View Full Version : Help needed on ply box in tinny
ozynorts
20-07-2012, 08:45 PM
Hey gang, I have made a ply box for the tinny and am wondering what the best option is for waterproofing it is? The box has a built in esky and two storage boxes on either side of the esky. At this stage the box is a working template. At this stage I am thinking either 1) building a box in ali. 2) bouilding a box in ply and glassing it. 3) building a box in ply and coating it in something?
I don't have tools to bend ali. I don't have the skills to do a good job with glass. Help please!!
fandtm666
20-07-2012, 09:02 PM
glassing it is not all that hard and can be sanded them some
flowcoat applied to make it look pretty.
otherwise use some epoxy paint
netmaker
21-07-2012, 09:17 AM
is it marine ply? if so, just painting should do the job and will keep the weight down although you will need to glass the esky part of it.
21-07-2012, 09:24 AM
Have a crack at glassing it. Its not hard to do. As said before , the flowcoat covers most of the rough bits
fandtm666
21-07-2012, 10:27 AM
if you want to have a go glassing it and are near banora point
if you bring it around to my place with the gear im happy to give you
a hand doing it
tenzing
21-07-2012, 01:58 PM
I did one for my tinny years ago and used pond or aquarium paint on the inner surface of marine ply. Got all the supplies from Bunnings
( minimal skill available for construction )
Absolutely waterproof, incorporated a drain and hose to a skin fitting and left it in place.
Have to say that the ply didnt insulate that well.
Brendan
ozynorts
21-07-2012, 02:03 PM
At this stage it is made of structural ply but as it is a working template I will be making another box and that is when I can change the timber. The ply was some older stuff I had lying around and used it to make the box. I didn't want to buy good timber and then get it wrong so have made this one. It works well so that's why I am trying to get an idea on what to do about the next one.
fandtm666 I am in agnes water mate not close enough but thanks for the offer.