View Full Version : Ooglies of the deep.

Pages : [1] 2 3

Muddy Toes
16-05-2012, 07:59 PM
After seeing a few reports over time of people catching ooglies off the shelf I think a couple of us on here are looking to give it a go one day but don't really have a lot of knowledge about it.
As for rods and reels I'm not considering buying electric reels and stuff yet, I'll probably just use some big stuff I already have and make do going old school and manually winding.:P
What I am chasing is a bit of info on rigs, terminal tackle, bait.
Do the fish 'bite' as such or is it just a big weight when you've hooked up.
Are the fish on the bottom or a little bit off.
Any tips would be great.....I'm not too keen on winding up all day checking baits and mucking around so I'm trying to maximise my chances.
Thanks.

lucee81
16-05-2012, 09:02 PM
Paul on I fish chased them you could probably you tube it. He had about a pound of lead and 3 hooks not unlike the paternoster rig. Now I've never done this fishing but it took 5 min to reach the bottom and about 8-9 to come up again on electric reels. Happy fishing and if you need a deckie I reckon I could find time:).
I reckon leave anything with less than 80-100lb at home there wouldnt be any fighting just drag it up and also about 50t of line per reel could be overkill but it ain't fishing it's winching.

lucee81
16-05-2012, 09:03 PM
That was meant to be 500mt of line

rosco1974
16-05-2012, 09:13 PM
yep i am keen...i will drop it in and hopefully my deckie will pull the bugger up

Muddy Toes
16-05-2012, 09:26 PM
I might do a bit of a shout out when I'm looking at trying it Rosco......I reckon a few people would be keen.

lucee81
16-05-2012, 09:26 PM
Okay just you tubed a vid or 2 and it's actually fishing 250mt plus he had about 560mts of line out another bloke was fishing 450mt deep and not sure how much line he had out. Using a drop line. I reckon if you could set up an alvey with enough line it would work. on a rod the sat in an angled rod holder.

Captain Seaweed
16-05-2012, 09:40 PM
yep count me in when I finally get home

Muddy Toes
16-05-2012, 09:40 PM
I've got one of those big ass offshore Alveys on a broomstick of a rod my neighbor gave to me the other month when he was cleaning out his garage and that was my plan.....to sit in the rod holder and watch Fishfeeder try and wind it in.

But I just got a PM from a very knowledgeable man that shall remain nameless and he has opened my eyes to a lot of truths about this style of fishing I never even thought of........have fun winding Brett!!!

A 5 hook pattanoster with a kilo of lead on the bottom in 500m of water......I'll just sit and watch you guys.

Muddy Toes
16-05-2012, 09:45 PM
yep count me in when I finally get home

Righteo......your in.

Just a tip too mate........cable beach is a bit of a mecca for naked old men early in the morning.It's like a local early morning nudist walkway or something.
I found out the hard way when I woke up on the beach one morning.

lucee81
17-05-2012, 05:22 AM
With all these big boats going I'm putting my name up first for deckie :):):).

bf90
17-05-2012, 05:44 AM
muddy, are you serious man ????? a kilo of lead in 500 meters of water??? @#$% that!! How about if you put ya line through a anchor ball and brought it up that way ?? Nice and easy but I dont think the fish would be too pleased :)

lucee81
17-05-2012, 06:50 AM
muddy, are you serious man ????? a kilo of lead in 500 meters of water??? @#$% that!! How about if you put ya line through a anchor ball and brought it up that way ?? Nice and easy but I dont think the fish would be too pleased :)

It dont matter how deep it is fishfeeder is bringing it back up:) ...

Captain Seaweed
17-05-2012, 06:57 AM
Righteo......your in.

Just a tip too mate........cable beach is a bit of a mecca for naked old men early in the morning.It's like a local early morning nudist walkway or something.

Thanks Anthony I am up early now to go check.....:)

17-05-2012, 08:57 AM
we do it all the time down the South Coast of NSW, by far the best option (if you don't have BIG Alver Reef Queen with braid) is to use something like cord about 6mm thick, and then use a simple 3 hook paternoster on some 100-150lb mono, you will need plenty of weight for "sinkers" and all you do is handline with the cord, using a standard game rod and reel will drive you nuts and give you a heart attack, it is just too hard to have anymore than a couple of drops. With braid or cord, you will surely feel bites, most of the fish out there are vicious and you will feel a very distinct bite, don't know if you get those shitty little Green Eye sharks up there, but if you do, they can be a pest, 10mins winding for a small spiky shark about 6cm long! Use Squid for bait as it stays on best, if you can find some decent bottom structure, you should get some good Blue Eye and stuff like that.

snapperdan
17-05-2012, 09:56 AM
USe window sash weights as sinkers or 2 house bricks taped together with a break away.

Get an eletrtic. it makes it so much easier. It also means you have some energy left for a jig on the way back or if a blue or fin takes your lure that you pull for a while seeing as your out at the shelf already.

Lights are a must. Light sticks, swordfish lights, escas all work a charm.

If you have a serious pe8 jigging rod that you have sitting around collecting dust they work well as well. Different action, massive knife jigs like 2 feet long and a great work out.

fishfeeder
17-05-2012, 10:12 AM
I am thinking 80lb braid with a 1kg sinker, about 5m of 150Lb leader to 3 hook paternoster rig for the drop
The sinker is attached with a 4-6lb leader and should brake off with a good yank so winding up just hooks to start a new drift..

Using mono line sounds crazy, with stretch and thickness would cause you to need huge amounts of weight and you would need heaps more line out to get to the bottom........ Isn't that why we all changed to braid in the first place.

I have never done this before but think some of you are thinking your bringing up the Titanic not a fishy...

Floating Rib
17-05-2012, 10:19 AM
I like the idea about using the anchor ball to retrieve, sounds easier, must admit id love to give it a go but im not geared for it so think after one retrieve using the 6/0 penn id give up, Muddy Toes would you share the info in that enlightening PM you got?

lucee81
17-05-2012, 10:20 AM
I am thinking 80lb braid with a 1kg sinker, about 5m of 150Lb leader to 3 hook paternoster rig for the drop
The sinker is attached with a 4-6lb leader and should brake off with a good yank so winding up just hooks to start a new drift..

Using mono line sounds crazy, with stretch and thickness would cause you to need huge amounts of weight and you would need heaps more line out to get to the bottom........ Isn't that why we all changed to braid in the first place.

I have never done this before but think some of you are thinking your bringing up the Titanic not a fishy...

No Brett YOUR bringing up the fish not us we are planning and dropping the lines:) :)

17-05-2012, 10:49 AM
you would never use mono in those depths (well you can, and we did years ago) the mono is just for the paternoster setup, using bricks and stuff on a breakaway system is OK, but you need to have a boatload of bricks when you start, and there is nothing like a heap opf bricks sliding around to do some damage to your boat or toes!, as I said, unless you have a good Alvey reef queen or similar, go the handline system, it is a million times easier than a rod and reel, trust me, I have been there and done it too many times.

rabbi
17-05-2012, 11:47 AM
Hi,
I have fished the edge of the shelf for Barcod,nanygai,and whatever else I can catch out there.
I use a wilson live fibre 15 to 24kg 2metre rod wih 80kg braid on a Penn 330GTi overhead, which is fine out to the 1000 foot mark 150 fathoms or 330m.
Rig is simple, Big swivels with 3 hook dropper rig with 8/0 Octopus hooks out about 30cm from mainline which is no more than 100lb mono. The dropper rig is no more than 2metres long and clipped onto mainline wth a big coastlock.
In about 200 to 300m of water I use about 1/2 pound of lead or a 300 to 400gm jig as a sinker. If you have to use any heavier there is too much current and it will be almost impossible to hold bottom with whatever you throw over the side of the boat.
Works fine with most of the fish caught out there these days.
I have caught snapper on the jig halfway up too.
I dont like using electric reels as it falls into the "catching" category moreso than "fishing".You are only allowed 5 fish out there anyway so make the most fun out of the 20 to 30 minute wind up;D
cheers,steve

fishfeeder
17-05-2012, 11:49 AM
Noelm, You probably have a wealth of information on this sort of fishing, anything else you can pass on would be handy...
Like I said I have never done this but can see some benefits in going as light as practical..... I can see a huge tangle with 400m of line/cord on the deck.

You mentioned Squid for bait, What do you think about mullet soaked in tuna oil.

For a sinker, I was thinking steel bars, like a large jig.... They would drop fast and are easy to make after a trip to the scape yard..

I must be stupid, but I can't wait to give it ago...

Crunchy
17-05-2012, 11:56 AM
I "Caught" one once (Hapuka) many years ago on a charter boat off White Island in NZ in about 300M of water, was using a short boat rod and mono, skipper says, "Want to go again"....ummm no thanks I'll let someone else have a turn now:P I dont recall enjoying it that much.....

lucee81
17-05-2012, 12:17 PM
For sinkers i can get a shite load roofing lead a good 30-40kg at least and start melting, granted they wont be pretty but FREE and wont care about leaving them 400mt under water.
here is a really dumb question but what about replacing the rope on the anchor winch to line and using the anchor winch to lift the line? i sure as shite would hold that much rope on the anchor anyway so its pretty useless out there.

17-05-2012, 12:39 PM
OK, here is my bits and pieces, for sinkers we use either a bunch of Snapper leads, (up to 6-10) or beer cans filled with concrete with a loop of wire left in the wet concrete, they work OK, and cost bugger all to make, sash weights from old windows are good, but hard to find these days. For bait, you want something that is hard to get off, Squid or Cuttlefish is what we use, but fish flesh will be OK, as long as it does not fall to bits on the long drop down (and we are talking DEEP here) sometimes I use a bit of that glow in the dark tube on the line where the hook is (don't know if it makes a difference or not) glow sticks and the like don't seem to be of any use at all (in my experience), I now use a reef queen with 150lb braid, and 100lb mono droppers, sinkers are on about 30lb line (in case you get snagged)hooks need to be big and strong. There is some pretty tough fish out there, and some don't like being yanked out of their holes, so good tackle is a must, there is also some pretty hideous critters as well! when/if you get your deep water fish three quarters of the way up, they will bloat up and just float to the surface (except the Green Eye sharks), even if they get off, you can just drive over and net them on the surface, their eyes will be on stalks, all extended from the sockets. I prefer the handline (with cord) technique over a rod and reel any day, it will only take two guys taking turns to pull it in, kind of suspect an anchor winch will not have a constant duty cycle to allow for one to be used, but you never know. You need some current to get good fish, it is a pain in the bum, but deal with it, we have the boat constantly on the move, driving up current a bit, around in a circle, anyway to keep the line down as best possible, it is hard work, but the rewards can be some very good eating fish, down my way we get heaps of Gemfish, pretty ugly looking things, but they taste OK. You will either need some starters GPS marks, or a good sounder to find the bottom structure, the steeper the bottom pinnacles the better.

outwide1
17-05-2012, 01:38 PM
What he said.lol
I have done a bit of it now off Cape Morten,we use Diawa Tannacom Bull 1000 electrics spooled with 130lb braid.
We fished in depths from 250-600mtrs.My deckie thought it would be good while i was using the electric to drop down on a Shimano Torium 30,bad mistake on his part after hooking a monster bar cod that absolutly killed him bringing it in.
We have made leads out of V cans which work well.
I wish i had my photos here at work to post of what we have caught.
We mainly use mullet and squid for bait.
I have also started using lumo lights and deep water flashing lights with good success.
It is hard work but the rewards are awesome,2 drops and you have a good lot of flesh.
The pro line fisherman off Morten do a lot of this style of fishing and don't like it when you fih there areas.
And no this is not a dig at this group of people who work hard for a living.
The best people to know to get an idea on where to go would be game fisherman,i have found my best deep
water marks whilst trolling the shelf for blue marlin.
Other then the above theres not alot more to know,as some have already said,you will need to a good sounder set up.
Cheers Mick

Muddy Toes
17-05-2012, 01:46 PM
I don't think the pros have much to worry about Mick......we are all very green at this style of fishing.

