View Full Version : Friday Morning @the Ever popular Harry's.

Repete1
26-10-2012, 07:54 PM
Hi guys
Havent posted in a while. Well haven't been out for a while. ;)
After a night of indecision, I decided to solo fish the morning high.
Hit the water about 6am and shot out to the trustful Harry's.
Just a quick session but ended up with two grasse sweet lip just under 40cm and two decent Snaps one about 65cm and the other about 75cm.
With the water temp a little warmer these two fought extremely hard and all the way to the top. Nothing like fighting these buggers on 10lb braid:P. The Bigger of the two was also a really fat fish probably the most solid 75cm fish I've caught. Will post photo soon as I get it off my phone.
P.s I still cannot get over how, soon as you land a reasonable fish every man and their dog think that they should come and fish right on top of you :-?

Also said g'day to the local fisheries at the boat ramp. Twice in three trips. Beware guys !! Good on them I say. About time they started to show their presence.

copie
26-10-2012, 08:33 PM
Hey well done mate were they on bait or plastics.

26-10-2012, 10:26 PM
SOunds like a great day on the bay.....do the webby shuffle... you can be on the same boat as him and still dont know he has landed a fish!

Repete1
27-10-2012, 07:11 AM
Couple of Pics.

These were on Bait but have had success on both over this winter.

Cheers Pete

ddobson
27-10-2012, 08:16 AM
Seems bait hooks em at harries as i have had no luck there with my plastics as so many boats and anchors around and seem to shut down and i see them on bottom but no go. Cheers DD.....

T1
31-10-2012, 12:05 PM
Looks like that bigger one has been well fed! What was in its guts Pete?

T

Damned67
31-10-2012, 12:45 PM
Seems bait hooks em at harries as i have had no luck there with my plastics as so many boats and anchors around and seem to shut down and i see them on bottom but no go. Cheers DD.....

DD,
In my hands, it's the exact opposite. I can't seem to get a decent fish on bait, unless the bait is either swimming or bleeding.
I've even been fishing mostly at night. In my last two trips to Harry's, I've landed four Snapper over 80cm, and nothing smaller than ~45cm. My biggest fish, 88cm, I swam for close 15min as I already had an 83cm in the esky.
I've found, in my hands, lures with some action tend to do best: Gulp Crazy legs, Gulp Squid Vicious, Squidgy Wrigglers (biggest size). I've been smashing them lately on Transams. Can't seem to get a bite on the Threadybusters, but they go nuts for the Transams, even dead-sticked!

But yes, I tend to stay as far away from the crowd as possible at Harry's (which isn't far).
Oh, and I still have plenty of donut days too.... Particularly when Blooey's on the boat. He likes to blame it on the moon phase. I blame him.

Repete1
01-11-2012, 12:13 AM
Hey T. Didn't really take too much notice of what they are feeding on, just took the fillets which were really fat. :) Keen to get out for another shot at them. This weather is hard to pick ATM.
Hey damned67 I have just been put onto those transams and picked up a couple the other day. Keen to give them a rumble too. cheers pc.

BLOOEY
02-11-2012, 06:40 AM
Some great snaps there guys. You"ll keep damned!hehe Ben