View Full Version : Muddies scarce in Maroochy River so far

gruntahunta
08-11-2012, 06:58 AM
Well I am having a bit of trouble finding the muddies. I have had 4 pots in for 6 days and nights in about 10 spots. All with different baits and have tried depths from 1 metre low tide to 6 metres.

I have crabbed from the motor way bridge down to the yellow cross marker at Bli Bli. I am thinking they may be a lot further upstream at this time.

Perhaps I should switch my attention to Sandies and try out in the bay in front of mooloolabah. Any suggestions?

astro66
08-11-2012, 12:45 PM
yeah mate when there is a bit of rain about up along the wetlands jetty near the yellow cross goes well...have you tried up the creek past dusty roads bridge....petrie creek arm

gruntahunta
08-11-2012, 09:16 PM
Tks Astro. Haven't tried the feeder creeks yet. Picked up my pots tonight for 2 small males. Will go up past the bridge u said with 2 and nave our the other 2 up near Dunethin rock on Monday night.

astro66
10-11-2012, 08:06 PM
get the pots out mate....little bit of rain about to stir them up.. :P

gruntahunta
11-11-2012, 07:31 AM
Yeah Astro. Will get them out again on Monday night after work. How far up the river do you reckon or should I try Petrie or Eudlo creeks this time?

(hope Roscoe hasn't already come and got them all LOL - he is such a crab magnet obviously)

Just jokin Roscoe. I am having a good laugh , hope u r as well.

astro66
11-11-2012, 09:22 AM
the maroochy gets hammered but does go ok with a bit of rain around up along the wetlands jetty (drop infront of the little feeder creeks along that stretch)...i would be trying up eudlo up past the ski area and up petrie around dusty roads bridge ....ive never got many when the water is super clean/clear like it has been so the rain should dirty it up a bit and get them on the move ...

http://www.swanboathire.com.au/fishing-reports/2012/1543-local-fishing-feature-crabs-on-the-move-08112012.html

rosco1974
11-11-2012, 09:39 AM
yeah all good grunta,i wouldn't be headin up the river mate be headin more to the mouth,i never crab for muddies this time of year up the creeks more in the mouth and on the mud flats just outside the river/ creek systems,always seem to get a good feed...

manta man
14-11-2012, 08:45 AM
Well might throw my 2 bob"s worth in. We all have our own idea"s on where to catch a feed of muddies, but personally i"d be looking at shallow drains and tiny creeks.The rain has been minimal and it will take a lot more than what we recieved late last week to get them moving. The big tides this week will help you get into these hard to get places even though there daytime tides. Fresh bait is also the key.I leave my pots in for 24hrs and i usually do pretty good even though im a land based crabber. I hope to put my pots in somewhere over the next couple of days so if i get some i"ll put them up on the website.

gruntahunta
14-11-2012, 11:31 AM
Put 4 pots in Tuesday Arvo way up Petrie Creek at the entrances to smaller gutters running into the mangroves. Had nice fresh mullet heads and frames. Checked pots at 8pm Tuesday night and left them in until 9am this morning, Wed. No crabs and the bait is totally intact.

Well I have put them back into the Maroochy and will pick them up this arvo. Will be a miracle if I get any. A local Pro has a lot of pots out and he said he is not getting any either. Might be time to put a few pillies in the pots as well. Might help.