View Full Version : Warning!!!!!!

Muddy Toes
17-08-2012, 11:19 AM
WARNING.....The following thread does not contain material that relates to Campbell Newman, government job cuts or anything political what so ever.I don't know how much my boat weighs on the trailer be it on the car or off.The photos contained within are not from a previous trip, we did catch a pearl perch but I couldn't find a school that was 30m thick and we went with a fiberglass and a plate boat and none of the occupants of either boat came home with a broken back.

With the weather looking good for a few days the call was made to head up to 1770 as a bit of a precursor to the M&G.Tangles was already on holidays up at 1770 so myself and Fishfeeder left Brisbane at 9:30pm Tuesday night and hit the road to meet 2IC, Tropicrows and BurleyGU at Gympie.A pretty uneventful drive up got us to Agnes at 5:30 in the morning to grab some fuel, ice and our third crew member Tangles.

Heaps of livies on the bait grounds so the tanks were stuffed and we headed to Lady Musgrave.Fished the shallows on the southern end of the reef for a couple of fish before we headed North up towards Fitzroy following the 65-80metre line marking some good country and having a few drifts over each new spot.Heaps of activity on the sounder but we found it hard to get the fish to bite so throughout the day they were coming over the side in dribs and drabs but we did manage to marks some nice features on the bottom which we will be fishing in a couple of weeks time as this was kind of the aim for this trip....a bit of ground work before the big one in September.
The end of the first day saw both boats up around One Tree Island where we anchored up in 65m of water for the night while Team Beeracuda went in closer to Fitzroy for the night.With big tides during the night the current was absolutely raging making it very hard to keep a pound of lead on the bottom so after pulling a couple of Aj's aboard, a nice hot feed and a bit of comical banter on the radio we decided to grab a few hours of shut eye.The wind picked up during the night which made it very uncomfortable to sleep amongst the white caps (actually....one of us didn't seem to struggle on the sleep department) so a bit red eyed and tired we rose at 3:30 on Wednesday morning for a quick cup of coffee and a feed which allowed us to start fishing just before sun up while Team Beeracuda were still tucked up all nice and warm in their fart sacks.::)
We fished some good ground N, NE or Fitzroy for a bit more success than the first day and as it always is when the fishing is starting to hot up time went really quick and before we knew it the clock was as noon and it was time to start making our way back in.We fished some ground around the shallows near Fitzroy on the way in for bits and pieces before I just threw all the bait overboard to signal the end of fishing and the start of our trip home.:P
Getting back to the ramp unassisted for the second time in a row we packed up the two boats while a couple of the more mature lads went back to Tangles's place for a steamy shower and we hit the road for home about 4:00pm.We went home via Bundy as the amount of road works coming up going the Mirriam Vale was ridiculous not to mention the pot holes and for all that's coming from down south to the M&G I'd recommend going the Bundy way.
Overall it was hard fishing seeing them all on the sounder but the fish not wanting to play the game but we did manage to put a feed together so it wasn't a complete loss.We had a couple of whales play around the boat on the second day which was kind of cool/scary:'( as they swam under the boat and started to do laps around us for a while, they weren't those freakin' huge ones they were more like smaller Japanese bite size ones but when you can see them under the boat and they start circling the boat braking the surface and doing that blow hole thing it is pretty special but it was just a tad too close for me.
A big thanks to Team Beeracuda for their company and non stop laughs on the radio and thanks to Fishfeeder and Tangles for the great couple of days.

-230km traveled for a fuel burn of 285L
-Popped Brett's red cherry :P
-Tangles PB trout
-About 50 billion bust offs on 80LB gear
-And a bit of a secret...trout seem to like Pink Floyd:-X
Overall a good trip with some great blokes......what more can you ask for Cobiaman and Lucee81?

Once again I must apologise for the way Fishfeeder has laid the fish out for the photo..gee your a lazy bugger.:o

The photo of Tangles was meant to be one of those 'hooked up big time on the Barrier Reef ' photos but by the time I took the photo he already got busted but I did manage to snap the ' You wouldn't F^%$&*G believe it !!' nearly in tears shot....a much more amusing photo if I do say so myself.:-*

Mossy247
17-08-2012, 11:28 AM
Awesome days fishing there and cheers for the thread, I truly am over the political BS.
Great pics and sounds like some great times with some good blokes.

