png
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/AA125301MXFStill003cropped.png
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/131cropped.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/AA124701MXFStill004cropped.png
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/089cropped.jpg
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/AA125701MXFStill002.png
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/AA127701MXFStill001.png
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/AA126501MXFStill007cropped.png
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/AA126501MXFStill001cropped2.png
http://i248.photobucket.com/albums/gg161/Greg_L/AA124701MXFStill003cropped.png

Awsome fish guys some bloody top shots there Love those Reds awsome stuff.

fisho8
26-11-2012, 05:09 PM
Well Done Dave on the Bill Fish mate very nice size fish there would have been awsome to catch well done to all you guys on some great catches.:)

Humdinger
26-11-2012, 05:10 PM
hey perry did you get those guys names ? they look like someone i've met .

madmackrel
26-11-2012, 05:26 PM
There'll be a tropical paradise at that spot next time we go there ..... all that Horse manure will get things blooming!Your not wrong there Jim, thats a lot of manure.

madmackrel
26-11-2012, 05:30 PM
What a bloody awesome M&G, i know its been said before but thanks to everybody for making this a truly memorable occassion. A top bunch of blokes evey one of you.

murf
26-11-2012, 05:32 PM
Like everyone has said, awesome trip, certainly one to remember. Great location, great weather, great bunch of blokes & insane fishing. ;D

Neil, you are the weather god, well done mate, perfect conditions. To get awesome weather for a weekend that was booked mounths out was brilliant! :o

Attached are a few pics of our catch.

Arrived at Urangan harbour 6:00am with all the guys waiting with anticipation, thanks guys. Most of us headed straight for Roonies & accross the spit out through 13 mile crossing, we trolled for a few hours, plenty of hook-ups with only one marlin boated on the Pukala Dojo (Dildo Rubber). We then bottom fished east of 13 mile crossing on Friday where we got a nice 10kg red previously but sharks just blew us away on any decent fish. We pulled up at least 10-15 mouri heads, lost endlesss $ of terminal tackle, we just had to keep moving. We end up with 8 solid mouri's, gold spot wrasse, red throat & hussar. Friday night we moured up to the mother ship (Bull1 - Gina Maree) for a few quiet cordials & rice crackers, some great laughs guys, very entertaining. :)

Saturday saw us head through the 4 mile crossing, bit sloppy. Trolled to a few marks 6km further to the east, good shows, few bust offs, but no luck. We were stuffed from the previous days fishing, so started to head back via Wathumba for a swim & some fresh maouri for lunch & to recharge the bodily batteries.

Thanks to Neil for ordering the weather and all the Ausfish blokes (new guys I had the pleasure of meeting & to catch up with some old ones) for awesome company & heaps of laughs & great memories, cheers, Dave.

I think I will be their again very soon before next years Roonies M&G.

SF565 Southwind, 385km's travelled, 220 litres used, 14hr's put on the F115 yammy marlin teaser!!!

go the the little boats :) love your boat and its set up, might not have got to talk much when rafted up but trust me I was looking over a couple of boats and dreaming ;)

great times and great place

so is it a annual M&G????

I got to visit a few places I have dreamed of for years and did it in style (thanks Boat Hog) if only the sharks would go and visit the greenies for a few days haha. was gunna get up that way this year on our Fraser trip but weather said diff but Horse ordered the right weather this time :) I think Boat Hog was a little perplexed when I said this is the best I have ever seen Fraser as we plugged through the short sharp slop that is the norm off there

thanks again for all the help and organisation from everyone involved as it turned out a great weekend, was great to so many smiles and grinning people doing what makes them happy ;D

cheers Murf

PS whats next years dates???

Tinshack
26-11-2012, 05:58 PM
[QUOTE=murf;1437950]so is it a annual M&G????/QUOTE]

Murf, i think it might be multi annual for a few of us in the next few months.;)

madmackrel
26-11-2012, 06:00 PM
And here i was thinking you were looking over me and dreaming .

trymyluck
26-11-2012, 06:06 PM
[QUOTE=murf;1437950]so is it a annual M&G????/QUOTE]

Murf, i think it might be multi annual for a few of us in the next few months.;)

So who's going next weekend.

madmackrel
26-11-2012, 06:06 PM
Here are some specs on the trip if anyone is interested. 60 litres of vehicle fuel one way and 60litres back. Boat 400 ks with 240litres used and 18.5 engine hours clocked up for the trip.
Cheers MM

26-11-2012, 06:11 PM
awesome reports and pics ..thanks all.

some of us can only dream of fishing those places..cos some of us keep the country going..by working. (jealousy made me say that)

