View Full Version : Clontarf 19/5

kingcray
19-05-2012, 09:08 PM
left clontarf this morning took shannonr87 ( he managed to stay dry and in the boat this time) plan was dump the pots around woody and spend the day chasing a snap at mud and catch up with 1 or2 ausfishos
pots went out about 6, then bounced our way through the southerly out of woody towards the island n thought na bugger this too sloppy dont feel like getting drenched. So turned back to the bridges to chase the flatties again
Same story as usual 20 or so unders to each keeper - biggest went about 53 with the odd bream, moses, pike etc.... also hooked a decent summer whiting, a first on the squidgy wrigglers
conditions soon glassed out n turned out to be beautiful day again.
plenty of fish caught and just as many snags n bust offs, a big donut on the crabs maybe theyre gone? or maybe the flatty frames just dont work i dunno...

is anybody else catching droves of small flatties round the 30-40 mark lately?
(only using squidgy wrigglers)

some pics from this morning

B U Z Z I N
19-05-2012, 10:05 PM
i haven't fished the bridges 4a while ,but did get 1 small 1 2day near scarby reef .
gunna take a mate out soon and brake his virginity on the plastics,might hav 2 take him 2the bridges
cheers buzzin

kingcray
20-05-2012, 08:29 AM
yeah a bit snaggy but always plenty of fish around there, just try fish really light jigheads

Seahorse
20-05-2012, 05:05 PM
Dean
Must have just missed u yesterday. We put in at 545am in a mates boat, blue Stacer 509. We also were going to mud. But pulled the pin about 10 mins into run. It was real lumpy, so we turned around and went to scr reef, then ended up in pine about 10. Mate got 1 flattie.

Pissed me of when it glassed out.

kingcray
20-05-2012, 06:05 PM
haha Greg, yeah your story sounds just like mine but didnt have the same luck on the crabs. i just stuck roudn the wells area.Was it you who went under the bridge heading towards hayes round 10ish? came pretty close to me. it was very shallow at the time.
I had a drift around woody about 12 for a bout a half hour. Was glassy as but no real bumps to speak of.

Seahorse
20-05-2012, 06:55 PM
Dean.
No we didn't head towards Hayes. We went under bridge and headed up the pine.

Wasn't the traffic shit back at boat ramp.

petelaska
20-05-2012, 07:53 PM
we went out from clontarf ramp to the pine saturday 2pm. no parks at the ramp because the kite show ijits parking in the trailer park, had to wait for someone to come in and pull their boat in. The missus was abused for holding the parking spot while I put the boat in, to her credit she does give as good as she gets and the woman in the 4wd moved on. Apart from that we got 6 whiting and 2 bream, a nice quiet afternoon on the water.

kingcray
20-05-2012, 08:02 PM
Greg - yeah i came back in about 1. wasnt too bad then surprisingly for once
Pete - would have been an awesome arvo out. weather was perfect when we called it quits. Nice work on the whiting, seems there are a few summeries about still. i had a look at the kite fest today and watched a couple blokes tow boats into the ramp and straight back out as there were no parks.