WalrusLike
17-08-2012, 11:37 AM
Thanks Muddy good read.

thelump
17-08-2012, 11:40 AM
Well done MT some good Maories and trout among others there mate. Sounds like a great trip.

Captain Seaweed
17-08-2012, 11:42 AM
Good read Ant wish I was there, I received a call from the lads on Bills boat and it made me extremely jealous. Great work fellas cant wit to catch up with you all at some stage.

Marty

cobiaman
17-08-2012, 11:52 AM
Good on you fellas, i will certainly be there next trip!

fishfeeder
17-08-2012, 12:16 PM
Thanks again for another great trip north and your a funny bugger !!

That stack of fish took me ages to arrange with just enough colour to excite most reef fishers, but not enough to be outright disrespectful to others who had to work...

"Tangles you have to be Fu@king joking" photo just doesn't show the disappointment enough... I think that was about his 5th big miss during the outing, but I did think it was the funniest !!

Other memorable happenings was Muddy sitting on the esky with his rod bent over at 90 degrees and only being able to gain 1/4 a turn of the handle at a time. The look on his face and grunts and groans I thought he was giving birth to twins.... All the time I was reminding him that his knots looked a little rough and I hoped they would hold up as it would suck to lose a great fish to a bad knot !!!! after about 25min of many laughs mainly coming from my direction a rather stuffed shark popped to the surface beside the boat.... Any way I hope Tangles video comes out great so others can see the comedy in it.. LOL

The fishing was very hit and miss with a lot of searching and drops between fish going in the esky, we did have one 3 way hookup with gaffs and nets being requested... So a bit of a reminder to others heading up to the M&G to take LOTS OF BAIT as your going to need it as we went through heaps of Mullet, Squid, Pillies, Livies, Hussar and Iodine Bream to get our 2 esky's of fish. There were heaps of Livies on the bait grounds NE of the bar, so sharpen the hooks re-spool the reels guys as its looking like its going to be cracker of a weeks fishing (some 2 weeks)...

Cheers and Beers

hooknpull
17-08-2012, 12:30 PM
Tough luck with finding the 30km thick pearlies but a couple of eskies of good reef fish will substitute it. Top read! Thanks for the tease...

XtremeBoony
17-08-2012, 12:39 PM
Fantastic report guys and well done. Shame the fishing was tuff but u look like u did pretty well considering. According to Ausfish law I thought pre fishing the meet and greet was banned ::);D::) (only cause I wasn't there)

Cheers from boony

P.s not long now bitchezzzz ;D

netmaker
17-08-2012, 12:56 PM
good read and feed muddy. well done to you fellas. sounds like you had a great time.

lucee81
17-08-2012, 12:56 PM
Fancy getting on a fishing site and posting about fishing and not political jargon.
I'm appalled Anthony. I think you better get your priorities right in the future.
Good to see you now know your way back without VMR assistance.
Oh yeah you caught fish. That's new. :) :). Where do I pick up my bait for Monday?

tropicrows
17-08-2012, 01:15 PM
Yep, sure was a good trip with plenty of banter between the boats. Thanks to the guys on both boats for making that way, especially Bill & Tim. :)
I am proud to say I'm no longer a red virgin, having caught my first legal red at 58.9 cm ;D;D. Bill caught a couple of nice trout, Tim caught the most fish 99% being Hussar, we kept some to eat and some for bait but most were returned safely, and now Tim is known as the Hussar king ;);).
Muddy T took us to ones of Phill's secret spots, so secret even the fish don't know about it lol ::).
Not a big haul for the effort put in, we got smoked a few times and lost a bit of gear on some rugged ground. But we found some new ground to explore in a few weeks and that was the reason for going mainly. If we get weather like we just had it will be smiles all round, however next time we might anchor up for the night in the lagoon. Sleeping on the deck of a boat with the wind blowing and white caps all round was not a lot of fun.

tropicrows
17-08-2012, 01:17 PM
I forget to say, I consumed no sea sickness tables (i forgot them) but none were needed. The weather was that good.

