View Full Version : at last a tackle bag minus zippers!

netmaker
18-11-2012, 01:07 PM
hi all. this is for those who, like me, have got the craps with spending good money on less than good tackle bags. sure they look great in the shop and even a few months later if you're lucky, but how many otherwise good bags are let down by having zippers that eventually fail?
i was out this morning looking for non-brass tarp grommets (a mission on it's own) as my boat "tent" is in need of repairs. whilst at down under camping i found my new tackle bag. brand name: precision pak, price $45 and NOT ONE ZIPPER!!! closes with velcro (and plenty of it) and has stainless drain holes in bottom. sturdy construction and i reckon this one will last for years.
oh, and if you are after non-brass tarp grommets, dont try down under camping, clark rubber, repco, autobarn or bcf. dont buy the ebay ones for $18 delivered either. bunnings sell a 10 pack for $2.20. think i spent more on fuel looking for them...

Boat Hog
18-11-2012, 02:05 PM
Dave, could you post up some pics (or are they already on here?) of your tent-a-tinnie, hobo-in-a-boat set up please. Just out of interest.

netmaker
18-11-2012, 03:09 PM
no worries jim. love your description:P. there is a few more in "my tinny" album in my pic gallery.

Muddy Toes
18-11-2012, 03:15 PM
It's a sad, sad day in the world of fishing when a man struggles to find a wicker cane creel and some 35mm film canisters to store his tackle in.

No zips, no rust, no Velcro.......just 100% street cred when he pulls it out of his boot at the local fishing spot.

netmaker
18-11-2012, 04:09 PM
It's a sad, sad day in the world of fishing when a man struggles to find a wicker cane creel and some 35mm film canisters to store his tackle in.

No zips, no rust, no Velcro.......just 100% street cred when he pulls it out of his boot at the local fishing spot.

naaaa. it's a sad day when you dig into that cane creel and find a heap of rusted tackle and it's a happy day when your hooks dont fit in one of those little film canisters;)

Boat Hog
18-11-2012, 06:08 PM
Ha ha, was going to say that Muddy wouldn't have a hook small enough to fit in a film canister - but he's tackling up for Fresh Water now!! ;) :P

Good thing you're distracted by this thread Davo, 'cos you're copping a flogging on the Hervey Bay M & G thread! ;D ;D

netmaker
18-11-2012, 06:33 PM
Psst.... Perry .... just pass his shirts out - 1 to each boat.

The new Ausfish M&G Flags --- can't miss em! :-X

thanks for the heads up jim:P

19-11-2012, 06:01 AM
Ha ha, was going to say that Muddy wouldn't have a hook small enough to fit in a film canister - but he's tackling up for Fresh Water now!! ;) :P

Good thing you're distracted by this thread Davo, 'cos you're copping a flogging on the Hervey Bay M & G thread! ;D ;D

Good politicians do this all the time Hoggy....... If you're being flogged about something, you create a diversionary tactic to make people talk about something else, in this case a tackle bag.

19-11-2012, 07:46 AM

Woohooo. I finally have street cred.
And here I was just thinking I was a tight ass and just old fashioned (especially considering everu-one tells me I'm a tight ass and old fashioned) when in fact I have street cred. What a ripper of a morning this is turning out to be.
But I may not have full street cred. I use Eno tins for sinkers and a 2 tier bakelite Alvey tackle thingo for hooks and sinkers....but they all go in the cane creel.
What size/shape cane creel is best for cred? I assume a leather shoulder strap is the go?? I hope so because I couldn't be bothered changing any of the leather should straps.

I use the 35mm film tins for fuses and o-ring grease and neverseize and stuff like that in the tool box.
I reckon the 35mm film containers would be too easy to lose out of a cane creel. Especially when you shove the hose in there to hose all the bream and whiting and flathead blood out.

How much 'cred' would I have if I took the split cane rods fishing?

Si
20-11-2012, 10:13 PM
hi all. this is for those who, like me, have got the craps with spending good money on less than good tackle bags. sure they look great in the shop and even a few months later if you're lucky, but how many otherwise good bags are let down by having zippers that eventually fail?
i was out this morning looking for non-brass tarp grommets (a mission on it's own) as my boat "tent" is in need of repairs. whilst at down under camping i found my new tackle bag. brand name: precision pak, price $45 and NOT ONE ZIPPER!!! closes with velcro (and plenty of it) and has stainless drain holes in bottom. sturdy construction and i reckon this one will last for years.
oh, and if you are after non-brass tarp grommets, dont try down under camping, clark rubber, repco, autobarn or bcf. dont buy the ebay ones for $18 delivered either. bunnings sell a 10 pack for $2.20. think i spent more on fuel looking for them...

i hearing ya dave. hard to find a good tackle bag that lasts and keeps water out. seen these the other day, ugly as hell but supposed to be pretty good too. http://jonestackle.com.au/2012/01/plano-big-water-bags/

Mossy247
21-11-2012, 07:59 AM
Velcro, hahaha your favourite. Good times. Recently upgraded mine to tool bag from bunno's, keep an eye out for the boat of tool bags lol...