The more I hear about it the more I want to try it.

outwide1
17-05-2012, 02:09 PM
I don't think the pros have much to worry about Mick......we are all very green at this style of fishing.

The more I hear about it the more I want to try it.

It has that effect,its about exploring new frontiers.
The best part is you just never know what is going to come up.
There is these long orange fish out there,(not flame tails)but another fish that
the flesh is like mac tuna blood red,tried using them for red baits after discovering
just how red the flesh was,no good for bait either.

rabbi
17-05-2012, 02:56 PM
I try to use something for bait that does not act like a parachute on the way down. live yakkas pinned thru the nose are good and squid hooked through the pointy end are good too. Mullet strips are parachutes.
I often use a 400gm knifejig with a metre of leader and put a big SP on the top. Jigging is fun but you dont have to work the jig too hard just wind up 10m slowly and drop it back down. not hard work.
I have caught 3 Barcod in one drop at times on dropper rigs with over 30kg of fish on and they fight well up to about 80m from the surface. then they blow their air bladder and float up.
We have been out there on flat days with no current at all and just sat over the top of them pulling them up.
They seem to bite better after lunchtime;D
I reckon its more fun fighting them on my gear and the the bragging rights are better when you do it the hard way, you dont see game fishos using electrics.
Each to their own.
Cheers, steve.

17-05-2012, 02:59 PM
Our main species down south is Blue Eye Trevalla, Gemfish, Hapuka and Bass Groper, odds and ends are Green eye sharks, a silly rockcod looking thing we call an Ocean Perch, a hideous, vicious thing called an Oil Fish that would scare the bejesus out of anything that swims, plus some reasonably rare catches like Oar fish and Ribbon Fish, I found a link to a local charter operator near me. (I have no affiliation with them at all) all in all it is a way to catch some different species using rather heavy and not too sporting gear.
http://www.predatorcharters.com.au/index.php?option=com_zoom&Itemid=99999999&catid=3

snapperdan
17-05-2012, 03:10 PM
Just saw on gamefishinghub.com.au that a fella got a baby sword off coffs the other day while having a drop. They are always a big posibility when out there as well. Better to be prepared for the 100kg bass or 150 kg sword.

Also take heaps of ice. Get yourself a kill bag or 2 and dont scrimp on the ice. Pretty easy to end up with a big pile of top quality fish. Treat it well.

Muddy Toes
17-05-2012, 03:15 PM
Pretty easy hey..........?

Gee now you've put the pressure on mate.

17-05-2012, 03:19 PM
yep, a couple of big Swords have been caught down here by the drop liners, and a few smaller ones by recs having a go at deepwater "bottom bouncing" with braid or cord, you can feel the bites and some of the bigger fish will actually "run" which is pretty exciting at times, it is not uncommon to se 6-10 boats out on the grounds here, so it is not a big deal as far as safety goes.

rabbi
17-05-2012, 04:04 PM
Hehe, yep easy on a good day but throw a few waves and a bit of current and wind in and then the challenge begins:D
Worth having a look though.
cheers, steve

netmaker
17-05-2012, 05:11 PM
cable beach is a bit of a mecca for naked old men early in the morning.It's like a local early morning nudist walkway or something.

naked?....

Muddy Toes
17-05-2012, 05:17 PM
naked?....

Who me Davo ?

Yeah.........when in Rome........

netmaker
17-05-2012, 05:29 PM
and $5 richer?

Muddy Toes
17-05-2012, 05:50 PM
With a new walking style that resembles John Wayne's.

PROS
17-05-2012, 06:33 PM
Back when I was a lot younger, fishing deep in Mediterranean, we used to use back half of a cheap mountain push bike.
Taking the plastic tyre off you end up with a nice metal hallow tyre frame that can hold over a km line.
Bike is upside down, take off the seat and home made metal tube to connect into where the bike seat was, the other end goes to rod holder or anywhere else suitable. It still swivels which is the good part.
Hands on the pedal to pull the line up.
We even used to have the gearing setup still when needed to speed up the raise.

The problem with using a rod is that, during pumping action, the weight keeps stopping and extra effort needed to keep the weight moving up back again, whereas bike wheel is constantly moving upwards. After the initial momentum, much little effort needed to keep it moving.

I am located at Brighton, fishing in the bay mostly.
If you need a dedicated 35yr old bloke to pull the line up, I am up for it.
My wife is well educated to prepare the food for the fishing crew.

lucee81
17-05-2012, 06:37 PM
i had the idea today of using a bike pedal set up but didnt know how to marry it up to adding line etc, thought i was going mad but apparently not.

PROS
17-05-2012, 07:29 PM
Cutting off the front A frame off ends up with rear A frame only including pedals and rear tyre.
You can take off the seat and use the extension bar to attach to the boat or insert into rod holder.
The whole thing sits straight and tyre dangling off the boat clear.You can keep the braking system to not let fish take off any line ;D

Muddy Toes
17-05-2012, 07:40 PM
Your PM inbox is full Floating Rib Mick.

cobiaman
17-05-2012, 07:54 PM
Anthony, are you on ausfish all day?

Muddy Toes
17-05-2012, 08:15 PM
Ummmm.........kind of.::)

There are times when I get hungry and have to eat, likewise when I have to go to the toilet.

I got one of those fan dangled smart phones a month or so ago so that's really starting to prove a downfall for Rio Tinto.

Between Ausfish, facebook, Ebay and a few other unmentionable sites I try and squeeze in a bit of work here and there but I seem to be failing miserably lately.

I actually bought my boat online at work one day.The day was dragging on a bit and I was looking for something to make the day go quicker.:P

Don't get me wrong though big G......I wasn't always in a supervisory role.

I used to work once upon a time.;D

What about Fishfeeder......the same could be said about him!!!!!

Crunchy
17-05-2012, 08:26 PM

...., likewise when I have to go to the toilet.....

great, now that's indelibly etched into mind whenever I read one of your posts!:(

cobiaman
17-05-2012, 08:33 PM

There are times when I get hungry and have to eat, likewise when I have to go to the toilet.

I got one of those fan dangled smart phones a month or so ago so that's really starting to prove a downfall for Rio Tinto.

Between Ausfish, facebook, Ebay and a few other unmentionable sites I try and squeeze in a bit of work here and there but I seem to be failing miserably lately.

I actually bought my boat online at work one day.The day was dragging on a bit and I was looking for something to make the day go quicker.:P

Don't get me wrong though big G......I wasn't always in a supervisory role.

I used to work once upon a time.;D

What about Fishfeeder......the same could be said about him!!!!!

Just checking, i must admit since work got wifi, productivity has been reduced somewhat for me...

Bull
17-05-2012, 08:50 PM
Muddy and cobia man you guys are always on here lol

Gawd now I have to go buy an electric reel

cobiaman
17-05-2012, 08:55 PM
Muddy and cobia man you guys are always on here lol

Gawd now I have to go buy an electric reel

Mate, you do alright, i see you on here most hours of the day...

Muddy Toes
17-05-2012, 09:15 PM
No electrics Brett.....them the rules for the first trip.

You need to find yourself a Fishfeeder to do the winding.

If the first trip is successful then I'll buy one.Actually what would you pick out of a Fishfeeder, a MadMackerel or an electric?Might have to have a wager to see which one breaks first.

And as for your comment.....that's a bit of the pot calling the kettle black mate.....I see Bull 1 gets enough daytime posts out there .::)

Bull
17-05-2012, 09:26 PM
You have a good point Mad Mack isnt happy unless he is in at least 150m of water and he jigs all day.

rabbi
17-05-2012, 09:36 PM
You guys really need to come to Korea.
Everybody is too busy trying to make their first million $$$$ to worry about fishing.
BTW a good electric reel is bout $1400 starting price here & they use 8 metre rods for jigging kingies.
Gotta get back to oz;D

TREVELLY
18-05-2012, 05:56 AM
Yes I will do the first trip manually and see how it goes. :wreck:

I have an 80W International that I have never used - will fill it with 200lb braid - about 1000m.

I have a mate who favours electric reels even in 80m of water, but he is rich and lazy and likes laughing at me winding up my rig. :)

I know downriggershop does a bent butt rod/reel/line combo for $1200 - looks pretty heavy

Anyway a lot of winding before the electrics for me, but I know that mate of mine will just race out and get the electrics - he can't help himself - another gadget and another opportunity to laugh at me winding whilst he sits back. :smug:

Back In Black
18-05-2012, 06:26 AM
Juna & I are booked on Frenzy Charters July 7th for a deep sea (600m by memory) shot at this type of fishing. I want to have a go at it, but thought going out on a charter that specialises in it would be the best way to learn, gear, tackle, what to look for etc. Trevalla is about the best fish I have ever eaten, & I get it if ever on the menu at restaurants, which is rare, so I thought I better learn to catch my own.
Frenzy Charters number is 3209 4576 as last I heard there were still a few bookings available. I know nowornever was organising this trip but pulled out, so is there anyone else booked on this one?

lucee81
18-05-2012, 06:33 AM
[QUOTE=TREVELLY;1383761]Yes I will do the first trip manually and see how it goes. :wreck:

Slowly to the top would be my guess.....

TREVELLY
18-05-2012, 07:20 AM
[QUOTE=TREVELLY;1383761]Yes I will do the first trip manually and see how it goes. :wreck:

Slowly to the top would be my guess.....

And a big oogglie attached YEEEHA !!! ;D

Will have a good long look at the sounder before dropping that's for sure :)

18-05-2012, 08:59 AM
I reckon before you get too into the whole thing, some land based detective work should take place, look at charts for your area and see if there is any bottom features way out, is there any pros that work the area drop lining, is Blue eye and cod even up that way? I am sure there will be someting on the deep reefs, but some leg work before you even go might just help you be successful.

lucee81
18-05-2012, 12:04 PM
Just returned from valet boat services (new toys) and apparently a minimum of 1kw transducer may be needed will see bottom with 83-200 but not real good. so who has a 1kw i sure as shite don't.
So any one got a deckie space :):) or more to the point how far out is it?

Crunchy
18-05-2012, 12:38 PM
About 80Km from Scarby to spot X? on the ledge...well I can get there, not sure about back again though:P

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/misc/pencil.png

18-05-2012, 01:00 PM
you will certainly need a good sounder to find new ground, however, you will do OK by just drifting around from GPS co-ordinates, as long as you can get some off someone, almost all of our deep water fishing is just a 'drift and hope" affair, but we have a few pros that are almost always there and you just line up a drift with them.