Boat Hog
17-08-2012, 02:20 PM
Great write ups and pics guys! Tops stuff. :thumbsup:

Good on you Muddy for putting all that non fishing crap in its place from the start. :computer::whip:

So ... ahem, those new marks will be shared around at the cook off right?

hooknpull
17-08-2012, 02:27 PM
Hey Jim the footy show stole ur pic, they said it was Daryl broman in the look a likes last night..

Boat Hog
17-08-2012, 03:31 PM
Hey Jim the footy show stole ur pic, they said it was Daryl broman in the look a likes last night..

Bugger, shows what trying to be original and 'borrowing' a pic off the internet leads to. ;D;D

honda900
17-08-2012, 03:42 PM
thats some Nice work there boys..

HOnda

tropicrows
17-08-2012, 03:55 PM
I received a call from the lads on Bills boat and it made me extremely jealous.
Marty

That call was made from outside Fitzroy Reef, un bloody believable on Bills old brick mobile. All our new smart phones had no signal. And as for your comment Marty about me with one ear plug I was not using an earplug, but I wish I took some, trying to sleep in the boat with the chop banging on the sides was a waste of time.

madmackrel
17-08-2012, 04:08 PM
Awesome fellas and thanks for the invite, the least you can do to make up for it is to give me some marks lol. Tim whats the go with your hair cut mate it doesnt look any different. On a serious note good work, you blokes must be knackered, bring on the 14th september.
Cheers MM

17-08-2012, 04:40 PM
I reckon that photo of Tangles says it all.

He probably had a 15kg red on before he lost it. I guess we'll never know? :-?

And the reel!! Looks like it must have been a new purchase just for the event.

Apollo
17-08-2012, 05:15 PM
Love your work Anthony and the rest of your bastards. Look forward to spilling a beer with you all in a few weeks.

Funchy
17-08-2012, 05:35 PM
That right there is why I PAID to join this forum!! Fishing, fun, takin the piss of mates and just enjoying how you spent your time. Thanks MT, wish I was there but your report was the next best thing. :D :thumbsup:

17-08-2012, 07:33 PM
Im still up at Agnes so will post a video when i get back, Brett the footage and banter of Muddy and the shark is a classic!

Had an awesome couple of days out there, it doesnt get for any better, great company, banter, Muddy's tub is an absolute weapon, and great camaraderie with the lads on Beeracuda..we had to work hard for the fish and covered a lot of ground but got a good esky of some quality fish.

Muddy covered most of it but some highlights from me,

I did warn Ant and Brett i wasnt named Tangles for no reason, i did myself proud with a bloody bait jig just 15 mins into the trip.... pulled up some livies and then had one hook in a flanno,, try getting a bait jig out of a flano!.... Bretts saying theres bait down there, Muddy's dropping, so i got the scissors and cut it out, bugger, now the bloody hooks are in the trousers, cut those out, F@rk those bait jigs are back in the flano again,, cut those out... then finally when i drop down again some wise arse slimey decides to do crop circles with his mates so its re-rig...

Just love the banter with the boys...we where about to get some shuteye when Bill was on the radio geeing us up telling us Bruce was on a red, the fish where biting, and they had 5 in the box in the last 15 mins, yeah right... but on the 50/50 Bill wasnt winding us up we got inspired and despite the raging current Anthony and Brett hooked up to some big AJ's then the place shut down,

Muddy battle with the shark, absolute classic, to see a man go from fit and healthy to literally on his knees and a stalemate. Muddy was stuffed, the shark was stuffed...and mates being mates Brett and i could only give him the usual encouragment as mates do especially when a run takes 10 mins off Muddys hard work

I got monstered a couple of times, the first one was when we where having a social chat with the Beeracuda 30 yards away when i hooked up big time on the Venom jig stick on 85lb braid..i was copping the usual encouragement from the boys and i was close to flying out the boat, whatever it was it kept pulling drag..undergunned.

Next time was Muddys photo in the morning, reckon it was a big cod, it was going home to its hole, I got it off the bottom and then it decided to go home and i was toasted,,, the photo says it all....i wasnt that impressed.

later hooked up to a Red but it went dead set 1 mill to short, gave it a neck massage, a bit of chiro but 54.99...back it went for 3 weeks time.

