View Full Version : Logan River last thursday

mortyb
06-11-2012, 10:52 PM
Finished work early thursday and was going to the Pin area for a few muddies but wind was forecast for 20/25 knts so ended up going to bottom end of logan river to drop pots with a couple of work mates and a quick fish. Was on the water by 3 pm and pots in by 4 pm. Low tide was 5.30 pm at Brisbane bar. I think the tide started to turn around 7.30 pm but have not fished Logan that much so not sure of tide lapse from change at the Brisbane Bar. Mullet and chook frames used.

Then went for some bait. Pumped some yabbies on a bank. Some nice big ones. Threw the cast net for ages with only a diver whiting to show. Heaps of small bream and a tailor but I was after a few mullet. Just as I was pulling up to fish a few snags on a corner of a deep chanel, I saw a few flicks on the water surface that looked like sardines. Had a cast and filled the net with them. Anchored up and then went on to catch and eel, heaps of catfish (next crab pot bait) and a dozen rays.

Had two good runs on the change of the tide. The live diver whiting I hooked through the back towards the head. Had a run and when retrieved, it had a bite mark taken out in the middle. Not mauled like a jack, a nice clean bite. So then threw out a live sard with the hook in the back towards the middle. Had another run about 15 mins later and the head was bitten off with another clean bite mark. Small Jew? All the sards were dead by now so no more live baits. Called it a night around 9 pm and picked up the pots. 2 nice keeper muddies, about half dozen bucks about 1 cm short, about the same number of huge jennies and the rest were well under bucks and jennies. Heaps of crabs for the short time, about 5/6 per pot, but only the 2 keepers. When leaving a few other guys were dropping pots. For the high at midnight I suppose. I counted about 10 pots in about 100 metres of river. Wind dropped off when heading back to ramp so ride home was good. Kept busy all night and turned out to be quite nice with the near full moon rising and a bit of wind to keep the sandflies and mozzies down.

07-11-2012, 06:49 AM
Glad to hear you had a good session. Your mystery fish may have been trevally - or even tailor - as the odd report has them hanging around.

Wags

07-11-2012, 08:56 AM
bream bite the guts and heads off livies. At least you got a couple of crabs.

Triple
07-11-2012, 10:28 AM
Thought thread was about this - http://m.couriermail.com.au/news/queensland/police-investigating-mans-body-discovered-in-boat-ramp-at-logan-reserve/story-e6freoof-1226509310856

Scott Ashe
07-11-2012, 04:31 PM
Good to hear you picked up a couple of legal muddies. I know what it's like to crab the Logan and to have to the sort the "just unders" from the legals.

mortyb
07-11-2012, 10:40 PM
Let that be a warning to those who check crab pots that are not their own!

Happy with the 2 keeper for the time spent on the water. One was full as, but the second was a bit lighter.

Donkeyzmilk
07-11-2012, 10:49 PM
used to fish in the logan as a kid (grew up down there) never caught anything, glad to hear you got something out of it :)