View Full Version : Off Straddie Today

thelump
04-11-2012, 07:26 PM
Was meant to be holding an offshore trip with my fishing club but thought the weather would be a bit ordinary so we canned it. A few of us decided to have a crack in one of the bigger boats (Haines 680) with the view of an early day if need be. Left Viccy Point at around 3.45 and crossed a bumpy bay. Went through the Amity end of SPB with not much swell but very bumpy conditions. Gathered a few livies and headed south in rather crap conditions. Glad I wasn't in my boat! Just near shag rock I saw a couple of fish cruising on the surface with dorsal and tails out of the water that I swear were big cobia:o. Unfortunately we were doing 20 knots at the time and the skipper didnt see them until they exploded and went under. Turned for a look but they were gone. Continued to punch our way south to our spot only to be greeted with washing machine like conditions which made each drift a different direction. Fishing was tough with only 1 squire boated in the first hour or so.
Eventually the wind started to ease and we got another fish or 2 in the box. I decided to send a small live pike to the bottom on a floatlining rig and no sooner got to the bottom and got smashed. Nice Maori Cod in the bin. This is alright I thought so I strapped on a little yakka and sent it down next. Reached the bottom and bang on again. This one was a bit bigger but still felt coddish. Nice goldspot hits the deck.
We moved around a fair bit and eventually scraped up a good mixed bag.
Wind had backed right off by lunchtime and conditions improved for the ride home.
Done and dusted by 1pm.

Goodoo haven
04-11-2012, 07:33 PM
Thats a great day out.

A really nice mixed bag of fresh fish for you.

Well done mate.

04-11-2012, 07:36 PM
Nice feed there Jason, you have to love Maori Cod and Snapper, how was the launch at Viccie Pt in the big Haines?

thelump
04-11-2012, 07:40 PM
Yeah not too bad Mike. Launched on the northern side of the pontoon. No dramas. Bit deeper that side I reckon.

Muddy Toes
04-11-2012, 07:49 PM
Good going there big fella......Karma was it?

madmackrel
04-11-2012, 07:56 PM
Good on ya for braving those crap conditions macca and you got some nice fish as well... Sort of glad we stayed in the bay... with that 30kg wahoo boated on wednesday we were keen to get out and get one ourselves ..oh well next time.
Cheers Perry

Stansy
04-11-2012, 08:39 PM
Nice work macca, great mixed bag there, did you guys do any trawling at all? Or here any chatter re pelargics being caught. Mark

thelump
04-11-2012, 08:46 PM
Good going there big fella......Karma was it?

It was Muddy. How do you know of that vessel? Dave?

thelump
04-11-2012, 08:48 PM
Good on ya for braving those crap conditions macca and you got some nice fish as well... Sort of glad we stayed in the bay... with that 30kg wahoo boated on wednesday we were keen to get out and get one ourselves ..oh well next time.
Cheers Perry

Thanks Perry. You guys sounded like you were having a good time anyway mate. You didnt miss much.

thelump
04-11-2012, 08:49 PM
Nice work macca, great mixed bag there, did you guys do any trawling at all? Or here any chatter re pelargics being caught. Mark

No trolling Stansy and not much chatter other than a lot of blokes talking about going to Tangas for a beer!

Muddy Toes
04-11-2012, 08:54 PM
It was Muddy. How do you know of that vessel? Dave?

Was it the Viccy Point launch that gave it away? Nar!
Was it the 680 Haines that gave it away? Nar!
Was it the RBAFC trip that gave it away? Nar!

Am I just a crazed and obsessed stalker of yours that tracks your every movement? ::)

So the question begs to be asked now......which Dave?

thelump
04-11-2012, 09:00 PM
Was it the Viccy Point launch that gave it away? Nar!
Was it the 680 Haines that gave it away? Nar!
Was it the RBAFC trip that gave it away? Nar!

Am I just a crazed and obsessed stalker of yours that tracks your every movement? ::)

So the question begs to be asked now......which Dave?

