View Full Version : Upgrade options. IT guys ?

26-09-2012, 06:18 AM
OK, I feel it time to upgrade my computer system.

Currently my HD has about 100mb space left and my system is old. Works fine though.

I was thinking to branching out to a laptop, as I travel a fair bit and only have a notepad thing now.

I don't do computers without a mouse... way too hard.:-?

So, is it economical to have a laptop with Dongle and wireless connections for my A3 & A4 printers and mouse.

Currently have a $60/ month Optus Cable internet account which is more than enough for me.

When I do purchase the new system ( if i do ) I would need to transfer a lot of " stuff " over to new system and that could be an issue and probably where I'll need expertise and advice.

New system needs minimal graphics, but will need lotsa RAM and HD.

I have just got my head around XP, so will have to start again with ? Vista ? Windows 7 whatever ?????

Question is...

Brand of laptop ?

anything else I need to know. like internet bundles / options.

All assist appreciated.

cheers phill

26-09-2012, 06:24 AM
http://www.computeralliance.com.au/

honda900
26-09-2012, 06:48 AM
Phil,

HP / Compaq are the better laptops, try a DV6 or DV7, Lenovo's range are not bad either , you can get the laptop specked up to what you need. Stay away from Toshiba (Heat issues) and Sony / acer (just plain bad).

Check the speed of the HDD a lot sell with 5400 rpm disks (slow) look for one with a 7200 rpm or SSD drive if possible, if not you can always change the disk for 100.00 at some point in the future.

Get a bluetooth mouse.

For file transfer you can use an external disk (USB) for about 100.00

If you are happy with your internet connection, just stay with that, plug the laptop into your cable.

HOnda.

Zippidy
26-09-2012, 08:38 AM
Hi Phil,

By you saying that you've only just got your head around Windows XP indicates to me that you're not going to need an awesome PC/Laptop to play the latest games or Burn Blu Ray's etc.

Try one of these:

http://www.jbhifi.com.au/computers/hp/15-notebook-sku-88716/

The Hard Drive will be big enough and 4Gig Ram will be quick enough for you to do what you need to do.

In regards to transferring things over, get yourself a USB stick and do it manually. Just copy it onto the USB and then plug it into the new laptop. You could network them both together but you'll find that complicated.

Here's the USB thing you'll need:

http://www.jbhifi.com.au/computers/storage/soniq/16gb-usb-flash-drive-sku-66277/

I hope this helps.

26-09-2012, 09:44 AM
At least your not going to upgrade (??) to a tablet

http://www.cartoonstock.com/newscartoons/cartoonists/mfl/lowres/mfln65l.jpg

26-09-2012, 04:24 PM
Thanks so far, I have a 120GB remote HDD with some stuff stored on it, mainly photos.

At least now I can start looking.

cheers LP

Gazza
26-09-2012, 05:10 PM
OK, I feel it time to upgrade my computer system.

I have just got my head around XP and my system is old. Works fine though.
When I do purchase the new system ( if i do )

cheers phillNahhh mate , you have XP ::):o
Just get a couple of planks or maybe tressles , and a bit of Gaffa :D

Here's what I did ;)

lucee81
26-09-2012, 05:38 PM
Picked up an Asus with 8gb ram and 750gb hard drive for under $800 Harvey Norman.
Good graphics with ice cool touch and a heap of other fancy terms that probably don't mean jack to you also has intel I7 processor. Asus do make a good machine but with brands it's like ford vs Holden's they will all get you to where you're going just some better than others.

26-09-2012, 08:02 PM
Check the compatibility of the programs you wish to run on your new proposed operating system.
Tonight I just built a new PC with all the latest whizbang crap and it is beyond lightning fast.......now i gotta load a second operating system to load most programs I use that I can't afford to replace ($20k+).
So far Win 7 pro 64 bit is sorta okish......no doubt pretty good for the average Joe, but a PITA for a guy that needs to get into do some stuff that this OS won't let you near.

27-09-2012, 07:27 AM
Dell is what we use at work. Buy online, get delivered. Have a problem they come to you to fix it. So far we have had no failures. If you ring them you can haggle on price. Our main client also uses Dell, and they have thousands of them.

As for OS, win7 is by far the best OS on the market at the moment, its more stable than any of the others with far less problems. The only issue is that you may not be able to run a few older apps, but if you buy win7 professional, you can actually run a full blow copy of win xp under win 7.