2IC
26-11-2012, 06:13 PM
Well Guys that was a great M&G,, Neil thank you for putting this together:) the weather gods smiled on us & the billies played there part. The action at one stage was insane with multiple hookups on alot of boats. The radio chatter was lets say intense;D at this stage. Bruce and i had a slow start to our tolling effort, but once we worked a few things out then it all came together. The bottom structure up that way is amazing. Lots of bommies and ledges. We were lucky that the current wasnt really roaring as on Friday we were dropping down with 10ball sinkers in 60m of water no problems. But the fishing was slow as one drit we would pull 3 fish, next drift zip so the order of the day was to move around looking for new areas. The Maori cod were thick as we easily got our bag limit. All up we used 358lt of fuel. so was very happy with that. Could not put the KLM up we travelled due to me not resetting the trip meter:-? Thanks to Kev for giving us the information we needed to make this a successful trip and to all you other ferrets that showed up. I do believe that this was a great m&g due to the fact that muddy toes wasnt there;D;D;D Bill

Captain Seaweed
26-11-2012, 06:24 PM
nice one Bill....you do realize this will be war when he sees this!

cobiaman
26-11-2012, 06:40 PM
Ill just say it was the best weekend fishing trip of my life! Bloody hard to go to work today though...

cobiaman
26-11-2012, 06:41 PM
nice one Bill....you do realize this will be war when he sees this!

Lets just pray for good weather in 3 weeks time...

royslaven
26-11-2012, 07:07 PM
Hi to all of the lucky ones involved in what was obviously a fantastic and truly memorable trip, fantastic fish caught, fantastic weather , and fantastic friendships for all, and i would just like to personally thank netmaker for the phonecall to tell me all about it, in case i hadn,t seen this thread, and dave , there is no such thing as too much humility, now if you will all excuse me, i think i might go off and have a little cry, sob, roy.

uripper
26-11-2012, 07:12 PM
Here are some specs on the trip if anyone is interested. 60 litres of vehicle fuel one way and 60litres back. Boat 400 ks with 240litres used and 18.5 engine hours clocked up for the trip.
Cheers MM
MadMac
that's awesome!! I want some of that !!! what was boat / motor combo pls? Approx gross weight?
Mal

Muddy Toes
26-11-2012, 07:13 PM
I hate you all.........except for Marty and Tim.Wait for our report losers!!!!!!

Boat Hog
26-11-2012, 07:28 PM
Where do I start!

After, 100 odd text messages, PM's, Emails, phone calls, and a planning meeting, boat loading, unloading and re-loading we were finally ready for the Ausfish Hervey Bay M&G.

So, thursday morning bright and early saw Murf, the Magic Deckie, and I heading north bound for Urangan Boat Harbour, Hervey Bay. Black Magic, a Seaswirl Striper 2101 WA in tow.

A mere 9 hours later, we arrived and started the process of fueling up, getting bait and ice and prepping the boat to hit the water. We logged on with VMR 466 Hervey Bay and headed out of the Boat Harbour. Holy theme park ride, there was a northerly screeming down the bay and the sea state was less than favourable. To make matters worse the Simrads were playing up after downloading a software upgrade. :'( One wasn't recognising the thru hull sounder and the other wasn't talking to the radar. Ohh well, between going up and down like a yoyo in the sloppy waves we managed to get enough info on the screens to get underway. Maybe should've stayed at the ramp and waited for the prawns to arrive. ;)

Dusk, saw us anchored at Rooney's Point having dinner and a few drinks while catching Yakkas that were hanging around the boat. The wind had dropped and the anchorage was calm.

Dawn saw us top up the fuel tank with 60 L from the Jerry cans and head out to a bait mark, but all we caught there was baby squire (who's mark was that Murf?). We got out of there and trolled some lures around the edge of the green zone at Roonies for no takers.

A decision was made to head out through the 4 Mile Crossing of Breaksea Spit, even though we were now well into the run out tide. ::) So we get there, log on with VMR and find that the "starter marks" we had for the crossing were a little out. It was a case of picking the deeper water and avoiding the breaking waves. A bit of spray over the top of the boat, but all in all not too bad.

We went to some marks out from the 4 Mile and started doing drifts and trying for some Reef Fish. We'll the fish weren't playing the game and we were losing bucket loads of tackle on the prickly bottom. If we did hook something decent the sharks were getting it!

After a couple of hours I asked Murf if he was concerned about our fuel usage. He looked at the guage which read 270 Litres and said that it was good considering we had only used 30 Litres. I reminded him that it was a 400 Litre tank that was full in the morning! :o It seems that the Verado really chews the fuel if it is below 18 Knots (like trolling or bashing through sloppy seas at 12 -14 Knots). We stopped fishing and headed back through the 4 Mile to Sandy Cape where we anchored and had some lunch.

86581 Murf the Magic Deckie contemplating the long paddle home if we run out of fuel.

After Lunch we hiked back to Urangan Boat Harbour at warp speed to refuel. :'(:-[ A mere 130 Km round trip there and back to Rooney's Point.

Arriving at Rooney's we were greeted with the sight of a massed armada of Ausfish Boats! We came alongside a raft up of fine looking fibregalss fishing machines and tied up to Gina Marie. Well, well, Gina Marie was crewed by the Wallay Front Row! Ohh, hang on no, its Bull1, Cobiaman and Horse. We unburden our woes of electronic disfunction, no fish and humungous fuel consumption issues. Cobiaman, very sympathetic of our plight, gestures to all those around and states "Everyone here caught Marlin!". Very comforting words - thanks Graham.

