View Full Version : Stanage Bay/Thirsty sound

08-06-2012, 04:53 PM
I have just returned from a week or camping at Stanage Bay with adrian (skipjack):D. The camp ground is free but its advisable to bring in your water as the communal tank is not always full. The township is reached by travelling north from Rockhampton for about 80kms then turning off onto the mainly dirt 100km or so into town. The road was in fair condition but still took us about 3hrs to cover the distance. We set up camp and waited until the wind and rain eased enough to set a few pots for the monster Muddies that live in the area.
We ran our pots about 20kms or so from the ramp (1/2 tide only access) and checked them over the next three days for 15 or so bucks;D. No need to measure these suckers to see if they are legal as they were all 20cm-23cm across and most weighed over 2kg. I can only imagine how good the crabbing must be in Summer if you can score Crabs like these in June.
We didn't really try to fish the inshore areas but there were Barra and Black Jew frames at the fish dump and the other campers were scoring well on Grunter.
I will be back next year and will spend a bit more time targeting these fish.

kingcray
08-06-2012, 05:06 PM
thats the biggest buck mud crab in the world.

08-06-2012, 06:10 PM
thats the biggest buck mud crab in the world.
Last year we got them over 3.1kg but they are consistently huge Muddies. They were a bit tamer this year. Last years (in May) would chase you round the boat orcome flying out of the esky if you opened it

08-06-2012, 06:20 PM
Nice one mate . Lucky ur going home taking this wind with u i hope
:P

nipsta
08-06-2012, 06:33 PM
How good is it to go to town that has no traffic lights no phone coverage

We have made it a annual trip and will be up there in july next year we have done august and march now test out july Whoopa muddies and good fish to be found for sure but effort will only bring reward . Great reprot love to here the crabs are still going well and where yours full ?

08-06-2012, 07:08 PM
How good is it to go to town that has no traffic lights no phone coverage

We have made it a annual trip and will be up there in july next year we have done august and march now test out july Whoopa muddies and good fish to be found for sure but effort will only bring reward . Great reprot love to here the crabs are still going well and where yours full ?
How were the other Months? It would be nice to score some steady weather. The Crabs were Chockers except for two that were a little light on. We would have thrown back any empty ones

hooknose
09-06-2012, 08:04 PM
well done Neil, lots of great country there and the muddies are not always found in your typical spots, Congrats !!

09-06-2012, 09:03 PM
well done Neil, lots of great country there and the muddies are not always found in your typical spots, Congrats !!
You obviously know some of the tricks up there. We worked outside the norm for SEQ crabbing and did well compared to last year when we worked high in the drains and creeks as we normally do down here

Bull
09-06-2012, 09:12 PM
Glade you had a rippa time Neil.
I think it depends on the time of year as to where you set your pots. Wait till you see the size of some long Island Muddies

09-06-2012, 09:21 PM
Glade you had a rippa time Neil.
I think it depends on the time of year as to where you set your pots. Wait till you see the size of some long Island Muddies
Brett, we almost worked Long Island but decided to head down into Broadsound. Its all great country. We went for a run around Long one day while waiting for enough water to get into our pots.

madmackrel
10-06-2012, 07:22 AM
Neil looks like you guys had a good time despite the weather mate and at least you werent at work.
Cheers Perry

Goodoo haven
10-06-2012, 10:54 AM
Geez, they are some good sized muddies you have there.