Zippidy
27-09-2012, 09:17 AM
It's very easy to put dual operating systems on, but as some of you have said it's a PITA.

I've only heard good things about Dell, but I've never got one. Only because I never liked the plain look of them.

27-09-2012, 07:36 PM
It's very easy to put dual operating systems on, but as some of you have said it's a PITA.

I've only heard good things about Dell, but I've never got one. Only because I never liked the plain look of them.

True, I forgot to say that dell is more chunky than funky.

27-09-2012, 08:08 PM
I have had a bit of a squizz guys.........

Just need to make that decision.

Thing is, I don't look forward to swapping over all info from old to new.... particularly the Garmin stuff. ( Homeport and mapsource )

Seems everytime I " do " something to the puter, it has a hissy fit and I don't need that stress right now.

thanks again guys............

Andy.......... when is the next maidenwell run ?

cheers LP

27-09-2012, 08:24 PM

Thing is, I don't look forward to swapping over all info from old to new.... particularly the Garmin stuff. ( Homeport and mapsource )

Seems everytime I " do " something to the puter, it has a hissy fit and I don't need that stress right now.

thanks again guys............

Andy.......... when is the next maidenwell run ?

cheers LP

I am not sure they will have us back at maindenwell after the last time!! Did a run out there for post Laverda Concourse piss up last month, $3500 across the bar (think 25 people). Someone had a vom in the house, did not quite make it outside though.

Anyway, I am pretty much screwed during the sailing season, as I race the last sunday of each month. However if you dont mind forgoing the pig on a spit I can go pretty much any other weekend.

27-09-2012, 09:52 PM
Just a note Phill, SATA is not supported with Win XP for the initial install. Lots of new motherboards are SATA only (some with and IDE degrade option in BIOS to get you through at half speed though). If you decide to keep your Win XP it is worth researching, I am going through the pain atm trying to get XP loaded to a SSD drive.

Gon Fishun
27-09-2012, 10:41 PM
Not going to steal your thread here LP, but I too am in the need to upgrade from an old Acer Aspire, with XP on it, about 8 years old and on its last legs.
Have been looking on Evilbay and there is quite a lot of desktop PC's in various sizes that look alright, and at a good price, etc etc.
Example.
AMD FX-4100 4-CORE Black Edition 3.6GHz CPU, Turbo Core 3.8GHz, Integrated NVIDIA GeForce GRAPHICS ACCELERATOR
Dual Channel 4GB RAM, 1TB / 1000GB SATA 3 7200rpm HDD, 24x Dual Layer DVD BURNER
10/100 LAN, 5.1 HD Audio, Bluetooth v2.0, Multi Card Reader.
Prices range from about $300 upwards.

Just read TT message with regards to Win XP on a sata drive.:( I have found XP to be very reliable, in never had one problem with it, and would like to keep using it along with MYOB.
What do you guys reckon about the Ebay PC's ?
Bob.

Spin
27-09-2012, 11:13 PM
Has your XP disk got service pack 3
if not it will just blue screen you?

Gon Fishun
28-09-2012, 07:34 AM
Has your XP disk got service pack 3
if not it will just blue screen you?
The Acer Aspire came with XP , SP2 and would not install SP3. But I had a major hardware crash 12 mths ago ( to lengthy to go into detail) but I ended buying the XP disc and now it has SP3.
Does this mean if I bought a new PC my XP program will install ?

honda900
28-09-2012, 08:27 AM

cheers LP

Phil,

dont try and move the software, reinstall it. both mapsource and homeport work on Win 7. Just backup and copy your data.

Honda.

28-09-2012, 08:28 AM
I have a reasonable late model dell here with XP sp3 installed. You should be able to install XP on most new PC's. You have issues finding drivers for some of the higher performance hardware though.

I think dell will still sell you a PC with windows xp installed.

honda900
28-09-2012, 08:30 AM
Just a note Phill, SATA is not supported with Win XP for the initial install. Lots of new motherboards are SATA only (some with and IDE degrade option in BIOS to get you through at half speed though). If you decide to keep your Win XP it is worth researching, I am going through the pain atm trying to get XP loaded to a SSD drive.

tunaticer,

Sata drivers were not released with Windows XP, integrating the drivers is very simple, during the DOS mode installation you are prompted to install additional disk drivers. use the manufacturer supplied disk at that point.

or create an customisted installation.

http://aps2.toshiba-tro.de/kb0/TSB85017Z0000R01.htm

Honda.

honda900
28-09-2012, 08:47 AM
Phil,

While dell have proved to be reliable, there lower end laptops tend to under perform compared to other brands of the same specs (that is from experience).