Soon enough, a couple of the plate boats left 'tin can alley' and joined the fortress of floating fibreglass as it dragged anchor away from the spit. All up a great evening was had, with many a tale of fish landed and experiences had. :)

Murf and I up anchored early the next day and headed back across the 4 Mile to do battle with some Wahoo at a mark given to us by Marvin. Well, you know it's a good day when you've landed 3 Wahoo by 7.00 am! Thanks Marvin! My First Wahoo and 2 (the smaller 2;)) caught by Murf. :D ;D

With fish in the tub we headed off for a day of bottom bashing and ended up with a healty tally of Maori Cod, Tusk Fish, Red Throat Emperor and a Coronation Trout. Late in the afternoon we were joined by Beeracuda (2IC and Tropicrows) and The boat formerly known as Dimples? (Fishfeeder and Tangles). at 4.30 pm (well, it was actually 4.34 pm but someone had to have on last drift?!) we headed off in convoy following Beeracuda across the 13 Mile crossing and back to Rooney's Point.

We arrived at Rooneys Point and there was not one Ausfish boat in sight. :o Where was everyone?! Unable to raise any other M&Gers on the radio we decided to raft up together at Rooney's. An enjoyable evening was had with drinks, food and tales shared. ;D

The morning saw us heading back to Urangan and then on to the Trailers. Robtar was at the ramp for a catch up. We loaded the boat, topped up the ice and said farewell to Hervey Bay and the other stayers from the M&G. :'(

A mere 9 hours later, we arrived back at Coffs Harbour! Murf, the Magic Deckie, said he'd take care of the fish, seeing how I was going to be cleaning the boat at my place!

86580 Tub of Reef Fish and Wahoo (the Hoo look a bit battered from the trip home in the ice slurry, rubbing up next to the scaly reef fish).

I arrived home to find that my wife was sick and needed to go to the doctors the next day, the dog was crook too and had been to the vet but needed to go back to the vets. Also, while away, the Mother In Law appeard to have moved in. :o So a busy monday was spent driving the wife to the doctor, dog to the vet, Mother in Law home and then cleaning the boat. Murf dropped off the fish, all filleted and vac packed.:)

A tanker load of fuel, 23 Hours on the Verado! What a weekend! What a Meet and Greet! What are we doing next!!!

Thanks;

A big shout out to the following people:

Murf, the Magic Deckie. Constantly hosing the deck clean, bleeding and icing the fish, keeping everything clean and tidy. Chasing up GPS Marks and information and being gerneral allround good company. Top effort, you are always welcome aboard Black Magic.

Horse and Chong. Big thanks for suggesting, organising and advising on this M&G.

Lucky Phill. For all your information and advise on the Bay and it's fishing reports, general knowledge and boating conditions.

Marvin. For all your advice on the Breaksea area, GPS Marks, tips and tricks. You are a very generous man. Thank you.

VMR 466 Marince Rescue Hervey Bay. Thanks for your radio coverage and weather reports.

Everyone that Attended the M&G! Yes, all those that attended, those that wanted to go but couldn't due to other commitments and all those Ausfisher out there who have read these reports and wished they could have been there. Thank you guys and girls! You are the people who make Ausfish the great place it is!!

Until next time ..... Black Magic Out.

netmaker
26-11-2012, 07:48 PM
haven't heard from nigel, errr robtarr yet. hope he tells the story of why i got his name wrong;)

Humdinger
26-11-2012, 10:44 PM
ok not stuffing around now . i need a deckie that can identify fish .:oops::furious2::behead::stupid:
there is an upgrade on my catch for the weekend . you will all be filled in soon as perry stops laughing .

thanks in advance for that perry ;D

i'm too devistated and dumb to say what it was

Bull
26-11-2012, 10:47 PM
What a fantastic trip with a fantastic bunch of like minded fellas. I would like to thank kev & Wayne for all the advice and the lures and teaser we used on the trip. A big thanks to Dave for guiding us around and taking us to his fishing spots. To Graeme and Neil thanks for jumping on board for the trip. I don't know if I mentioned it on Friday but I'm pretty happy with the way things turned out.

We all hoped we might catch a Marlin but for all of us to hook up and land at least 1 of them made the raft up on Friday night very memorable with plenty of story's and accounts of the days activities and a few fizzy brown cordials consumed. As Graeme and Neil mentioned we got a nice feed of reefies and with Neil catching his stonka of a green Job fish made our esky look very respectable. I thought he was no show when it first took off.
We worked our way home back through the bay catching Spotties and Mac Tuna. I don't think the trip could of been better.

Thanks to all the guys who attended and made this trip the cracka that it was.

Cheers Brett

Boat Hog
27-11-2012, 04:10 AM
I wonder if Anthony is going to run out of dislikes?