Muddy Toes
18-05-2012, 02:20 PM
I think a few of us have 1Kw trannies, just as well because I don't think any of us have spots apart from some general marks.

rainbow runner
18-05-2012, 04:37 PM
I'd be interested in attending a group trip out of Scarborough

It is certainly a style of fish that has got me interested

I would be giving it a go by hand using Alvey reels also

It might be a good opportunity to give the 1kw transducer on the furuno a real workout

burleygu
18-05-2012, 07:09 PM
i have a few big kick ass deck winch's if you would like to borrow them anthony. primitive but alot easier then winding in a rod and reel!! lol

Muddy Toes
18-05-2012, 07:56 PM
Your not wrong Tim.......how do they mount mate?

Looks like there's a fair bit of interest in this little experiment.

Should be a good trip if a few boats go on the same day.....surely someone will catch something.:P

TREVELLY
18-05-2012, 08:04 PM
Your not wrong Tim.......how do they mount mate?

Too easy - 2" hole drilled through the gunnel rail then secure with 4x1/4" bolts then secure the safety chain with 2x1/2" bolts to the floor.

Piece o' piss ;D

Muddy Toes
18-05-2012, 08:07 PM
Ummmmm.........Maybe Trev would like to borrow them first Tim.

TREVELLY
18-05-2012, 08:31 PM
Ummmmm.........Maybe Trev would like to borrow them first Tim.

No mate I am here to help you secure them to your boat - least I can do - besides what are deep sea fishing buddies for ? ;D

Aaah yes that's right winding up the fish.

TREVELLY
18-05-2012, 08:33 PM
Should be a good trip if a few boats go on the same day.....surely someone will catch something.:P

Mate guaranteed we will all catch something - RSI :P

Muddy Toes
18-05-2012, 08:48 PM
Hahahahah RSI.

cobiaman
18-05-2012, 09:38 PM
I volunteer to be camera man/deckie/beer man whilst you blokes are winding in the fish

Muddy Toes
18-05-2012, 09:49 PM
I volunteer to be camera man/deckie/beer man whilst you blokes are winding in the fish

That's great that your volunteering big G .............

I'd hate to have to pay you to do that.:P

cobiaman
18-05-2012, 10:11 PM
I enjoy my community service...

onerabbit
19-05-2012, 05:02 PM
Dunno how I missed this thread before now,
`

TREVELLY
19-05-2012, 07:07 PM
we have a few pros that are almost always there and you just line up a drift with them.

Me thinks you are trying to get us run over ;D

onerabbit
20-05-2012, 10:10 AM
but I'd like to give all you guys a big thumbs up for having a go at the deep water without having to rush out & buy electric gear because
its too far to wind up.

Anyone who knows me knows I have a passion for tackling these deepwater fish on standup gear.
Rabbi & I live in the same area & basically fish the same (except I have better marks than him,hehehehe)
He described the gear needed pretty well, with a few changes.
50lb stick, reliable 6/0 reel, paternostra rig at the bottom about 6ft made with big 3way swivels.
Hook choice is up to you, but make sure they are very strong, we only use Big Gun, & just because you are chasing big fish doesn't mean you need to use shark hooks, we only use 4/0 & 3/0 as there are other fish out there besides cod.
Line weight is also up to you, but we only use 30lb braid & have no trouble boating 15 kg cod.
I dont know how Rabbi can hit the bottom with the sinkers that he described, but we never use less than 2lb sinkers, & these still take nearly 5 mins to hit the bottom.

Good luck with it , & I hope we can read some good reports soon.

burleygu
20-05-2012, 01:03 PM
they either rail mount or deck mount however with abit of notice i could run some stainless wire through my mig and make a tube extension for them so they simply sit in your existing rod holders however they would have to be built in rod holders on an alloy boat or stainless rod holders in a glass boat deffinately wouldnt like to put a deck winch in a plastic rod holder :S

TREVELLY
20-05-2012, 01:07 PM
they either rail mount or deck mount however with abit of notice i could run some stainless wire through my mig and make a tube extension for them so they simply sit in your existing rod holders however they would have to be built in rod holders on an alloy boat or stainless rod holders in a glass boat deffinately wouldnt like to put a deck winch in a plastic rod holder :S

Don't forget the chain and the big bolts to the floor - he really need them ;D

rabbi
20-05-2012, 05:22 PM
but I'd like to give all you guys a big thumbs up for having a go at the deep water without having to rush out & buy electric gear because
its too far to wind up.

Anyone who knows me knows I have a passion for tackling these deepwater fish on standup gear.
Rabbi & I live in the same area & basically fish the same (except I have better marks than him,hehehehe)
He described the gear needed pretty well, with a few changes.
50lb stick, reliable 6/0 reel, paternostra rig at the bottom about 6ft made with big 3way swivels.
Hook choice is up to you, but make sure they are very strong, we only use Big Gun, & just because you are chasing big fish doesn't mean you need to use shark hooks, we only use 4/0 & 3/0 as there are other fish out there besides cod.
Line weight is also up to you, but we only use 30lb braid & have no trouble boating 15 kg cod.
I dont know how Rabbi can hit the bottom with the sinkers that he described, but we never use less than 2lb sinkers, & these still take nearly 5 mins to hit the bottom.

Good luck with it , & I hope we can read some good reports soon.

Hey Muzz, just gotta streamline your gear so you are not chucking parachutes over the side.
The jigs n braid cut through the current nicely.
When are we going to hava look at your marks;D U.S

onerabbit
20-05-2012, 06:00 PM
Let me know when you are going & I will meet you up off Cape Byron & you can chase us out near the canyon..............

rabbi
20-05-2012, 06:22 PM
Muzz, I cant paddle my yak that far!!

lucee81
21-05-2012, 07:25 PM
I wanna see all these qlder's do it with an alvey 1:1 ratio. And see how much they love em then😳😳😄😄

TREVELLY
21-05-2012, 07:36 PM
I really don't think it is going to be any easier with the International 80W cranking away - my rig - no matter happy to try it anyway.

If I get some joy from it with a fish all the more I will try again :)

lucee81
21-05-2012, 07:50 PM
I'm not saying I wouldn't but ain't it going to be a blast. The radios are going to be entertaining. Brett has blown a valve, trev is coming up the rear. I can volunteer my services as emcee.

TREVELLY
21-05-2012, 08:00 PM
trev is coming up the rear.

Not sure I like the sound of that ?

Anyway definitely RSI candidates and it will be real interesting before or after the event to gtg to see what sort of weird and wonderful rigs we plan on dropping several hundred metres past king neptune's nose to the centre of the earth.

I've heard in this thread alone "I must be crazy", "I think I am going mad" and gear proposed "anchor retriever"; "beer cans filled with concrete" and "Bricks" - I reckon we are going to be a complete circus out there :jester: should be fun ;D

lucee81
21-05-2012, 08:22 PM
If I can't get a deckie space I'm heading out in a 5.5mt and following a few no doubt so muddy pick good weather. I will be making lead sinkers and concrete sinkers got everything except cans. No idea how it's coming back up again. No electrics so electric anchor winch is a no go. not that I have 1.
We used to get metal rope reels back in Darwin and put line on them maybe something like that on a broom stick propped up with oar holders and turn the reel. Don't recon these fish really fight more of a skull drag.

2IC
21-05-2012, 08:22 PM
GUYS I HAVE JUST SEEN THIS POST:o how did I miss this:-[ I have always wanted to do this type of fishing,, have being reading up about deep water fishing,TIM those big ass deck winchs are going on our boat:) that if your up for this type of fishing:P now will have to talk to bruce to see if hes up for a trip out wide:-? so if all goes well & the crew are up for it would love to tag along8-) Cheers bill

Muddy Toes
21-05-2012, 08:25 PM

Hey thanks Tim.....don't go to that trouble mate, I'll try and wing it with the gear I've got for the first trip.

If it's a success and I want to do it again I'll let you know.

Thanks again mate.

lucee81
21-05-2012, 08:25 PM
Well trev/Anthony you just both missed out on putting big bolts through your floors:).

TREVELLY
21-05-2012, 08:29 PM
This is starting to sound like a rapid impromptu gtg - governed by weather.

Heading out from Scarby? If so a great meet place on return would be a barbecue at the Bulwer or Tanga wrecks.

TREVELLY
21-05-2012, 08:31 PM
Well trev/Anthony you just both missed out on putting big bolts through your floors:).

Bugger :smash:

Muddy Toes
21-05-2012, 08:34 PM
Geez.......

So I've just got a$$holed out of the deck winches, got lumped with weather duty and Trev's coming up me rear all in the one page!!!!

See why I've never tried to organise anything else before?

cobiaman
21-05-2012, 08:42 PM
Make sure there is no current either...

TREVELLY
21-05-2012, 08:48 PM
Hey thanks Tim.....don't go to that trouble mate, I'll try and wing it with the gear I've got for the first trip.

If it's a success and I want to do it again I'll let you know.

Thanks again mate.

What can I say :'( . . . .:'( . . .:'( . .:wreck: . .:wreck: . :bigcry: :bigcry: :bigcry:

:LMAO:

Another case like at work trying to be at this weekends gtg - you are on a roll Bro ;D

rabbi
22-05-2012, 10:50 AM
If I can't get a deckie space I'm heading out in a 5.5mt and following a few no doubt so muddy pick good weather. I will be making lead sinkers and concrete sinkers got everything except cans. No idea how it's coming back up again. No electrics so electric anchor winch is a no go. not that I have 1.
We used to get metal rope reels back in Darwin and put line on them maybe something like that on a broom stick propped up with oar holders and turn the reel. Don't recon these fish really fight more of a skull drag.

Hi Lucee81,
You dont have to go overboard with really heavy gear and concrete blocks for sinkers.
Anything up to a 2knot current you can get away with a pound of lead or if it gets bad put 2 sinkers on.
Its just the wind drift that will upset things but you can always get the captain to motor into the current or wind and hold position:D
If you are going to use a deck winch loaded with 150lb line it will definitely be a skulldrag but go the rod n reel way and these fish will fight well while they are down deep but float up once they get close to the boat.
We have had to chase the fish a few times to keep up with them and getting them off the bottom can be a big job.
Try putting a SP at the top swivel on your dropper rig as there are some big Nannygai out there that love SPs.
The worst part is winding your line back up without a fish on when your bait goes and thats why I use jigs n SPs at times.

Once you get over the first couple of windups the pain goes and it doesnt hurt anymore;D
Good luck n lets us know how you go.
cheers, steve

lucee81
22-05-2012, 10:58 AM
Thanks for that Steve, about how many km's do you travel to do this type of fishing?

lucee81
22-05-2012, 11:26 AM
I wont be attempting the trip by myself and will hopefully be following the crowds. will rethink this whole adventure once i know how much fuel i have.
My thoughts as long as i can get out there it should be far enough that i get mistaken for a boat person (being arab) and towed back in with free dental.;D;D

Muddy Toes
22-05-2012, 11:37 AM
I wont be attempting the trip by myself and will hopefully be following the crowds. will rethink this whole adventure once i know how much fuel i have.
My thoughts as long as i can get out there it should be far enough that i get mistaken for a boat person (being arab) and towed back in with free dental.;D;D

I'd get you on my boat mate but I've got the full peanut gallery crewing whenever this trip takes place.

