View Full Version : First crabs of the year for me.

Muddy Toes
17-11-2012, 07:06 PM
With the weather looking a bit ordinary for offshore fishing I decided to pull the pots out of retirement for a bit of a soak before I have to go back to work on Sunday.
Went out yesterday afternoon in the middle of the 30 knot winds and 1.8m bay chop to drop them (very interesting ride) in on the Eastern side of Green Island in depths of between 4 and 7 meters using a mix of Hussar and chicken frames for bait.
Left them overnight and picked them up this afternoon for 37 keepers from 8 pots.The place is riddled with them, lots of jennies and undersized bucks but heaps of keepers to boot too.
No secrets, look for the weed banks on your sounder and drop them around there...ya can't miss.
Saw another boat around there too with Ausfish stickers on.....a blue runabout of about 4.5m in length....was going to come over and say G'day but saw you guys were trying to anchor up for a fish so I didn't want to disturb you.
As easy as that guys....go get em'.

Humdinger
17-11-2012, 07:16 PM
well done . i went out there couldn't be bothered trying to sit there . so just went around mud and back up the river to finish off engine run in

Muddy Toes
17-11-2012, 07:29 PM
Tried to call you on the radio Brett but Cobiaman fingered all my electronics.

Humdinger
17-11-2012, 08:16 PM
yeah i tried calling you a couple of times between the bumping and bashing .
bloody cobiaman eh ! atleast you have someone to blame .

17-11-2012, 11:32 PM
No doubt the baits that Fishfeeder an I threw over the side on Wed drifted up to Green and where responsible for your crabs!

Muddy Toes
17-11-2012, 11:35 PM
No doubt the baits that Fishfeeder an I threw over the side on Wed drifted up to Green and where responsible for your crabs!

Not a doubt in my mind mate......that's all we could put it down to.

BLOOEY
18-11-2012, 04:27 AM
Thats a great haul MT. Got mine soaking for muddies at the moment. Ben

madmackrel
18-11-2012, 05:18 AM
Geez mud you and rosco catchin crabs out of those big boats, next thing you know we will be seeing the two of you blokes and your boats on the deadliest catch.You know headin out in thirty knot winds to drop the pots, hope cobiaboy had on his survival suit and not his mankini.

rosco1974
18-11-2012, 05:53 AM
looks like the itch is catching..well done mate

netmaker
18-11-2012, 06:14 AM
onya muddy. you deserve em going out in that! do you use a tender to pick up the pots?

Captain Seaweed
18-11-2012, 06:16 AM
Well done Muddy Toes good numbers there

lucee81
18-11-2012, 06:34 AM
Photos or it didn't happen.

Muddy Toes
18-11-2012, 06:51 AM
Get ya jocks out of the laundry basket if you want to see crabs.

Axl
18-11-2012, 08:06 AM
Nice catch Muddy Toes well done, there sure are plenty around at the moment, I managed to get 26 whilst I was home last trip.

Have a good trip at work mate I am half way through mine;).