View Full Version : Which surf rod?
18-10-2012, 08:04 PM
Will be heading up to Fraser soon for a boys weekend away & really need to get myself a decent surf rod.
I'm not a fan of Alveys so, I'll be using an egg beater, probably a Shimano 6500 bait runner.
Target species will be Tailor & Jewies off the beach.
I'm a bit of a newby when it comes to good beach gear. :-[
metaloid
18-10-2012, 09:02 PM
Budget?
For $700 you can get a Daiwa Saltiga Ballistic (http://www.daiwa.com/rod/detail.aspx?id=220), for $600 a Kilwell powerplay (http://www.kilwell.co.nz/saltwater_rods/Powerplay.html), for $500 a CD XDistance (http://www.discountfishingsupplies.co.nz/shop/cd-xd-surf-rod-136-3pc-p-2931.html), for $400 a Nitro Messiah (http://www.innovatorrods.com/nitro-messiahspin.html), for $250 a Daiwa Sensor (http://daiwafishing.com.au/?p=4362) or a Gary Howard Greenback (http://www.bcf.com.au/online-store/products/Garry-Howard-Greenback-Surf-Rod-13-6-2-Piece.aspx?pid=203678#Description), then you have your Wilsons (http://www.wilsonfishing.com.au/_products/Fishing+Rods/Live+Fibre+Rods/Live+Fibre+SURF+Rods-165.aspx) and if you want absolute value, your pelagic (http://stores.##############.com.au/Fishing%20Rods/Surf%20Rods/).
18-10-2012, 09:34 PM
No question, get a Gary Howard Greenback one piece for the spinner, ( only get the similar Schneider blank in 2 piece)
I have the Schneider Mag Surf , a great rod with the Alvey but bought my better half the Greenback (spinner mount) for a Baitrunner 12000 ( same size as the 6500) put 20lbs on it.. well all i can say is it really loads up and just casts an 8 ball a mile so easy.. rod loads up and just casts .
if i was to get another big surf rod i would go a Greenback ....just recently on Flinders i just kept looking left at my better half just casting this thing a mile with the Baitrunner... they are also available in 1 or 2 piece i understand, the Schneider has a similar blank but only in 2 piece for the spinner mount.
You will not go wrong with the Greenback, Cant comment on the others but some of the other rods ( Daiwa graphite ones) might not take the knocks in the surf and rocks.
19-10-2012, 04:17 PM
Have a feel of a couple before you buy. I like the Look and feel of the Live Fibre RLF43. I use it in low mount for that sort of fishing.
spears
21-10-2012, 04:48 PM
Diawa sensor surf,few of the guys are reporting breakages are easy with these rods and to stay away buying any.
BLOOEY
22-10-2012, 07:27 AM
Gary Howard ,surf classic- Heavy does the job for me but to each their own. Ben
Midnight
22-10-2012, 07:41 AM
Anything Gary Howard will be a good thing, and good value for money
MudRiverDan
22-10-2012, 02:38 PM
Diawa sensor surf,few of the guys are reporting breakages are easy with these rods and to stay away buying any.
I'm guessing you own one?
I got two, no problems as yet (you would have to go hard to break one).
Other than that G Loomis IMX 11 ft, go the heavier range (in 10 or 11ft) if your casting BIG slugs.
I got a 10ft in the lighter range, its good though if your going real heavy go the higher power range.
Daiwa Sensor 11 or 12 foot cast just as far, I would like to see you break one.
spears
22-10-2012, 09:51 PM
My local tackle store won't carry the Sensor rod any more due to complaints
metaloid
23-10-2012, 09:05 AM
My local tackle store won't carry the Sensor rod any more due to complaints
Maybe the customers were saying that the rods were "ground-breaking" and there was some misunderstanding...;D
More seriously, I'm not picking on you, just curious because the only time I've seen surf size rods break is when people try to dead-lift a fish with a locked drag, oh and one time when the wife slammed the car door on a beaut new rod straight from the shop!>:(
Anyway, talk is cheap, so let's watch what we're all thinking about:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ilym1fU-8bc
MudRiverDan
23-10-2012, 02:49 PM
I would not flick BIG slugs on any of my surf rods, they are strong but when casting a heavy slug that instant whip! and split second of force could could take its toll.