Your boat should be right given the weather is good and you carry some spare fuel........Bugman on here used to fish the shelf in his tiller steer tinny.

As for the whole boat person thing mate don't worry....I'm half Chinese so I too am hoping to get mistaken for a boat person.I've never had had free dental and a playstation before.

TREVELLY
22-05-2012, 11:49 AM
I'd get you on my boat mate but I've got the full peanut gallery crewing whenever this trip takes place.

Your boat should be right given the weather is good and you carry some spare fuel........Bugman on here used to fish the shelf in his tiller steer tinny.

As for the whole boat person thing mate don't worry....I'm half Chinese so I too am hoping to get mistaken for a boat person.I've never had had free dental and a playstation before.

Being born in UK that just gives me the right to whinge !

lucee81
22-05-2012, 11:54 AM
Trev you better got onto your mates in the Royal Navy and let them know theres a lost arab and chinaman pillaging the seas but leave it till the arvo so we dont use our fuel heading back in i wouldnt mind one of those free playstations. Pity i dont smoke anymore get those free too.

TREVELLY
22-05-2012, 12:17 PM
Trev you better got onto your mates in the Royal Navy and let them know theres a lost arab and chinaman pillaging the seas but leave it till the arvo so we dont use our fuel heading back in i wouldnt mind one of those free playstations. Pity i dont smoke anymore get those free too.

The free phone and phone card should make up for that - can always sell the smokes.

Boys are on their way!

fishfeeder
22-05-2012, 12:21 PM
Muddy the weather next week is going to be great and I think I might be getting the flu so some fresh salt air is needed..
Lucee, Trev would be more likely to call "Dad's Army" then the Royal Navy !! ::)

lucee81
22-05-2012, 12:25 PM
Muddy the weather next week is going to be great and I think I might be getting the flu so some fresh salt air is needed..
Lucee, Trev would be more likely to call "Dad's Army" then the Royal Navy !! ::)

Apparently i am too young to know whos Dad's Army is but us young uns know google:)

Spot82
22-05-2012, 12:36 PM
Here is a couple we got on the weekend off Southport.

http://img69.imageshack.us/img69/2256/dsc3231e.jpg
22kg Blue Eye

http://img100.imageshack.us/img100/9820/dsc3267.jpg
28kg Bass Groper

http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/2001/dsc3236.jpg
32kg Bass Groper

We were using 300lb for the main part of the rig and 200lb minimum for the droppers, the blue eye nearly rubbed me through and we actually broke the leader on a smaller Bass Groper about 30m from the boat but luckily it floated to the surface so we backed over and stuck the gaff in it. I will edit up some video soon and it will give you an idea of how hard these fish fight! We were using electrics and going from 60 metres a minute to stopped and going backwards when the fish run! In saying that a lot of the guys in our club use a 50W loaded with 100lb braid and do it manually, but if you don't have good areas that is a hell of a lot of winding for no fish!! And to put it in perspective even with electrics we were only getting basically one drift per hour.

I am going to make up some rigs shortly as per what we were using, if anyone wants any they can purchase for $25, which may seem expensive but the time you buy 400lb three way swivels, 300lb leader, 16/0 circle hooks, lumo tube and crimps, they aren't cheap to make.

You will need a 1kw transducer as we were fishing 400 - 450m and you could see the fish on the sounder on the ledge. In any case you atleast want to be able to see the bottom on your sounder so you can pick up the structure where they are likely to hang! This was about a 30-50m ledge that we were fishing. If you are running a Furuno use 50htz, Ping Speed at about 5 or 6, scroll speed at 1/2 and then up the gain, also use split screen so you can see the bottom 10-20m. Unfortunately I didn't take any sounder shots, I will next time.

Anthony

fishfeeder
22-05-2012, 12:42 PM
Now that's what I am talking about... great fish !!
Its a shame you skirted it and used electrics :gorgeous:

And thanks for the information on sounder settings and rigs its all help full and the fish pics just make me want to do it even more now !!

lucee81
22-05-2012, 12:44 PM
Hey Muddy just having a look over past posts from Bugman, 32km from the bar really isnt that far i think Tangalooma from Whyte Island is about that distance. Tweed Bar.
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?172869-Shelf-Tinny-Big-Fish
post 6....

Spot82
22-05-2012, 12:48 PM
Mate I was using the rod I use for catching reds and harnessed up, as for Mat being lazy and leving his 60kg rod in the rod holder well yes he should have had a skirt on!

Myself and another member of Surfers Paradise Game and Sports Fishing Club are going to do a challenge for either charity or the junior members of our club and are going to attempt to catch ooglies in 450m of water on handlines, it will be stop watch timed with the kgs of fish taken into consideration to declare the winner, all in good fun and no doubt will be lots of laughs!!

fishfeeder
22-05-2012, 01:02 PM
The way I see it is if I catch one of them and it takes 2hrs to get it up I wont care as I wont be dropping again !!!
Then I will take the wheel so the captain can enjoy the PAIN while I suck down beers...

Good idea for a charity, Now that is Extreme Fishing..

lucee81
22-05-2012, 01:06 PM
Is there laws on how many hooks you can have on your line?

Muddy Toes
22-05-2012, 01:15 PM
Is there laws on how many hooks you can have on your line?

http://www.dpi.qld.gov.au/28_3045.htm

fishfeeder
22-05-2012, 01:21 PM
Lucee, I am wondering the same as I was thinking of a 2 dropper rig with a 3 hook snell setup on each dropper... this way the baits will present good and be less drag so should drop nice and fast.. A nice Squid about 15cm long and a half Mullet fillet soaked in Tuna oil as bait.. Then hang on !!

lucee81
22-05-2012, 01:45 PM
im thinking 6 hooks thats are far as ive gotten.....

Spot82
22-05-2012, 02:10 PM
We found Tuna to be the best, we had mullet fillets but never got a bite, small chunk of tuna did the trick on all of the fish we got :)

onerabbit
22-05-2012, 05:01 PM
Thanks for that Steve, about how many km's do you travel to do this type of fishing?

Out of Ballina it's about 23 miles to our cod grounds,

the best bit of advice I can give you is....
when planning your trip, try to time it so that you can SEE the moon in the sky while you are fishing, first quarter is better than third quarter.

this has always been the key to our best days.

Oh, & I love using mullet out there, EVERYTHING loves eating mullet.

tenzing
22-05-2012, 07:50 PM
I have been following this thread for a while , and seeing as someone else has posted pics of their catch I thought I might add my two Bob's worth:
I was lucky enought to be invited by a friend to deckie for he and a mate out of the goldie on saturday just gone.
Their plan was to blood some new electric gear that they had picked up.
We found some fish in 400m odd and after failing at our first spot we moved a little and found a good show. Please read the following bearing in mind that this was my first trip to the edge and I can only report on what happened on that trip.
My tip is to be careful what you wish for. The boys had three hook paternoster rigs and SMALL pieces of squid on 14/0 CIRCLE hooks. The result was 8 blue eye and two hapuka in 2 drops X 2 rods! That is a truly massive (too massive?) haul of fish in a few minutes!
For those who want to comment on the electrics, think what you want, it was an exercise and we gained some knowledge from it and my share has so far fed 14 people and the others were giving a lot away as well. We donated 2 fish to a nearby boat as it was standing room only in the esky and remember you cant put them back!

For those wanting to do it manually , good on you . I think I will give that a try next time, BUT, These fish are hungry and aggressive and we found that we got two FULL strings at the same time within seconds of the gear hitting the bottom!
For the guys wanting to put three gangs or three separate hooks , just contemplate winding up 80kg or more from 400m! The Leccie took 5 minutes and groaned a lot under the strain even with help from the manual winder. I would use a single hook rig and enjoy the ride, Then if you like it you can do it again!

The rig was a heavy (?lb) mono crimped with fluoro tube over each dropper and heavy 3 way swivels. The important addition to each rig was flashing lights! Its dark down there obviously.
The circle hooks are a must.
We were lucky that once the squall finally left us alone there was bugger all wind and drift and we were able to sit pretty much over the show and the guys found the bottom easily with 1 kg home made leads ( attached by lighter "sacrificial" leader) - there was 1 snag and its good to lose your lead not the rig including the lights etc.

We jigged up a couple of modest snapper in 250m as well but scored a donut on the trolling side of things.
I would reccommend a plan B too, its a shitload of fish in a few minutes if they are biting and a bloody long way to go to turn around straight away!
On the plus side there is a lot of filleting to do when you get back.

A massive thank you for the invite, the boat is beautiful and I want one now.
Thanks guys for a great day out, great company and a good bit of fun.
Brendan

Back In Black
22-05-2012, 07:56 PM
What is the bag limit on these things?? (I apologize now if its already been commented on)
Thanks,

Muddy Toes
22-05-2012, 08:04 PM
Just want to thank everyone that has put up some info about this style of fishing.

Seems like I'm not the only one interested in giving it a go.

lucee81
22-05-2012, 08:25 PM
so muddy what i got out if that was pack an extra esky:)
just kidding some good info there and food for thought.
maybe an assault on the gold coast would be the way to go as it seems to produce. may need fishing licences as it could well go over the border..

tenzing
22-05-2012, 08:33 PM
so muddy what i got out if that was pack an extra esky:)
just kidding some good info there and food for thought.
maybe an assault on the gold coast would be the way to go as it seems to produce. may need fishing licences as it could well go over the border..
Check the rules first, they change over the border.
Limit of 5 deep water fish per angler and importantly 10 PER BOAT limit.
Brendan

lucee81
22-05-2012, 08:40 PM
I will assume launching from QLD and fishing QLD but with the drift etc i would hate to get done for apparently fishing NSW. dont know what to expect out there but for the sake of $6 for 3 days and if they get a photo of the boat in NSW waters im covered.
say you have 3 on board and drop 3 lines (cause im a wog that doesnt believe in 1 line) end up with 15 fish.. what do they expect you to do with the other 5 (in nsw)?

tenzing
22-05-2012, 08:46 PM
I will assume launching from QLD and fishing QLD but with the drift etc i would hate to get done for apparently fishing NSW. dont know what to expect out there but for the sake of $6 for 3 days and if they get a photo of the boat in NSW waters im covered.
say you have 3 on board and drop 3 lines (cause im a wog that doesnt believe in 1 line) end up with 15 fish.. what do they expect you to do with the other 5 (in nsw)?
In NSW you would be limited to 3 hooks per line so a maximim of 9 fish from your 1 drop.Leaving you to go for a single.
Then you would go and do something else I guess. You cant really fish for them if you cant keep them!

lucee81
22-05-2012, 08:53 PM
Thank you for this info Brendan, very helpful.
the more info the more less like cowboys we look.

burleygu
22-05-2012, 09:08 PM
I have 4 or 5 from memory Anthony. sitting in the shed collecting dust If and when it happens happy to lend the remainders out. I will however add that bill's riptide has horizontal rod holders that mount into your existing vertical rod holders so you can simply chuck your rod in and get cranking! Might be a cheap idea to save somebody some hurt!

Geez.......

So I've just got a$$holed out of the deck winches, got lumped with weather duty and Trev's coming up me rear all in the one page!!!!