All of you should also be aware that commercial support for Windows XP is finished from Microsoft so the production of drivers and updates for the O/S from manufacturers, such as printers and other peripheral drivers has ceased from a development perspective. So moving forward you will find it increasingly difficult to get anything to work with it.

Best advice I can offer is to make the switch to win7 (win 8 has been released but think twice about it, the interface is a dogs breakfast). Yes there will be some challenges that you need to overcome, however I have only seen a few applications that wont play well on the newer platform and as Andy alluded too there are ways and means to address them.

HOnda.

lucee81
28-09-2012, 11:18 AM
Forget it all and go a Mac.

28-09-2012, 01:49 PM
Forget it all and go a Mac.

I did that, biggest mistake of my life.

lucee81
28-09-2012, 02:09 PM
I've always used Macs they have a purpose and a lot better for design etc but like windows it comes with its disadvantages.
Linux best of both worlds.

28-09-2012, 03:06 PM
OK ferets, I have done it.

Got a Dell. Inspirion.

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/SANY0013640x480-3.jpg

details uummmm.... see link

http://www.jbhifi.com.au/computers/dell/inspiron-15-inch-notebook-sku-81803/

8gb ram, 750gb HD, AMD quad core thingie....... all too much...:-?

OK,,, with a small haggle, got it for 729.00. Bought some anti-virus and a Telstra dongle thing for internet connection.

Sales guy seemed to know what he was talking about and answered all my questions.:o

I need a 4 port USB switch hub now for home accessories.

Set the laptop up and waiting on Telstra to activate the connection.

I will attempt to transfer documents etc over to new machine over the weekend..... good luck, I hear you say... and I'll need it.8-)

WHY ? well, my old word processing system / software is Office.org generic Microsoft Office, so hopefully it will transfer to new set up ( genuine Microsoft office ) OK. ????

With me new mega RAM I also should be able to use Pinnicle for my video stuff as well.

Thanks guys..........

cheers Phill

28-09-2012, 03:40 PM
Dell is what we use at work. Buy online, get delivered. Have a problem they come to you to fix it. So far we have had no failures. If you ring them you can haggle on price. Our main client also uses Dell, and they have thousands of them.

As for OS, win7 is by far the best OS on the market at the moment, its more stable than any of the others with far less problems. The only issue is that you may not be able to run a few older apps, but if you buy win7 professional, you can actually run a full blow copy of win xp under win 7.

Win XP does not have SATA drivers for install, hence can not get access to the hard drives for the installation if you run a SATA only motherboard, which most are these days. There is only two ways around this problem. Set your bios to run your SATA ports as IDE and run at less than half the speed capability of your machine or 2......strip your Win XP install disk to the hard drive, add the SATA drivers as a bootload item, then burn a new disk, then install your new copy to the hard drive using SATA.

I loaded Win XP last night to get my cad programs operable for this weekend and running at IDE speeds instead of SATA is woefully slow. Next week I will strip the XP to do it properly.

28-09-2012, 06:16 PM
Win XP does not have SATA drivers for install, hence can not get access to the hard drives for the installation if you run a SATA only motherboard, which most are these days. There is only two ways around this problem. Set your bios to run your SATA ports as IDE and run at less than half the speed capability of your machine or 2......strip your Win XP install disk to the hard drive, add the SATA drivers as a bootload item, then burn a new disk, then install your new copy to the hard drive using SATA.

I loaded Win XP last night to get my cad programs operable for this weekend and running at IDE speeds instead of SATA is woefully slow. Next week I will strip the XP to do it properly.

If you are responding to the part of my post where I said you can run xp under win 7, its virtualised, so SATA or any other drive architecture is irrelevant.

29-09-2012, 05:59 AM
Does Casio still make computers?

29-09-2012, 06:51 AM
Does Casio still make computers?

Kinda, they make the ones that you local shop uses to work out how much change they should give you!!

