View Full Version : Guess what I did today?

Funchy
03-11-2012, 03:42 PM
What a day!!! Alarm goes off at 3:50am and I get up a little fuzzy headed as I had a few last night after a hectic week. You know how it is, ya stumble into things on the way to the dunny, kick your toe on the kitchen table leg and are just generally all thumbs for the day as a result of partaking of a few too many the night before? Yeah, you know you have had too many when you wake up and your left hand has all it's fingernails painted bright pink by your 6 year old the night before. Well it's a bloody wonder I caught anything cos I had one of them nights!! :-?

So 2 of my goals this summer have been scoring my first Jack and getting my first whiting on a popper. Tony (Tunaticer) was kind enough to invite me out on his boat again so I gladly accepted. We were on the water at 5am and flicking poppers soon after. A bit of wind at our backs helped us out with some long casts into the shallows. I had on a 65mm scum dog type of thing and Tony was using something a little smaller but similar. Wasn't long before we were getting some good follows and sure enough Tony was on the board with a nice whiting. We cast around the shallows covering a fair bit of ground for the next hour and a bit. Tony had 3 in the boat by this stage and I had plenty of follows and even had the lure taken down under water but no hookup. It is surprising how had they can hit the lure yet not catch the trebbles. After a while Tony let me use one of his smaller Ecogear thingamabobby's and it wasn’t long untill I scored my 1st whiting on a popper!! Tick one item off the to do list!!;D;D;);)

Since we had that little project out of the way it was time to go jack hunting. We motored further up the creek and started to work the drop offs, deep water and snags. We got to a deeper hole and I was throwing inmy prawnstar into about 4 meters of water, no real structure to speak of just a nice deep hole and steep banks. I let my lure sink, gave it a twitch and.... wooompa!!! "Bit of weight here" I says to Tony, "Well stop dickin’ around and get it in, c’mon, fish properly we haven’t got all day"... With friends like this who needs enamas I thought :P;D. Anyway, after a brief but exhilarating fight I had my first Jack in the boat. 49cms he went! Now, I have this one and only pic.
This is where the old hangover showed its true colours. I got the hooks out, threw it on the measure and took 1 quick snap. I thought I had better look after this thing and give it a bit of a breather so held it over the side on the lip grips as I leant over to grab my phone so I could ring the world and tell them of my triumph and then............. big kick from old Red and he has pulled the lip grips outta my hand and gooorn!!! You may have heard my screams from your place? I hope the poor bugger gets out of them but I doubt it :'(:'(:'(:'(:'(

Anyway, we fished the creek a bit more for no more jacks but some nice flattys for a feed for Tony.

Thanks to Tony once again for great company, great tips, lotsa laughs and the kind support while I pulled in my first Jack.:P

Gonna hit up the flatty's in the passage with my young fella in the morning.

Cheers!!

03-11-2012, 04:04 PM
Thanks for coming along today Luke, was a lot of laughs and some good action to boot!
Give it another month and the prawns will be getting smashed everywhere and the popper action will be hot.
Right now i have a few nice fish to clean for my dinner, thanks mate.

MudRiverDan
03-11-2012, 04:05 PM
Great catch!, on the ol prawnstar too, they make for a decent lure around snaggs.

Funchy
03-11-2012, 04:11 PM
Thanks for coming along today Luke, was a lot of laughs and some good action to boot!
Give it another month and the prawns will be getting smashed everywhere and the popper action will be hot.
Right now i have a few nice fish to clean for my dinner, thanks mate.

Mate, it was a top day. Coulda wrote war and peace with the crap I did today, hooks in fingers, leaders in knots, my leccy driving, hiding my pretty finger nails from old mate at the boat ramp.... jeez what a day!!!

Chas & Clarry
03-11-2012, 04:13 PM
YESSSSSSS....a jack, that was our guess (and our hope for you, you've put in the hours to deserve one!!).

Well done Funchy...beautiful looking fish too, good colour, bit of a shame how that ended (we have been there too, though it was a mulloway not a jack, it feels pretty terrible at the time) BUT these things happen, don;t let it take the shine off a great day :thumbsup: :D

Good on you for the charter too Tony (and the fishing technique advice.)

Tim and Trace

Funchy
03-11-2012, 04:20 PM
YESSSSSSS....a jack, that was our guess (and our hope for you, you've put in the hours to deserve one!!).

Well done Funchy...beautiful looking fish too, good colour, bit of a shame how that ended (we have been there too, though it was a mulloway not a jack, it feels pretty terrible at the time) BUT these things happen, don;t let it take the shine off a great day :thumbsup: :D

Good on you for the charter too Tony (and the fishing technique advice.)

Tim and Trace

Thanks T&T, was very satisfying to get a red one thats for sure

Funchy
03-11-2012, 04:24 PM
This is Funchys wife...... Now he has forfilled both of his summer goals....he will not need to fish for the rest of the summer and it is not even December ...he is soooooo clever!!

Chas & Clarry
03-11-2012, 04:32 PM
This is Chas's wife...LOL that is not how it works :D

(We've got your back Funchy)

Chas and Clarry

Funchy
03-11-2012, 05:12 PM
This is Funchys wife...... Now he has forfilled both of his summer goals....he will not need to fish for the rest of the summer and it is not even December ...he is soooooo clever!!

Bluddy hacked!!!! WTF!!!:o:o:o

03-11-2012, 06:45 PM

ahhhh Mrs Funchy..he went out with good company so he was safe.

Now what would you have preferred? Him out of the house? or at home whinging and moaning about the hangover? No contest on that one I don't think..and I don't think you need to phone a friend for the answer either.