See why I've never tried to organise anything else before?

rainbow runner
22-05-2012, 09:16 PM
Hi Anthony

Did you get any video footage of the trip?

Muddy Toes
22-05-2012, 09:25 PM
I have 4 or 5 from memory Anthony. sitting in the shed collecting dust If and when it happens happy to lend the remainders out. I will however add that bill's riptide has horizontal rod holders that mount into your existing vertical rod holders so you can simply chuck your rod in and get cranking! Might be a cheap idea to save somebody some hurt!

Thanks so much again Tim.

I'll try and do it cave man style with a rod and reel for the first time and if need be I might have to chat to you about them for future trips.

As for the bit about saving someone the hurt........I'm actually quite looking forward to it!!!

Spot82
22-05-2012, 11:01 PM
Hi Anthony

Did you get any video footage of the trip?

Yeah I did, I will put it up soon.

If anyone gets a triple hookup doing it manually you will nearly be dead by the time you get them to the top, but big ups to anyone who does it solo! 8-)

As was said circle hooks (PEtackle 10/0's are as big as 14/0 or 16/0 Mustards) are a must and heavy gear because if you do get multiple hookups you are going to get busted up pretty easily on anything light. One of our club guys got busted up on 400lb early last week :o

Even winding up 1-2kg of lead from 400m is a killer, as you actually have about 500-600m of line out.

Research some good charts and look at the contours closely, u need to find structure even at that depth because the fish will hang right on the structure. Make sure you get your drift exactly right at well because if you miss you just wasted 45mins...

If you do get it right it is great fun though and Blue Eye are pretty tasty!

Anthony

rabbi
23-05-2012, 12:05 AM

Depends on where you live but around the northern rivers its about 35km out.
Dont mind the eating qualities of smaller fish but they get a bit coarse as they get bigger.
cheers.
As per onerabbits post, which I just read:D
We went to the drop off at the shelf one day and the sounder was picking up the bottom at 990 feet then some one took the seafloor away and the sounder couldnt pick up the bottom but it was a cliff thats for sure. been getting good fish out to the shelf so havnt bothered going any further( in a mates boat)
And as Muzz knows , the good news is that you will still get good leatherjackets on the cod grounds;D

fishfeeder
23-05-2012, 09:08 AM
Stuff trying to pull up a full string of 3 large fish...... That's why I am looking at a 2 dropper max setup.
I am not greedy and 2 fish will be enough, Not looking at getting a bag limit, just want to give it ago and if I take home a few feeds even better..

Cheers and bring on the pain.

burleygu
23-05-2012, 03:02 PM
i think it will be a deffinate requirement for fellow ausfishers to video there hook ups and catch's then we can banter amongst ourselves about who whinged and wined the most!!!

lucee81
23-05-2012, 03:11 PM
No whinging from my boat..

lucee81
23-05-2012, 03:12 PM
Cause were tuff like that...

After saying that probably be the biggest sooks out there....

2IC
23-05-2012, 05:01 PM
Geez guys after looking at the depth we might be fishing I dont think I will be able to see bottom or fish:o have a furuno 585 with a 60w thru hull transducer now I think if I have it on 50khz it might show bottom at 400m but not show fish:-? so will try low frequency zoom mode & see if we can find structure &hope fish are sitting on it . so in saying this how many boats that are going have 1kw transducer as we might have to pair up so not fishing blind8-)8-) I dont think bruce & tim would like to drop down that deep on a whim & pray then wind back in 500m of line :( man the bitching & crying would be insane:D;D I think marty must have been to soft on these two ;D;D & go the boys tonight give it to those blue ba#t##ds

lucee81
23-05-2012, 05:14 PM
Marty would have been real nice to em and got electrics but that's no allowed.....
i do not have a 1kw transducer (yet)
Muddy does i believe
If marty takes his rig he does (can i be deckie?) if so ignore first line Marty electrics are fine:) :)
Dont know of anyone else has but you may get away in the 250mt mark
about not wanting to fish blind i think you have mistaken this adventure for a bunch of professionals :) :)

Muddy Toes
23-05-2012, 05:17 PM
So Bill.......I've got the 1Kw transducer and you've claimed the deck winches.;D

Which is worse.....having all the gear but no fish to catch or having to catch heaps of fish in that depth with rod and reel?:o

MAYBE WE CAN NEGOTIATE BITCH!!!!!!

2IC
23-05-2012, 05:49 PM
Mate,

Tim has got 4 winches, I'll let you have 2.:D:DThat is if we can follow you around all day like a bad smell;);). I'm only doing this on behalf of my poor deckies:-X:-X. OTHERWISE BRING IT ON BITCH!!!!:-*:-*GO QLD'ers;D

rainbow runner
23-05-2012, 05:56 PM
I have a 1kw transducer and a furyno 585 . just have to sort out when the trip might be and where from

Just trying to get a couple of pre-fishes in prior to the rainbow comp and juggling family/work commitments at present

rainbow runner
23-05-2012, 05:58 PM
Anthony

Look forward to seeing the video

Let me know when you have it up on the net

onerabbit
23-05-2012, 06:10 PM
We went to the drop off at the shelf one day and the sounder was picking up the bottom at 990 feet then some one took the seafloor away and the sounder couldnt pick up the bottom but it was a cliff thats for sure

Yep Uncle Steve, that's the canyon, supposed to drop a couple of Ks.....but holds some big fish., my Furuno went from 380 mtrs to a straight line down.
(but that's not the good spot).

I have a question for Spot 82...
at the previously mentioned spot, I caught a Blue Eye around the same as you have pictured, mine was around 15 kg, how did you find it to eat?

Mine was pure white flesh, firm, & looked the business.....
sadly, it was tasteless crap, not even the cat would eat it.

I would also like your opinion on the BGs you have pictured,
what are they like as table fish at 35kg?

I guess we are lucky that our target fish is Bar Cod, which we get to nearly 20kg, at that size they are still one of the BEST eating fish you will find,
second only to "caught that day" coral trout, which I believe is the best fish you can get anywhere.

tenzing
23-05-2012, 07:41 PM
We went to the drop off at the shelf one day and the sounder was picking up the bottom at 990 feet then some one took the seafloor away and the sounder couldnt pick up the bottom but it was a cliff thats for sure

Yep Uncle Steve, that's the canyon, supposed to drop a couple of Ks.....but holds some big fish., my Furuno went from 380 mtrs to a straight line down.
(but that's not the good spot).

I have a question for Spot 82...
at the previously mentioned spot, I caught a Blue Eye around the same as you have pictured, mine was around 15 kg, how did you find it to eat?

Mine was pure white flesh, firm, & looked the business.....
sadly, it was tasteless crap, not even the cat would eat it.

I would also like your opinion on the BGs you have pictured,
what are they like as table fish at 35kg?

I guess we are lucky that our target fish is Bar Cod, which we get to nearly 20kg, at that size they are still one of the BEST eating fish you will find,
second only to "caught that day" coral trout, which I believe is the best fish you can get anywhere.

Hey Muzz , Can I chip in uninvited?

My wife is the real deal in the kitchen, a real Margaret Fulton type ( for those old enough to remember).
Sunday we had a 20 kg blue eye trevalla, filleted on the day then left to firm up overnight in the fridge, sliced diagonal into steaks about 3/4"thick.
Browned on a griddle plate both sides, then into 200 degrees for about 15 minutes on a tray . Important to keep checking and take out when still JUST pink in the middle.
Served up with a lemon beurre blanc sauce (if you dont mind!) and salad, plus potato casserole. Served 15 adults. Top Top feed. as good as I have ever had. the real trick is getting the fish off the heat early.

Last night had hapuka , half of a 15 kg fish.
Straight off the pan and onto the plate with lemon and fresh bread
Aw my Gawd! Fed 6 adults, all very satisfied
So go your hardest boys they are a damn good feed at that size.
Brendan
Go The Maroons

2IC
23-05-2012, 11:30 PM
WHO WON TONIGHT:D:o::);D GO THE BOYS

Muddy Toes
24-05-2012, 02:07 AM
Who's going out to the shelf blind after that comment?

lucee81
24-05-2012, 05:20 AM
2IC?

need 10 characters, how do i change that..

2IC
24-05-2012, 07:04 AM
Anthony,

Mate please dont send me out there blind8-) I will not mention another word about how great that NSW team is. ( But QLD is Simply the Best!!!;D;D;D). Now since you seem to be the Chief organiser and weatherman what day, month, year is this going to happen. And dont forget to look at that moon calendar as well as all these things have to line up apparently:-?. Looking at some of the photos that are posted Geez this could hurt. ( But i'm a QLDer and i'm tough ;)) Oops did I mention Qld again.. Sorry mate!We would want to know a month mate so we could prebook the Chiropractor. Cheers Bill

Muddy Toes
24-05-2012, 07:52 AM
Alright games over, can we all be friends again for a few more weeks?

Truth be told Bill I've got absolutely no idea when this is going to happen.....for starters I work away for 4 weeks at a time so that really limits the days it could happen as a group and secondly the weather has to be good and thirdly the moon has to be good and fourthly I feel a bit ripped off by the ref last night.

I'm home on Sunday and going by the weather forecast thus far for next week I can only imagine it wont happen this time I'm home.

So realistically I reckon all you blokes that have real jobs should just go when the weather is good one weekend rather than me setting a date.Being such a long trip and a hard fishing style to try and master in the best of conditions it might just be best to go at the drop of a hat when the planets align.

If not.....there seems to be a few boats that want to go so if you want I can organise a specific date when I'm home and we can just all hope the weather plays the game for that date.......the weathers always good on M&G's isn't it?

lucee81
24-05-2012, 08:59 AM
Only when Brett doesn't organize it.

fishfeeder
24-05-2012, 09:31 AM
Yup I am staying out of the When and the Weather forecasts for this event !!

Spot82
24-05-2012, 03:50 PM
No dramas with the blue eye at that size, I ate some that night crumbed and friend had hers baked with lemon and pepper and some the night after which Sean battered and both was good, I cut it into steaks about 10-15mm thick so that it cooked very quickly and as mentioned you don't want to over cook it as it will go tough like boot leather.

Both myself and Vertico reckon the blue eye was good, better than snapper but not quite up there with reds and trout, but we are spoilt! I have also heard that you should leave it in the fridge over night as per Brendans post, but I had no drama with eating it that night. My friend isn't a fish eater and only eats Reds and trout etc because they don't have a fishy taste and she also like it.

Everyone I have spoke to reckon the Blue eye is far better eating than the Bass Groper.

When we trolled Cape Moreton Canyons for Sunny Coast Game Comp last year we marked some really good ledges in around 300-350m of water, wasn't in my boat so don't have any of the marks but the mark I gave off the chart is in the right area.

With a group of boats you will be able to cover a fair area and should have no dramas finding some structure to fish.

Anthony

PS GO THE MAROONS :P

onerabbit
24-05-2012, 05:07 PM
Cheers for the chip in Tenzing, & spot 82

I dont know what i did wrong with it then....

I did the same as you, cut it in diagonal slices about 3/4in thick,
definitely didn't overcook it.......but it was crap,
like I said, even the cat turned his nose up at it.