How many do you get anyway?

27-11-2012, 06:10 AM
Awww chin up Anthony, there'll be other times. :( Soembody's got to work.

Doesn't matter that you missed a ball tearer event.

murf
27-11-2012, 08:48 AM
Boat Hog another BIG thank you for the invite and hospitality on board the Floating Palace Black Magic, its the biggest fiberglass esky I have ever seen with what seemed like an endless supply of food coming out of the front cab :)

This trip was nothing short of an epic long distance endurance event and Jim I reckon would have callouses on his hands from working the steering wheels on the Cruiser and Striper

on the first day I was shattered that we could not get the fish to chew (never had that happen before off Fraser Is) and the few fish that were being hooked were quickly sharked as soon as you got them off the bottom :( sharks were even fighting over a floating Trigger fish :o Great underwater pics of the sharks too ReefMaster.
My jaw hit the ground when Jim pointed out the fuel usage as I was just starting to work out the boat and the drifts and was on a high with that ever present anticipation of what fish you can pull up from the spectacular waters around Fraser. I just felt so deflated and sorry for Jim after all the hard work he put in getting there and not a single fish in the ice box. Lesson learnt, a regroup of thoughts in the tranquility down the front of the light house and back to business at hand :)

how good was it that night with the raft up catching up with old friends and meeting new ones, to say there was a buzz in the air as everyone told and re-told their stories of the days adventures would be an understatement, a bit of friendly banter was shouted around between the recycled beer cans and the plastic boats making for a very enjoyable evening, oh and the King Island Rib Eye went down a treat to Jim ;D

so a big thank you to everyone who put in the effort to make this a great M&G no names but you know who you are and what you have done :2thumbsup:

I am now thinking of the next trip to Fraser haha

cheers Murf

1lastcast
27-11-2012, 12:53 PM
Sorry for the late post my boat is ANGER MANAGEMENT , I was unaware of the m&g and only found out about it on the radio out there because i have not been on this site much lately , we fished friday afternoon , saturday , and sunday morning, a big thanks to Kev ( marvin ) for the extra fuel that allowed us to stay another night and fish sunday morning CONGRATULATIONS to your young bloke on his first marlin that must have been a real special moment for you mate 8-) , for those interested our stats for the trip were friday after a late start 3.2.2 blacks and a 15kg cabia , saturday 21.15.10 black marlin and a 10kg dollie and a sailfish . sunday morning 6.3.3 black marlin and 1 sailfish what a trip .
CHAMELION thanks for the compliment on the boat mate and all is fine we were just stopped to swap drivers .;D
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/misc/pencil.png

Tinshack
27-11-2012, 01:26 PM
ok not stuffing around now . i need a deckie that can identify fish .:oops::furious2::behead::stupid:
there is an upgrade on my catch for the weekend . you will all be filled in soon as perry stops laughing .

thanks in advance for that perry ;D

i'm too devistated and dumb to say what it was

Fill us in Perry, come on spill your guts!!!!!

27-11-2012, 02:41 PM
King Island Rib Eye

OH NO ! Please edit that out Murf. Its hard enough reading all these reports without thinking about you munching away on some of the best steak know to man.:'(:'(

robtarr
27-11-2012, 03:53 PM
Just had a read through everyone’s reports from the weekend. Looks like we smashed it as an Ausfish collective with billfish, macks, assorted reefies and a few reds for good measure.

I wasn’t a participant until Monday when I rang Brett (Fishfeeder) to enquire whether he was going. Like everyone he was still hanging out for the forecast but it was obvious the trip was on. I rang a mate Shane who’d recently moved up from Adelaide (yes I do have at least one friend Davo) and then my boss Harald in Adelaide to make up a crew. None of us had fished those waters so we all had a high expectation as you do. They’d both caught plenty of big Whyalla snapper in 20 foot of water so how hard could it be??? I’d filled them in that there were a heap of other boats going so even though we were in unknown waters and a long way out we’d be with others…..famous last words.

Left Bris Friday afternoon arriving at HB around 7pm. Dropped Shane and Harald off at the Mantra just nearby the ramp and I was happy to catch up with the others in the carpark for a few bevies and bulltish….yeah right…..that was a pretty lonely night guys….. On the way in got a txt from Bull that they were camped at Roonies and should have read the rest of the message that said they were on CH68 and not CH22….duh

Headed off about 5:30 Sat morning and managed to negotiate our way out into the bay for an easy run across to Roonies……the boys wanted to stop at every bust up on the way but I was keen to get outside. By the time we got to Roonies I think they realized we were a long way from home. :o:oHadn’t been able to raise anyone on the radio and thought it was buggered again - couldn’t log on but luckily spotted a couple of boats running in close to shore heading in my direction so to be safe followed them out through the 4 mile…..then left them in peace thinking they were locals……Bull…..I must have been blind mate. Tried Bull and Fishfeeder numerous times on the radio throughout the day but no joy….after my lonely night in the carpark my deckies had decided I had no friends.

