View Full Version : 27 Mud Crabs 3 Keepers All Male
manta man
01-10-2012, 05:24 PM
Decided to throw the Crab Pots in late Thursday, went back the following morning to pick them up. 1st pot pulled 4 males all undersize, next 11 muddies 3 keepers all male, 7 in the next one again all male all unders, lucky last 5 more ,all undersize males. The 3 which were legal all chocka block and all very clean inside. the thing which amazed me there was not one female muddy (I HAVE NEVER SEEN THIS BEFORE) always catch some jennies. Anyway the 3 tasted very good
kingcray
02-10-2012, 06:26 AM
hey nice going manta man. If i didnt know better i wouldve thought you need some training in how to determine male / female.
A few years ago crabbing at deep water bend we caught 44 buck muddies and no jennies at all. I thought it very freakish and hadnt heard of anything like it until now.
That second pot mustve been heavy - 11 muddies!
Dean
Rainbowrunner
02-10-2012, 07:22 AM
I pro crabbed in Gladstone for a while and it was not unusual to get bucks in one creek and up the next one just jennies
Scott Ashe
02-10-2012, 07:47 AM
Good work with the legals mate. In January I crabbed the Logan River and we must have caught 25 Muddies would you believe we only bought 2 home in the esky. They were just about all male, and they majority were just under. It was tempting to bring in one or two extras, but it's just not worth it.
Back in 2009, I took my new boat for a run to Baffle creek (near 1770) and once again I'm sure we only managed about 3 legal bucks from 12 pot's, That river system was just overflowing with females that had to be returned.
manta man
02-10-2012, 08:46 AM
Yeh King Cray all my crab pots are all extra heavy duty, made them myself they are the best crab pots (Not Trying to brag). Also about 13years ago, down in a creek over the border i pulled up 9 legal Bucks in the same pot. Hey Rainbow Runner i used to crab up there a bit a lot of BiG Bucks all Deep Green in Color but the majority were always about half full. Not sure why that was the case with you.
Cheers Boys
Robsie
02-10-2012, 02:14 PM
that has happened to me before - in the Gregory River near Burrum Heads - each pot had about 6 crabs in it, all male and undersize - this went on for about 3 days... We were not happy crabbers after 3 days !
wayno60
02-10-2012, 06:47 PM
Last weekend we droped the pots in the Coomera and pimpama rivers, apart from one legal buck out of the coomera the rest were jennies or small bucks.
bondy99
03-10-2012, 12:14 AM
Hello fellow anglers.
I have managed to get some keepers and always had a mix of jennies and bucks in all my pots. 4 pots, 30 crabs and 4 keepers amongst them.
I always check the pots every hour during daylight, if no crabs in that spot then I move it elsewhere and check again after the hour. If a crab is encountered then I leave the pot to do it's work whilst having a fish in between.
Night soaking of pots is good only when no one else knows its' location otherwise they tend to get stolen and / or raided by scum bags.
Bondy
zorro1
06-10-2012, 11:58 AM
Anyone tied the Caboolture or Burpengary creek lately for crabs?
kingcray
06-10-2012, 03:21 PM
zorro, my cousin lives near the river at burpengary, they got 6 nice size buck muddies there either yesterday or thursday.
I went out today up the river at nudgee and caught 5 muddies and 2 sandies - all male.. a first ever for me mud crabbing - no jennies
Seahorse
06-10-2012, 04:38 PM
Hey dean
Lucky u mate. I didnt go anywhere today.
Enjoy them
zorro1
06-10-2012, 06:30 PM
nice one king - looks like a quick run over there to settle the taste buds
kingcray
06-10-2012, 07:44 PM
sorry guys shoudve been more specific, muddies were all just under not by much. mate got 1 nice one up there though, seems to be some around at least. o/night be the go