I have been told that Blue Eye should be left in an ice slurry for a couple of days to improve it before cutting it up, this from the guy at the local seafood shop,
he even offered to keep one for me to see the diference,
but I have only found Blue Eye on the big drop off previously mentioned,
so I tend not to go there.

I would rather a good box full of Bar Cod,
like I said, they are nearly as good as coral trout.

Will put up a few pics when Im not so tired.

fish'n'chippy
24-05-2012, 08:07 PM
Who's going out to the shelf blind after that comment?

I'm a cockroach born and bred......
now can i get a spot on the boat ??????

those MORONS (i'm sorry, maroons) don't deserve it! ;D

2IC
26-05-2012, 10:27 AM
Anthony maybe try to organise a date for this. It will give us all some thing to look foward too like the 2nd game;):-[;D but do not call this aM&G as the weather gods look for these words now:-X:-X also I"m blind8-)& you are the seeing eye dog:o BITCH,,, haaaha so cannot do this without you. the weather has turned to crap again>:( hopefully this cold spell might bring the water temp down & the fish on:) cheers bill

Muddy Toes
26-05-2012, 12:33 PM
Not sure what date Fishfeeder is looking at to do the Inskip M&G but what about July 7th for this little adventure?

That will be the next time I'm home apart from this week and we all know what the weather looks like for the week.

2IC
26-05-2012, 01:01 PM
mate Ithink fishfeeder is still looking at 30th June

lucee81
12-06-2012, 07:51 PM
Okay lads im bringing this thread up as i have it on good authority that i am heading out some time week commencing 13 aug 2012
why this date you ask? why not and it give me time to organise tackle etc plus be home for the event.
I have decided im leaving from tweed as its about the closest to the shelf (read bugmans posts) if anyone has any other info on this please elaborate. Plan of attack
1. head east till the bottom drops away
2. drift troll till i find structure (starter marks-dont have these yet)
3. drop bait and wait
4. watch deckies wind while i video tape. (may help with the gaff)
5. come home hopefully with an esky or 2 full

Shy guys are interested as well in this adventure
Mossy may be a deckie if still keen...
Muddy you going to be home at this time.
Obviously open for anyone else keen to get out there blind... (hopefully someone with a 1kw tranny.

Muddy Toes
12-06-2012, 08:05 PM
Nar I won't be home unfortunately, home on the 29th just in time for the inskip get together, you coming to that? ....... good luck though gents if the weather is good on the 7th I'll be doing it then.

Oh and one last thing........can you please enlighten all of us on the gear, rig, bait you will be using?I need a good laugh!!!

lucee81
12-06-2012, 08:12 PM
Nar I won't be home unfortunately, home on the 29th just in time for the inskip get together, you coming to that? ....... good luck though gents if the weather is good on the 7th I'll be doing it then.

Oh and one last thing........can you please enlighten all of us on the gear, rig, bait you will be using?I need a good laugh!!!

AUGUST do you not read engrish...... Boat = 5.5mt bow rider....
a little a day in the laugh stakes....

lucee81
12-06-2012, 08:15 PM
Cant make the inskip get together need to organise my trip north... .

lucee81
13-06-2012, 05:36 AM
i did offer a little a day on the laugh stakes on how were are actually getting these things to the top...
So mossy if you would be so kind as to post a pic of your chicken wing arms :)
Damn im funny at 5:30am......

Mossy247
13-06-2012, 02:17 PM
81205Righto, they are a little small at the moment.

lucee81
13-06-2012, 03:42 PM
When did you shave your head.

Mossy247
13-06-2012, 03:48 PM
When did you shave your head.
The day my arm exploded and my testicles became the size of peanuts :'(

BayDog
18-06-2012, 08:08 AM
hey guys i've been reading this thread with a lot of interest. i have just bought a 589 stabicraft and would love to give it a go. i've fished some deepish water, 180m, with a mate and caught bar cod snapper and kingies and i did that on a fin nor overhead jigging reel with 50lb braid and the fun wore off after a while :) although the pain in my body took a little longer to wear off :) i'm still not sure what setup to use. deck winches and electrics are dear as poison and the only option i could think of would be to put a lot of braid on my tyrnos and wack it in the rod holder although i don't know how long i would last on that setup. maybe a modified bicycle:) has anyone done or know of anyone who has done this type of fishing out of the south passage bar. i cant imagine it would be too much further out than say square path and looking at the seafloor maps it looks to be approx 30kms from the bar (rough guess) here is a useful link i found http://www.fishtrack.com/fishing-charts/moreton-seamount_65182 and you can go into the fishing charts section and it shows a few sea mounts off the coast and i found goodle earth gave a similar picture of the sea floor. does anyone here have and would be willing to share links to other charts with contour lines and depths etc. anyways i hope you guys have good luck and i will continue to put a plan into effect albeit slowly as funds allow. btw i saw there is a miya epoch on ebay thats up to $330 but it looks a bit flogged and deck winches start at $650 as far as i could see(alvey reef queen). and braid would prob be another $200 for 1000m of 200lb (ebay, prob crappy line)) http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Miya-Epoch-500-Command-7-Electric-Fishing-Reel-/130710985847?pt=AU_FishingReels&hash=item1e6efb5c77 http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/LR-BRAID-FISHING-LINE-200LB-1000M-GREEN-DECK-WINCH-/390250182301?pt=AU_Sport_Fishing_Tackle&hash=item5adcb9369d http://shop.bluewater.net.au/p/5642596/alvey-deck-winch-14-1425rqlc-reef-queen.html anyways see ya later, oh yeah i caught this last night at peel and used about 9 litres of petrol so im still debating the cost/reward :)

BayDog
18-06-2012, 08:59 PM
this may wet the appetite, i love the bit where he's holding the line and you can see the fish taking the hooks. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5xUY9fAES1I oh yeah maybe we can get greg valentino on the job (his biceps actually did explode) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ITG-IbHEYEE (1min26)

captain rednut
18-06-2012, 09:30 PM
that's one sick video baydog. i love the part where he is draining his arm the most. YUK

Muddy Toes
18-06-2012, 09:35 PM
The dudes just a set of biceps and nothing else....good video though.

I can see how he kind of resembles my deckie for the day.

Timfishin4fun
19-06-2012, 07:10 AM
No need to be going that far bud and if ya try ya wanna have some serious fuel range.

The seamount is about 180km out.

Timbo

hey guys i've been reading this thread with a lot of interest. i have just bought a 589 stabicraft and would love to give it a go. i've fished some deepish water, 180m, with a mate and caught bar cod snapper and kingies and i did that on a fin nor overhead jigging reel with 50lb braid and the fun wore off after a while :) although the pain in my body took a little longer to wear off :) i'm still not sure what setup to use. deck winches and electrics are dear as poison and the only option i could think of would be to put a lot of braid on my tyrnos and wack it in the rod holder although i don't know how long i would last on that setup. maybe a modified bicycle:) has anyone done or know of anyone who has done this type of fishing out of the south passage bar. i cant imagine it would be too much further out than say square path and looking at the seafloor maps it looks to be approx 30kms from the bar (rough guess) here is a useful link i found http://www.fishtrack.com/fishing-charts/moreton-seamount_65182 and you can go into the fishing charts section and it shows a few sea mounts off the coast and i found goodle earth gave a similar picture of the sea floor. does anyone here have and would be willing to share links to other charts with contour lines and depths etc. anyways i hope you guys have good luck and i will continue to put a plan into effect albeit slowly as funds allow. btw i saw there is a miya epoch on ebay thats up to $330 but it looks a bit flogged and deck winches start at $650 as far as i could see(alvey reef queen). and braid would prob be another $200 for 1000m of 200lb (ebay, prob crappy line)) http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Miya-Epoch-500-Command-7-Electric-Fishing-Reel-/130710985847?pt=AU_FishingReels&hash=item1e6efb5c77 http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/LR-BRAID-FISHING-LINE-200LB-1000M-GREEN-DECK-WINCH-/390250182301?pt=AU_Sport_Fishing_Tackle&hash=item5adcb9369d http://shop.bluewater.net.au/p/5642596/alvey-deck-winch-14-1425rqlc-reef-queen.html anyways see ya later, oh yeah i caught this last night at peel and used about 9 litres of petrol so im still debating the cost/reward :)

BayDog
19-06-2012, 09:01 AM
sorry this is the link i was alluding to earlier but didn't show in my post http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5xUY9fAES1I

BayDog
19-06-2012, 09:04 AM
No need to be going that far bud and if ya try ya wanna have some serious fuel range.

The seamount is about 180km out.

Timbo

sorry tim i should have linked this page, http://www.fishtrack.com/fishing-charts/gold-coast_58654 it shows a few spots locally like jims mountain, the riviera grounds and the tweed canyon. im not sure what you would get if you paid to be a member, prob gps marks?

lucee81
19-06-2012, 09:29 AM
hey Anthony how bout heading out to the queensland tablemount.. Leave yours at home and we can take the 5.5mt tin can...
cant be more than a 400km round trip im guessing

Muddy Toes
19-06-2012, 09:37 AM
I'm only going if it's 25kts and 3mtrs+

timddo
19-06-2012, 09:38 AM
Why don't you put a electric motor on the tynos handle???? I think a windscreen wiper motor should do the trick.

2IC
19-06-2012, 06:48 PM
What 25kts & 3mts you have got to harden up mate:-? anything above this I'm your deckie:o you wont mind if I wear a back brace:( geez I think I need to harden up;D that video was great Ooglies here we come:P

Muddy Toes
19-06-2012, 07:11 PM
Yeah over 25kts Bill and 7mtr boats are deemed to be overkill so we're all jumping in with Lucas in his 5.5mtr bowrider for the trip.

lucee81
19-06-2012, 08:11 PM
I'm good for 6 of us but fishes 4 comfortably. However I do have skies and a biscuit if we run out of room on the boat. Over Easter I did see the exact boat carrying 9 or 11 or something. Can't remember exact number. a m&g on the bow rider at the shelf.

Muddy Toes
19-06-2012, 08:29 PM
I'm good for 6 of us but fishes 4 comfortably. However I do have skies and a biscuit if we run out of room on the boat. Over Easter I did see the exact boat carrying 9 or 11 or something. Can't remember exact number. a m&g on the bow rider at the shelf.

Were the 9 or 11 Asian?..........coz that how we roll.

2IC
19-06-2012, 08:42 PM
Love it bring on the bowrider lol

lucee81
19-06-2012, 08:44 PM
I do remember they were adults and I was excited because I learnt I could carry more people.
Its about being innovative and working with the tools you have.

But I am taking the bow rider to the ooglies.

2IC
19-06-2012, 09:01 PM
I do remember they were adults and I was excited because I learnt I could carry more people.
Its about being innovative and working with the tools you have.

But I am taking the bow rider to the ooglies.

Mate have you a 1kw trannie on that beast ,,if so muddy can leave his toy at home

Muddy Toes
19-06-2012, 09:12 PM
If Lucas goes to the classifieds and buys my old transom mount 1kw trannie ,does a few mods to plug it in to his Lowrance gear then we should be laughing.

As a boat owner have you ever gone fishing with someone else on their boat?

Absolute gold.......it's friggin awesome!! No driving, no game plan needed, not worrying if people are having a good time, no one giving you crap if you don't get them on the fish.