Having no marks outside and no friends to guide me I took Fishfeeders earlier advice and headed for the nearest contour line, found a show in about 25m and before I could get the deck organized Harald had a nice tuskie and Shane had a couple of kgs of trout flapping about on the floor. The bite didn’t slow all day. Moved out to about 55m for Shane (jammy bastard) to pick up the red. Lost good fish to sharks like everyone but managed to get most past them. Nothing like the billfish to brag about but have to say it was one of the most enjoyable and memorable days I’ve had on the water….pure magic.

Managed to log onto VMR before I followed our track back through the very shallow 4 mile at about 3ish – my GPS had been playing up a bit so wanted to have plenty of time and light to cross….the esky was now full anyway. Should have seen the looks on the guys faces when I handed each of them their lifejacket and gave Shane the EPIRB to hold….just in case….neither had ever crossed a bar and we’d taken awave over the bow on the run out which had put the wind up them a bit.

Still no joy finding anyone on the radio and no-one inside Roonies so made the call to head in. Phill must have taken pity on me and decided to say g’day on CH22 so I had at least one friend out there. Caught up with MadMackerel, Phill, netmaker and a heap of Ausfishers back at the ramp. Big thanks to netmaker for looking after my rig for the night…….

When can we do it again :D:D:D

Cheers Rob

cobiaman
27-11-2012, 05:32 PM
We even tried waving at you and everything...

Well done on the trip, sounds like you had a great day! We came back through the 4 mile about 500m north of where we came out and there was an actual channel and a much smoother ride...

27-11-2012, 06:41 PM
I reckon this trip has been harder to come down from than a week at 1770. I can't wait to get back up there

Humdinger
27-11-2012, 06:44 PM
totally
i wanna go again

netmaker
27-11-2012, 06:46 PM
that was gold rob. you had me in stitches at the ramp mate. and then perry going over to your mates and saying: "who the #@%^ is this buddy of yours? he just slipped us a redback to pretend we are your mates..."
and i must say i was very happy to look after your rig for the night too. the cabin of the cruisecraft was much more comfy than the back deck of the bar crusher;). best nights sleep i got up there;D.
top effort with your haul going blind too.

27-11-2012, 07:14 PM
Top effort Rob, as stated.... going blind. Maybe there is something to that ???? :-? ;D

You'll be happy to know that there were others that " took a wave over the top ". :o

Hey..... at least you got a text message :-X

If anyone has a good record ( tracked gps points ) of a good 4 mile crossing channel, could you send them through to the folks that went or anyone else that asks.

My hand is up first.... ;D I have 2 sets of marks..... but an updated one would be good.

LP

Humdinger
27-11-2012, 07:37 PM
the numbers on the yammy
312 litres ,17.9 hours , 381 ks :D:D:D:D:D
atleast 80ks of that at warp speed ;D;D

27-11-2012, 07:43 PM
Well it was a cracker, many thanks to Fishfeeder and to the Ausfishers who organised the do.

We got there Friday night and hooked up with the other 6 boats hanging off Bulls anchor, there where Marlin Experts everywhere hanging off transoms with a beer in hand with a lot of jibber jabber of multiple hookups....that 15kg Jobby was a cracker,

The tinnie brigade dragged anchor up the hill away from the fibro ferrets,

Saturday morning up early and we followed 2IC out through a sloppy 4 mile bar for a bottom bash. We had no marks at all so the plan was to find a bit of ground, we followed 2IC out east of 4 mile and and picked our way up past the 13 mile then return. many thanks Bill for showing us around!

It started off slow at first with a bit of current, 2IC flopped 6 fish on the deck in the first couple of drifts, we werent so lucky, Brett first drop got onto something that headed to NZ so we chased it a bit and ping...finally we started to put some nice fish in the esky

Heaps of Maori Cods were about, picked up some nice Red Throats, parrots, got a nice Jobby and a cracker of a Coronation Trout in one drift and the esky was starting to fill up with some quality reefies. A Hammer Head cruised past us and i understand he said g'day to a lot of other boats as well.

Multiple Hookups? those Marlin cowboys have nothing!!! Fishfeeder hooked up on a midget Cod, i went to gaff it and it had a 50 cm Maori in its gob with the hooks in its mouth. It took a bit if effort to get that cod out of the cod so another Maori hit the esky. That cod hung onto that Maori all the way so top effort so he went back and we swum him for 10 mins or so.

We got smashed up a few times with either big cods or sharks during the day.... Awesome territory out there and first time ive been in that area.... we finally called it a day and left at 4.32 as we wanted to finish our drift and headed back with 2 full eskies to Roonies with Boat Hog and 2IC to no ausfishers anywhere...we considered heading back to the ramp but had another great night with lots of laughs, beers and snags while Boat Hog got out the steaks again from that floating esky of his.

