View Full Version : Harrys Snap's
Repete1
23-05-2012, 04:57 PM
Hi All,
After a late call, I did a quick run to Harrys this morning.
I was full of anticipation considering the last couple of trips I have been smoked, bricked and drop a solid 70 plus under the boat.
Saw the kids off to school and quickly headed down to the ramp. Got to Raby Bay at about 9am. It was Glass!!!!
Even more pumped up now, the tiny was in an ready to go. Awesome conditions made for a quick trip out.
Arrived at Harry's and sounded around. First Drop..... Zip... Nice little 45cm snap.
I was thinking that this will be a good session...no such luck. All went quiet.
For a while anyway..........
Did a bit of a shuffle on the electric.
After an hour or so of little taps a solid strike but no hook up. Damn.
Flicked back up current and drifted down in free spool. Suddenly is starts to take off, bang the bail arm and go to strike but the bail arm wasnt quite closed and popped open. Damn again. Thought I had lost it... Let a bit of slack, closed the bail arm and gave it a light strike. Suddenly it takes off..... My Daiwa Certate 2500 and 10lb braid was screaming. Chased it on the Electric and started the fight. After a solid fight I get some colour..... NICE SNAP. Get him to the top and managed the solo Net 80cm plus hits the deck.
Landed another nice 69.5cm ;) one straight after... left them biting. 3 is plenty for me :D
Shot back to the Boat ramp to try and beat the rain..
chief
23-05-2012, 05:07 PM
Very nice, those plastics weighted right and dropping with the natural current is the bomb. Great fish cheers
Nice Snaps there mate :thumbsup:
Is that a Bear S2 ?
cheers tim :)
OODIES
23-05-2012, 05:21 PM
Nice work, persistence pays off in the end. Very Jealous.
Cheers Bingo
Mossy247
23-05-2012, 05:26 PM
Good stuff mate, cracking snappz for sure.
Go the plastics!
marto78
23-05-2012, 06:17 PM
I like your measuring Repete hopefully your not a chippy :P
Top bay snaps mate!
Repete1
23-05-2012, 06:36 PM
Tim - It is a Bear S6 just for a bit more grunt. I use the same outfit off shore in 100m.. I can fish all day and not feel like i have spent a day in the gym :)
Marto - certainly not a chippy :)
pegasus
23-05-2012, 06:54 PM
very nice snaps- congrats
ddobson
23-05-2012, 07:06 PM
Solid fish there wow. We saw good fish on the sounder wed arvo so good to see a few coming in. Brother hooked 3 about 4 kilo but that 80 cm is something else. Well done mate. Cheers DD.....
Sorry Pete thought it was a Bear S2 :-[
I used to have a Bear S2 with a 2500 certate and it was a very powerfull bay Snapper combo.
Repete1
24-05-2012, 01:30 AM
One of my mates has the S2 with a 2000 certate and he swears by it. I think when it comes to egrell rods you can't go wrong.
RAT-KING
24-05-2012, 02:31 AM
Well done mate what a great session!!!
It also took me 20 seconds to work out what the top pic was too,:P
castlemaine
24-05-2012, 06:52 AM
Good Stuff!
You need a bigger esky;D.
Cheers8-)
Repete1
24-05-2012, 07:38 AM
Ddobson was that you that I had a chat too when I was leaving? Just looking at your avatar looked like the boat you were in. ? Cheers pc
matt fraser
24-05-2012, 10:14 AM
Gotta be happy with that! sensational snapper! especially on a late start and early finish. I knew I should have tried Harries yesterday, I had a look at West Peel Arti, and the top of Peel for one just legal, and a heap of unders - and got very wet in that torrential downpour.
Go the Nitro Stealth Jigheads!
llourd
24-05-2012, 10:48 AM
nice fish - that looks like a very lightly weighted jig head you were using - how deep were these brutes?
alexl
24-05-2012, 10:55 AM
I was heading that way and saw the cloud cell so went north, just got cat food so missed out!