Had no problems with a fish on though.
If your going to be flicking large type slugs your best getting a rod suited to doing so.
Big difference between medium and heavy surf and flicking large slugs or medium pillys or worms.
spears
24-10-2012, 08:42 AM
Just don’t go giving out your cheap chinese made rods to experienced casters who know how to do a proper cast.
Give him your sensor and it will go home with an extra piece.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P6IbbZRlKCo
MudRiverDan
24-10-2012, 07:15 PM
Just don’t go giving out your cheap chinese made rods to experienced casters who know how to do a proper cast.
Give him your sensor and it will go home with an extra piece.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P6IbbZRlKCo
I'm guessing his back will go home in an extra piece as well...
Hardly the point, that rod would cost 5 times as much as a sensor and is obviously a bigger length and power rating.
I have the sensor because it is light and easy to handle, of course the rod has its limits.
I was never comparing it to some huge surf caster rod.
Anyway , not quite sure if I appreciate the tone of your post i.e proper cast, experience etc etc
If I ever feel like standing in a football field practicing casts I think by then I would have more time on my hands than warranted, and less time to go fishing.
spears
24-10-2012, 10:24 PM
What makes you think i was replying to you ??
MudRiverDan
24-10-2012, 11:41 PM
What makes you think i was replying to you ??
No worries,sorry If I was abrupt, I may have been a bit defensive.
I am by no means any expert on fishing rods at all, as a matter of fact my knowledge is pretty slim when it comes to the market as a whole.
I know there are many on here with a heap more knowledge.
The Sensor surf has done me however it is a cheaper rod if your going upmarket and their is most probably a lot of Glass rods for $120.00 that are just as good.
I would call it a moderate surf and casting rod with moderate power, still a great stick.
I just throw my 2c in.
spears
25-10-2012, 12:18 PM
I totally agree Dan in your reply.
As i see it the Sensor surf does a great job up to a point.If one came up for sale used at the right price i'd buy it.
I would need to think how far am i pushing the limits of the rod for it not to be another broken one.As all rods have a breaking point.
hangar
27-10-2012, 02:40 PM
its true that a 'proper' cast from a experienced surf caster will break your average rod.but not everybody is casting 150+ meters.in the video footage it would be pointless to cast too far because of the reef.neway most of the crap rods around are capable of handling a big fish just not a big cast.pete ps.spears try get yer hands on a century imo are one of the best built rods designed for casting big distance/weight and plenty of models to suit yer style of fishing.hard pressed to breake one
childers
28-10-2012, 06:37 AM
Heath im at Mudge , own about half a dozen or so surf rod's your welcome to borrow a couple if you want
Im not worried about them , all my gear are work horse's
Sing out if you need
08-11-2012, 10:15 PM
G'Day Mick,
Thanks for the offer mate.
If I don't end up getting one, I'll give you a yell.
Snyderglasman
16-11-2012, 06:21 PM
If your wanting a good quality rod at a afforable price how about buying a second hand rod and get it fixed up cost a fraction of the price. Picked up a Gary howard Bulldog the other week the bindings were had it and the grips chewed by roaches and rats but the blank was in excellent conditiion cost me $55.00 for the rod and another $110.00 for new guides fully under bound and overbound for strength and new grips. Most of my Quality rods are Snyder glas or old butterworth rods few gary howard rods that have been fully rebuilt. really your just looking for a good quailty second hand blank and go from there.
Matt;)
MudRiverDan
16-11-2012, 06:32 PM
If your wanting a good quality rod at a afforable price how about buying a second hand rod and get it fixed up cost a fraction of the price. Picked up a Gary howard Bulldog the other week the bindings were had it and the grips chewed by roaches and rats but the blank was in excellent conditiion cost me $55.00 for the rod and another $110.00 for new guides fully under bound and overbound for strength and new grips. Most of my Quality rods are Snyder glas or old butterworth rods few gary howard rods that have been fully rebuilt. really your just looking for a good quailty second hand blank and go from there.
Matt;)
Ever scanned Ebay for second hand surf rods?
Slim pickings there.
Where would you suggest?