Great trip, meet some new Ausfishers, was a great M&G, great laughs, company and top fishing in a magic part of the world, many thanks to Fishfeeder for inviting me on his boat, had a ball mate...

Heres a vid of some of the footage i took, not enough of the fishing i know but Brett has to learn how to turn on the go pro, drive the boat and catch fish at the same time! but did get Bretts multiple Cod hookup! dont know its weight but too big to keep.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pHATyyasNmo&feature=youtu.be

Tinshack
27-11-2012, 07:51 PM
Top effort Rob, as stated.... going blind. Maybe there is something to that ???? :-? ;D

You'll be happy to know that there were others that " took a wave over the top ". :o

Hey..... at least you got a text message :-X

If anyone has a good record ( tracked gps points ) of a good 4 mile crossing channel, could you send them through to the folks that went or anyone else that asks.

My hand is up first.... ;D I have 2 sets of marks..... but an updated one would be good.

LP

Hey Phill, we and Bull1 come back through the 4 Mile Crossing from east to west on the Sat and it was easy to pick the deep channel, i had marked a route through, so will get the marks off chart plotter and post up. Going west to east was crap and hard to pick, needed to be vary alert and responsive!

Humdinger
27-11-2012, 07:59 PM
thats awsome tangles and fishfeeder well done :o

cobiaman
27-11-2012, 08:01 PM
I reckon this trip has been harder to come down from than a week at 1770. I can't wait to get back up there

Agreed, last 2 days at work have sucked!

madmackrel
27-11-2012, 08:21 PM
Allright who remebers Humdingers call on the radio that he had boated a spanish, our response was to let it swim free due to the possibility of cigituara..........Brett came over last night to drop off vids and pics and to take some of mine for himself....anyway was watching some of his footage and Brett comments heres the spanish coming up ...well low and behold what does he hold up to the video a wahoo about 1.2m long and then spears it back in.....didnt i pmsl......

Humdinger
27-11-2012, 08:31 PM
thanks perry . i bought a book today .got that other vid on a card for you too

trymyluck
27-11-2012, 08:37 PM
Hey Phill, we and Bull1 come back through the 4 Mile Crossing from east to west on the Sat and it was easy to pick the deep channel, i had marked a route through, so will get the marks off chart plotter and post up. Going west to east was crap and hard to pick, needed to be vary alert and responsive!

Mate at work fishes up there quite a bit and their usual route is to head out over the 14 mile gutter and work their way back to the 4 mile.
Would have loved to have been up there but life conspired to keep us away, probably why the weather and fish co operated......Next time for sure. And maybe this weekend if the weather holds.

27-11-2012, 08:44 PM
Was up there a few weeks ago. If it is calm and no swell I try and look for a crossing at the 0mile. If you f#*k up it is only a small swim! We found one gutter about 200m from the beach. At the end it had a bank and we quickly ducked through a set sideways to the south but on a full tide. Same on the 2nd day. The tide was the bottom of the run-out and we found a good gutter at about the 2mile but at the ocean side the gutter ran out and there was a bank we had to jump across. Again timing a set and ducking through quickly across them to the south. A bit like doing Waddy gutter but in the reverse direction. It seemed all the gutters were running out on the ocean side with back banks to get across. We had not much wind and not much swell. If there was a bit on or a run-out tide I would always only ever go the 13mile. In winter westerlies as close as you can to the spit itself is a good bet too in zero swell on a full tide.

27-11-2012, 09:40 PM
Allright who remebers Humdingers call on the radio that he had boated a spanish, our response was to let it swim free due to the possibility of cigituara..........Brett came over last night to drop off vids and pics and to take some of mine for himself....anyway was watching some of his footage and Brett comments heres the spanish coming up ...well low and behold what does he hold up to the video a wahoo about 1.2m long and then spears it back in.....didnt i pmsl......

:LMAO: :LMAO: sorry Brett :LMAO: 8-)

netmaker
27-11-2012, 09:45 PM
great vid brett and mike. and that double cod stunt - that's insane. fancy that thing hanging on fighting brett all that time without being hooked. they must be real hungry down there...