So Muddy and Fishfeeder many thanks for a great trip and Anthony, an absolute pleasure and thanks for the invite and you couldnt ask for better company,

PS: having Trout tonight with a beer.

Goodoo haven
17-08-2012, 08:52 PM
Great read you fellows and great photos too. Well done and thanks for sharing.

WalrusLike
18-08-2012, 06:47 AM
Good on yer Tangles. As good a read as Muddys. Thanks fellas.

Shawn 66
18-08-2012, 07:06 AM
Love the disclaimer at the beginning Muddy .
Shawn

2IC
18-08-2012, 07:24 AM
well it was a great trip I have not been to 1770 for about 10 years so it was all about looking at my old marks & checking out new ones & just exploring new ground
worst part of the trip up was looking at the arse end of Anthonys boat for 6 hours:( & the bloody road works:( At the 1770 servo saw gary [ spanard king ] for a chat they were heading out to the northern grounds,,, the look on Anthony's face when Tangles unloads his gear was funny as he kept looking at the gear & turning& looking at his boat thinking """ I should have brought a bigger boat """ :-?:-?Pulling up alongside Anthonys boat. Mike is onto a solid fish nearling pulling him out of the boat then PING busted off lets just say the boys gave him some stick;);) it was great to see bruce brake his red cherry & tim catching all those hussar:):) so we achieved some goals & have set new bench marks to be broken great to meet Brett & Mike. Thanks Mike for the use of the shower :)made the trip home more pleasent. As for the trip home going through bundy was so much better & me leading the way so it was Anthony & Brett's turn to look at the arse end of my boat for 6 hours;D;D bring on the M&G we are ready to GO:):) Cheers bill

18-08-2012, 03:16 PM
Thanks, Anthony, Mike, Tim, Bill, Bruce and Brett.

I think you guys ( some of you ) probably learnt some " 1770 " lessons over the last couple of days and these well be put into practice for the AF M & G, in a couple of weeks time. 8-)

So, Mike, me going back to 20lb mono might not cut the mustard ???? :-?

Bruce............... that spot was a " check out and see what's doing " spot :P

Good the hear the bait grounds are firing.

Catch up to you guys very soon. Look forward to Mike's video.

cheers LP

Muddy Toes
18-08-2012, 04:22 PM
I think you guys ( some of you ) probably learnt some " 1770 " lessons over the last couple of days and these well be put into practice for the AF M & G, in a couple of weeks time. 8-)

There you go again Da Vinci Code.....talking in riddles.;)

The package containing the information has left Westburn.Your contacts code name is A.S.W.The password is G4010.His reply will be "peak bite periods".Meet him behind the frankfurter factory in Dusseldorf at midnight on the next moon rise of the new moon on the third week of September.From now on until the exchange is made you shall refer to me by the code name of tiaBeR and I shall call you Martin Sheen.:-X

lucee81
18-08-2012, 04:26 PM
And that kiddies is what smokin crack does to you.

18-08-2012, 04:36 PM
Ya had to be there Lucas..........

BTW, Treadstone has ceased all ops, all handlers bring in your agents and wait for my signal.

._.. ._ . .. ._ _ . .._ _ . _ _ . .. ..._ _ ._

LP

Muddy Toes
18-08-2012, 05:00 PM
Laeiateutetteivta ?

Boat Hog
18-08-2012, 05:31 PM
I am seriously questioning following you guys into Fitzroy Reef!

Muddy Toes
18-08-2012, 05:32 PM
I am seriously questioning following you guys into Fitzroy Reef!

Ummmmmm.......we spoke about you following me when?

Boat Hog
18-08-2012, 05:35 PM
Ummmmmm.......we spoke about you following me when?

Well okay, not following, being in the same lagoon.

18-08-2012, 05:38 PM
It's like this Jim. there is Fitzroy Reef and Fiztroy Lagoon......

I'd only follow someone into the Lagoon......... the reef, will hurt !!!!

Then again......... ReBait knows the way into the Lagoon already and no-one should follow Rhys.... :-X ::)

Defcom 7 and " elevated ".