Mrs F..life is like this..your old man likes fishing..the bugger catches too many but good on him for that.

He wakes at ludicrous hours to go fishing..I am sure you would prefer him to just toptoe out and go fishing then dig you in the ribs at those ungoldy hours. I know at my place..I could wake early..dig the minister for war and finance in the ribs and say: " Sex or fishing?" Her repsone would always be: " Make sure you take something warm with you".

See..all is good..he gets to fish..you get to sleep..all is good with the world.

(Funchy, ya owe me a carton for this one)

Signed,
Pinhead, the fishing psychiatrist.

Funchy
03-11-2012, 07:03 PM
ahhhh Mrs Funchy..he went out with good company so he was safe.

Now what would you have preferred? Him out of the house? or at home whinging and moaning about the hangover? No contest on that one I don't think..and I don't think you need to phone a friend for the answer either.

Mrs F..life is like this..your old man likes fishing..the bugger catches too many but good on him for that.

He wakes at ludicrous hours to go fishing..I am sure you would prefer him to just toptoe out and go fishing then dig you in the ribs at those ungoldy hours. I know at my place..I could wake early..dig the minister for war and finance in the ribs and say: " Sex or fishing?" Her repsone would always be: " Make sure you take something warm with you".

See..all is good..he gets to fish..you get to sleep..all is good with the world.

(Funchy, ya owe me a carton for this one)

Signed,
Pinhead, the fishing psychiatrist.

That is gold, she has seen the wisdom of your words and realizes the error of her ways. She has told me I can do anything I want as it is better than having to have "relations" with me.

Cheers mate, what do you drink?????? :D
"

kingcray
03-11-2012, 07:56 PM
congrats on the mj funchy :beer:

Goodoo haven
03-11-2012, 07:57 PM
Some nice fish there.

Also its a really nice jack you caught too.

Well done mate.

netmaker
03-11-2012, 08:06 PM
good stuff funchy. that only leaves billfish on yak doesn't it?

thelump
03-11-2012, 08:53 PM
If there was a love this post I would have pushed it. Great read and well done mate. NOW how did the nails taste now they are pink and all?

03-11-2012, 08:57 PM
If there was a love this post I would have pushed it. Great read and well done mate. NOW how did the nails taste now they are pink and all?

you will just have to look for him down the Valley next Friday night..he will be wearing stilletoes to match his nail polish.

03-11-2012, 11:39 PM
I am currently doing the vid of todays fishing.....guess what??? lots of shots of his pink nails!!!

Funchy
03-11-2012, 11:41 PM
I am currently doing the vid of todays fishing.....guess what??? lots of shots of his pink nails!!!

Lord have mercy!

dnej
04-11-2012, 12:00 AM
Relations.............,what sort of relations????????????????????. More information please,>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>just for clarification purposes.
David

Agrav8_and_Lulu
04-11-2012, 04:58 AM
Wow! Congrats on getting two off your list. I'm thinking there'll be more jacks for you this season.

04-11-2012, 06:04 AM
geeze Funchy..you put up a fishing report and look what happens...ya gotta watch some of these blokes. I tell ya, they will take the mickey out of ya at the first opportunity. Aren't ya lucky I am not one of them.

NOW..I have to ask...do you have a preference as to what brand of nail polish you prefer??

gruntahunta
04-11-2012, 06:30 AM
Great story Funchy. I to have only one Jack and that was a fluke from the cod hole and was not targeted. As always the wise Pinny comes through with great compromise.

What would you rather be doin than fishin.

Funchy
04-11-2012, 06:55 AM
geeze Funchy..you put up a fishing report and look what happens...ya gotta watch some of these blokes. I tell ya, they will take the mickey out of ya at the first opportunity. Aren't ya lucky I am not one of them.

NOW..I have to ask...do you have a preference as to what brand of nail polish you prefer??

see that's why I love this forum, ya can count on ya mates for support!!! Hahhaha

My little one had painted them before months ago with her "little kids"
polish that washes off, didn't realize she had mums real stuff this time.

But to answer ya question I like the Este Lauder in passionate pink punk;D;D:P

Funchy
04-11-2012, 06:59 AM
Relations.............,what sort of relations????????????????????. More information please,>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>just for clarification purposes.
David
Now now DNEJ, a bloke who wears pink nail polish never kisses and tells :p:D

childers
04-11-2012, 08:26 AM
Well done funchy

Chas & Clarry
04-11-2012, 08:44 AM
My little one had painted them before months ago with her "little kids"
polish that washes off, didn't realize she had mums real stuff this time.

Likely story.....

imnotoriginal
05-11-2012, 04:34 PM
Nice work funchy, I haven't managed a red one in a long time, gets the casting hand twitchy...
Joel

05-11-2012, 06:08 PM
So did you get the nail polish off before work this morning Luke or did you finish the job off and do your toes as well??

Funchy
05-11-2012, 07:23 PM
So did you get the nail polish off before work this morning Luke or did you finish the job off and do your toes as well??

Hey Tony, didn't work today, was getting blood tests done. did manage to remove the stuff tho:)

Mullet Musketeer
08-11-2012, 05:56 PM
When you catch a fish that you have been chasing for a while anything can happen! A few of my cameras have gone in the drink at that point. Well done, great report - love that GULP Crazylegs in the New Penny.

Funchy
08-11-2012, 07:00 PM
When you catch a fish that you have been chasing for a while anything can happen! A few of my cameras have gone in the drink at that point. Well done, great report - love that GULP Crazylegs in the New Penny.

Cheers MM, I must admit I was a bit shaky after landing him. Agree the crazy legs are great.