View Full Version : Why would you work on boats (Grand Marlin at work)

14-06-2012, 10:46 AM
Hello guys,
Finally everything has aligned and the new 1kw transducer is going into the cat. Didn't want to bugger it up so called on some expertise in the way of Peter (Grand Marlin).
I hate having to work in small confined spaces and where he wanted to put the wet box I had only managed to get my arms into by being upside in the toilet with my feet on the roof.
I've just gone out to find out how they are going and I see this. Pete has managed somehow to crawl into 40cm x 40cm hole upside down and get into the bowels of the cat under the cockpit. He might never get out.
True professional at work.

Prowl n Wolf
14-06-2012, 11:12 AM
g'day brett, could'nt agree more. the blokes a legend and always goes above and beyond. regards, tony.

Apollo
14-06-2012, 11:14 AM
Lucky he is built like a smurf.

Was talking to Pete the other day about an issue and was explaining the fun and games I had joining two wires that I could not see and only just reach - his reply - 'Welcome to my world!!"

Mrs Ronnie H
14-06-2012, 11:34 AM
I reckon more women should try to get into jobs like that. We fit in places no one else can and our hands are smaller so we can get into things better.
Would like to see him getting out.

Ronnie

TREVELLY
14-06-2012, 11:45 AM
I dunno; the guy who was welding inside my transom by simply welding in through a small inspection port said something about being a specialist doctor of sorts

That kinda work requires a special kind of person to:-

A) Take on the job

B) Do a good and presentable job

I am one for A) but it is people like Pete who can do A) and B)

Certainly appreciated by us average boat owners - especially if we have seen work by people who do A) but shouldn't! and can in no way achieve B)

Moonlighter
14-06-2012, 03:47 PM
You'll probably have to grease him up to get him outta there. Slippery little sucker!

Otherwise there could be muffled creaking and groaning noises coming from under the decks for your next few trips.

And a few trips after that, expect some bad smells. :o:o The good news is that there are some very good deodorising sprays around nowdays;D

But dont worry, those smells soon dissipate.....bit like a chunk of old squid bait that you forget is still in the live bait tank...eventually it dires up and stops smelling so bad....;)

Onya Pete!:D

ML

14-06-2012, 05:37 PM

Lucky he's a midget!

spelchek
14-06-2012, 05:39 PM
Geeze, he's a lot better looking on the phone.

banksmister
14-06-2012, 06:32 PM
I hate having to work

Nothing new for you
Why would you start to at 40

14-06-2012, 07:04 PM
Pete will be okay..don't send him food in there for a week..he will be smaller then and able to extricate himself.

14-06-2012, 07:30 PM
Not only did he get himself in there, but it looks like he has room to move....

Boat Hog
15-06-2012, 05:50 AM
Now we know how he smuggled himself out of Tassie!

Bloody boat people.

15-06-2012, 05:59 AM
Well Brett it looks like you have room for one more on overnight trips in the "lower" berth

WalrusLike
15-06-2012, 06:34 AM
Are there many different models? That one doesn't look reall pretty, but I too would like to install one these P.E.T.E. thingos.

It's good to know that hidden away In your boat gizzards you have installed one of these Permanently Entrenched Tester of Electronics.

I suppose you just throw in some dry dog food every second or third trip?

weeman
15-06-2012, 09:26 AM
I wonder if that view is the same as when a doctor sticks a camera up your brown star of bethlehem. :o

15-06-2012, 10:32 AM
I reckon Pete was just looking for a quite spot to have a discrete pee.
Why else would the ice cream punnet be there...and in hand??
And look closely at the picture. No wonder he has a smile ;)

Just pulling your leg Pete :D

15-06-2012, 11:01 AM
Brett - you should have feed him a bit better so he couldn't get out. He would be quite useful there full-time running the ship functions. ;D;D;D;D

In my younger days just out of my time I spent quite a lot of time down in the hulls of the Stradbroke Ferries Cats doing services while I was at Hasting Deering. I hated that crap - bloody fibreglass strands all over you and freakin hot as they never stopped before you got to work on them. Glad I dont do that shit now - as Kenny Powers says - F!ck that noise !! :-?:-[:-[:-X

15-06-2012, 07:16 PM
Gday guys,

Iv'e got to say I couldn't believe Pete got in that space. I've never even thought about trying to squeeze in there. Most of the time I'm upside with one hand in that space, my shoulders would never fit through. God knows how he turned around in there.
Pete and Chris did a great job. The professionalism is there in their workmanship. It was great to sit down and have a chat about old Tassie times as well. Maybe that's why he's such a good bloke.
Somehow I think the big cat and Pete's big weapon may team up for a wide wide wide trip in the near future chasing the holy grail of rec fishos. But ssshhhh don't say too much.

15-06-2012, 08:10 PM
Somehow I think the big cat and Pete's big weapon may team up for a wide wide wide trip in the near future chasing the holy grail of rec fishos. But ssshhhh don't say too much.

I am still laughing at that line - very funny stuff Brett !! Not much left to the imagination I take it crawling into that space ;D;D;D

Si
15-06-2012, 09:25 PM
i thought he had retired of sorts.

Grand_Marlin
15-06-2012, 09:52 PM
:LMAO:... with friends like you lot, no wonder I'm like I am... :2vrolijk_08::helpa::freak::freak:

Grand_Marlin
15-06-2012, 10:08 PM
i thought he had retired of sorts.

I have realised I have the same problem as Julia Gillard ... I just can't stop the boats from coming ;D

Captain Seaweed
15-06-2012, 10:37 PM
apparently Pete had some ribs removed so he could ...errr sorry I dont think eerrrr how do I erase this now......

so he could get into tight spaces....

FisHard
16-06-2012, 07:43 AM
I have realised I have the same problem as Julia Gillard ... I just can't stop the boats from coming ;D
That's very funny! :D

Dean1
16-06-2012, 10:37 AM
Oh man i have bad dreams about been caught in confined spaces!! Stuff that! How about the fumes from the resins he would be off his chops when he gets out!!! And i imagine some grinding of flowcoat would have gone on.. Maybe my job isnt so bad :-?

19-06-2012, 05:49 PM

i tell you what , one look at Juliar is enough to stop me from ........ No i dont think i'll go there!

Hossfish
26-06-2012, 05:11 PM
Hi guys.

I can't post the link from my work computer but go to you tube and do search for trunk monkey. Is there a resembelance?? You be the judge. Apologies and many promised beers to Pete if our paths should ever cross.

Regards Greg.

PS Mrs Hossfish assures me i ain't winning any beauty pagents any time soon

Dicktracey
26-06-2012, 05:16 PM
apparently Pete had some ribs removed so he could ...errr sorry I dont think eerrrr how do I erase this now......

so he could get into tight spaces....

I didnt even know Pete was still in my kill tank until i tried to drop a fish in there ;)

WalrusLike
27-06-2012, 05:10 PM
So he's asleep in the above picture.....

Does he ever actually do anything? Or is he just continually indulging his fetish for confinement?

Sorry Pete.... :)

Grand_Marlin
28-06-2012, 09:02 AM
I seem to get all the good jobs ;D