LP

Muddy Toes
18-08-2012, 05:48 PM
Well okay, not following, being in the same lagoon.

Trust me mate......there is going to be worse than me up there.::)

lucee81
18-08-2012, 05:52 PM
Yeah there may just be me yet.

Boat Hog
18-08-2012, 05:57 PM
Yeah there may just be me yet.

Now I'm getting worried ...... :o ;)

FisHard
18-08-2012, 08:15 PM
Nice work men.
I can second your advice regarding taking the Bundy exit to get to 1770. I just got back from a (work) trip to Townsville. The Bruce Hwy is a nightmare!
Good luck to you all at the M&G. It was hard to drive past the turnoff!

FisHard
19-08-2012, 08:15 AM
When you guys take the Bundy exit (heading to 1770), do you then turn left at Cedars rd (after about 20ks), go over the little cement bridge, then turn right at Hill End rd, then right at the Gin Gin rd and finally left onto the bundy 1770 road? Sorry if my directions are crook. I reckon its a good shortcut that saves going right into Bundy. Anyone got a better route?

outta line
19-08-2012, 08:34 AM
When you guys take the Bundy exit (heading to 1770), do you then turn left at Cedars rd (after about 20ks), go over the little cement bridge, then turn right at Hill End rd, then right at the Gin Gin rd and finally left onto the bundy 1770 road? Sorry if my directions are crook. I reckon its a good shortcut that saves going right into Bundy. Anyone got a better route?

i too just got back from 1770 for a few days that is the way we go but find the roads narrow and bumpy with the boat on the back evan slower in the dark . came home through bundy i think its easer with the boat on and not much longer IMO....

outta line
19-08-2012, 08:59 AM
hey muddy.. nice feed well done boys... we too had to work for our fish ....at least the weather played the game ...it did blow 15-20 in the lagoon on friday night ... we only converted 1 from possibly 6 reds hooked from the reef to the box (the smallest one) did get a nice trout some good pearl p tuskies,m cod,cobia ,rte, and those hussar were thick a pain in the _ _ _ could not get a bait to stay down long enough ..its a place that keeps you wanting more and cant wait to get back....cheers mick

19-08-2012, 12:57 PM

I head from Brisbane and take the Lucketts Rd... couple of k's before Childers... onto Goodwood Rd and straight into Bundy...... over the bridge and north on the 1770 road.

Just saves the slow bit through Childers and the highway from Childers to Appletree Creek.

LP

19-08-2012, 01:50 PM
Hi Phill

I took that shortcut on the way up, quite a few roadworks right now, on the way back took the usual childers highway and no roadworks

and 20lb mono?

Muddy Toes
19-08-2012, 02:26 PM
hey muddy.. nice feed well done boys... we too had to work for our fish ....at least the weather played the game ...it did blow 15-20 in the lagoon on friday night ... we only converted 1 from possibly 6 reds hooked from the reef to the box (the smallest one) did get a nice trout some good pearl p tuskies,m cod,cobia ,rte, and those hussar were thick a pain in the _ _ _ could not get a bait to stay down long enough ..its a place that keeps you wanting more and cant wait to get back....cheers mick

Hey mate I tried a couple of calls on 81 and 82 but couldn't get hold of ya.......we were cruising around on 77 most of the time.

burleygu
19-08-2012, 04:08 PM
WHAT A BLOODY WEEK!

A big thankyou to Bill and bruce aswell as Anthony Brett and Mike for another great fishing trip. I dont think i need to add much more that hasnt been said. we left 930pm tuesday night and arrived back home 1030pm thursday night i then left friday morning to head up double island for a bucks weekend, Tonight will be my first night of proper sleep! Has been a great week of fishing laughs flying banana's and beershowers I just have to process where and what happened when!

Few photos of the trip aswell as the feed we got up the dbl island saturday morning.

2IC
19-08-2012, 06:37 PM
mate good to see you are still alive after the week you had

19-08-2012, 07:36 PM
Will post a vid up tommorrow night but a few pics from the trip

outta line
19-08-2012, 07:56 PM
Hey mate I tried a couple of calls on 81 and 82 but couldn't get hold of ya.......we were cruising around on 77 most of the time.
bugger..... had a few issues with the radio up there had it turned off other than logging on and off each day...i tried to get you once on 82 ....we got on the water 8.30pm wed and headed for fitzroy but decided to anchor up 10km from fitzroy tide was ripping no fishing :(:( slept for first drop on sun up in the morning ...

