View Full Version : Sunshine Coast tailor

fishinwahbee
17-06-2012, 09:35 AM

Im after getting a few tailor of the beach. Just some general pointers regarding location, tide and bait? I would love to hear about anything. I live on the Sunshine Coast, and have a rather large tailor/jew rod.

17-06-2012, 11:21 AM
An open-ended gutter with a bit of white water on the outer edge. A spit at high tide, between two holes.
Mullet, bonito, mac tuna or tailor etc strips on 3 x 5/0 or 6/0 gang hooks. Fish the gutter at tide change or on a rising tide at dawn, dusk or at night.
The spit an hour before and just after high tide, at the same times of day
'Making' tides are my favourite, ie slightly higher than the same tide the day before. Failing that, fish the tide change.
If tailor are about, this should find them.

ontourf
17-06-2012, 06:16 PM
Hi Fishinwahbee

Locations: Maroochy River mouth - sandbags too dangerous too slippery, fish gutter next to it. Alternatively, fish gutters in front of twin waters or Marcoola. Odd jewie up there.

Bait: keep it simple as a young bloke starting out, IQF pillies (the ones not stuck together in the pack). Bonito is good for big fish, but too expensive for young bloke. if want to try and catch a biggie, or chance of a Jew, fillet a small legal fish (35cm) and cast it back out (hooks thru skin first).

Hooks: I recommend tru-turn pre-ganged hooks with swivels in. So much easier to put your bait on, rather than stiff hooks simply ganged together.

Look for deep greenish water, with sandbank breaking out back, preferably 60-80m out, with 2 entrances or exits, but don't get hung up if it only has one (clean water not breaking over the sand bank).

Tide: many years of experience, and the advice of the best fishing guides on NSW south coast say, tide doesn't matter, what matters is the depth of the gutter, and access to entry points to the sea (where they swim into the hole or longer gutter or channel (like a fish highway) looking for food.

Hope this helps matey.

Skip
Ontour Fishing Club
Heaps more tips on my fishing club's website or Facebook page if you are on there...

fishinwahbee
17-06-2012, 06:24 PM
Thanks heaps guys, That covers everything i need to know. Im in facebook groups for mulloway, cause i target them on plastics and never stop learning about them off the beach, but tailor just wanted to try something new and definitely not as hard to get as jew : / haha.

ontourf
17-06-2012, 06:48 PM
If I were you, if you haven't caught a Jew yet mate. Start on bait. You need to walk before you can run. Give the tailor fillets a go, or better still, learn to catch a beachworm and thread a whole one up a small eyed 6o hook for a jew. Catch a couple on bait, then progress to the plastics. That is assuming you aren't a guru and haven't caught one on bait already.

All the best famous fisherman, Starlo, Bushy, Rex Hunt, all started on bait and got the fundamentals right first mate...

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ontour-Fishing-Club/236800799748411

bondy99
20-06-2012, 09:02 AM
Where are the tailor on sunshine coast beaches or headlands. I'm landbased with normal car, no 4WD unless someone has one and wants to share.

Bondy

fishinwahbee
20-06-2012, 12:45 PM
So true man, haha i clean up on jew in the river, everytrip on plastics. Your right i still havnt got one of the beach, just a couple of snapper. Thanks Again for all the advice and PM's

astro66
20-06-2012, 04:59 PM
went out monday arvo...stayed till 8pm....nothing but bream and small flattys...they havent turned up in numbers yet..not to far away though...

dazyz1
20-06-2012, 09:11 PM
I think theres a fair bit of luck involved in landbased jew fishing. One night I pulled out three jewies in 20mins off a bunch of rocks on the sunny coast all on plastics. Tried heaps of times after that and no luck.

ontourf
20-06-2012, 09:48 PM
Where are the tailor on sunshine coast beaches or headlands. I'm landbased with normal car, no 4WD unless someone has one and wants to share.

Bondy

Mate, Teewah very good (search for Sliders articles on it on Ausfish - he is the Guru). Rainbow beach good too, I've walked along there and got em. Other spots south of there include Marcoola, Twin waters, sandbags at Maroochy and around Caloundra.

Skip

bondy99
20-06-2012, 10:33 PM
Mate, Teewah very good (search for Sliders articles on it on Ausfish - he is the Guru). Rainbow beach good too, I've walked along there and got em. Other spots south of there include Marcoola, Twin waters, sandbags at Maroochy and around Caloundra.

Skip

G'day Skip,

Thanks mate, Yes, I have been in touch with Slider on occassion, I purchased couple of his "slider" lures which i'm putting to use, or will be. Rainbow beach? What part of Rainbow?

Bondy

ontourf
22-06-2012, 07:25 PM
Depends on the gutters, but I've got em in winter just to the left of main swimming beach. Good size too.

bondy99
22-06-2012, 08:45 PM
Depends on the gutters, but I've got em in winter just to the left of main swimming beach. Good size too.

ontourfishing,

Which main swimming beach are you refering to? There are hundreds of main swimming beaches, anyone in particular you referring to?

Bondy

ontourf
22-06-2012, 10:10 PM

Dead ahead and to left after coming down main road into town.

bondy99
23-06-2012, 10:24 AM
ontourfishing,

Thanks mate, makes sense now.

Cheers, bondy

Peter Gerke
24-06-2012, 04:55 PM
Hi All.
I've been at straddie since Fri 22 June and have been smashed by good quality Tailor every evening.
Bagged out this morniing using 65 gm Knights, 15 lb braid down main beach (closer to the pin)
Good luck with the fishing.
From what I've hooked it's bound to be a great season !

bondy99
24-06-2012, 11:44 PM
Hi All.
I've been at straddie since Fri 22 June and have been smashed by good quality Tailor every evening.
Bagged out this morniing using 65 gm Knights, 15 lb braid down main beach (closer to the pin)
Good luck with the fishing.
From what I've hooked it's bound to be a great season !

G'day Pete,

Just goes to show, North Straddie is always a good spot, and 4WD is the go as it gives you more scope to see and pick a good gutter, the pin has always been a good spot. Nice to see you had a good catch of tailor.

When's the next time you going over? I'll bring my car over and hitch a ride with you to the productive spot.

Bondy