Muddy Toes
27-11-2012, 11:54 PM
All I can say is WOW!!!
What a weekend we had hey guys?I was a bit of a late starter as it took me a bit longer to drive up as this was a solo mission for me but I ended up hitting the ramp at about 6:00am Saturday morning which wasn't ideal but better late than never I guess.
Headed out through the 15 9/16th mile bar and was greeted by great conditions.Tried to call all you guys on the VHF but couldn't seem to raise anyone so it looked like it was just me and the deep blue yonder as my company for the day.I made tracks for a little bit of ground I used to fish years ago back in my pro days that is about 12k's from the bar and in about 11m of water.The current was running pretty hard and with the chute out and 8 pounds of lead I still had a little bit of trouble staying on the bottom as the drift got up to 23knots at some stages.The first few drifts produced some nice reds around the 46kg marks (average for up there really)red throat to 16psi, green job fish to 1.2 tonnes (metric that is) and an unbelievable capture of a cod(guessing about 8.5 meters long) that had swallowed another smaller cod that had swallowed a dolphin that had swallowed a pregnant pigeon that actually had a Moreton Bay bug in it's mouth that was hooked on to my line.Truly amazing it was....not what I was expecting at all!!! I continued to fish this patch of reef for about another 8 minutes which saw my bag limit reached so the call was made to myself to go for a troll.
Being a bit of a living legend on the bill fish scene I knew exactly where I was going to tow the skirts so with the boat on auto pilot and holding a comfortable 32knots I deployed a variety of hard body Z-man chicken jig heads and some hex head Pakula jet stream cup face bloopers.It was a bit though going for the first hour or so with only 46 small blacks to 1287kg being hooked so I decided to have a quick snack of King Valley Steak and Ciguatera Wahoo burgers for lunch as I waited for the bite to get a bit better.
No sooner had I finished my last mouthful when all 16 rods in the boat went off which saw me trying to strap myself in to the game chair whilst still trying to wind them all in using both my hand, feet and mouth.An absolutely amazing feat if I do say so myself.After hooking and releasing my 87th Marlin I started to get a bit bored so I decided to head back towards Ronnie's to chase some spotties.By the time I reached the bar it was blowing an honest 2 knots from the south which really makes the bar stand up so I decided to go in through the inch and a half bar which is usually pretty good in a westerly swell.Back over near Ronnie's I threw my slug around at the flocks of birds which accounted for a few nice spotties a decent Barra and a couple of very respectable Minke whales to top off my bag.
Got back to the ramp just on dusk and found none of you blokes there so I put the boat back on the trailer and hit the frog and toad.Stopped at every servo on the way home for 18 cups of free coffee from each of them and eventually got home about 10 that night.Sorry for such a short report but I'm still a bit tired from such a big weekend.
Final score for A Salt Weapon....67-83-3645, not the best I've done but still a darn sight better than all you guys hey?
Special thanks to the following people......
Horse for organising it while I was at work.
Burley GU for keeping the nations economy headed in the right direction and actually WORKING!!!
All you fellow Ausfishers I didn't see, you guys made it such a special day for me.
And last but not least a very big shout out and thank you to Marvin for...well....ABSOLUTELY BLOODY NOTHING!!!!!Yeah you heard it folks, Mr "I'm So Nice and friendly and knowledgeable"did absolutely nothing for me.No lures lent to me, no secret emails (not that I needed them)and the lazy bugger couldn't even pick me up to go with him hence I had to take my own boat!!!

I've attached a few photos from my trip.Enough to stop the curiosity but not enough to be considered a bragger......enjoy.

shy guys
28-11-2012, 04:17 AM
That is gold muddy what sounder you got must have mine set wrong love it

Boat Hog
28-11-2012, 04:22 AM
I'm glad you put some pictures up Anthony .... otherwise I wouldn't have believed a word of it .......... ;D ;D ;D

madmackrel
28-11-2012, 04:45 AM
All i can say Mr Ree is that you have way to much spare time......and seriously ...you need professional help ...i think this M&G has scarred you mentally

Humdinger
28-11-2012, 05:27 AM
well done there muddy . sounds like your mind had a wonderful time

Funchy
28-11-2012, 05:36 AM
Haaaahahahaaaaa... By far one of the funniest responses to a thread I think I have ever read. Thank you so very much Mr Toes :thumbsup:

cobiaman
28-11-2012, 05:57 AM
So you were fairly bored yesterday??

2IC
28-11-2012, 06:39 AM
LOVE IT MUDDY did you have the gopro on ??? would love to see a video of all that action lol

28-11-2012, 07:21 AM
Funniest post I've ever read Muddy. Fact is stranger than fiction.

murf
28-11-2012, 08:24 AM
Muddy thats tops, is that your uncles shags that you were using to catch that red Sailfish?

got to love this comment too "Back over near Ronnie's I threw my slug around at the flocks of birds"

cheers Murf

Tinshack
28-11-2012, 08:42 AM

LP

Phill,
4 Mile crossing as follows WGS84;

Inner Mark - 24 37.890 153 15.612 (This is about 900m south of Kev's Inner Mark)

24 37.370 153 16.424

24 37.507 153 17.020

24 38.144 153 17.535 (I think this is the same as Kev's mark)

Outer Mark - 24 37.758 153 18.448 (This mark could be anywhere east of previous mark as it was well outside the bar into deeper water)

We passed the bar 3 times during our trip, Saturday morning was the worst, it was really sloppy, so when we returned from east to west we sat back & watched where the swell was breaking & the marks above were the best line of clear water we found. We passed the crossing on a low tide, I think it was about 11.30am 0.8m low.