29-09-2012, 06:55 AM
I bought a lap top..with Win7..it is fast however useless for me at the moment..I now have to spend just under 2k to get the new version of ACAD to run on Win7..bloody software mobs do this just to make people buy the latest versions.

It is a HP Phill and runs well.

WalrusLike
29-09-2012, 07:39 AM
Pinhead you might instead get away with a 'Virtual Machine' which runs in win7 but pretends to be a xp machine so you old software works in it.

Also try looking at your program properties and try the option to run as XP.

That's all from my dodgy old memory so I can't give better details, but you could google 'VMWare' and also try 'win 7 run as Xp' and that should start you on a cheaper track.

29-09-2012, 12:16 PM
OK............

Some issues sorted BUT

HOW DO I GET A PICTURE AS A BACKGROUND / WALLPAPER ?

Now, before you answer, I have done the Properties / personalize and nudda !

I have even right clicked on a picture and found " set as background "... nudda !

Windows 7.......... ???????????

anyone KNOW how to do this ????

LP

lucee81
29-09-2012, 01:03 PM
Now had you got an asus you wouldn't be having these dramas. :)
I'm sure it's actually under settings try themes and background. but I'm not sure why the right click option is not working. Did you have the mouse over the picture when you attempted it.

29-09-2012, 01:20 PM
No.
yes tried.
OK
No idea
Yes..........

LP

lucee81
29-09-2012, 01:28 PM
Have you tried a different photo. ie. go onto google images and right click straight from the net.

lucee81
29-09-2012, 01:30 PM
Here try this
http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_7-desktop/unable-to-change-my-desktop-background-windows-7/b7c346c1-ee02-406a-970e-ed5e1d40b955

MudRiverDan
29-09-2012, 03:19 PM
Keep your old computer and move your stuff over a bit at a time.

Apple Laptops are good, I don't have one but my close friend does, seems to do the job without problems.

Get a Keyboard and monitor for home and hook it up like a desktop when not in transit.

No idea about the others though they don't like being dropped at any time.
I used a few in work environments and Dells are OK but the Apple laptop is a nice unit.

OR

Buy an Ipad instead, it will probably suit all of your ''on the go'' requirements and you will look ahead of the times.

I would not be transferring all my large amounts of data to a laptop, too risky, they break very easily.

Spin
29-09-2012, 07:16 PM
First make sure your pictures are in a folder in like in My documents or ?
then go to start, see the box at the bottom, search programs and files, type in wall or desktop ?
and an option will come up change desktop background.
Go to browse and My documents find the folder pics are in and select pic and save changes.
The easiest way to do anything with windows7 is type it in the box
if you are a new user of 7.

29-09-2012, 07:32 PM
First make sure your pictures are in a folder in like in My documents or ?
then go to start, see the box at the bottom, search programs and files, type in wall or desktop ?
and an option will come up change desktop background.
Go to browse and My documents find the folder pics are in and select pic and save changes.
The easiest way to do anything with windows7 is type it in the box
if you are a new user of 7.

Did all that, nudda !!!!!!!!!!!!

Spin
29-09-2012, 07:34 PM
Now im going to go restart this computer back to the XP Hdd
Don't like win 7
Yes this computer has 2 Hdds

Spin
29-09-2012, 07:41 PM
Win 7 Home Premium ok

Spin
29-09-2012, 08:43 PM
Go to run type or copy and paste %USERPROFILE%\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Th emes

Make sure there are no spaces at either end of it. Themes and delete it, that desktop pic

Spin
29-09-2012, 09:19 PM
%USERPROFILE%\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Th emes

no spaces (TH emes)
Crazy thing wont show with no space twice lol

Gon Fishun
29-09-2012, 09:51 PM
%USERPROFILE%\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Th emes

no spaces (TH emes)
Crazy thing wont show with no space twice lol

Must be a MAC.:-X:P:-?

WalrusLike
29-09-2012, 10:44 PM
HOW DO I GET A PICTURE AS A BACKGROUND / WALLPAPER ?

Now, before you answer, I have done the Properties / personalize and nudda !.....

Phil if you look in your system event log it will probably have the standard windows message:

"That image is physiologically unlikely, and is not suitable for use on the desktop."

:)

29-09-2012, 11:56 PM
All I can say is lol!!

Do you need a hand phill? I can drop over. I got some stuff here for Steve, save me having to post it, nail two birds with one stone. Has to include a motorcycle ride though!!

