View Full Version : Fishing reels that you have killed
Hi All
Here is your chance to tell us about fishing reels that you have killed :gossip: If you wish -
Tell us about the circumstances , your thoughts , how you were treated by the distributor ..... the outcome & your verdict .
It's not meant to be manufacturer / model bashing - but if it does ....::) We might gain some good info out of it as well.
My first one is Daiwa and their issues with their Spin reel line roller bearings - Every Certate that I have owned have had their line roller bearing pack it in well within the first 12 months . Any sniff of salt water kills them & this is during a regime that involves using tackle guard or Inox every time after use.
While it doesn't stop you fishing ..... you have a reel that sounds like a coffee grinder
does anyone know what size line roller bearing go into a 1500 & 3500 Certate ?
08-11-2012, 09:14 PM
Had a Shimano Torium 30 spinning backwards on me, nearly smashed my wrist. Reverse bearing neded work, fish was an 8-9 foot shark. I thought the reel did well!
08-11-2012, 10:15 PM
Smashed the gears and bent the shaft on two Abu 6500 baitcasters fishing XOS landlocked jacks many years ago. One reel lasted about 10 hours from new, the other lasted two days longer.
I had one of the early Shimano Thunnus reels snap off at the reel seat on a 10kg GT........it also took 2 stripping guides off of the Loomis pelagic series rod it was on.
I saw a few Penn 320's strip the pinion gear when i was charter fishing and also have their handle break off halfway through a fight.
Big_Bass_Fisherman
09-11-2012, 06:07 AM
First Curado E series i bought only lasted one fish before it chucked it in. About half an hour into a week long fishing trip. It turned out it was the clutch pawl spring which re-engages the reel after casting. Found out it was a common problem once home and fixed it myself, it hasnt missed a beat in 2 years of heavy use.
lucee81
09-11-2012, 06:59 AM
Mojiko (wifes) and didn't even catch a fish rusted out after 1 day of fishing and I'm very meticulous with my gear. Can't afford to be replacing everything every trip.
rosco1974
09-11-2012, 07:11 PM
6500 saltist done 2 of them fishing offshore.no good on big kings and ajs..of basic bottom bashing
scuttlebutt
09-11-2012, 08:26 PM
ABU 7000. Caught a GT about 20kg. Reel was spooled with 20lb mono, and after the long first run the line was wound back on under pressure (stretched). Overnight the pressure caused the spool to break in half.
Feral
09-11-2012, 08:43 PM
Stradic 1000
Line roller gave up the ghost.
Banax Baitcaster,
died on first good fish. When I opened it up the gears were plastic
Pflueger trion drum type baitcaster,
constantly kept getting the line caught between the spool and the frame.
Daintreeboy
09-11-2012, 08:43 PM
ABU 7000. Caught a GT about 20kg. Reel was spooled with 20lb mono, and after the long first run the line was wound back on under pressure (stretched). Overnight the pressure caused the spool to break in half.
That's awesome! Must have had. Lot of drag!
Moffy
09-11-2012, 08:51 PM
My first one is Daiwa and their issues with their Spin reel line roller bearings - While it doesn't stop you fishing ..... you have a reel that sounds like a coffee grinder
Bought a new Daiwa Capricorn 4500J last year - replaced one i had used for 5 years + previously before i finally wore it out bottom bashing the reefs up here and catching the odd GT on poppers (cairns) - bought the second as i was so impressed with the first for the money. After 2 trips (and i wash my gear religiously) the roller bearing packed it in - took me a couple more trips to diagnose as i would grease and oil the reel and no noise and then as soon as line over the roller - WTF is that - I fixed it in the end by swapping the "new" roller bearing for the 5 year old one from the old reel and now its all good!!!! (pity the new drag isn't a patch on the old one either.........)
It's been a while since I've heard of spreading a spool on a reel - but I had seen a few of the early graphite spooled reels do it ... & I've done a penn squidder after tangling with a fairly decent shark ...... but that's many years ago
10-11-2012, 06:04 AM
Took my sons mates out and he killed one of our Tyrnos 16s on a good cobia, stripped the gears..still have to put in to a repairer to seee if worth fixing
10-11-2012, 07:34 AM
It is like most things in life, it is up to the user / owner on how they treat their equipment and that usually tells the story.