As stated in another thread your an observant bugger. The Dave thing was just me making an asian connection. Daves bait and tackle. Asian dude. Muddy Toes asian dude. You all know each other or are related somewhere aren't you;D

Muddy Toes
04-11-2012, 09:04 PM
Dave.......Ex BCF Capalaba, new resident to 'Failed business corner' at Viccy Pt/Pt Halloran?

You know what it's like...............we all go back to the same house at the end of every day.

2IC
05-11-2012, 05:59 AM
nice feed there Jason ,, I went around the top end for a look at about 8.30am but as you say it was a '' washing machine'' we turned around & stayed in the bay .. my crew wanted to go out but I said next time,, anyway mate well done
Cheers Bill

barra71
05-11-2012, 08:48 AM
Well done Jason nice little feed there mate..
Chris.

fisho8
05-11-2012, 08:53 AM
Well done Jason you got a good feed there mate and had shithouse conditions to deal with Can't wait to get back out on that Wave rider bouy and have another crack at those Mahi Mahi. This wind is really shitting me ATM.:)

thelump
05-11-2012, 09:07 AM
Fisho8 we went to the waverider buoy and it was chock o block full of undersize rat kings. You could see some quite decent dollies underneath them but could not get a bait past them. They were crazy smashing everything that hit the water. I threw in a live slimey and they just smashed it to death without being able to swallow it. Maybe trolling might work?? We didnt try that!

tropicrows
05-11-2012, 09:26 AM
nice feed there Jason ,, I went around the top end for a look at about 8.30am but as you say it was a '' washing machine'' we turned around & stayed in the bay .. my crew wanted to go out but I said next time,, anyway mate well done
Cheers Bill

Bill, I would have taken the young lads out and watched them go green in the gills, and then asked do you still want to stay out lol.

fisho8
05-11-2012, 06:40 PM
Fisho8 we went to the waverider buoy and it was chock o block full of undersize rat kings. You could see some quite decent dollies underneath them but could not get a bait past them. They were crazy smashing everything that hit the water. I threw in a live slimey and they just smashed it to death without being able to swallow it. Maybe trolling might work?? We didnt try that!

Yeah I have a couple of Halco matchstick lures I would not mind trying near it to see what hit them I have another couple to I want to try which are a silver colour like a pillie.:)

Spot82
05-11-2012, 08:20 PM
Just near shag rock I saw a couple of fish cruising on the surface with dorsal and tails out of the water that I swear were big cobia:o. Unfortunately we were doing 20 knots at the time and the skipper didnt see them until they exploded and went under. Turned for a look but they were gone.

Mate they would have been small black marlin, not cobia :)

littlemac
05-11-2012, 08:52 PM
hey jase,

well done in those conditions, thats a great feed. after that are thinking of upgrading.

well done

brett

littlemac
05-11-2012, 08:54 PM

hey anthony

mate of mine got a 5 foot malrlin at the 29's the other week on a soft plastic

brett

thelump
05-11-2012, 08:58 PM

Mate I dont think they were marlin. You could see the triangular spikes in front of the dorsal fin.

Spot82
05-11-2012, 09:45 PM
Well I know over 30 small balcks have been hooked off the Gold Coast in the past two days by less than a handful of boats... But maybe they were cobia.. But if you could see the small spikes on their back at 20 knots it must have been flat and your eyes are a bloody lot better than mine unless you almost run over them lol :P

thelump
06-11-2012, 08:56 AM
Well I know over 30 small balcks have been hooked off the Gold Coast in the past two days by less than a handful of boats... But maybe they were cobia.. But if you could see the small spikes on their back at 20 knots it must have been flat and your eyes are a bloody lot better than mine unless you almost run over them lol :P

Yep your right Anthony. It was a Marlin and I was really off the gold coast not straddie and my eyesight is crap.::)

Spot82
06-11-2012, 06:41 PM
Yep your right Anthony. It was a Marlin and I was really off the gold coast not straddie and my eyesight is crap.::)

No i was just admitting mine are crap and I wouldn't be able to see spikes on the back of a fishes head at 20knots... Anyways sorry Mr serious :)

HOW BIG?
06-11-2012, 07:56 PM
Let me guess.....you've got a lure recommendation to catch these mysterious fish?