29-09-2012, 11:57 PM
Must be a MAC.:-X:P:-?

Nah, of its a mac and you ask for help, you just get called an idiot and told you dont deserve to own a mac!

30-09-2012, 09:41 AM
Print the picture and sticky tape Phill??

30-09-2012, 10:26 AM
To change your desktop picture in Win7 click Start > Control Panel > Appearance and Personalisation > Personalisation > Desktop Background
Actually is is 3 clicks to get to the option to change the picture after that it depends on where your picture is stored.
Plus you can link several pictures as the desktop image and they will cycle thru at a set speed.

Win7 isn't a bad OS but it is certainly different to XP in many ways and often times incompatible with older programs even when running is XP mode. XP mode is a pretty basic form of XP parameters that will basically get them going, doesn't mean it will be truly stable as a 32bit program running on 64bit architecture.

honda900
30-09-2012, 11:20 AM
Right click, select personalise.
At the bottom of the window you will see desktop background.
Select Desktop background.
Select the image you want, (or browse to your pictures location) select save changes (bottom right).

Honda.

lucee81
30-09-2012, 11:31 AM
Just trade it all in for a Commodore 64.
Hours of fun.

30-09-2012, 12:46 PM
Right click, select personalise.
At the bottom of the window you will see desktop background.
Select Desktop background.
Select the image you want, (or browse to your pictures location) select save changes (bottom right).

Honda.

NO..... tried it several times.... will not do it.

lucee81
30-09-2012, 02:32 PM
Did you read the link i posted?

30-09-2012, 04:03 PM
Yes, I read I read it , Thanks.

I still have install a lot of software first before I worry about the " little bits ". But I thought it was simple to set a background pic...... how wrong was I. ????

cheers LP

01-10-2012, 07:59 AM
Hey Phill....do you have to log on as an administrator to change settings like screensavers, desktops and the like??

lucee81
01-10-2012, 10:18 AM
Shouldn't have to straight out of the box as separate users aren't generally setup until someone does it.

01-10-2012, 07:18 PM
Did you read the link i posted?

I'll get to the link soon. Just about have all software uploaded.

had many people physically try to place pic on background... all nudda !8-)

Now trying to get my head around new excel, why they would change something that wasn't broken, is beyond me !!!!!!! :-? >:( >:(

AND my 4G super speed dongle wireless thingie is as slow as my dial -up from 1984 or whenever..... I am not in Brisvegas, BTW.::)

LP

lucee81
01-10-2012, 07:37 PM
Oooh does it have the awesome dial tone???
They changed excel just to annoy you.

02-10-2012, 06:40 AM
AND my 4G super speed dongle wireless thingie is as slow as my dial -up from 1984 or whenever..... I am not in Brisvegas, BTW.::)

LP
Our 4G super speed dongle is slower then the dial up was when we ARE in Brisbane.
I can go and make cuppa number 57 whilst waiting for a page from here to load up. And that's only if I hang it out the window of the 3rd bedroom and hang it off the second bottom branch (on the left) of the Frangipani tree.

We have to go bush to get any speed at all.

lucee81
02-10-2012, 07:02 AM
Have you thought about taking back to where you purchased the computer because it may also be a fault with windows.
You could put cotton balls in your mouth and have a quite word with the salesman after he declines to fix it you could then leave a horses head in his bed.
Say what you will but it gets shit done.
But seriously I would take it back and get them to fix the issue windows is having before your warranty is out and who knows what else is playing up.

02-10-2012, 07:47 AM
Telstra is a joke in Brisbane now. Remember the whole vodafail thing, well now everyone has migrated to telstra and they dont have the capacity. I just logged a complain with the ombudsman because telstra would not cancel our contracts on the unusable 3g modems. Been complaining for over 12 months now with no result, finally pulled the pin. Dont see why I should have to pay for something I cant use.

lucee81
02-10-2012, 08:22 AM
Telstra is a joke in Brisbane now. Remember the whole vodafail thing, well now everyone has migrated to telstra and they dont have the capacity. I just logged a complain with the ombudsman because telstra would not cancel our contracts on the unusable 3g modems. Been complaining for over 12 months now with no result, finally pulled the pin. Dont see why I should have to pay for something I cant use.