Muddy Toes
19-08-2012, 08:19 PM
This whole video thing Mike.....it's just going to be of the whales, right?8-)

19-08-2012, 08:42 PM
No! its Muddy upright, to a lean to a sitdown:D

20-08-2012, 07:29 AM
Deleted post.............

20-08-2012, 07:59 AM
Cheeky bugger,

mate all the uncles are the same,

20-08-2012, 08:01 AM
Thought the better of it and got rid of it Mike.........

Sometimes my twisted attempts at humour fall a bit flat.......

thelump
21-08-2012, 11:23 AM
Come on Tangles wheres the video.

Jerk n Wined
21-08-2012, 11:37 AM
8362483623We also took the chance of heading up, Left Brissie on Wed night and came back on Saturday. Glass out weather the first day. We83622 fill the esky to the brim so we had to call it quits a day early. Yes there were alot of shows and a little hard to bite at times but we seemed to 83621manage. We saw a couple of other boats out there but dont think it was u guys? We stayed at North reef the first night and at Broomfield the second. 83620

Did the Pics Work?

cobiaman
21-08-2012, 12:00 PM
No mate, pics didnt work

Jerk n Wined
21-08-2012, 12:49 PM
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/misc/pencil.png

Goodoo haven
21-08-2012, 01:05 PM
wow, some nice fish there mate. well done.

fishfeeder
21-08-2012, 01:14 PM
Well done guys and love the pic's !!!
The conditions were fantastic and can't wait to get back out there..

2IC
21-08-2012, 02:04 PM
Bloody well done boys,, great catch,, man cant wait for the M&G to start

outta line
21-08-2012, 07:21 PM
83638here's how we went .....

lucee81
21-08-2012, 07:50 PM
How is it the worst person for topic changes starts a thread and 5 pages later it's still about the same thing.

Muddy Toes
21-08-2012, 08:06 PM
Just like ooglies my dear friend......33 pages of topic changes and someone might actually do it.

Looking at everyone's photos of their catches up there recently, seems the cod were on the chew.Well done.

lucee81
21-08-2012, 08:08 PM
That some one is me brother. Monday mark your calanders. A silly Arab and a fat bastard was to the shelf.
Now if you were in the boat we would be to busy laughing at each other to actually fish.

Muddy Toes
21-08-2012, 08:19 PM
And may I please draw Fishfeeders attention to yet another well presented photo of fish.....one where you can actually see them.8-)

cobiaman
21-08-2012, 08:21 PM
Yep, fair old difference in photo quality...

2IC
21-08-2012, 08:44 PM
And may I please draw Fishfeeders attention to yet another well presented photo of fish.....one where you can actually see them.8-)

Mate ,, brett could only spread the fish around so far ,,its not his fault you have a small back deck,,,haaaaaha

2IC
21-08-2012, 08:52 PM
get back to work ,,, you have a 2 week break coming up no time to be on here

Muddy Toes
21-08-2012, 08:56 PM
Steering to sort out, props to be tested, boat to be detailed, car to be serviced.......and that's just the stuff I book in today at work....oops I mean in my lunch break.

cobiaman
21-08-2012, 08:58 PM
Steering to sort out, props to be tested, boat to be detailed, car to be serviced.......and that's just the stuff I book in today at work....oops I mean in my lunch break.

Stop complaining about how much tax you pay and get to it, only about 17 days till dday....... For some anyway!

2IC
21-08-2012, 09:07 PM
What are you thinking of a diff prop as well ,,, gary has been talking to me about a 4 blade ,,,we will test it out at the M&G,, mate get the boat detailed after the M&G as all those fish you pull up is only going to make a mess & you wont have your number 1 deckie to keep it clean ,,,

Muddy Toes
21-08-2012, 09:23 PM
I'm doing a deckie upgrade Bill.....apparently this one knows how to fish.