I have been fishing for ....let's say 45 years to round it out. ::)
Used just about all brands and styles of reels.
I have never " broke " one. Never stripped gears and burnt a drag washer, never broke a handle or had one fail. :)
Is it me, or simply the gear I buy ? Am I lucky or do I use my gear within it's capability and manufacturer specifications ?
I do have favourites for no other reason than they feel indestructable in my hands which makes me feel confident in taking them out to the briny.
Diawa Sealine.
Penn Spinfisher
Shimano ... overheads & spin
Alvey.. various models.
FWIW, I marry these reels up to rods I build myself and hence, the confidence factor in my expedition on the water is high.
I do tend to " service " the reels every couple of years and they are " racked " in my lounge room. I do not store my trusted gear in the shed, gargage etc. Ask ya wife what her jewellery is worth and where she stores it. After all, your fishing gear is covered by your household insurance, is it not ! ;) 8-)
I have seen gear fail, but never mine. mmm Lucky_Phill.. maybe that is it ???? ;D
LP
10-11-2012, 08:16 AM
Phill maybe you havent hooked anything decent enough to test your gear:o :-X;)
I guess that is why they call you "Lucky" ....... Phill
I've seen brand new reels fail on their very first trip ........ Daiwa baitcasters that stutter like a machine gun straight out of the box . Shimano spin reels with no lubrication.
I've had a ABU 10000 CL that would not engage after just a few uses.
Now I do agree with reels being used for their intended purpose - Take baitcasters for instance ....... A vast majority are designed for the US bass market where a 10-15 lb fish is an exceptional one - yet anglers here will use them to tackle barramundi in both the salt and impoundments ...... fish that weigh into the 70to 80lb range . I have seen on my boat killed a Quantum smoke , Pflueger Patriach XT , Daiwa Zillion HLC , Daiwa Zillion HR , Daiwa Steez 103HA , Shimano Calcutta DC , Shimano Calais and a couple of ABUs - most have had their drags burnt out fishing to the limit over a pre longed period with also a couple seized ........ most were not even old enough to warrant a service. With the exception of the ABUs these were current models .
I'm pretty certain we'll hear of more examples - particularly from those jigging aficionados where big drags , powerful fish , no stretch braid take the toll on even the best tackle
10-11-2012, 09:00 AM
How come no-one has, or will, mentioned breaking an Alvey?
10-11-2012, 09:40 AM
Phill maybe you havent hooked anything decent enough to test your gear:o :-X;)
I was waiting and was prepared for this one....... :P
This maybe true. :-?
Apart from sharks........
Cobia over 20kgs many times on two of my favourites.
TLD15 and Penn 850
Funny how I use these... TLD with 50lb braid and Penn with 20lb mono. Both reels achieved the same result, but very different methods. Yes, the TLD is spooled with overweight line for this reel and the Penn , probably underspooled.... again, I think it gets back to the user and the way it is used.
Chris, There is something wrong with those reel manufacturers you mention, or was it the user ?
Scotty, no one mentioning Alutecnos reels either....... never heard of one failing under ANY circumstances ( Italian made quality gear )
http://www.alutecnos.it/page.php?sid=e142bd89018e0a05e5d214f0a1ba6841&pageid=CATFA001 before you visit this page, get some tissues ready, many people just " drool " over this type of quality gear. ;D
Garry, as you probably did , I grew up fishing offshore with wooden 7 and 9 inch Alveys on 5ft rods. No drag and pretty much... Fish Vs Man. Even chucked over the odd handline and certainly used the mono around the coke bottle for my pier / jetty and estuary fishing.... never had a coke bottle break under duress !! :)
LP
Feral
10-11-2012, 12:01 PM
Oh yeah, forgot the Alvey, little springs inside gave up the ghost and the drag gave it up.
bigjudge
10-11-2012, 07:52 PM
Blew the guts clean out of my faithfull old mitchell 499 manual pickup ,still trying to find parts so can fix it.
CHEERS AND BEERS
The dog did ...... now he has to eat his food off the ground. :):)
PS - never drop a fiberglass alvey
11-11-2012, 07:02 AM
Oh yeah, forgot the Alvey, little springs inside gave up the ghost and the drag gave it up.
