View Full Version : Brunswick Heads
aussienative
12-09-2012, 04:39 PM
Hi Guys,
I'm heading down to Brunswick heads from 22nd Sept for a week with the family and have never fished in NSW before.
I've printed off a map outlining the protected zones in the area and also the fish size regulations.
Can anyone help me with what's likely on the chew down there at the moment, likely spots, techniques etc. Be as specific or General as you like ;)
Not taking the boat down, but i might pinch one of kids kayaks! :D
Would love to nail my first Jack, Jew, Salmon or Luderick before i turn 30 on the 23rd! :beer: :beer: :beer:
Any help/info would be much appreciated.
Brendan
Caught the biggest bream I've ever seen under the bridge at the caravan park.
Next day I could see them sitting there and dangle a prawn on their nose with no effect.
Worth a chuck off the rock wall too.
wayno60
12-09-2012, 08:18 PM
you do a serch on brunswick heads you'll fine my last report for down there but ill do it again.
first up you need to find where the spur wall is......hang on...84105..there ya go. Your after a run it tide with a high about 10 or 11pm.. you'll need live herring or fresh slabs of mullet. Anchor on the yellow circle and throw towards the end of the spur wall, i mean right at the end of the wall..you want your bait to be in the dark blue section of the water around the end of the wall. Jacks and big bream.
Runout tide same deal....84104. anchor in the yellow circle and throw towards the end of the two marina walls.... night time, jacks.
You'll get big flatties off the memorial wall, east of the caravan park, herring, mullet, green med prawns.
Tailor off the front wall. pillies. but you'll do better over at seagull rocks which is the north wall. To get there you have to go over to Ocean Shores and walk back along the beach..when you get there fish at 45deg (NE) of the end of the wall.
i think that will keep you busy for a while....
aussienative
12-09-2012, 09:41 PM
Wayno, you wouldn't believe it...i was just about to pm you and ask for tips and thought i better check here first.
Thats some great info mate, cheers for that.
Unfortunately i won't have my boat with me this trip, how would i go landing a jack or big bream from these spots landbased, i'm guessing standing on the rock i'm trying to keep them out of will end in tears?
Thanks again.
wayno60
12-09-2012, 09:59 PM
many many years ago fishing off the wall that runs from the caravan park, that was first time id ever seen a MJ. Sitting there for a while and this old bloke from the caravan park strolls down one arvo with his beach rod.....I thought is he fair dinkum.... any way we got chattin and he said yer im after Mangrove jacks as he pelts out a poddy mullet diagonally across the chanell to the base of the spur wall.
Just on dusk he hooks into one, then i found out what the beach rod was for. He got down on a rock as close to the water as he could get and held the rod straight out which kept the jack from heading for the rocks that we were fishing off.
just like everywhere put in the hours and you'll get rewarded.
aussienative
12-09-2012, 10:51 PM
That's what i was thinking, either sling the bait across from an adjacent wall or a long tough rod fishing at your feet.
I've been waiting months to put in the hours at Brunswick, looks and sounds like a great spot, can't wait.
Cheers again.
aussienative
12-09-2012, 10:54 PM
Caught the biggest bream I've ever seen under the bridge at the caravan park.
Next day I could see them sitting there and dangle a prawn on their nose with no effect.
Worth a chuck off the rock wall too.
I'm staying at the ferry reserve next to the bridge so i'll definately have a flick around there.
Cheers mate.
Fish_Two
13-09-2012, 08:39 PM
You will catch plenty of fish right of the wall along the front of the ferry,
I think you will struggle to get a MJ at this tie of year,, I would try for a flathead or two
Sept holidays gets pretty busy,
bondy99
13-09-2012, 10:51 PM
G'day Wayno,
This might be a silly question but would there be any tailor around the northern wall about this time of year and what wind would be ideal? Some person suggested I fish from the northern wall without using lead.