Australian phone companies as a whole is a joke.
Optus isn't any better. And vodafail are at least trying to be better in the cities with their new 850 network they brought out, but too little too late for me.

04-10-2012, 11:12 PM
aarrgghhhh

Got my 4G usb thing. *&^%$##@ hopeless.

Slower than a retarded dial up.

Checked usage............. only done 373KB but I am " slowed ".. ? why.. No idea.. have a 1GB plan.

Telstra Business Centre refused to assist, told me to got to where I bought the laptop, unfortunatley, I am in Rocky and bought machine in Logan.

JB HI fi in Rocky could not help.

I was able to load AF in 6 seconds,, facebook in 20 seconds,,,, it would NOT load any optus site at all, : unsecured site" etc messages...

I am calling telstra tomorrow to cancel plan.

Optus offering same $'s and 9GB more......

Dell puter working OK... el cheapo wireless mouse....... KRAP !!!!

LP

lucee81
05-10-2012, 05:38 AM
Phill do you have an iPhone?

05-10-2012, 07:40 AM
I just got a call back from telstra yesterday. After complaining to the ombudsman telstra have decided to cancel our contracts and refund all money spend from November last year when I started complaining about the problem. That was for 4 USB modems.

Still, does not help, we still have no internet access for our business laptops. Currently we are tethering to the phone when we need to send email, but still have the same problem.

05-10-2012, 09:36 AM
Phill do you have an iPhone?

No, have a nokia E51 which I am extremely happy with.

I cancelled my telstra plan this morning, which I can say, the only time I have recieved " service " from Telstra, was when I rang this morning, answered in 30 seconds, no id required ????? plan cancelled, all over in 3 minutes.... Why can't they provide THAT service when you actually NEED them ?????

I'll get an Optus connection this arvo.

Currently buldging off free in-house connection from accom .

LP

05-10-2012, 09:46 AM
Hey Phill.....have you noticed the idiotnet worked before 8am?
I can near tell the time at Loganholme with the speed of the idiotnet. It slows considerably after 6am and once 8am is there there is no idiotnet.
Friday arvo.....no idiotnet.....full-stop.

Thank goodness for the NBC.

lucee81
05-10-2012, 11:11 AM
Why don't you hotspot the e51 to your laptop and up the data usage for $15 a gig with Telstra 3G not 4g. Easy to do and can come around and show you.

07-10-2012, 06:23 PM
no idea what a " hotspot " is......... ?

Gone completely away from Telstra, end of story.

Now, I need another issue sorted.

My Nokia E51 gives me an error " memory full, close some applications " Now, no idea what an app is on this phone. And even when I try to change the time ( as it is now set to daylight saving time ), the same error comes up.

Appartently, it is a fault with the phone and by saving data and re-setting phone ( punch in *#7370# ) it will fix the issue, well guess what... punched in *#7370# and it wants a " lock code ". ???????????????????? Where, how, who what ?????

I love technology............. NOT !

LP

honda900
08-10-2012, 09:57 PM

Gone completely away from Telstra, end of story.

Now, I need another issue sorted.

My Nokia E51 gives me an error " memory full, close some applications " Now, no idea what an app is on this phone. And even when I try to change the time ( as it is now set to daylight saving time ), the same error comes up.

Appartently, it is a fault with the phone and by saving data and re-setting phone ( punch in *#7370# ) it will fix the issue, well guess what... punched in *#7370# and it wants a " lock code ". ???????????????????? Where, how, who what ?????

LP

Honda.

09-10-2012, 06:07 AM
Thanks Chris.

Default done. ( Nokia )

Now I just need to get rid of icons etc on the screen. working on it.

cheers Phill

ps.... first lock code I tried was triple 0.......... :) :)

lucee81
09-10-2012, 06:18 AM
Hot spot is running your laptop Internet from your phone.
I pay $15 a gig of my phone instead of $45 a gig from one of them dongles. I believe the e51 can do it and it saves a heap of coin. I pay an extra $30 a month on my contract for a extra 4 gig a month some deal they have. I now have a total of 6 gig and don't have to worry about dongles etc. plus if your phone is only 3G the. You only get the fast 3G reception.

Gazza
11-10-2012, 04:09 PM

LPJust be careful Phill when unplugging USBs ,especially the 3.0's ;D

Could cause fart-attack or VHV (VeryHighVoltage) tingling sensations :-*