View Full Version : Ok guys - what is your new "I want" at the moment ??
I am desperate for some ideas to buy the husband for his upcoming birthday. Huge fisherman, has a boat, has enough rods, reels & tackle you could possibly want but I know that its never enough for a fisherman lol ! As an example, he just bought a Daiwa Seagate reel 4500. He fishes for anything & everything in the 40's up to 200's.
No real budget - there will be a few people pooling money together as its a big birthday!
So what are some new products, rods, reels whatever, that your dying to get your hands on ??
WalrusLike
20-09-2012, 08:31 PM
Seen those underwater fish cam things? Might be an idea... I dunno what they are called or what they cost but I saw some great whale watching footage of one.
marto78
20-09-2012, 08:57 PM
For something a bit different but still fish related there is a guy up at the Eumundi markets that sells life size replicas of fish made out of sheet metal. This is one I was given a few years ago.
marto78
20-09-2012, 09:04 PM
Or get him a custom made rod with his name and something sentimental epoxied into it.
Daintreeboy
20-09-2012, 09:08 PM
Does he have a rod for that reel? It would fit a T curve deep jig 200 spin very nicely.
The idea above is a good one, there's some cracking builders on this forum that would do a great one up for you (not including me!).
20-09-2012, 09:32 PM
What is the charter he has always dreamed of? There are just some amazing trips avaliable depending on if he is in it for sport or food and combine it with Lord Howe island , fly fishing snowies , new zealand ,etc etc. Holiday and fishing - nothing better.
Bit lame and "dieing to get hands on" but a Satelite phone so he is never out of nagging range ( hope you have a sense of humour) but a great safety item and make sure he has a GPS PLB so ya don't lose him. .
His dream sounder / plotter.
I wish someone would give me a fuelcard.
Sheik
20-09-2012, 11:23 PM
Socks?......
21-09-2012, 04:37 AM
If he is a huge fisherman may I suggest Jenny craig vouchers
21-09-2012, 06:47 AM
Is there any special fishing moment that brings back a lot of memories...... that has a photo??
I know this clown who puts pictures into timber
From this to this to this
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/attachment.php?attachmentid=63920&stc=1&thumb=1&d=1293065672http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/attachment.php?attachmentid=63921&stc=1&thumb=1&d=1293065672http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/attachment.php?attachmentid=63922&stc=1&thumb=1&d=1293065672
But time is the major problem. He cannot be rushed or have any time restraints. About 6 months is the norm
WalrusLike
21-09-2012, 06:50 AM
The other idea I had was Bill Cortens bar crossing course. Everyone that has done it raves about it. I would love to do it myself (hint, hint). :)
Apparently you learn heaps then get out on the bar and do lots of crossings that are actually a lot of fun.
brock13
21-09-2012, 06:54 AM
Minn kota i pilot
TREVELLY
21-09-2012, 07:00 AM
Next three items - boat seat suspension; electric reel (yes I am soft in 400m + water); 1kw transducer
Don't tell the missus!!
Daintreeboy
21-09-2012, 07:01 AM
Is there any special fishing moment that brings back a lot of memories...... that has a photo??
I know this clown who puts pictures into timber
From this to this to this
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/attachment.php?attachmentid=63920&stc=1&thumb=1&d=1293065672http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/attachment.php?attachmentid=63921&stc=1&thumb=1&d=1293065672http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/attachment.php?attachmentid=63922&stc=1&thumb=1&d=1293065672
But time is the major problem. He cannot be rushed or have any time restraints. About 6 months is the norm
Finga that's fantastic!
Can you give me the details please? I might look into that myself.
21-09-2012, 07:49 AM
Finga that's fantastic!
Can you give me the details please? I might look into that myself.
Talk to me. I'm the world exclusive booking agent for the tosser.
But be warned. Time can never be a consideration.
A few people here have had a picture done and the duffus is working on putting a picture into a rod butt for Owen.
Daintreeboy
21-09-2012, 08:04 AM
Rights mate when I fly back into town I'll drop you a line.
21-09-2012, 08:31 AM
I want a simple life - A chance to share fishing with work ---> 50/50
Micadogs
21-09-2012, 12:58 PM
I would a Go Pro camera for the boat. Some excellent shots and video's on this site from them.
Cheers Adam
gruntahunta
21-09-2012, 01:00 PM
I really want a Job at the sunshine Coast....any one help?
21-09-2012, 03:15 PM
What about a weekend away for hubby with the Breaka Girls?
Mrs Ronnie H
21-09-2012, 06:04 PM
I'm with you-- really want a job
Ronnie
21-09-2012, 07:03 PM
I would perhaps suggest a position as a gigolo..but knowing you..sorry mate..unlike myself you were not blessed with boyish good looks and a chiselled physique.
back to the fishing..just let him have a week to go fishing.