When passing the bar don't asume the marks you are given are spot on, sit back & watch the swell/chop break for a while just to make sure you have been given/chosen the correct path, if in doubt, don't do it or go up to the 13 Mile crossing as it is a shorter distance accross.

robtarr
28-11-2012, 10:35 AM
Anthony that was classic....lucky I'm in the office reading it by myself....giggling like a kid

cheers Rob

Jigsrule
28-11-2012, 11:14 AM
Funny as Anthony. Loved every bit of it

28-11-2012, 11:33 AM
Anyone thinking of doing it again, please note forecast for Break Sea Spit below. Damn that is better than least weekend.

Saturday 12/1

Morning
http://www.buoyweather.com/new/images/greenflag.gif Light winds with a slight chop. Small short period wind waves.
Seas: ENE 1 meters at 7 sec.
Winds: ENE 8 to 10 knots
Afternoon
http://www.buoyweather.com/new/images/greenflag.gif Light winds with a slight chop. Small short period wind waves.
Seas: ENE 0.9 meters at 6 seconds
Winds: E 6 to 8 knots
Sunday 12/2

Morning
http://www.buoyweather.com/new/images/greenflag.gif Light and variable winds with smooth seas. Small short period wind waves.
Seas: ENE 0.9 meters at 6 sec.
Winds: NE 6 to 7 knots
Afternoon
http://www.buoyweather.com/new/images/greenflag.gif Light and variable winds with smooth seas. Small short period wind waves.
Seas: ENE 0.9 meters at 6 sec.
Winds: NNE 5 to 6 knots
Monday 12/3

Morning
Seas: ENE 0.9 meters at 7 sec.
Winds: NNW 7 to 9 knots
Afternoon
Seas: E 0.8 meters at 7 sec.
Winds: NNW 10 to 14 knots

netmaker
28-11-2012, 11:53 AM
and i thought they screened for mind altering hallucinogens at those mining sites - apparently not::)

tropicrows
28-11-2012, 01:02 PM
Top stuff Mike, the background music was great. Top edit job as usual.

Muddy good report but you do need help, works is obviously stressing you out. I'll PM you with a couple of numbers, I'm sure the girls will be able to sort you out.

royslaven
28-11-2012, 04:15 PM
and i thought they screened for mind altering hallucinogens at those mining sites - apparently not::)
Hay dave, i don,t use em, and they let me in anyway, what does that tell ya about the management, cheers , roy

28-11-2012, 05:28 PM
Muddy..you idiot..classic.

Tangles..what was that you used to say about white motors..boats are not really boats if they have a white motor?

Boat Hog
28-11-2012, 05:55 PM
Muddy..you idiot..classic.

Tangles..what was that you used to say about white motors..boats are not really boats if they have a white motor?

I tell you PinHead, that boat of Fishfeeders is a rocket! Should be painted red. ;)

Brett drives her like he stole it too and she loves it!! :)

28-11-2012, 08:03 PM
I tell you PinHead, that boat of Fishfeeders is a rocket! Should be painted red. ;)

Brett drives her like he stole it too and she loves it!! :)

BH..no idea what the boat is or who Brett is but i do know Tangles hates boats with white motors.

thelump
28-11-2012, 09:14 PM
Muddy......... ah crap that post cannot be tinkered with. You are an idiot, albeit a very amusing one.

marvin
28-11-2012, 11:21 PM
Muddy, Send me your email address and I will send you the same info I sent those kind soles who asked for assistance in fishing a new area....Then you may not take the piss out of me.....;-) I have Haloperidol in my work Kit that may be of use to you...., :-) you have reached out and made the call for assistance which will surely minimize your suffering relating to this trauma on your mental capacity to cope with such an absence of attendance that has truely altered your neuronal transmission impulses.... if my reply hasn't stuffed up your brain, then simply missing this fantastic event that you had every chance of attending but chose not too, will for ever be embedded in your cranky mind vault for years to come. So for your recovery process, may I offer my sincere condolances and support of any inert mind changing experiences that you may be experiencing as a result of reading our true and real replays of the wonderful life changing fish catching memories that we have all encountered during this weekend of great fishing and developmental comraiderie building gatherings. So in summary, IT SUXS TO BE YOU............ God Bless and best wishes of minimal nightmares of the great times we had at the meet and great that you didn't. ps I have been drinking.... Love you buddy...xxx

Muddy Toes
28-11-2012, 11:59 PM
And there we have it folks....shoved right back in to my dark little box!!!

trymyluck
29-11-2012, 08:00 AM

Can someone please lock it..............

cobiaman
29-11-2012, 09:34 AM
Can someone please lock it..............

Then weld it shut!!!

thelump
29-11-2012, 08:32 PM

Is that where they get the Chinese puzzle box from?

trymyluck
30-11-2012, 04:08 AM
Is that where they get the Chinese puzzle box from?

Always wondered how they work, not so smart afterall;D

marvin
11-12-2012, 03:58 PM
I done up a little 8 minute video of Brodie from our trip to the Rooneys point/Hervey Bay Meet and Greet, I hope you enjoy it, this is my first ever video we have put up on the net or youtube so I hope it is ok.:) Cheers Kev and Brodie.

http://youtu.be/LHZF37_wNeA