I rung Solas today and they're sending me a 16" 4 blade and a 15" 5 blade.Yes folks you heard that right....a 5 blader.They've been testing them on 23' Stripers with 300's on the backs so they want me to try one, apparently they're having some good feedback with them.

I'm going to get the boat detailed before I leave so hopefully the road scum I collected through the road works last time won't stick so bad this time and same with the fish/bait scum, damn thing took me near on 5 hours to clean the other day.

As for the whole tax thing big G.....my accountant was pleased to inform me this year, that over the past 10 years I've paid the handsomely sum of $1^&((&%*$)* in personal income tax.So the best thing I could come up with was to have a gripe on an online fishing forum......surely the ATO will listen to me now!!!!

Oh......you do know how to fish don't you?

cobiaman
21-08-2012, 09:28 PM
Oh......you do know how to fish don't you?

Hahaha, that should be in the joke section! Your the expert up there mate, im there to learn from you...... And steal your gps marks...

P.S I can lay out fish nicely on a deck or tarp...

Muddy Toes
21-08-2012, 10:54 PM
Can ya cook or are we living out of the servo hot box for a week?

cobiaman
21-08-2012, 11:02 PM
Mate, i can cook like a legend, the challenge is eating it...

Muddy Toes
21-08-2012, 11:16 PM
Alright.......Tim's cooking.

Or maybe Jim (Boat Hog)........Jim?

Boat Hog
22-08-2012, 05:33 AM
Alright.......Tim's cooking.

Or maybe Jim (Boat Hog)........Jim?

Ohh ... so now we're like all BFF now? >:( ::) ;D

I can cook mate. Trouble is ... Mrs Hog cooks even better! ,,,, ... ,,, well, that's what I tell her so I get out of the job most days! ;)

If you blokes are starving you can drop round for a feed. 8-)

Willing to swap food for fishing marks! - NOT recyled Lucky_Phill marks either. :D

Okay - two big eskies. One for food, one for piss and I'll get one of those Coles chiller bags for my fish. ;D ;D

22-08-2012, 05:41 AM
Heres that dodgy video, dodgy music with a bit of masterchef, Pink Floyd Trout, and a sitdown:D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W-xVN-HK3ms

TREVELLY
22-08-2012, 05:48 AM
Great thread and a tempting read - dam shame to be missing this GTG - never mind.

The conditions look awesome in some of those pics - hope you get similar next trip.

Good luck.

22-08-2012, 06:37 AM
Great video there Mike. Good stuff.

2IC
22-08-2012, 07:00 AM
Mike, Bloody great video mate!
Brett - as the deckie you should have been wiping muddies brow for all the sweat pouring off him. Giving him a back massage and putting a ciggie in his mouth, no wonder you are sacked from the deckies duties for the M&G;D
So is Anthony now the next fishing guru with his own show.>:(:P

cobiaman
22-08-2012, 07:22 AM
Great video tangles!

thelump
22-08-2012, 07:28 AM
Nice vid Mike. Got more than one chuckle out of that. I think that muddy bloke should eat a few more snags to have a bit more weight behind him when wrangling sharks! Should of been able to skull drag that pup to the boat:P:)

WalrusLike
22-08-2012, 09:12 AM
Ripper trip, good video, great job of editing. Thanks guys for sharing it with us.

Was that a great white? It had the right fin config and belly colour.

Isn't shark good eating? Rope around the tail, up over the gunnel then a little bit of filleting and tada... On to the plate for lunch! (and tea and breakfast and.... and....). After all, he would return the favour if he pulled you in... :)

Goodoo haven
22-08-2012, 10:45 AM
Great video Tangles, and some really nice fish you's caught there. Well done.

Muddy Toes
22-08-2012, 11:10 AM
Great vid there Mike.....thanks for that.

"jump in and swim with them".........
"but you've got to do it nude"........

That boat gets real small real quick after a few days together out at sea.

fishfeeder
22-08-2012, 11:13 AM
Well done Tangles, top video...
As for the masterchef, I just hope the next deckie has more to work with.. not even salt & pepper on board, lucky we got some tomato sause from the servo or we would have been in real trouble...