Well done.
grinner2
24-05-2012, 12:37 PM
Nice fish mate !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Need a bigger esky if you are going to keep that up.
netmaker
24-05-2012, 12:53 PM
that's precision slot size fishing mate. bagging a 69.5 after an 80+. well done.
Repete1
24-05-2012, 07:32 PM
Cheers guys. It was a awesome session to say the least. Precision fishing think not, pure ass maybe. ;)
fisho8
24-05-2012, 09:08 PM
Well done mate some very nice fish there awsome stuff.
barra71
25-05-2012, 07:55 AM
dam nice fish there old mate, sure did give that jig head a good work out...
well done and enjoy
One of my mates has the S2 with a 2000 certate and he swears by it. I think when it comes to egrell rods you can't go wrong.
Top Catch there Repete! I beg to differ re the Egrell's! I will NEVER buy another will NEVER recommend one to anyone!! Overpriced POS!
Take Care T
Top Catch there Repete! I beg to differ re the Egrell's! I will NEVER buy another will NEVER recommend one to anyone!! Overpriced POS!
Take Care T
Why do you hate Egrell rods so much T ???
TD, Un-F'n-Believable! I had the S10. Had it on board about 6 times (used it sparingly twice in that time) and the runners turned 'green'. Sent it back expressing my displeasure and received a call from Eric Grell! He offered to rebind Stainless runners for $100 or replace the same runners for free (while freely admitting the same problem would re-occur!)! Against my better judgement, i went with the $100 (+$30 for transport).
So then, one night near Harries on a glassed out night, i hooked bottom. Sat over the top of it with a soft bend and levied the rod up (with a smooth bend) & SNAP! I actually unhooked the line off the snag with my bare hands! Sent it back via Tackle Warehouse and never got a response! Even my Deckie at the time (if he reads this he'll confirm) was gobsmacked at how a Rod with such a smooth bend could just snap like that! Never never again!
I understand that there's a few others out there that this has happened too - i'll let them share their story...
Take Care T
Repete1
25-05-2012, 07:03 PM
T.
I also understand that the egrells are quite fragile. I infact I have had mine replaced once but ever since then no problems and it has had a massive work out over the past couple of years. I just love the feel of the rods and even taper.
Hey T did my boys sort your Toyota out ;). I put some pressure on them after I received your email. Cheers PC
ddobson
26-05-2012, 09:28 AM
Might have been me mate i need to get my ausfish stickers on my new boat now so i can meet more with them. I have met a few at ramp that had stickers but from previous owners. Hey the adrenelin would be peeking after that big red on solo gear and my 82 was on 20 pound leader and i was pushed to land solo. Good fish. Nothing like a solid white vision coming up from the depths. Cheers DD.....
Repete1
26-05-2012, 02:36 PM
DD Man I was on tha limiter. It was smoking the drag. Lucky I had the lucky to manouver me around. Hey did the old #unt that muscled my spot catch anything?? I hope he didn't. Lucky I was done or I was going to give him mouthful of unpleasantries. Two in two drops was pretty lucky I say :). Did the technique work ??? ;) nice to meet you. Cheers pc.
hey PC! Yeah mate, Prado coming in on Wed... Have coffee ready...!
Funny, after I saw your post I emailed a good mate and said to him how you had caught these fish in my 'ideal' conditions for the Harries region - right wind/tide/time/swell...
Take Care T
Ps: Wed dependant on whether ENT Spec decides to operate to get the fish bone out of my throat on tues arvo... :(
Repete1
27-05-2012, 01:54 PM
Glad the boys jumped onto it. Can't have an unhappy Toyota Client. They might spread some bad publicity ;) . I have been getting smoked out in the bay lately 3x in an row now in all different locations too. The bay is on fire Atm . Can't wait till give it another go.
Catch up on Wed. (providing fish bone removed.) good luck t
Cheers pc :)