Bondy
wayno60
13-09-2012, 11:30 PM
anywhere from a westerly to a sou easter. Never tried without a sinker but with the wind behind you, you might get it out far enough. Even if you use a sml ball sinker just to give you a bit of weight. Just thinking fish the run out, throw into the mouth and let it wash around the corner....i know some have been geting into them this season but i think its been pretty quiet. Its always worth a try.
aussienative
14-09-2012, 11:38 AM
You will catch plenty of fish right of the wall along the front of the ferry,
I think you will struggle to get a MJ at this tie of year,, I would try for a flathead or two
Sept holidays gets pretty busy,
Good to hear, looking forward to kicking back with a beer close to where we're staying.
I jumped on google earth and it looks like there are some oyster racks across the river from the ferry that i might be able to get too as well.
bondy99
15-09-2012, 12:23 AM
anywhere from a westerly to a sou easter. Never tried without a sinker but with the wind behind you, you might get it out far enough. Even if you use a sml ball sinker just to give you a bit of weight. Just thinking fish the run out, throw into the mouth and let it wash around the corner....i know some have been geting into them this season but i think its been pretty quiet. Its always worth a try.
Thanks for the tip. Could be a bit late in the season now but will give it a try anyway and see what happens. Not sure about going on that wall at night though.
Cheers, Bondy
Fish_Two
16-09-2012, 08:38 PM
Yeah mate, Just cross the bridge , or go for a walk south of the park , you will be able to walk out to the sandbanks around the island on low tide,
Glen
banshee
16-09-2012, 10:19 PM
I'm prety sure (but will stand corrected) that the northern arm,between the spur wall at the top right of the pic and the one opposite just out of frame is a marine sanctuary and is closed permanently to all forms of fishing.
bondy99
16-09-2012, 10:35 PM
Aye banshee,
I've never seen any signage saying no fishing in that area the last time I was there, that was 3 years ago.
The only sign I seen on the Southwall said break glass and throw lifering if someone is in water.
Bondy
Da-Jew-Man
17-09-2012, 05:50 AM
Banshee is spot on. The marine park extends in Marshalls Ck all the way back to the New Brighton trading post. Check map of Byron Marine Park.
No problems fishing on Spur wall, North wall or beach though.
Don't forget fishing license.
MudRiverDan
17-09-2012, 09:59 AM
G'day Wayno,
This might be a silly question but would there be any tailor around the northern wall about this time of year and what wind would be ideal? Some person suggested I fish from the northern wall without using lead.
Bondy
Lucky to lose a bait.
wayno60
17-09-2012, 10:18 AM
Theres a sign on the spur wall and also one on the island saying no fishing from this point onwards.
bondy99
17-09-2012, 11:42 AM
Well there you go, things have changed since I've been there last. I'll give north wall the flick and head further south.
Marine Park Zones, getting to the stage where a person cant scratch their nuts due to signs ;D
Thanks Wayno and MudRiverDan
Bondy
banshee
17-09-2012, 05:31 PM
Mate prety sure the North wall and beach is good to fish,It's only the north arm of the river that's a sanctuary.
bondy99
17-09-2012, 11:16 PM
G'day banshee
I'm giving rock walls a miss landbased, too many times lost too much gear over the years, I'll stick to beach , rock platform that's low in the water or from a boat
aussienative
20-09-2012, 11:25 PM
Does anyone know where the closest 4WD beach access is? Looks like it might be seven mile beach?
JEWIENEWIE
26-09-2012, 12:56 PM
You can get on the beach at Lennox head. Take the road on the inland side of lake Ainsworth and that will take you to the beach acess to seven mile beach. Permit required and is enforced. Can get a permit from the caltex servo on the way in to Lennox. I am pretty sure you can also acess the beach up near wooyong which is north of bruns but i never have to be honest but permit required for there as well.
Jewie
chisel
26-09-2012, 03:03 PM
I am pretty sure you can also acess the beach up near wooyong which is north of bruns but i never have to be honest but permit required for there as well.
Jewie
I don't think you can buy a permit for Wooyung. Only a handful of permits exist (afaik). Happy to be corrected.
JEWIENEWIE
27-09-2012, 01:05 PM
Thanks for that chisel. Was looking at going for a drive up there this weekend as i have lived in the area for years and have never driven on the bech up there. Was going to go for a run but wont bother now. Thought you would be able to just get a permit from some where and go. Will head back down to seven mile instead. Not a bad back up plan.
Jewie