I'm keen for the bowrider........someone else's boat.........yeeeeeeeeeeeewww!!!!!

2IC
19-06-2012, 09:30 PM
Mate I'm with you sit back &let someone else worry about the game plan ,then look at the skipper & say WTF no fish what are you doing ..Mind you we might have to be carefull as last time out the BOWRIDER was ill on the 29s ,,just saying

Muddy Toes
19-06-2012, 09:36 PM
It was his birthday today.......maybe now he might start growing some hair on his nether regions and be able to fish with the big boys in stuff that's bigger than a bit of bay chop,,just saying.

2IC
19-06-2012, 09:43 PM
It was his birthday today.......maybe now he might start growing some hair on his nether regions and be able to fish with the big boys in stuff that's bigger than a bit of bay chop,,just saying.

so that was the problem to young & I thought it was his tummy

Bull
19-06-2012, 09:45 PM

I bag the biscuit :o:o

lucee81
20-06-2012, 05:22 AM
oh you guys are too funny how do you sleep at night with all that laughing.....

lucee81
20-06-2012, 05:29 AM
With all you guys picking on me i better cancel my trip,stay at home and have a cry.......:)
oh sorry thats been done i better be original...

BayDog
20-06-2012, 08:13 AM
wondering what the bag limits in queensland are for these deep water species. can anyone provide a link?

thanks simon

lucee81
20-06-2012, 08:48 AM
wondering what the bag limits in queensland are for these deep water species. can anyone provide a link?

thanks simon.

If you look past all the crap from Muddy toes and Bull there is actually some good info in this thread. it was metnioned some pages ago 5 i think it was and there may have been a link.. Happy hunting.

fishfeeder
21-06-2012, 11:01 AM
Its going to be great not to be the skipper !!!

I can't wait to kick back and drink Corona's while Muddy drives us out to the 300m+ line...
Can't wait put crap on how he drives,
how he needs to fish more then once a month,
how he should cook us breakfast while we do the first drop,
Can't wait to have a nanny nap on the way back in.. after finishing the last of the beers.

Its going to be hard day for someone !!

lucee81
21-06-2012, 11:12 AM
Its going to be great not to be the skipper !!!

I can't wait to kick back and drink Corona's while Muddy drives us out to the 300m+ line...
Can't wait put crap on how he drives,
how he needs to fish more then once a month,
how he should cook us breakfast while we do the first drop,
Can't wait to have a nanny nap on the way back in.. after finishing the last of the beers.

Its going to be hard day for someone !!

Your going to need a bit more oomph than coronas i reckon...
What date are you ladies heading out?
if its july i may tag along dont really have the equipment to do it easy but give it a crack anyway. can make it kinda work with what i have and see what my deckie has to offer.
Bit of practice for my August trip.

Muddy Toes
21-06-2012, 11:42 AM
I was thinking about the 7th July for this little ditty.

Drive the boat, cook breakfast, make sure the boys don't run out of beer, put the boys on to the fish, cop a heap of flack from the boys, tuck Brett in for a nap on the way home, fillet the fish back at the ramp and pack in to snap lock bags and put on ice for the drive home.

Yeah.......still better than work I spose.

What are you on about not having the right gear still Lucas? Isn't that what this trip is actually about?

TREVELLY
21-06-2012, 11:44 AM
This thread is starting to sound like the bait versus plastics flogging I mean gtg with all the banter - i suppose with that one gone and dusted the punters have moved the spirit into this thread.

Now Bull don't forget to take those electric scales with you on your magical mystery biscuit tour to the shelf so when you pull one of those 40-60kg ooglies onto the biscuit with you then you can weigh it.

lucee81
21-06-2012, 12:03 PM
I was thinking about the 7th July for this little ditty.

Drive the boat, cook breakfast, make sure the boys don't run out of beer, put the boys on to the fish, cop a heap of flack from the boys, tuck Brett in for a nap on the way home, fillet the fish back at the ramp and pack in to snap lock bags and put on ice for the drive home.

Yeah.......still better than work I spose.

What are you on about not having the right gear still Lucas? Isn't that what this trip is actually about?

I was planning August and by then i would have got at least 6 pays and been able to afford the extra gear needed. like 1000mt of braid maybe a decent reel. My money at the moment has gone to getting the boat prepared and i have been talking to Pete about a 1kw tranny. so that would come first, wont need that if i follow you though, all i have as it stands today is a alvey (that may do the job) and lead. i figured by august i would have been ready.
Have the fuel/range and eskies :) :) just need the tools to get them to the top.

Bull
21-06-2012, 04:29 PM
This thread is starting to sound like the bait versus plastics flogging I mean gtg with all the banter - i suppose with that one gone and dusted the punters have moved the spirit into this thread.

Now Bull don't forget to take those electric scales with you on your magical mystery biscuit tour to the shelf so when you pull one of those 40-60kg ooglies onto the biscuit with you then you can weigh it.

I will be taking my new scales for sure Trev the only thing is the cheap bugger who bought them only got ones that weigh up to 50kgs so they mightn't be much good on this trip ;D

I think I may need a bigger biscuit though by the time I get my 2 x electric reels, Battery, esky, tackle box,s fishing rods, shade umbrella, gaff, kill bin,

onerabbit
21-06-2012, 05:39 PM
Really guys,

the expense of the 1000kw tranny is not really needed,

I only have a 600kw on my Furuno 582, sometimes I can see fish, sometimes no,
but I can always see the structure, which I think is more important,

sure, if you like it & want to go hard, buy one then,

I do it reasonably often, (when I can ) & have found that I dont need the big tranny.

I hope you will supply photos of said 40-60kg fish being weighed ( by hand )
after being pulled to the surface by hand,
I have trouble holding anything heavier than a smoke after landing a cod half that size.

TREVELLY
21-06-2012, 05:54 PM
I will be taking my new scales for sure Trev the only thing is the cheap bugger who bought them only got ones that weigh up to 50kgs so they mightn't be much good on this trip ;D

I think I may need a bigger biscuit though by the time I get my 2 x electric reels, Battery, esky, tackle box,s fishing rods, shade umbrella, gaff, kill bin,

Now dont be a sook son - just cut a big fillet off one side for me then you can weigh it in two goes ;)

See I have a solution to everything ;D

AND to save weight manual reel therefore no battery required :P

Any other probs?? 8-)

cobiaman
21-06-2012, 06:50 PM
Any other probs?? 8-)

Who is winding them in while i am videoing?

TREVELLY
21-06-2012, 08:17 PM
Who is winding them in while i am videoing?

I am yet to try and am definitely keen once :)

I have a reel that is good for it with plenty of line and plenty of grunt and will have a harness etc - so it will be interesting at least once :)

I have eskys with rod buckets built into them so I will be sitting down with harness on and winching - I don't kid myself it will not be easy.

I am wondering seriously too about the idea of reo connected with small zip tie to bust off each drop too. I use the zip ties for anchor retrieval and they work well as sacrificial connectors so can see some merit in using them so weight does a one-way trip. As is said just have to keep them near the bottom but off the bottom.

lucee81
21-06-2012, 09:33 PM

brother you may just be the only pussy out there with electric reels, however i will give merit for doing it on the biscuit and it holds 2 people so you got plenty of room for a deckie.....

2IC
22-06-2012, 10:29 AM
Anthony, Looks like the M&G at inskip is a no goer. That swell looks like it could be a killer on thta bar. So the 7th July you're up next Just remember that I'm blind8-) so I need your assistance for seeing the bottom. My crew is starting to put together the gear we need so I think we are getting close, I guess all we are going to need is a ramp where we are going to meet and an area where we are going to fish. Bill

fishfeeder
22-06-2012, 10:37 AM
Bill, The 30th isn't over until you hear the fat lady singing !! yee of little faith...

Muddy Toes
22-06-2012, 07:37 PM
It's still a bit of a work in progress Bill....

All I've got is this from another post.

Very Rough marks for the following taken off Navionics to give people the general idea of where to look.

Tweed Canyons: 28 14 538 153 54 514

Riv Grounds: 27 46 356 153 57 561

Cape Moreton Canyons: 26 49 173 153 44 280 and 26 57 583 153 48 803

Noosa Canyons: 26 15 860 153 51 947

So as for places to try I'm open to suggestions:-[

lucee81
22-06-2012, 07:48 PM
I have one or two marks to google earth before i share would hate for them to point towards chinchilla. Wouldn't i look silly.

Muddy Toes
22-06-2012, 07:51 PM
Sillier....

lucee81
22-06-2012, 08:20 PM
Either way. Still not as silly as some.

2IC
23-06-2012, 07:24 AM
For the 1st go at this type of fishing should we try around the cape moreton canyons ??? will ask a mate for a couple of start marks ..see what I can come up with .. Lucas no swell at Chinchilla the bar would flat;)just some foaming shuds to worry about::) bill

yalta
23-06-2012, 08:40 AM
noosa canyons- 26 21,615s 153 42,388e will start to get you into deep water around 300ft
26 21,615s 153 49,868e will put you over the edge to whatever depth you want to fish it will go down in stages.

It's still a bit of a work in progress Bill....

All I've got is this from another post.

Very Rough marks for the following taken off Navionics to give people the general idea of where to look.

Tweed Canyons: 28 14 538 153 54 514

Riv Grounds: 27 46 356 153 57 561

Cape Moreton Canyons: 26 49 173 153 44 280 and 26 57 583 153 48 803

Noosa Canyons: 26 15 860 153 51 947

So as for places to try I'm open to suggestions:-[

yalta
23-06-2012, 08:43 AM
easier to to find if your using a good sounder/gps and card like raymaine/novionics that will show all the contour lines on your gps.

noosa canyons- 26 21,615s 153 42,388e will start to get you into deep water around 300ft
26 21,615s 153 49,868e will put you over the edge to whatever depth you want to fish it will go down in stages.

Muddy Toes
23-06-2012, 09:03 AM
Legend Yalta.......appreciate it!!!

lucee81
23-06-2012, 09:53 AM
I have navionics. Oh and a boat after lunch today.
What do you run Anthony.

Muddy Toes
23-06-2012, 10:14 AM
I too have a boat and Garmin g2 vision cartography......very detailed.

lucee81
23-06-2012, 11:29 AM
You may have a boat but mine comes with a biscuit to carry Brett and his deckie.

Muddy Toes
23-06-2012, 06:48 PM
Alright......this is what I've come up with so far for the 7th July

1st rule of this little ditty is not to call it a M&G.......coz we all know what happens with the weather when a M&G is planned.

I'm thinking about trying around East of South Passage, between 40 and 50km out.

High tide is midday so my plan will be to fish in close in the morning, maybe the Cathedrals or something and head out wide hoping to fish deep around the tide change.

Anyone is welcome to tag along......I don't think many of us have an idea what we're doing let alone have the right gear but it should be a bit of a laugh and may give some guys the opportunity to take advantage of the old safety in numbers thing.

With this style of fishing and the distance to be traveled it won't take much for the weather to screw us so we'll just play it by ear.

lucee81
23-06-2012, 07:42 PM
When you say 40-50 is that from the bar or in total one way. Secondly how far total do you reckon it will be? Just curious as they could only fit 110lt in the boat so wondering how many jerry cans I would need.