21-09-2012, 07:13 PM
I would perhaps suggest a position as a gigolo..but knowing you..sorry mate..unlike myself you were not blessed with boyish good looks and a chiselled physique.
It's a bit of a pity the chisel is upside down.
outta line
21-09-2012, 08:03 PM
the old snapper bag limits back..........
Boat Hog
22-09-2012, 07:03 AM
Does he do much trolling? Outrigger rods if he hasn't got them would be nice (if the boat and the budget is big enough to support them) or outrigger rod holders?
I would a Go Pro camera for the boat. Some excellent shots and video's on this site from them.
Cheers Adam
Thanks Adam - actually I think this is a great idea, hes right into taking videos but only on his iphone and they are not to flash.
Anyone could tell me which one is best for boating - Outdoor, Surf or Motorsports version?
Next three items - boat seat suspension; electric reel (yes I am soft in 400m + water); 1kw transducer
Don't tell the missus!!
Thanks Trevelly - hes just picked up a 1kw transducer & already has 2 electric reels (cause apparently you need 2..??!!) ...but the Boat seat suspension is a great idea, will look into that one as well :)
outta line
22-09-2012, 02:58 PM
dont know how big his boat is.... or if its on a trailer....or drives on/off the trailer ? .. but i have one of these L@R latches for my 6m glass boat and they are worth every cent and takes all the fun out of launching and retrieving...as i do a lot of solo fishing i wouldn't own another trailer boat without one... there are a few different latches on the market but these ones are the best IMO....http://boatlatch.com/
mick
ps still want the old snapper bag limits back..lol..
Dicktracey
22-09-2012, 03:43 PM
Someone has to say it for him, do you have a close friend, some lingerie and a couple of feather pillows ? ;)
Dicktracey
22-09-2012, 03:45 PM
+1 on the L&R boat latch they are great, not as good as a pillow fight but they are great ;)
Gon Fishun
22-09-2012, 05:00 PM
I want a bigger boat.
I want a bigger tow vehicle.
I want a bigger bank balance.
I want a bigger house.
An I'm gonna put im in da river next door to Pinhead.;D:o Are you serious :-X;)
wayno60
22-09-2012, 05:52 PM
BE7B The go pros are all the same its just how their mounted is different. the surf has a big suction cap with a velcro pad so it can be fixed to a surf board. The motor sport one, the one i went for, has a heap of fittings so you can bolt it into any little spot on a car or bike, it also has the suction cap mount and some small pad for on a helmet, motor bike or BMX.
The new version has a few more features than the old model..... great cams.
MudRiverDan
22-09-2012, 05:57 PM
Buy him an Stella 10000, he will be stoked.
dont know how big his boat is.... or if its on a trailer....or drives on/off the trailer ? .. but i have one of these L@R latches for my 6m glass boat and they are worth every cent and takes all the fun out of launching and retrieving...as i do a lot of solo fishing i wouldn't own another trailer boat without one... there are a few different latches on the market but these ones are the best IMO....http://boatlatch.com/
mick
ps still want the old snapper bag limits back..lol..
His boat is 27ft - he has a winch on it. So would you still need the boatlatch system as well ?
Someone has to say it for him, do you have a close friend, some lingerie and a couple of feather pillows ? ;)
Ohh really that happens all the time in our house, doesnt it happen at yours?? !! LOLOLOL !!!
BE7B The go pros are all the same its just how their mounted is different. the surf has a big suction cap with a velcro pad so it can be fixed to a surf board. The motor sport one, the one i went for, has a heap of fittings so you can bolt it into any little spot on a car or bike, it also has the suction cap mount and some small pad for on a helmet, motor bike or BMX.
The new version has a few more features than the old model..... great cams.
Thank you - I am really liking this idea! And a great pressie that his mates can all put in for.
outta line
22-09-2012, 07:22 PM
His boat is 27ft - he has a winch on it. So would you still need the boatlatch system as well ?
Yes, it sits below the winch on the winch post, and it is spring-loaded, designed so that you release your winch down onto the latch, then you can get in your boat, drive forward onto the latch, which will take the pressure off the boat, then you roll off the trailer. Retrieval is just the opposite - drive up and nudge the winch post and it automatically catches the boat. Then you use the winch to winch up the last little bit by hand. And at 27 foot, it would definitely be drive on/off the trailer..
23-09-2012, 05:03 PM
Ohh really that happens all the time in our house, doesnt it happen at yours?? !! LOLOLOL !!!
your hubby wears lingerie and uses feather pillows? OK...to each their own.
I reckon he will be happy with whatever you get him...if not send it to my place..I won't complain.
pipifin
24-09-2012, 05:57 PM
I'm with you-- really want a job
Ronnie
Got one available....... only award rates..... now lets see who is keen.
pipifin
24-09-2012, 05:59 PM
1st option goes to the biggest boat.