This I cannot comprehend, understand or think possible. How does the palm of your hand give up the ghost? I'd like to see a picture of a smoking Alvey drag.
:) The old mono wrapped around the Coke bottle trick hey Phill. Yep, they never fail either. What about that handline we found under that house? Did you ever use it?
Oh come on now Chris....poor pooch.....did he break an Alvey or did he mention how indestructible they are?
But seriously... I've never broken a reel with a fish. Sadly the excuse is what Gary has mentioned. I've caught nothing bigger then Jonah's old mate.
breamnut
11-11-2012, 08:07 AM
daiwa certate 4500 hyper custom, wasnt too happy sent it back to daiwa twice before it got fixed then sold it...bought a stella not a problem!
im sure i was unlucky and just got a bit of a dud reel but something that should NOT happen when spending $700.
Sevric
11-11-2012, 09:24 AM
Shimano Bait runner "D" series i think. "D" for dud in my opinion. The bait runner function failed on the very first use and fish of about 3kg. I had to handline the fish back to the boat on braid (ouch) as the bait runner feature would not disengage letting the fish run anywhere and everywhere. Shimano service replaced the reel which did not last long either.
Also a certate 2500R but this was my fault. Trying to feather the spool to apply a little more pressure to the drag after a prolonged fight with a fish bent the main shaft. Daiwa replaced this and the reel is a good as new. Line roller bearings in the certate range were always an ongoing issue with me and with others as i read this thread.
2manylures
12-11-2012, 09:39 PM
Shame the new Coke Bottles don't work like there older counterparts:o:o:o
I had one of the early Shimano Thunnus reels snap off at the reel seat on a 10kg GT........it also took 2 stripping guides off of the Loomis pelagic series rod it was on.
I saw a few Penn 320's strip the pinion gear when i was charter fishing and also have their handle break off halfway through a fight.
ouch! Seems to be a recurring theme - GT's!! They will quickly find the shortcomings of most reels.
I've had one completely cook a stradic 8000 drag and bend the rotor assembly. The drag felt washers were pretty much melted onto the metal washers.
13-11-2012, 10:28 AM
Blew the guts clean out of my faithfull old mitchell 499 manual pickup ,still trying to find parts so can fix it.
CHEERS AND BEERS
I reckon you should just put it in a box and send it down to me, been looking for one for ages now.
Shame the new Coke Bottles don't work like there older counterparts:o:o:o
Those new PET models just dont work as well as the old glass ones ......... though you can drop em
Micadogs
14-11-2012, 11:36 AM
Nagg, to solve your daiwa roller line bearings problems, try using what they do in their cheaper models, the plastic insert. There is not a lot of difference in the 'feel' comparing the plastic insert and a roller bearing. It will never rust, never seize etc.
So why dont they just do this???? A seven bearing reel must be heaps better than a six bearing reel ;)
Cheers Adam
I hav e managed to screw two okuma over heads, both internals rusted out and both had the drags smoked, both under 12 months old, now have penn 6/0 penn 4/0 and a tld 15, no matter how hard I try, the penns and the little tld 15 keep coming back for more.
Nagg, to solve your daiwa roller line bearings problems, try using what they do in their cheaper models, the plastic insert. There is not a lot of difference in the 'feel' comparing the plastic insert and a roller bearing. It will never rust, never seize etc.
So why dont they just do this???? A seven bearing reel must be heaps better than a six bearing reel ;)
Cheers Adam
I've thought of this Adam ..... And if there are no better bearings available - I'm willing to bite the bullet ! - I used as a back up a Caldia ....... not quite the same but ..
Strewth
15-11-2012, 08:47 AM
The other option for treating Certate (and other Daiwa) line roller bearings is to pack them with grease. A number of bearing greasers can be had for low cost (Alan Tani sells one and the Precision RC greaser is also good). I get 4-5 years out of my Daiwa line roller bearings. The key is to keep the water out.
reggy
15-11-2012, 09:35 AM
I use Quantam Hot Sauce. It`s a little thicker than most reel oils and hangs on like liquid grease. I also use it on spool bearings for my overheads that don`t need to be cast
I thought i would not have anything to add to this thread then someone prompted me with the gold word....Okuma! My wife and I killed two spin reels in a week up at Weipa. Not cheap one's either and my brother=in-law the same with his. Never again.