Muddy Toes
23-06-2012, 08:07 PM
I did a quick measurement in Garmin Homeport and it came up about 40k's from the bar or about 20k's from the cathedrals.So I reckon it will be between 80 and 100k's round trip from the bar.
This is all very approx BTW.

How far do you think you will get from 110lt?

lucee81
23-06-2012, 08:31 PM
Won't know how far till tomorrow when I work out how far I did for 13lt need to check my trail distance.

overdraft1
24-06-2012, 09:08 AM
bit late into the convo guys,i do heaps of deep dropping,in 300m+,and i was reading on what weights to use,baits etc,in my experience anything that is concrete or brick is shit,it loses abot 30% of its weight as soon as it hits the water due to being a porus material,its a pain in the bum to transport out there and you always manage to scratch your boat, i use rio bar in 30cm lengthss or 4lb sinkers i found is the best we tie it on with 50lb mono incase we need to snap it off. for rigs we use 250lb main line with 130lb droppers,we use sleeve swivels to attach droppers to the main line and crimp it ,a decent ball bearing swivel at the top of the rig and a swivel at the bottom, and we always use circle hooks, for bait i use half a fillet of mullet soaked in tuna oil,fresh kingy or cuttlefish trick is not to clog up the circle hook or they wont work iv been using rod and reel for the last couple of years,the two iv used is a tld 50 2 speed and a saltist 50, iv got an electric that i use in 400m+ but anything shallower we go old school. hope this helps you out

2IC
26-06-2012, 05:52 AM
Overdraft 1 thanks mate good to see old school works ,,think we will try to stay on the shallower side of 400m for the first time,Ive got some 10/o circle hooks that have been sitting around doing nothing so will be good to loose some,, plus reading your list I think I'm ready to go ,,shit thats wright I cant see the bottom Muddy where are you???

lucee81
26-06-2012, 06:48 AM
Well i got a new rod and reel coming with 600mt+ of 80lb and about 150mt backing.
i am no longer taking the boat and jumping in with someone.... no i did not get scared as the August trip in my tub is still on for now (weather pending).
Going to make some rigs up this weekend with 120-150lb leader.
What sounder etc do you have to not see the bottom?

2IC
26-06-2012, 11:38 AM
Mate I have a furuno 585 with a 600 trannie they say I'll see bottom to about 350 maybe but not fish,, thats where Anthony comes in ,,we will fish his drift line or just off it to cover more ground ,, thats if hes a nice bloke????so lucas who are you jumping in with?? I have bruce & tim with me so we do have a spare seat mate as long as you dont mind going out in the tinny LOL Bill

lucee81
26-06-2012, 11:49 AM
600w will be pushing it to it limits. I am using a 600w in August so let me know how it goes. i think i may have the shy gays heading out with me in August. hopefully they have a 1kw, but by then i may have one anyway. getting in a tinnie wont bother me as long as the band aid trick works. mine is 5.5mt just a bit smaller than yours and i was taking that until i was short a deckie and a better offer came along, what i really want to know is exactly how far away it is. then i can work out fuel carried to distance travelled.
How many people/boats are heading out for this shindig?

Cheers for the offer Bill.
Lucas

Muddy Toes
26-06-2012, 11:56 AM
Muddy where are you???

Right now I'm sitting in the cab of locomotive 9430 at Cape Lambert, Western Australia.

But on a totally unrelated topic.......

I live in Redland Bay and I usually launch from Victoria Point.

lucee81
26-06-2012, 12:06 PM
Right now I'm sitting in the cab of locomotive 9430 at Cape Lambert, Western Australia.

But on a totally unrelated topic.......

I live in Redland Bay and I usually launch from Victoria Point.

and what does that have to do with this thread :)

tropicrows
26-06-2012, 12:23 PM
i think he just saw your boat heading across the bay with 2 blokes and 4 topless girls in it....lol

Muddy Toes
26-06-2012, 12:26 PM
Absolutely nothing.....but without posts like that it's too hard to get up to 15 pages of crap.

tropicrows
26-06-2012, 12:29 PM
15 pages of crap and still counting. Work must be boring today.

fishfeeder
26-06-2012, 12:34 PM
Muddy, If your keen and the weather plays the game I might be sick a days next week !!

lucee81
26-06-2012, 12:38 PM
15 pages of crap and still counting. Work must be boring today.

Not so much boring as finishing up...

Muddy Toes
26-06-2012, 12:43 PM
Work is boring today Bruce......

I marked off my lotto tickets too early this morning giving me nothing to do for the rest of the day except to cruise around on Ausfish.Pretty poorly planned actually but I thought if I won the lotto, then I wouldn't actually need to be here for the rest of the day that's why I did it early.

And Fishfeeder and Lucee with all your mid week sickies you guys have I'm starting to actually wonder whether or not you guys actually have jobs.But yeah....lets do it.And here I was thinking I would have to wait for the return of Captain Seaweed so he could help me get the hours up to get it to the next service.

Either Belmont or out of Sth Passage next week Brett.;D

lucee81
26-06-2012, 12:48 PM
May actually take all week off next week, got my sister and niece coming up, hey thats a plan a week of sickies got about 5 weeks of sickies to use in 3 weeks. Thanks for the idea and that will give me Friday to get organised for Saturday.

tropicrows
26-06-2012, 12:49 PM
Bill (2IC) myself and Tim are still keen, but we are still getting our gear together, next week might be to early for us ???. Just ordered some 200 lb braid that will take 7 days at least to get here.
I midweek fish somewhere however is very possible, as the weekends are crappy lately.

fishfeeder
26-06-2012, 12:54 PM
Your driving the boat captain, I am there to look pretty and catch the fish !!

lucee81
26-06-2012, 01:00 PM
Bill (2IC) myself and Tim are still keen, but we are still getting our gear together, next week might be to early for us ???. Just ordered some 200 lb braid that will take 7 days at least to get here.
I midweek fish somewhere however is very possible, as the weekends are crappy lately.

Well today is Tuesday and 7-9 days will take it to thursday next week that gives you thursday night to put said braid on handline/reel add some hooks and lead but hold off on bait until you get there.
If your 200lb braid doesnt show up i can always give you some 3mm wire rope, same thing isn't it?
i think i ordered 80lb may have to use 3 hooks instead of 5.

Muddy Toes
26-06-2012, 01:01 PM
Tell Tim he'll be fine this time......we don't judge people on their looks.

2IC
26-06-2012, 01:43 PM
Thanks Bruce thought I had jumped the gun a bit by saying that we were ready:-[ If the braid is a no show we will run with whatever is on the deck winches ,,just need weight??/ I'm all in for a mid week fish boys;) Hate reading reports about Snapper catches &not been out there doing it:-? Hopefully Tim has used his prize from the M&G and had his golden locks trimmed so hes not such a scruffy bar#####d any more8-) ITs that cold just put the FIRE on

2IC
26-06-2012, 01:51 PM
Lucas,, 3 hooks instead of 5 man if you load up on all hooks that is gonna hurt looking at the size of fish ,, you must be in the gym working out now in preparation lol

lucee81
26-06-2012, 02:25 PM
Lucas,, 3 hooks instead of 5 man if you load up on all hooks that is gonna hurt looking at the size of fish ,, you must be in the gym working out now in preparation lol

didn't you hear.. Brett is bringing them back up :) So dont travel to far so brett doesn't get tired swimming to your boat....
Was going in thursday to pick up my new toys and have a yarn to the boys that do this fishing, they are going to teach me how to make the rigs up.
However i am putting soft plastics on one of the hooks.

2IC
26-06-2012, 02:35 PM
Mate ,, IF Brett is bringing them back up ,,go the 5 hooks then lol will be interesting about the soft plastic on one hook to see what happens

lucee81
26-06-2012, 03:08 PM
Soft plastics on a hook was mentioned some 10 pages or so ago. using a zman so should stay on a bit better.
i reckon 2-3 hooks a rig once you get a hook up leave it down for a good 5 mins for another hook up according to mr ifish.

Muddy Toes
26-06-2012, 03:27 PM
You blokes are going to have me in stitches I reckon.

lucee81
26-06-2012, 03:43 PM
i think the whole adventure is going to be a laugh. be even funnier if we fill an esky, cause there is going to be a boat in the middle of nowehere with a chinaman, an arab and brett scratching their heads sayin now what.....
Hopefully not getting picked up by customs....

burleygu
26-06-2012, 03:54 PM
bloody rains! and look at you blokes on here bantering away. sounds as if you's are worried about getting your hair wet! We are good to go bill! regardless of braid or not that is a meer formality that will not affect us in anyway. im possible for mid week fish with abit of notice however in the next 2 to 3 weeks ill be up at moranbah on a 2 on 1 off roster. So i will have a little insight into anthonys pain!

Muddy Toes
26-06-2012, 04:20 PM
i think the whole adventure is going to be a laugh. be even funnier if we fill an esky, cause there is going to be a boat in the middle of nowehere with a chinaman, an arab and brett scratching their heads sayin now what.....
Hopefully not getting picked up by customs....

There's a Cobiaman coming too.........don't know if that's better or worse though.

2IC
26-06-2012, 04:21 PM
Tim have you got sinkers I'm going to see a mate tomorrow about reo bar I think he has 20 to 30mm bar see what I can get

Muddy Toes
26-06-2012, 04:22 PM
bloody rains! and look at you blokes on here bantering away. sounds as if you's are worried about getting your hair wet! We are good to go bill! regardless of braid or not that is a meer formality that will not affect us in anyway. im possible for mid week fish with abit of notice however in the next 2 to 3 weeks ill be up at moranbah on a 2 on 1 off roster. So i will have a little insight into anthonys pain!
Yep........watch the weather go to crap on your week off too.

cobiaman
26-06-2012, 04:48 PM
There's a Cobiaman coming too.........don't know if that's better or worse though.

How could that possibly be worse?

lucee81
26-06-2012, 04:58 PM
Tim have you got sinkers I'm going to see a mate tomorrow about reo bar I think he has 20 to 30mm bar see what I can get

Pm me your number and I can possibly help

lucee81
26-06-2012, 05:00 PM
Me and graham on a boat together again can only be good luck. Now to make sure the skipper is as good as the last. :) and can I place an order for small swell. Rough don't bother just the swell.

Muddy Toes
26-06-2012, 05:19 PM
If fishfeeder can be a man for the day we can turn it into state of origin friendly little ditty.boat vs boat.

lucee81
26-06-2012, 05:35 PM
A qlder be a man. You're too funny.

cobiaman
26-06-2012, 05:42 PM
Me and graham on a boat together again can only be good luck. Now to make sure the skipper is as good as the last. :) and can I place an order for small swell. Rough don't bother just the swell.

No pressure but the last skipper put us on to plenty!

lucee81
26-06-2012, 05:44 PM
He was a good skipper my expectations are high these days.

Muddy Toes
26-06-2012, 06:09 PM
You two should just be happy if we don't get towed in at the end of the day...........

cobiaman
26-06-2012, 06:35 PM
You two should just be happy if we don't get towed in at the end of the day...........

Thats a valid point...

Boat Hog
26-06-2012, 06:46 PM

Just take a rope with two pairs of flippers .... don't want those huge arms to look out of proportion. ;D