You have to question someone when you drop down 30Lb gear just after your crew got totally blown away using 80Lb... ???

cheers and beers

lucee81
22-08-2012, 11:43 AM
Last time I went fishing with a chinaman we caught a cod I showed him how to gut in under 30 seconds and he showed me how to make a restaurant quality meal on a boat. Damn it was good fish and noodle stew.
Now Anthony you claim to be a chinaman where were your Asian cooking skills. Absolute disgrace I reckon.

tropicrows
22-08-2012, 12:31 PM
Well done Mike. Muddy I hope your putting in some gym work between now and 1770, cos you need it.

Muddy Toes
22-08-2012, 12:36 PM
I'm fine with the weight training side of things......it's the cardo that gets me.Doesnt take a genius to figure out why though.

2IC
22-08-2012, 01:20 PM
Mate Throw those things away,,as the next up &coming ET you need to clean your act up,,, just dont play with your mates missus okay

tropicrows
22-08-2012, 03:56 PM
I agree with Bill, if you give the fags away you will be able to afford an electric deck winch to help ya pull in them sharks. One other advantage you could live longer, and that would me more fishing time, gotta be a plus.

Muddy Toes
22-08-2012, 05:57 PM
They're on their way out boys....
It's usually just a fishing thing for me.And an after s#^ thing too......but more fishing than s#^ these days!!!!

Boat Hog
22-08-2012, 06:17 PM
They're on their way out boys....
It's usually just a fishing thing for me.And an after s#^ thing too......but more fishing than s#^ these days!!!!

So ..... if you stopped fishing you'd be smoke free then! ;D :P

TREVELLY
22-08-2012, 06:25 PM
I'm fine with the weight training side of things......it's the cardo that gets me.Doesnt take a genius to figure out why though.

I have just seen the video and what can I say . . . . . . :LMAO::LMAO::LMAO::LMAO:

Boat Hog
22-08-2012, 06:31 PM
Great video Mike. Watched it this morning and was late for work. Still worth it!

lucee81
22-08-2012, 07:59 PM
Give the fags up brother before you butt gets too loose.
As for the smokes go the pills thats what I used. Smoke free for over 2 years and fag free for over 31 years.

Muddy Toes
22-08-2012, 08:14 PM
Quitting is not the problem.....I've done it many times.

Staying off them is another story.Especially when I'm fishing.....I think it's one of those habit by association things.

lucee81
22-08-2012, 08:25 PM
Are you talking about fags or smokes cause I'm really questioning about ever getting on a boat with you.

Muddy Toes
22-08-2012, 08:35 PM
Well let that be the least of your worries as an invitation out on my boat will not be something that heads in your direction any time soon.

TREVELLY
23-08-2012, 05:55 AM
I do know how you felt though Muddy - last trip I did solo off Great Keppel to the Fern country I had an awesome "red" on first drop - dam thing did really good runs - head shakes - great fight - no rod bucket and up comes your mates identical twin - I gave it some names and none of them nice - tricky deceitful thing. :rifle:

Next drop another one but i got real angry with that one (and had a rod bucket on) and had it on the surface real fast before it busted me off on 100lb braid.

By the way your rod is too long for a boat rod with heavy line - too much leverage against you - short and stiff - give yourself a chance - just my thoughts - keep killing yourself if you want though. :)

As for sitting down - I have set up my eskys with rod buckets so they are a game chair - however your sitting down did look a lot like buckling at the knees.

I will certainly be using the esky seats for the deep drops into the abyss, and a harness and a lanyard so I don't get pulled over the side being connect hard to such heavy gear (150lb main line 400lb/250lb trace) ;D.

Bull
25-08-2012, 06:28 PM
Top Video guys and a sensational trip well done

This having to work is killing my ausfish time :P

Cheers Brett

Muddy Toes
25-08-2012, 08:11 PM
Hey Trev, I know exactly what you mean about the leverage with such a long rod.
At 7foot all the odds are against me tiring before a big fish but I like the way I can maneuver it around the boat, motor and others that are using shorter sicks.
For the amount of times I do hook up to a big shark or the likes I wont be changing it out in a hurry......I just like the feel of a longer rod when I'm using an overhead because it's only my 30lb gear.
When I'm using the heavier 80lb gear, that's a different story........shorter, stiffer rod with an eggbeater for me thanks.